DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 7/13/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 7/24/24 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed (First Office Action for German Patent Application) that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: ”arrow A” and “arrow B” in paragraph 30. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanabe (JP 2010-211963 A) and evidence provided by Yen et al. (US 2023/0143123 A1, hereinafter Yen) and Tajima et al. (US 2018/0034116 A1, hereinafter Tajima).
Re Claim 1. Tanabe teaches a passive cooling system (Fig. 1-3) for battery cells, comprising:
a housing (item 10) defining a cavity;
a plurality of battery cells (item 21)disposed in the cavity of the housing;
each of the battery cells being surrounded by a porous media (items 22 & 23);
a phase change material (item 40) disposed within spaces defined by the porous media; and
a cold plate (item 11) disposed at an end of the cavity.
Re Claim 2. Tanabe teaches wherein the porous media defines a plurality of vapor channels (item 22) along each of the plurality of battery cells.
Re Claim 3. Tanabe teaches the plurality of vapor channels extend vertically upward along a side of the battery cells (Fig. 3).
Re Claim 5. Tanabe teaches wherein the porous media surrounding the battery cells includes an open cell foam (Fig. 3).
Re Claim 7. Tanabe teaches wherein the porous media surrounding the battery cells includes a non-organic cellular structure (P5, chemical fibers).
Re Claim 8. Tanabe teaches wherein the phase change material is dielectric (P4, Novec HFE & Yen, para. 35).
Re Claim 9. Tanabe teaches wherein the phase change material has a boiling point of 34 or 49°C at ambient pressure (P4, Novec HFE & Tajima, para. 35).
"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2131.03.
Re Claim 11. Tanabe teaches wherein the cold plate (item 11) is partially exposed to ambient for cooling (Fig. 1 & 2).
Re Claim 12. Tanabe teaches wherein the cold plate (item 11) is a top enclosure of the housing (Fig. 1 & 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanabe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pape et al. (DE 102009000673 A1, hereinafter Pape, cited by applicant).
The teachings of Tanabe have been discussed above.
Tanabe fails to specifically teach a sub-dividing structure disposed in the cavity for sub-dividing the cavity into a plurality of separate compartments.
The invention of Pape encompasses battery pack. Pape teaches a sub-dividing structure (Fig. 4) disposed in the cavity for sub-dividing the cavity into a plurality of separate compartments (items 28, 28c & 28d).
In view of Pape, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Tanabe to employ a sub-dividing structure, since Pape teaches the advantage of using it, which is to introduce different fillings into the different chambers that are tailored to the application (para. 15).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanabe as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Meintschel et al. (DE 102007063194 A1, hereinafter Meintschel).
Tanabe fails to specifically teach that the open cell foam includes one of epoxy, polyurethane and silicone.
The invention of Meintschel encompasses cell assembly. Meintschel teaches that the open cell foam (Fig. 3, item 1.5) includes one of epoxy, polyurethane and silicone (P5).
In view of Meintschel, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Tanabe to employ the open cell foam made of one of epoxy, polyurethane and silicone, since Meintschel teaches the advantage of using them, which is electrically insulating while thermally conductive (P5).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanabe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yen.
Tanabe fails to specifically teach that the cold plate is liquid cooled.
The invention of Yen encompasses dielectric liquid evaporative cooling. Yen teaches that the cold plate (Fig. 1, item 70) is air cooled or liquid cooled (para. 32).
In view of Yen, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Tanabe to have a liquid cooled cold plate, since it is well-known alternative of air cooled cold plate.
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
7/22/2026