DETAILED ACTION
The papers submitted on 14 April 2026, the title, are acknowledged.
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of group II, claims 9-19, in the reply filed on 14 April 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden. This is not found persuasive because it does not address the independence or distinctness of the inventions or all sources of burden imposed by the inventions. A serious burden on the examiner may be prima facie shown by appropriate explanation of separate classification, or separate status in the art, or a different field of search. Arguments of convenience or coextensiveness are insufficient showing to demonstrate that there is no undue burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson (US 6,645,410 B2) in view of Oka et al. (US 6,905,646 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Thompson discloses a method of making a product 100 comprising a plurality of microducts 102 bundled within a sheath 101 (title/abstract, 4:6+; FIG. 3-4), the method comprising:
(a) extruding a roughly cylindrical sheath material 101 having an inner surface around a plurality of microducts 102 each having an outer surface in such a fashion that the inner surface of the sheath material does not contact outer surface of the microducts, wherein the sheath material is extruded at a temperature T1;
(b) passing the sheath material and microducts through an air gap for a distance, a time, and at an air temperature T2; and then
(c) passing the sheath material and microducts through a cooling medium, for a distance, and time, and at a cooling medium temperature T3 that is lower than T2; wherein welding is inhibited between the inner surface of the sheath material and the outer surfaces of the microducts (FIG. 5; 4:28+).
Thompson does not appear to expressly disclose the temperature relationship between the extruded temperature T1, the air temperature T2, and the cooling medium temperature T3.
However, Oka discloses a method for cooling a extrudate at 180° C. to below the softening point by air cooling in an air gap at 20-30° C. followed by final cooling in a water bath at 20-30° C. (Examples 1-7; 6:1+).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Thompson to include the cooling temperatures of Oka, in order to quickly and adequately cool the extruded material in a manner known in the art and prevent leaks and surface irregularities (Oka 2:6+).
Regarding claim 10-12, Oka discloses the air gap is 3-4.8 meters (Example 1-2) which overlaps the claimed range (MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding claim 13, Thompson and Oka discloses the cooling medium comprises water (Oka Examples 1-7: Thompson 5:26+).
Regarding claim 14, Oka discloses the extruder at 180° C. and the air gap at 20-30° C. (Examples 1-7; 6:1+) which overlaps the claimed range (MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding claim 15-16, Oka discloses the water bath at 20-30° C. (Examples 1-7; 6:1+). which overlaps the claimed range (MPEP § 2144.05).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the use of Thompson’s hollow annular guide 50 to maintain separation between the inner and outer tubes does not suggest the claimed process. Specifically, that Thompson’s inner and outer tubes do not pass through an air-gap stage and thereafter enter a separate cooling medium. However, it is the position of the Examiner that the instant claims do not preclude Thompson’s hollow annular guide 50. The instant claim 9 recites:
The recitation “in such a fashion that the inner surface of the sheath material does not contact outer surface of the microducts” broadly includes a process in which Thompson’s hollow annular guide 50 is disposed between the inner and outer surfaces to prevent contact. If Applicant intends for there to be nothing between the inner and outer surfaces such a feature must be explicitly recited in the claims. Similarly, the recitation “passing the sheath material and microducts through an air gap” also does not exclude the use of Thompson’s hollow annular guide.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742