DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2024/0155502, hereinafter Lin) and in view of Rudolf et al (US 2024/0214943, hereinafter Rudolf, claiming the priority date of provisional application 63/434,685) and in view of Rudolf et al (US 2023/0062577, hereinafter Rudolf2).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE, Para [0018]), comprising: one or more memories and one or more processors (processor and memory, Para [0018]) coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: calculate at least one of a nominal power value, an alpha value, or an initial transmit power value for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission occasion, wherein the PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) connection resulting from a random access process during which the UE does not receive a PUSCH alpha set or is associated with a random access response uplink grant for a transmission or retransmission (UE determines PUSCH transmission power in PUSCH occasion, Para [0138], nominal power is determined using the equation in Para [0143], UE established dedicated RRC connection using type-1 RA procedure and is not provided P0-PUSCH-alphaset, Para [0142]); and transmit in the PUSCH transmission occasion using at least one of the nominal power value, the alpha value, or the initial transmit power value (UE transmits the PUSCH, Para [0138], PUSCH transmission is based on nomina power, Para [0138,141]); but does not explicitly disclose calculating at least one of a nominal power value, alpha value, or initial transmit power value based on PUSCH transmission occurring in a full duplex slot. Rudolf discloses power for PUSCH transmission in normal UL and in full duplex slot needs to be controlled separately, Para [0135], using separate target receive power level and fractional pathloss compensation parameters for the SBFD slot, Para [0143]. Also see Para [0140,148] of the provisional. Rudolf2 discloses UE can obtain a signaled parameter preamblereceivedtargetpowerFD, which is for full duplex, Para [0209], therefore nominal power should be calculated based on preamblereceivedtargetpowerFD for full duplex slots instead of preamblereceivedtargetpower, as in Lin, Para [0144]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Rudolf and Rudolf2 in the system of Lin in order to control power in FD systems and to limit interference.
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to calculate the nominal power value, the alpha value, or the initial transmit power value, are configured to cause the UE to calculate the nominal power value, and wherein the random access process is a Type-1 random access process (UE using a type 1 RA procedure, Para [0142], nominal power calculated in equation in Para [0143]).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 2/16, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to calculate the nominal power value, are configured to cause the UE to add a fixed nominal power value and a power offset value, wherein the power offset value is received by the UE via an RRC message or a system information message (power parameter is the sum of a nominal component and another component, Para [0141]).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 2/16, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to calculate the nominal power value, are configured to cause the UE to add a nominal preamble value and a delta preamble value for Message 3 full-duplex, wherein the delta preamble value for Message 3 full-duplex is in accordance with a Message 3 delta preamble for full-duplex indicator that is received by the UE via an RRC message or a system information message (preamble power is added with msg3-deltapreamble, Para [0144]).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 2/16, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to calculate the nominal power value, are configured to cause the UE to add a nominal preamble value for full-duplex and a delta preamble value for Message 3 full-duplex, wherein the nominal preamble value for full-duplex is in accordance with a preamble received target power for full-duplex indicator that is received by the UE via an RRC message or a system information message (preamble received target power value and msg3-deltapreamble value, Para [0144]).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to calculate the nominal power value, the alpha value, or the initial transmit power value, are configured to cause the UE to calculate the nominal power value, and wherein the random access process is a Type-2 random access process (UE establishes RRC connection using type-2 RA procedure, Para [0145]).
Regarding claims 7 and 21, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 6/20, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to calculate the nominal power value, are configured to cause the UE to add a fixed nominal power value and a power offset value, wherein the power offset value is received by the UE via an RRC message or a system information message (power parameter is the sum of a nominal component and another component, Para [0141]).
Regarding claims 8 and 22, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 6/20, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to calculate the nominal power value, are configured to cause the UE to add a nominal preamble value and a delta preamble value for Message A full-duplex, wherein the delta preamble value for Message A full-duplex is in accordance with a Message A delta preamble for full-duplex indicator that is received by the UE via an RRC message or a system information message (message A PUSCH, Para [0098], MsgA preamble power and MsgA delta preamble, Para [0147]).
Regarding claims 9 and 23, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 6/20, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to calculate the nominal power value, are configured to cause the UE to add a nominal preamble value for full-duplex and a delta preamble value for Message A full-duplex, wherein the nominal preamble value for full-duplex is in accordance with a Message A preamble received target power for full-duplex indicator that is received by the UE via an RRC message or a system information message (message A PUSCH, Para [0098], MsgA preamble received target power and MsgA delta preamble, Para [0147]).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to calculate the nominal power value, the alpha value, or the initial transmit power value, are configured to cause the UE to calculate the alpha value, and wherein the random access process is a Type-1 random access process. (UE using a type 1 RA procedure, Para [0142], nominal power calculated in equation in Para [0143], the value of alpha is determined, Para [0159-160]).
Regarding claims 11 and 25, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 10/24, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to calculate the alpha value, are configured to cause the UE to add a fixed alpha value and a fixed offset value (calculating alpha values, Para [0157-161], obvious to one of ordinary skill an offset can be added).
Regarding claims 12 and 26, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 10/25, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to calculate the alpha value, are configured to cause the UE to calculate the alpha value in accordance with a Message A alpha value for full-duplex or a Message 3 alpha value for full-duplex (msgA-alpha, Para [0159-160]).
Regarding claim 13, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to calculate the nominal power value, the alpha value, or the initial transmit power value, are configured to cause the UE to calculate the initial transmit power value, and wherein the random access process is a Type-1 random access process or a Type-2 random access process (UE can perform type-1 or type-2 RA procedure, Para [0142, 145], obvious that the initial transmit power will be calculated).
Regarding claim 14, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to calculate the initial transmit power value, are configured to cause the UE to calculate the initial transmit power value in accordance with a fixed power value or in accordance with a parameter that is received by the UE via an RRC message or a system information message (UE calculates the PUSCH transmission power and the max power is a fixed value, Para [0140]).
Regarding claim 15, Lin discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (network node, Para [0025]), comprising: one or more memories and one or more processors (memory and processor, Para [0025]) coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the network node to: transmit configuration information associated with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission occasion, wherein the PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) connection resulting from a random access process that does not include a transmission of a PUSCH alpha set or is associated with a random access response uplink grant for a transmission or retransmission (UE receives PUSCH configuration from gNB, Para [0125], UE established dedicated RRC connection using type-1 RA procedure and is not provided P0-PUSCH-alphaset, Para [0142]); and receive a communication via the PUSCH transmission occasion that is in accordance with at least one of a nominal power value, an alpha value, or an initial transmit power value. (UE transmits the PUSCH, Para [0138], PUSCH transmission is based on nomina power, Para [0138,141]); but does not explicitly disclose calculating at least one of a nominal power value, alpha value, or initial transmit power value based on PUSCH transmission occurring in a full duplex slot. Rudolf discloses power for PUSCH transmission in normal UL and in full duplex slot needs to be controlled separately, Para [0135], using separate target receive power level and fractional pathloss compensation parameters for the SBFD slot, Para [0143]. Also see Para [0140,148] of the provisional. Rudolf2 discloses UE can obtain a signaled parameter preamblereceivedtargetpowerFD, which is for full duplex, Para [0209], therefore nominal power should be calculated based on preamblereceivedtargetpowerFD for full duplex slots instead of preamblereceivedtargetpower, as in Lin, Para [0144]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Rudolf and Rudolf2 in the system of Lin in order to control power in FD systems and to limit interference.
Regarding claim 16, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the communication is in accordance with the nominal power value, and wherein the random access process is a Type-1 random access process (UE using a type 1 RA procedure, Para [0142], nominal power calculated in equation in Para [0143]).
Regarding claim 20, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the communication is in accordance with the nominal power value, and wherein the random access process is a Type-2 random access process (UE establishes RRC connection using type-2 RA procedure, Para [0145]).
Regarding claim 24, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the communication is in accordance with the alpha value, and wherein the random access process is a Type-1 random access process. (UE using a type 1 RA procedure, Para [0142], nominal power calculated in equation in Para [0143], the value of alpha is determined, Para [0159-160]).
Regarding claim 27, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the communication is in accordance with the initial transmit power value, and wherein the random access process is a Type-1 random access process or a Type-2 random access process (UE can perform type-1 or type-2 RA procedure, Para [0142, 145]).
Regarding claim 28, Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the initial transmit power value is in accordance with a fixed power value or is in accordance with a parameter that is transmitted by the network node via an RRC message or a system information message (UE calculates the PUSCH transmission power and the max power is a fixed value, Para [0140]).
Regarding claim 29, Lin discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: calculating at least one of a nominal power value, an alpha value, or an initial transmit power value for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission occasion, wherein the PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) connection resulting from a random access process during which the UE does not receive a PUSCH alpha set or is associated with a random access response uplink grant for a transmission or retransmission (UE determines PUSCH transmission power in PUSCH occasion, Para [0138], nominal power is determined using the equation in Para [0143], UE established dedicated RRC connection using type-1 RA procedure and is not provided P0-PUSCH-alphaset, Para [0142]); and transmitting in the PUSCH transmission occasion using at least one of the nominal power value, the alpha value, or the initial transmit power value (UE transmits the PUSCH, Para [0138], PUSCH transmission is based on nomina power, Para [0138,141]); but does not explicitly disclose calculating at least one of a nominal power value, alpha value, or initial transmit power value based on PUSCH transmission occurring in a full duplex slot. Rudolf discloses power for PUSCH transmission in normal UL and in full duplex slot needs to be controlled separately, Para [0135], using separate target receive power level and fractional pathloss compensation parameters for the SBFD slot, Para [0143]. Also see Para [0140,148] of the provisional. Rudolf2 discloses UE can obtain a signaled parameter preamblereceivedtargetpowerFD, which is for full duplex, Para [0209], therefore nominal power should be calculated based on preamblereceivedtargetpowerFD for full duplex slots instead of preamblereceivedtargetpower, as in Lin, Para [0144]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Rudolf and Rudolf2 in the system of Lin in order to control power in FD systems and to limit interference.
Regarding claim 30, Lin discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising: transmitting configuration information associated with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission occasion, wherein the PUSCH transmission occasion is associated with a radio resource control (RRC) connection resulting from a random access process that does not include a transmission of a PUSCH alpha set or is associated with a random access response uplink grant for a transmission or retransmission (UE receives PUSCH configuration from gNB, Para [0125], UE established dedicated RRC connection using type-1 RA procedure and is not provided P0-PUSCH-alphaset, Para [0142]); and receiving a communication via the PUSCH transmission occasion that is in accordance with at least one of a nominal power value, an alpha value, or an initial transmit power value (UE transmits the PUSCH, Para [0138], PUSCH transmission is based on nomina power, Para [0138,141]); but does not explicitly disclose calculating at least one of a nominal power value, alpha value, or initial transmit power value based on PUSCH transmission occurring in a full duplex slot. Rudolf discloses power for PUSCH transmission in normal UL and in full duplex slot needs to be controlled separately, Para [0135], using separate target receive power level and fractional pathloss compensation parameters for the SBFD slot, Para [0143]. Also see Para [0140,148] of the provisional. Rudolf2 discloses UE can obtain a signaled parameter preamblereceivedtargetpowerFD, which is for full duplex, Para [0209], therefore nominal power should be calculated based on preamblereceivedtargetpowerFD for full duplex slots instead of preamblereceivedtargetpower, as in Lin, Para [0144]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Rudolf and Rudolf2 in the system of Lin in order to control power in FD systems and to limit interference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amends the limitations in the claim and argues the references do not disclose the amended limitations. Applicant argues Khan discloses full duplex but not the calculating the at least one of nominal power, alpha value or initial transmit power value based on the PUSHC transmission occurring in a full duplex slot. In response, arguments are moot in view of the new references being used in the current office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461