DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 and 18-20 in the reply filed on 3 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that there are technical similarities between the manufacturing method and product. This is not found persuasive because claim 10 recites “a method of manufacturing a housing for an electronic device” (emphasis added). The recitation of “for an electronic device” is an intended use which does not further limit the claim, because aspects of the method related to the housing’s use in an electronic device are not claimed. See MPEP § 2111.02(II). The housing produced by the method of claim 10 would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to have utility in non-electronic housings or casings. Additionally, the apparatus of Group I, claims 1-9 and 18-20 can be made by a materially different method, such as electroless plating or vapor deposition.
Furthermore, the inventions differ in their field of classification and therefore require a different field of search. Invention I is classified by the electronic apparatus with a metal casing. Invention II is classified by anodization of aluminum in an electrolytic bath containing inorganic acids.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3 August 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 6, the comma after "first voltage" should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102, 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2024/0035187 A1), as evidenced by Wu (WO 2022/197305 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the Examiner notes that the product of a product-by-process claim (i.e., intended method of making) is not patentably distinct over the prior art when the end product is anticipated or obvious. See MPEP § 2113. In the instant case, the claim to a housing of an electronic device is taught by Yamaguchi (Fig. 1, [0039], claim 1; [0056]: use in a housing for a smartphone or personal computer): an aluminum material includes a substrate, equivalent to a base layer; a barrier layer; and first and second porous films over the barrier layer. The housing is produced by a method comprising first and second anodizing processes which form first and second porous layers as claimed ([0069]-[0073], “first” and “second” layers taught in opposite order but structurally identical).
In the case where the differences between the prior art and the claimed invention do not show anticipation of the product-by-process claim, the differences between the prior art and the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons stated herein.
Yamaguchi does not teach wherein the second anodizing voltage is higher than the first anodizing voltage, as the first anodizing voltage is not stated. However, it is obvious to one skilled in the art to try a second voltage higher than the first voltage, because it is within the scope of routine experimentation in the art to use a second voltage which is less than, equal to, or greater than the first voltage, in order to determine which relationship presents the most optimal outcome. See MPEP §2144.05(II)(A). The claim to a second voltage higher than the first voltage is therefore obvious in view of Yamaguchi.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Yamaguchi further teaches that the second anodizing operation used in producing the aluminum member is done for “about 4 minutes,” within the claimed range of 60 to 6000 seconds ([0088]: 4 minutes is 240 seconds), and that a sealing operation performed after the second anodization may include treatment with nickel fluoride solution (Fig. 2: S5 “sealing” occurs after S4 “second anodizing;” [0076]). Yamaguchi teaches that the sealing process is performed by a known method involving nickel fluoride but fails to specifically state immersion of the base material ([0076]). However, Wu states that methods of sealing anodized aluminum materials for use in electronic devices include dip coating in nickel fluoride solution, equivalent to immersion (Wu [0042]). The sealing process of Yamaguchi is therefore understood to refer to dip coating of the aluminum member in nickel fluoride solution as it is well-known in the art for sealing the pores of an anodized aluminum material.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2024/0035187 A1) in view of Kikuchi et al. (US 2021/0002783 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi teaches an aluminum alloy member (Abstract; [0039]; Fig. 1) including a base substrate/material (Fig. 1, element 10), a barrier layer over the base layer comprising anodized aluminum of the base material ([0041], 21) with a thickness of 10 to 300 nm ([0040]), a first porous film located in the first direction with respect to the porous layer (23, as “second porous layer”), and a second porous film formed between the first porous film and the barrier layer (22, as “first porous layer”). Yamaguchi suggests using the aluminum alloy member as a housing for a smartphone or personal computer, which are species within the genus of electronics ([0056]). See MPEP §2131.02(I).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. The claimed barrier layer thickness of 10 to 150 nanometers is therefore obvious over the 10 to 300 nanometer barrier layer of Yamaguchi at [0040]. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
In the alternative, while Yamaguchi discloses broader than the claimed range, Kikuchi teaches that a preferable barrier layer thickness is 10 to 150 nm, identical to the claimed range ([0040]). It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a 10 to 150 nm thick barrier layer in the aluminum material taught by Yamaguchi, because this specific layer thickness is within the range of Yamaguchi and has the expected result of preventing coloring by interference and increasing the degree of whiteness (Kikuchi [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Yamaguchi further teaches that the thickness of the second porous film is between 10 and 5000 nm ([0043]: as first porous layer). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. The claimed range of 1000 to 20000 nanometers is therefore obvious. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the first and second porous films contain respective first and second voids, with the second voids having a greater diameter than the first voids ([0042], as “pores,” first/second taught in order opposite to language of claim but structurally identical). The barrier layer of Yamaguchi may contain sulfur ([0041]).
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2024/0035187 A1) and Kikuchi et al. (US 2021/0002783 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (WO 2022/197305 A1, as attached).
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Yamaguchi teaches a sealing process on the first porous film performed after the second anodization process which involves the use of nickel fluoride ([0076]; Fig. 5: sealing occurs after anodizing). Yamaguchi fails to teach that this process results in the formation of a sealing layer on a surface facing the first direction of the first porous film.
However, Wu teaches that housings for electronic devices made of aluminum may include a sealant layer comprising nickel fluoride over anodized parts of the housing ([0007]; [0008]: aluminum substrate; [0022]: sealant layer over anodized housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a sealant layer comprising nickel and fluorine in the electronic device housing taught by Yamaguchi and Kikuchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include this layer because it contributes to the housing’s resistance to wear such as fingerprints, smudges, etc. (Wu [0023]).
Regarding claim 6, Wu further teaches various ranges of thickness of the sealing layer, including from 100 to 500 nm ([0022]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I). The claimed range of 60 to 120 nanometers is therefore obvious.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Wu does not teach wherein a sum of nickel and fluorine included in the sealing layer is 15 to 20%, nor wherein a ratio of nickel and fluorine included in the sealing layer is 3:2 to 2:1 based on weight. However, the claimed weight sum of nickel and fluorine or ratio thereof of the sealing layer is obvious to one skilled in the art through routine experimentation related to the process used to create the sealing layer in order to find an optimal or workable nickel and fluorine content. It is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP §2144.05(II). The ranges of "wherein a sum of nickel and fluorine included in the sealing layer is 15 to 20% by weight" and/or "wherein a ratio of nickel and fluorine included in the sealing layer is 3:2 to 2:1 based on weight" as claimed would have been obvious through such routine experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2008/0149492 A1 to Lin et al. teaches sealing the anodic oxide layer of a metal with a nickel salt solution ([0019]). US 6,080,491 to Takaki et al. teaches sealing with both nickel fluoride and nickel acetate (Abstract).
/CBF/Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711