DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “polarization direction adjustment component” in claim 1-15 and 17-19, which uses a generic placeholder (“component”) that is coupled with functional language (“polarization direction adjustment”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ono (United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0249521 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Ono discloses a laser source assembly (see 10A-12A), comprising: at least one laser device (see combinations of different colors 11RGB in fig.5) configured to emit laser beams of a plurality of colors ; at least one combining lens group (see 13A and 12A—although the word lens is used – the specification disclosed mirrored elements; therefore, in light of the specification and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, 13A and 12A read on the claimed limitations) located on a laser-exit side of the at least one laser device (see 10A), the at least one combining lens group (see 13A) being configured to combine the laser beams of the plurality of colors and propagate the combined laser beams in a first direction (see the z direction in fig.5); and at least one polarization direction adjustment component (see 1 in fig.5 and 6A or 6B) configured to adjust a polarization direction of at least a portion of the laser beams of the plurality of colors (see the operation in fig.6A or 6B, and the operation of half waveplate 6), so as to obtain a target laser beam (see the exit beam of fig.6A or 6B); wherein a laser beam of at least one color (see any light source 11RGB in fig.5) in the target laser beam satisfies that, a polarization direction of a portion of the laser beam of a same color is different from a polarization direction of another portion of the laser beam of the same color (See the output S and P beam of fig.6A or 6B); the polarization direction adjustment component satisfies one of following: the polarization direction adjustment component is located between the at least one laser device and the at least one combining lens group, and an orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component on a laser-exit surface of the laser device overlaps with at least a portion of the laser-exit surface of the laser device; and the polarization direction adjustment component (see 1 in fig.5) is located on a laser-exit side of the at least one combining lens group (see the location of 1 in fig.5 ), and on a plane perpendicular to the first direction (see fig.5 wherein 1 is located on the x-y plane; also see the disposition of half wave plate 6 in fig.6A or 6B), the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component (see the line perpendicular to the surface of 1 adjacent to 13Ain fig.5) overlaps with at least a portion of an orthogonal projection of the combining lens group (see the line perpendicular to the surface of 13A adjacent to 1 and overlapping in fig.5. i.e. defined by the optical path).
With respect to claim 2, Ono discloses the laser source assembly according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the polarization direction adjustment component is located on the laser-exit side of the at least one combining lens group (see fig.5), the polarization direction adjustment component satisfies one of following: on the plane perpendicular to the first direction (see the x-y plane in fig.5), the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with a portion of the orthogonal projection of the combining lens group (see the overlap defined by the optical axis in fig.5); a portion of the laser beams of the plurality of colors combined by the combining lens group (see the light beams of ) is incident on the polarization direction adjustment component, and the polarization direction adjustment (1 in fig.5 and 6A or 6B) component is configured to adjust the polarization direction of the portion of the laser beams (see the operation disclosed in fig.6A or 6B); and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction (see the x-y plane), the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with all the orthogonal projection of the combining lens group (see the overlap as defined by the optical path between 1 and 13 in fig.5); all laser beams of the plurality of colors (see the laser beams of fig.5) combined by the combining lens group are incident on the polarization direction adjustment component (see 1 in fig.5), and the polarization direction adjustment component includes: a first portion (see 6); and a second portion (portion below 6), the first portion and the second portion being alternately arranged (see the arrangement in in fig.6), and the first portion and the second portion being configured to adjust the laser beam of a same color by different spatial phases (see the operation of 6 and the portion 21 and 31 below 6).
With respect to claim 3, Ono discloses the laser source assembly according to claim 2, wherein the polarization direction adjustment component includes any one of a half-wave plate (para.[0106]: “half-wavelength film 6”), a quarter-wave plate, and a three-quarter-wave plate.
With respect to claim 4, Ono discloses the laser source assembly according to claim 2, wherein the polarization direction adjustment component satisfies one of following: the first portion includes any one of a half-wave plate (para.[0106]: “half-wavelength film 6”), a quarter-wave plate, and a three-quarter-wave plate, and the second portion includes a transparent material (see 21 and 31 in fig.6A or 6B); and the first portion and the second portion include any two of the half-wave plate, the quarter-wave plate, and the three-quarter-wave plate.
With respect to claim 5, Ono discloses the laser source assembly according to claim 2, wherein the at least one laser device includes a first laser device configured to emit a first color laser beam, a second color laser beam, and a third color laser beam (see 11R2, 111B and 11G2 in fig.5); the at least one combining lens group includes a first combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the first laser device and configured to combine the first color laser beam, the second color laser beam, and the third color laser beam (see respective 13 RGB elements in fig.5); the polarization direction adjustment component (see 1 in fig.5) is located on a laser-exit side of the first combining lens group, and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction (see the x-y plane in fig.5), the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of an orthogonal projection of the first combining lens group (see the configuration of 1 in fig.5 wherein 13A overlaps 1).
With respect to claim 9, Ono discloses the laser source assembly according to claim 2, wherein on the plane perpendicular to the first direction (see x-y plane in fig.5), the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with half of the orthogonal projection of the combining lens group (see the configuration of fig.5 wherein 1 overlaps at least half of 13A), so that half of the laser beams of the plurality of colors is adjusted in polarization direction by the polarization direction adjustment component (disclosed by the operation of 1 in fig.5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0004092 A1) in view of Tanaka (United States Patent Application Publication 2019/0041735 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Chien discloses a light source assembly (see fig.3), comprising: at least one light source device configured to emit light beams of a plurality of colors (see 54 and 56 in fig.3); at least one combining lens group (64, 68, 70 in fig.3 (broadest reasonable interpretation of the specification reflective elements of 64, 68, 79 in fig.3 meet the limitations of the claims)) located on a light source -exit side of the at least one light source device (see the exit side of 54 in fig.3), the at least one combining lens group being configured to combine the light source beams of the plurality of colors and propagate the combined light beams in a first direction (see the operation in fig.3); and at least one polarization direction adjustment component (66 in fig.3) configured to adjust a polarization direction of at least a portion of the light source beams of the plurality of colors (see the operation of 66), so as to obtain a light beam (see the beam that exits 58); wherein a light beam of at least one color in the target light source beam satisfies that, a polarization direction of a portion of the light source beam of a same color (see L1 (P) and L2(S) in fig.3) is different from a polarization direction of another portion of the light beam of the same color (see L1 (P) and L2(S) in fig.3); the polarization direction adjustment component (66 in fig.3) satisfies one of following: the polarization direction adjustment component is located between the at least one light source device (see 66) and the at least one combining lens group (see 64,68 and 70), but does not disclose wherein the light source device is a laser; an orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component on a light source -exit surface of the light source device overlaps with at least a portion of the laser-exit surface of the laser device; and the polarization direction adjustment component is located on a laser-exit side of the at least one combining lens group, and on a plane perpendicular to the first direction, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of an orthogonal projection of the combining lens group.
Tanaka discloses the light source device is a laser (see 16 and 20 in fig.1); an orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component (29) on a laser-exit surface of the laser device overlaps with at least a portion of the laser-exit surface of the laser device (see the overlap of 29 over 16 and 20); and the polarization direction adjustment component (29 in fig.1) satisfies one of following: the polarization direction adjustment component is located between the at least one laser device (see 16 and 20 in fig.1) and the at least one combining lens group (see 30 in fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the laser source assembly of Chien in view of Tanaka so that the light source device is a laser; an orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component on a light source -exit surface of the light source device overlaps with at least a portion of the laser-exit surface of the laser device; and the polarization direction adjustment component is located on a laser-exit side of the at least one combining lens group, and on a plane perpendicular to the first direction, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of an orthogonal projection of the combining lens group to improve light utilization by aligning components in the optical chain and to enhance the color gamut by utilizing a laser.
With respect to claim 10, Chien in view of Tanaka discloses the laser source assembly according to claim 1, Chien discloses wherein in a case where the polarization direction adjustment (66 in fig.3) component is located between the at least one light source device (Chien in view of Tanaka in fig.3, 54 and 56) and the at least one combining lens group (see 64, 68, and 70), the polarization direction adjustment (66 in fig.3) component satisfies one of following: on the light source-exit of the light source device (see exit side of 54); a portion of the light source beams (see the light from 54 in fig.3) of the plurality of colors emitted by the light source device is incident on the polarization direction adjustment component (see the plurality of colors from 54), and the polarization direction adjustment component is configured to adjust the polarization direction of the portion of the light source beams (see the adjustment of 66 in fig.3); and on the light source-exit surface of the laser device, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with the light source-exit surface of the laser device; all light source beams of the plurality of colors emitted by the light source device are incident on the polarization direction adjustment component, and the polarization direction adjustment component includes: a first portion, on the light source-exit surface of the light source device, an orthogonal projection of the first portion overlapping with a portion of a laser-exit region corresponding to the laser beam of at least one color; and a second portion, on the laser-exit surface of the laser device, an orthogonal projection of the second portion overlapping with a laser-exit region of the laser device outside the orthogonal projection of the first portion, the first portion and the second portion corresponding to the laser beams of different colors.
Chien does not disclose wherein the light source assembly is a laser source assembly and the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with a portion of the laser-exit surface of the laser device.
Tanaka discloses the light source assembly is a laser source (see 16 and 20 in fig.1) assembly and the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with a portion of the laser-exit surface of the laser device (see the overlap of 29 over 16 and 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the light source assembly of Chien in view of Tanaka with the teaching of Tanaka so that the light source assembly is a laser source assembly and the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with a portion of the laser-exit surface of the laser device to improve light utilization by aligning components in the optical chain and to enhance the color gamut by utilizing a laser.
With respect to claim 11, Chien in view of Tanaka discloses the laser source assembly according to claim 10, wherein the at least one light source device (see 54 and 56) includes a first light source (comprised by 54 and 56 in fig.3) configured to emit a first color light beam (see at least one colored beam from 54), a second color light beam, and a third color light beam (red, green or blue in fig.3, from 56); the at least one combining lens group (see 58 and 60) includes a first combining lens group (see the operation of 58) located on a light-exit side of the first light device (see the location of 58 and 60) and configured to combine the first color light beam, the second color light beam, and the third color light beam (see the operation of 58 and 60 in fig.3); the polarization direction adjustment component (66) is located between the first light device (see at least 54 in fig.3) and the first combining lens group (see 58 and 60), but does not disclose on a laser-exit surface of the first laser device, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of the laser-exit surface of the first laser device.
Chien does not disclose wherein the light source assembly is a laser source assembly and the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with a portion of the laser-exit surface of the laser device.
Tanaka discloses the light source assembly is a laser source (see 16 and 20 in fig.1) assembly and the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with a portion of the laser-exit surface of the laser device (see the overlap of 29 over 16 and 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the light source assembly of Chien in view of Tanaka with the teaching of Tanaka so that the light source assembly is a laser source assembly and the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with a portion of the laser-exit surface of the laser device to improve light utilization by aligning components in the optical chain and to enhance the color gamut by utilizing a laser.
With respect to claim 20, Chien in view of Tanaka discloses a projection apparatus (see fig.3 of Chien in view of Tanaka), comprising: a laser source assembly including the laser source assembly according to claim 1, Chien discloses the light source assembly being configured to emit illumination beams (see fig.3); but Chien does not disclose a light modulation assembly configured to modulate the illumination beams emitted by the laser source assembly, so as to obtain projection beams; and a projection lens configured to project the projection beams into a projection image.
Tanaka discloses a light modulation assembly (see 217-219 in fig.5) configured to modulate the illumination beams emitted by the laser source assembly (see 41 in fig.5), so as to obtain projection beams; and a projection lens (see 224 in fig.5) configured to project the projection beams into a projection image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the projection apparatus of Chien in view of Tanaka with the teaching of Tanaka so that a light modulation assembly configured to modulate the illumination beams emitted by the laser source assembly, so as to obtain projection beams; and a projection lens configured to project the projection beams into a projection image to enhance the utility of projection system by implementing a modulators and projection lenses.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 and 12-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 6, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the laser source assembly according to claim 2, wherein the at least one laser device includes: a first laser device configured to emit a first color laser beam, a second color laser beam, and a third color laser beam; and a second laser device configured to emit at least one of the first color laser beam, the second color laser beam, or the third color laser beam; the at least one combining lens group includes: a first combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the first laser device, the first combining lens group being configured to combine the first color laser beam, the second color laser beam, and the third color laser beam and propagate the combined laser beams in the first direction; and a second combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the second laser device, and the second combining lens group being configured to reflect the incident laser beam in the first direction and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction, an orthogonal projection of the first combining lens group being separated from an orthogonal projection of the second combining lens group; wherein the first combining lens group, the second combining lens group, and the polarization direction adjustment component are sequentially arranged in the first direction and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of at least one of the orthogonal projection of the first combining lens group or the orthogonal projection of the second combining lens group.
The closest prior art of record, Ono, discloses the laser source assembly according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the polarization direction adjustment component is located on the laser-exit side of the at least one combining lens group (see fig.5), the polarization direction adjustment component satisfies one of following: on the plane perpendicular to the first direction (see the x-y plane in fig.5), the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with a portion of the orthogonal projection of the combining lens group (see the overlap defined by the optical axis in fig.5); a portion of the laser beams of the plurality of colors combined by the combining lens group (see the light beams of ) is incident on the polarization direction adjustment component, and the polarization direction adjustment (1 in fig.5 and 6A or 6B) component is configured to adjust the polarization direction of the portion of the laser beams (see the operation disclosed in fig.6A or 6B); and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction (see the x-y plane), the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with all the orthogonal projection of the combining lens group (see the overlap as defined by the optical path between 1 and 13 in fig.5); all laser beams of the plurality of colors (see the laser beams of fig.5) combined by the combining lens group are incident on the polarization direction adjustment component (see 1 in fig.5), and the polarization direction adjustment component includes: a first portion (see 6); and a second portion (portion below 6), the first portion and the second portion being alternately arranged (see the arrangement in in fig.6), and the first portion and the second portion being configured to adjust the laser beam of a same color by different spatial phases (see the operation of 6 and the portion 21 and 31 below 6) but does not disclose wherein the at least one laser device includes: a first laser device configured to emit a first color laser beam, a second color laser beam, and a third color laser beam; and a second laser device configured to emit at least one of the first color laser beam, the second color laser beam, or the third color laser beam; the at least one combining lens group includes: a first combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the first laser device, the first combining lens group being configured to combine the first color laser beam, the second color laser beam, and the third color laser beam and propagate the combined laser beams in the first direction; and a second combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the second laser device, and the second combining lens group being configured to reflect the incident laser beam in the first direction and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction, an orthogonal projection of the first combining lens group being separated from an orthogonal projection of the second combining lens group; wherein the first combining lens group, the second combining lens group, and the polarization direction adjustment component are sequentially arranged in the first direction and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of at least one of the orthogonal projection of the first combining lens group or the orthogonal projection of the second combining lens group.
With respect to claim 7, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the laser source assembly according to claim 2, wherein the at least one laser device includes: a first laser device configured to emit a first color laser beam, a second color laser beam, and a third color laser beam, the third color laser beam being a first polarized laser beam, the first color laser beam and the second color laser beam being a second polarized laser beam, and a polarization direction of the first polarized laser beam being perpendicular to a polarization direction of the second polarized laser beam; and a second laser device configured to emit the third color laser beam; the at least one combining lens group includes: a first combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the first laser device, the first combining lens group being configured to combine the first color laser beam, the second color laser beam, and the third color laser beam and propagate the combined laser beams in the first direction; and a second combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the second laser device, the second combining lens group being configured to transmit the first polarized laser beam and reflect the second polarized laser beam, and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction, an orthogonal projection of the first combining lens group at least partially overlapping with an orthogonal projection of the second combining lens group; the laser source assembly further includes: a first polarization conversion component located between the first laser device and the first combining lens group, on a laser-exit surface of the first laser device, an orthogonal projection of the first polarization conversion component overlapping with laser-exit regions corresponding to the first color laser beam and the second color laser beam, and the first polarization conversion component being configured to convert the second polarized laser beam emitted by the first laser device into the first polarized laser beam; and a second polarization conversion component located between the second laser device and the second combining lens group on a laser-exit surface of the second laser device, an orthogonal projection of the second polarization conversion component overlapping with the laser-exit surface of the second laser device, and the second polarization conversion component being configured to convert the first polarized laser beam emitted by the second laser device into the second polarized laser beam; wherein the first combining lens group, the second combining lens group, and the polarization direction adjustment component are sequentially arranged in the first direction and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of the orthogonal projections of the first combining lens group and the second combining lens group.
The closest prior art of record, Ono, discloses the laser source assembly according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the polarization direction adjustment component is located on the laser-exit side of the at least one combining lens group (see fig.5), the polarization direction adjustment component satisfies one of following: on the plane perpendicular to the first direction (see the x-y plane in fig.5), the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with a portion of the orthogonal projection of the combining lens group (see the overlap defined by the optical axis in fig.5); a portion of the laser beams of the plurality of colors combined by the combining lens group (see the light beams of ) is incident on the polarization direction adjustment component, and the polarization direction adjustment (1 in fig.5 and 6A or 6B) component is configured to adjust the polarization direction of the portion of the laser beams (see the operation disclosed in fig.6A or 6B); and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction (see the x-y plane), the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with all the orthogonal projection of the combining lens group (see the overlap as defined by the optical path between 1 and 13 in fig.5); all laser beams of the plurality of colors (see the laser beams of fig.5) combined by the combining lens group are incident on the polarization direction adjustment component (see 1 in fig.5), and the polarization direction adjustment component includes: a first portion (see 6); and a second portion (portion below 6), the first portion and the second portion being alternately arranged (see the arrangement in in fig.6), and the first portion and the second portion being configured to adjust the laser beam of a same color by different spatial phases (see the operation of 6 and the portion 21 and 31 below 6) but does not disclose wherein the at least one laser device includes: a first laser device configured to emit a first color laser beam, a second color laser beam, and a third color laser beam, the third color laser beam being a first polarized laser beam, the first color laser beam and the second color laser beam being a second polarized laser beam, and a polarization direction of the first polarized laser beam being perpendicular to a polarization direction of the second polarized laser beam; and a second laser device configured to emit the third color laser beam; the at least one combining lens group includes: a first combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the first laser device, the first combining lens group being configured to combine the first color laser beam, the second color laser beam, and the third color laser beam and propagate the combined laser beams in the first direction; and a second combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the second laser device, the second combining lens group being configured to transmit the first polarized laser beam and reflect the second polarized laser beam, and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction, an orthogonal projection of the first combining lens group at least partially overlapping with an orthogonal projection of the second combining lens group; the laser source assembly further includes: a first polarization conversion component located between the first laser device and the first combining lens group, on a laser-exit surface of the first laser device, an orthogonal projection of the first polarization conversion component overlapping with laser-exit regions corresponding to the first color laser beam and the second color laser beam, and the first polarization conversion component being configured to convert the second polarized laser beam emitted by the first laser device into the first polarized laser beam; and a second polarization conversion component located between the second laser device and the second combining lens group on a laser-exit surface of the second laser device, an orthogonal projection of the second polarization conversion component overlapping with the laser-exit surface of the second laser device, and the second polarization conversion component being configured to convert the first polarized laser beam emitted by the second laser device into the second polarized laser beam; wherein the first combining lens group, the second combining lens group, and the polarization direction adjustment component are sequentially arranged in the first direction and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of the orthogonal projections of the first combining lens group and the second combining lens group.
With respect to claim 8, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the laser source assembly according to claim 2, wherein the at least one laser device includes: a first laser device configured to emit a first color laser beam; a second laser device configured to emit a second color laser beam; and a third laser device configured to emit a third color laser beam; the at least one combining lens group includes: a first combining sub-lens located on a laser-exit side of the first laser device, the first combining sub-lens being configured to transmit the first color laser beam and reflect the second color laser beam; a second combining sub-lens located on a laser-exit side of the second laser device, the second combining sub-lens being configured to reflect the second color laser beam to the first combining sub-lens; and a third combining sub-lens located on a laser-exit side of the third laser device and a laser-exit side of the first combining sub-lens, the third combining sub-lens being configured to transmit the third color laser beam and reflect the first color laser beam and the second color laser beam; wherein the third laser device, the third combining sub-lens, and the polarization direction adjustment component are sequentially arranged in the first direction; the first laser device, the first combining sub-lens, and the third combining sub-lens are sequentially arranged in a second direction; the first combining sub-lens and the second combining sub-lens are sequentially arranged in the first direction, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction; on the plane perpendicular to the first direction, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of an orthogonal projection of the third combining sub-lens.
The closest prior art of record, Ono, discloses the laser source assembly according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the polarization direction adjustment component is located on the laser-exit side of the at least one combining lens group (see fig.5), the polarization direction adjustment component satisfies one of following: on the plane perpendicular to the first direction (see the x-y plane in fig.5), the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with a portion of the orthogonal projection of the combining lens group (see the overlap defined by the optical axis in fig.5); a portion of the laser beams of the plurality of colors combined by the combining lens group (see the light beams of ) is incident on the polarization direction adjustment component, and the polarization direction adjustment (1 in fig.5 and 6A or 6B) component is configured to adjust the polarization direction of the portion of the laser beams (see the operation disclosed in fig.6A or 6B); and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction (see the x-y plane), the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with all the orthogonal projection of the combining lens group (see the overlap as defined by the optical path between 1 and 13 in fig.5); all laser beams of the plurality of colors (see the laser beams of fig.5) combined by the combining lens group are incident on the polarization direction adjustment component (see 1 in fig.5), and the polarization direction adjustment component includes: a first portion (see 6); and a second portion (portion below 6), the first portion and the second portion being alternately arranged (see the arrangement in in fig.6), and the first portion and the second portion being configured to adjust the laser beam of a same color by different spatial phases (see the operation of 6 and the portion 21 and 31 below 6) but does not disclose wherein the at least one laser device includes: a first laser device configured to emit a first color laser beam; a second laser device configured to emit a second color laser beam; and a third laser device configured to emit a third color laser beam; the at least one combining lens group includes: a first combining sub-lens located on a laser-exit side of the first laser device, the first combining sub-lens being configured to transmit the first color laser beam and reflect the second color laser beam; a second combining sub-lens located on a laser-exit side of the second laser device, the second combining sub-lens being configured to reflect the second color laser beam to the first combining sub-lens; and a third combining sub-lens located on a laser-exit side of the third laser device and a laser-exit side of the first combining sub-lens, the third combining sub-lens being configured to transmit the third color laser beam and reflect the first color laser beam and the second color laser beam; wherein the third laser device, the third combining sub-lens, and the polarization direction adjustment component are sequentially arranged in the first direction; the first laser device, the first combining sub-lens, and the third combining sub-lens are sequentially arranged in a second direction; the first combining sub-lens and the second combining sub-lens are sequentially arranged in the first direction, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction; on the plane perpendicular to the first direction, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of an orthogonal projection of the third combining sub-lens.
With respect to claim 12, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the laser source assembly according to claim 10, wherein the at least one laser device includes: a first laser device configured to emit a first color laser beam, a second color laser beam, and a third color laser beam; and a second laser device configured to emit one of the first color laser beam, the second color laser beam, and the third color laser beam; the at least one combining lens group includes: a first combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the first laser device, the first combining lens group being configured to combine the first color laser beam, the second color laser beam, and the third color laser beam, and propagate the combined laser beams in the first direction; and a second combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the second laser device, the second combining lens group being configured to reflect the incident laser beam in the first direction and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction, an orthogonal projection of the first combining lens group being separated from an orthogonal projection of the second combining lens group; wherein the polarization direction adjustment component satisfies at least one of following: the polarization direction adjustment component is located between the first laser device and the first combining lens group, and on a laser-exit surface of the first laser device, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of the laser-exit surface of the first laser device; or, the polarization direction adjustment component is located between the second laser device and the second combining lens group, and on a laser-exit surface of the second laser device, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of the laser-exit surface of the second laser device.
The closest prior art of record, Chien, discloses wherein in a case where the polarization direction adjustment (66 in fig.3) component is located between the at least one light source device (Chien in view of Tanaka in fig.3, 54 and 56) and the at least one combining lens group (see 64, 68, and 70), the polarization direction adjustment (66 in fig.3) component satisfies one of following: on the light source-exit of the light source device (see exit side of 54); a portion of the light source beams (see the light from 54 in fig.3) of the plurality of colors emitted by the light source device is incident on the polarization direction adjustment component (see the plurality of colors from 54), and the polarization direction adjustment component is configured to adjust the polarization direction of the portion of the light source beams (see the adjustment of 66 in fig.3) but does not disclose wherein the at least one laser device includes: a first laser device configured to emit a first color laser beam, a second color laser beam, and a third color laser beam; and a second laser device configured to emit one of the first color laser beam, the second color laser beam, and the third color laser beam; the at least one combining lens group includes: a first combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the first laser device, the first combining lens group being configured to combine the first color laser beam, the second color laser beam, and the third color laser beam, and propagate the combined laser beams in the first direction; and a second combining lens group located on a laser-exit side of the second laser device, the second combining lens group being configured to reflect the incident laser beam in the first direction and on the plane perpendicular to the first direction, an orthogonal projection of the first combining lens group being separated from an orthogonal projection of the second combining lens group; wherein the polarization direction adjustment component satisfies at least one of following: the polarization direction adjustment component is located between the first laser device and the first combining lens group, and on a laser-exit surface of the first laser device, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of the laser-exit surface of the first laser device; or, the polarization direction adjustment component is located between the second laser device and the second combining lens group, and on a laser-exit surface of the second laser device, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least a portion of the laser-exit surface of the second laser device.
Claims 13-16 are allowable as they depend from allowable claims.
With respect to claim 17, the prior art does not discloses or suggest the laser source assembly according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the polarization direction adjustment component is located between the at least one laser device and the at least one combining lens group, the polarization direction adjustment component satisfies one of following: on the laser-exit surface of the laser device, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with a portion of the laser-exit surface of the laser device; a portion of the laser beams of the plurality of colors emitted by the laser device is incident on the polarization direction adjustment component, and the polarization direction adjustment component is configured to adjust the polarization direction of the portion of the laser beams; and on the laser-exit surface of the laser device, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with the laser-exit surface of the laser device; all laser beams of the plurality of colors emitted by the laser device are incident on the polarization direction adjustment component, and the polarization direction adjustment component includes: a first portion, on the laser-exit surface of the laser device, an orthogonal projection of the first portion overlapping with a portion of a laser-exit region corresponding to the laser beam of at least one color; and a second portion, on the laser-exit surface of the laser device, an orthogonal projection of the second portion overlapping with a laser-exit region of the laser device outside the orthogonal projection of the first portion, the first portion and the second portion corresponding to the laser beams of different colors, wherein the at least one laser device includes: a base plate; a first light-emitting chip group including a plurality of first light-emitting chips configured to emit a third color laser beam; a second light-emitting chip group including a plurality of second light-emitting chips configured to emit a first color laser beam and a plurality of third light-emitting chips configured to emit a second color laser beam; and two tube shells disposed on the base plate and respectively surrounding the first light-emitting chip group and the second light-emitting chip group; wherein on the laser-exit surface of the laser device, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least one of a portion of an orthogonal projection of the first light-emitting chip group or a portion of an orthogonal projection of the second light-emitting chip group.
The closest prior art of record, Ono, discloses a laser source assembly (see 10A-12A), comprising: at least one laser device (see combinations of different colors 11RGB in fig.5) configured to emit laser beams of a plurality of colors ; at least one combining lens group (see 13A and 12A—although the word lens is used – the specification disclosed mirrored elements; therefore, in light of the specification and the broadest reasonable interpretation 13A and 12A read on the claimed limitations) located on a laser-exit side of the at least one laser device (see 10A), the at least one combining lens group (see 13A) being configured to combine the laser beams of the plurality of colors and propagate the combined laser beams in a first direction (see the z direction in fig.5); and at least one polarization direction adjustment component (see 1 in fig.5 and 6A or 6B) configured to adjust a polarization direction of at least a portion of the laser beams of the plurality of colors (see the operation in fig.6A or 6B, and the operation of half waveplate 6), so as to obtain a target laser beam (see the exit beam of fig.6A or 6B); wherein a laser beam of at least one color (see any light source 11RGB in fig.5) in the target laser beam satisfies that, a polarization direction of a portion of the laser beam of a same color is different from a polarization direction of another portion of the laser beam of the same color (See the output S and P beam of fig.6A or 6B); the polarization direction adjustment component satisfies one of following: the polarization direction adjustment component is located between the at least one laser device and the at least one combining lens group, and an orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component on a laser-exit surface of the laser device overlaps with at least a portion of the laser-exit surface of the laser device; and the polarization direction adjustment component (see 1 in fig.5) is located on a laser-exit side of the at least one combining lens group (see the location of 1 in fig.5 ), and on a plane perpendicular to the first direction (see fig.5 wherein 1 is located on the x-y plane; also see the disposition of half wave plate 6 in fig.6A or 6B), the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component (see the line perpendicular to the surface of 1 adjacent to 13Ain fig.5) overlaps with at least a portion of an orthogonal projection of the combining lens group (see the line perpendicular to the surface of 13A adjacent to 1 and overlapping in fig.5. i.e. defined by the optical path) but Ono does not disclose all laser beams of the plurality of colors emitted by the laser device are incident on the polarization direction adjustment component, and the polarization direction adjustment component includes: a first portion, on the laser-exit surface of the laser device, an orthogonal projection of the first portion overlapping with a portion of a laser-exit region corresponding to the laser beam of at least one color; and a second portion, on the laser-exit surface of the laser device, an orthogonal projection of the second portion overlapping with a laser-exit region of the laser device outside the orthogonal projection of the first portion, the first portion and the second portion corresponding to the laser beams of different colors, wherein the at least one laser device includes: a base plate; a first light-emitting chip group including a plurality of first light-emitting chips configured to emit a third color laser beam; a second light-emitting chip group including a plurality of second light-emitting chips configured to emit a first color laser beam and a plurality of third light-emitting chips configured to emit a second color laser beam; and two tube shells disposed on the base plate and respectively surrounding the first light-emitting chip group and the second light-emitting chip group; wherein on the laser-exit surface of the laser device, the orthogonal projection of the polarization direction adjustment component overlaps with at least one of a portion of an orthogonal projection of the first light-emitting chip group or a portion of an orthogonal projection of the second light-emitting chip group.
Claims 18 and 19 are allowed as they depend from allowable claim 17.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882