Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-9, 14, 16-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN113819707A), referring to the English translation dated 04/14/2026, in view of Jung (US20220404086A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches
a refrigerator (refrigerator 900, fig. 4) comprising:
a cabinet defining an internal cavity (box body 910 comprising plurality of storage compartments 911, fig. 4);
a drawer receptacle disposed within the internal cavity (storage assembly 100, fig. 1-4), the drawer receptacle defining (i) an opening along a forward end of the drawer receptacle (forward opening 321) and (ii) a cutout along a rearward end of the drawer receptacle (cutout for air inlet 400, fig. 1); and an assembly having
a panel (i) secured to the drawer receptacle (panel of air inlet 400 secured to wall plate 212 of storage assembly 100) and (ii) disposed over the cutout such that (a) a front side of the panel faces internally and into the drawer receptacle and (b) a rear side of the panel faces externally and away from the drawer receptacle (front side of air inlet 400 faces into storage assembly 100, rear side of air inlet 400 faces away from storage assembly 100; fig. 1),
an air damper configured to control airflow through the air duct (air inlet damper 700); and
a drawer slidable into and out of the drawer receptacle along the opening (first storage container 200, second storage container 300)
Yang does not teach
an air duct (i) secured to the panel, (ii) extending between the front and rear sides of the panel, and (iii) configured to direct air into the drawer receptacle, and
an air damper disposed within the air duct and configured to control airflow through the air duct
Jung teaches
an air duct (i) (fixed frame 454, figs. 12-13) secured to the panel (shroud 410), (ii) extending between the front and rear sides of the panel (flowing through first vent part 212; “first vent part 212 consists of a plurality of vent holes 216 passing through front and back in the front portion of the grille plate 200” [0140]), and (iii) configured to direct air into the drawer receptacle (“grille fan module 400 for supplying cool air to the storage part 112”) [0104], and
Yang teaches “the storage assembly 100 further includes a fan (not shown in the figure), which is arranged at the air inlet 400 to promote the cooling airflow to be quickly blown into the first storage space 210 and pass through the airflow channel 340 in the first storage space 210” [0069], however does not further describe the structure of the fan. Jung teaches a similar first vent part 212 to the air inlet 400 of Yang, further showing a grille fan module 400 fixed to the rear side of grille plate 200 for distributing airflow into a storage space. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the grille fan module 400 structure of Jung to the air inlet 400 of storage assembly 100 of Yang, in order to provide a simple and removable mounting structure for the fan assembly.
Yang, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for “an air damper disposed within the air duct and configured to control airflow through the air duct”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the air inlet damper 700 of Yang, as modified, as claimed, since it has been held that the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice when no criticality of the arrangement is provided. In the instant case, the location of the air inlet damper 700 of Yang would effectively perform the same function as claimed, despite covering the air duct instead of being arranged within the air duct; In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), wherein the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. Therefore, the claim is given no distinguishable patentability.
Regarding claim 2, Yang, as modified, does not teach the refrigerator of claim 1 further comprising
a temperature sensor secured to the front side of the panel and facing into the drawer receptacle
Jung teaches
a temperature sensor secured to the front side of the panel and facing into the drawer receptacle (“internal sensor module 300 is installed in the horizontal direction on the front side of the grille plate 200”) [0208]
Yang teaches a fan structure to promote cooling within the storage space, however does not describe a controlling system to operate the fan. Jung describes “The blowing fan 452 is installed inside the fixed frame 454 . The blowing fan 452 is a typical fan, and a detailed description thereof will be omitted. The blowing fan 452 is rotatably installed inside the fan mounting hole 456 , and vents the cool air toward the venting space 430 after sucking in the cool air from the cool air generation parts 120 and 124 according to a control signal from the controller” [0248] and “”The sensor connection wire 330 is connected to a controller (not shown) of the refrigerator, supplies power to the temperature sensor 328 , and transmits a detection value of the temperature sensor 328 to the controller” [0201]. Therefore, in order to control the fan system of Yang, as modified, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the internal sensor module 300 of Jung to Yang, since “In the internal sensor module 300 , more accurate temperature sensing of the first and second storage parts 118 and 122 may be achieved since the temperature sensor 328 is installed inside the sensor mounting part 302 protruding toward the front side of the grille plate” [0207 of Jung].
Regarding claim 6, Yang, as modified, teaches the refrigerator of claim 1,
wherein an outer periphery of the panel overlaps an external surface of the drawer receptacle along an outer periphery of the cutout (figs. 12-13 of Jung, outer periphery of shroud 410 overlaps an external surface of the grille plate 200 along an outer periphery of first vent part 212)
Regarding claim 8, Yang, as modified, teaches
a refrigerated pantry (refrigerator 900, fig. 4) comprising:
a receptacle (storage assembly 100, fig. 1-4) defining (i) a first opening configured to receive a drawer (forward opening 321) and (ii) a second opening (cutout for air inlet 400, fig. 1);
a panel (i) secured to the receptacle (panel of air inlet 400 secured to wall plate 212 of storage assembly 100) and (ii) disposed over the second opening such that (a) a first side of the panel faces into the receptacle and (b) a second side of the panel faces away from the receptacle (front side of air inlet 400 faces into storage assembly 100, rear side of air inlet 400 faces away from storage assembly 100; fig. 1); and
Yang does not teach
a damper box (i) secured to the panel, (ii) extending between the first and second sides of the panel, (iii) configured to route air into the receptacle, and (iv) housing a damper configured to control an airflow quantity into the receptacle
Jung teaches
a damper box (i) secured to the panel (fixed frame 454, figs. 12-13), (ii) extending between the first and second sides of the panel (flowing through first vent part 212; “first vent part 212 consists of a plurality of vent holes 216 passing through front and back in the front portion of the grille plate 200” [0140]), (iii) configured to route air into the receptacle (“grille fan module 400 for supplying cool air to the storage part 112”) [0104]
Yang teaches “the storage assembly 100 further includes a fan (not shown in the figure), which is arranged at the air inlet 400 to promote the cooling airflow to be quickly blown into the first storage space 210 and pass through the airflow channel 340 in the first storage space 210” [0069], however does not further describe the structure of the fan. Jung teaches a similar first vent part 212 to the air inlet 400 of Yang, further showing a grille fan module 400 fixed to the rear side of grille plate 200 for distributing airflow into a storage space. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the grille fan module 400 structure of Jung to the air inlet 400 of storage assembly 100 of Yang, in order to provide a simple and removable mounting structure for the fan assembly.
Yang, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for “a damper box (iv) housing a damper configured to control an airflow quantity into the receptacle”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the air inlet damper 700 of Yang, as modified, within the damper box as claimed, since it has been held that the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice when no criticality of the arrangement is provided. In the instant case, the location of the air inlet damper 700 of Yang would effectively perform the same function as claimed, despite covering the damper box instead of being arranged within the damper box; In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), wherein the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. Therefore, the claim is given no distinguishable patentability.
Regarding claim 9, Yang, as modified, does not teach the refrigerated pantry of claim 8 further comprising
a temperature sensor secured to the first side of the panel and facing into the receptacle.
Jung teaches
a temperature sensor secured to the first side of the panel and facing into the receptacle (“internal sensor module 300 is installed in the horizontal direction on the front side of the grille plate 200”) [0208]
Yang teaches a fan structure to promote cooling within the storage space, however does not describe a controlling system to operate the fan. Jung describes “The blowing fan 452 is installed inside the fixed frame 454 . The blowing fan 452 is a typical fan, and a detailed description thereof will be omitted. The blowing fan 452 is rotatably installed inside the fan mounting hole 456 , and vents the cool air toward the venting space 430 after sucking in the cool air from the cool air generation parts 120 and 124 according to a control signal from the controller” [0248] and “”The sensor connection wire 330 is connected to a controller (not shown) of the refrigerator, supplies power to the temperature sensor 328 , and transmits a detection value of the temperature sensor 328 to the controller” [0201]. Therefore, in order to control the fan system of Yang, as modified, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the internal sensor module 300 of Jung to Yang, since “In the internal sensor module 300 , more accurate temperature sensing of the first and second storage parts 118 and 122 may be achieved since the temperature sensor 328 is installed inside the sensor mounting part 302 protruding toward the front side of the grille plate” [0207 of Jung].
Regarding claim 14, Yang, as modified, teaches the refrigerated pantry of claim 8,
wherein an outer periphery of the panel overlaps an external surface of the receptacle along an outer periphery of the second opening (figs. 12-13 of Jung, outer periphery of shroud 410 overlaps an external surface of the grille plate 200 along an outer periphery of first vent part 212)
Regarding claim 16, Yang teaches
a refrigerator (refrigerator 900, fig. 4) comprising:
a cabinet (box body 910);
a first receptacle (i) disposed within the cabinet (storage assembly 100, fig. 1-4), (ii) configured to slidably receive a drawer (first storage container 200, second storage container 300), and (iii) a defining a cutout (cutout for air inlet 400, fig. 1); and an assembly having
a panel (i) secured to the first receptacle (panel of air inlet 400 secured to wall plate 212 of storage assembly 100) and (ii) disposed over the cutout such that (a) a front side of the panel faces into the first receptacle and (b) a rear side of the panel faces away from the first receptacle (front side of air inlet 400 faces into storage assembly 100, rear side of air inlet 400 faces away from storage assembly 100; fig. 1)
Yang does not teach
a second receptacle (i) secured to the panel, (ii) configured to receive a damper, (iii) defining openings, and (iv) configured to direct air from the rear side of the panel toward the front side of the panel and into the first receptacle via the openings
Jung teaches
a second receptacle (i) (fixed frame 454, figs. 12-13) secured to the panel (shroud 410), (iii) defining openings, and (iv) configured to direct air from the rear side of the panel toward the front side of the panel and into the first receptacle via the openings (flowing through first vent part 212; “first vent part 212 consists of a plurality of vent holes 216 passing through front and back in the front portion of the grille plate 200” [0140]; “grille fan module 400 for supplying cool air to the storage part 112”) [0104]
Yang teaches “the storage assembly 100 further includes a fan (not shown in the figure), which is arranged at the air inlet 400 to promote the cooling airflow to be quickly blown into the first storage space 210 and pass through the airflow channel 340 in the first storage space 210” [0069], however does not further describe the structure of the fan. Jung teaches a similar first vent part 212 to the air inlet 400 of Yang, further showing a grille fan module 400 fixed to the rear side of grille plate 200 for distributing airflow into a storage space. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the grille fan module 400 structure of Jung to the air inlet 400 of storage assembly 100 of Yang, in order to provide a simple and removable mounting structure for the fan assembly.
Yang, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for “a second receptacle (ii) configured to receive a damper”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the air inlet damper 700 of Yang, as modified, within the a second receptacle as claimed, since it has been held that the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice when no criticality of the arrangement is provided. In the instant case, the location of the air inlet damper 700 of Yang would effectively perform the same function as claimed, despite covering the a second receptacle instead of being received within the second receptacle; In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), wherein the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. Therefore, the claim is given no distinguishable patentability.
Regarding claim 17, Yang, as modified, does not teach he refrigerator of claim 16 further comprising
a temperature sensor secured to the front side of the panel and facing into the first receptacle
Jung teaches
a temperature sensor secured to the front side of the panel and facing into the first receptacle (“internal sensor module 300 is installed in the horizontal direction on the front side of the grille plate 200”) [0208]
Yang teaches a fan structure to promote cooling within the storage space, however does not describe a controlling system to operate the fan. Jung describes “The blowing fan 452 is installed inside the fixed frame 454 . The blowing fan 452 is a typical fan, and a detailed description thereof will be omitted. The blowing fan 452 is rotatably installed inside the fan mounting hole 456 , and vents the cool air toward the venting space 430 after sucking in the cool air from the cool air generation parts 120 and 124 according to a control signal from the controller” [0248] and “”The sensor connection wire 330 is connected to a controller (not shown) of the refrigerator, supplies power to the temperature sensor 328 , and transmits a detection value of the temperature sensor 328 to the controller” [0201]. Therefore, in order to control the fan system of Yang, as modified, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the internal sensor module 300 of Jung to Yang, since “In the internal sensor module 300 , more accurate temperature sensing of the first and second storage parts 118 and 122 may be achieved since the temperature sensor 328 is installed inside the sensor mounting part 302 protruding toward the front side of the grille plate” [0207 of Jung].
Regarding claim 19, Yang, as modified, teaches the refrigerator of claim 16,
wherein an outer periphery of the panel overlaps an external surface of the first receptacle along an outer periphery of the cutout (figs. 12-13 of Jung, outer periphery of shroud 410 overlaps an external surface of the grille plate 200 along an outer periphery of first vent part 212)
Claim(s) 3, 5, 10, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN113819707A), referring to the English translation dated 04/14/2026, in view of Jung (US20220404086A1), in further view of Klingshirn (US20150184918A1).
Regarding claim 3, Yang, as modified, does not teach the refrigerator of claim 2 further comprising
an electrical wire (sensor connection wire 330 of Jung, as applied to Yang)
Yang, as modified, does not teach
an electrical wire, wherein (i) the electrical wire extends from the temperature sensor, (ii) along the front side of the panel, and (iii) within the drawer receptacle
Klingshirn teaches
an electrical wire, wherein (i) the electrical wire extends from the temperature sensor, (ii) along the front side of the panel, and (iii) within the drawer receptacle (as shown on fig. 1, Klingshirn comprises line cluster 21 which extends from temperature sensor 20 along a ceiling 39 over passage 13 of storage compartment 3)
Yang, as modified by Jung, teaches “The sensor connection wire 330 is connected to a controller (not shown) of the refrigerator” [0201 of Jung], but does not further teach the structure of sensor connection wire 330. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the line cluster 21 arrangement of Klingshirn to internal sensor module 300 of Jung, as applied to Jiang (wherein the internal sensor module 300 and sensor connection wire 330, and thus the line cluster, are located on wall plate 212 of Yang, in order to neatly connect the wires of the sensor arrangement to an outside controller without interfering with the function of storage box 50.
Regarding claim 5, Yang, as modified, does not teach the refrigerator of claim 1 further comprising
an actuator configured to adjust a position of the air damper and (ii) an electrical wire, wherein (a) the electrical wire extends from the actuator, (b) along the front side of the panel, and (c) within the drawer receptacle
Klingshirn teaches
an actuator configured to adjust a position of the air damper (control element 18 to adjust plate 14) and (ii) an electrical wire, wherein (a) the electrical wire extends from the actuator (wire from control element 18 to line bundle 21, fig. 1), (b) along the front side of the panel, and (c) within the drawer receptacle (as shown on fig. 1, line cluster 21 extends from control element 18 along a ceiling 39 over passage 13 of storage compartment 3)
Yang teaches “Both the air inlet damper 700 and the air outlet damper 800 are configured to be controllably opened or closed according to the operating state of the fan” [0071], but does not teach an actuator or wire structure to open and close the air inlet damper 700 independent of the fan operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the control element 18 and line cluster 21 arrangement of Klingshirn to the air inlet damper 700 of Yang (wherein the air inlet damper 700, and thus the line cluster, are located on wall plate 212 of Yang), in order to effectively control the opening and closing of the system using a simple and well known actuator and control wire arrangement, thus ensuring the air inlet damper 700 can open for even very low air volumes, as well as close entirely when the fan is no longer blowing air.
Regarding claim 10, Yang, as modified, teaches the refrigerated pantry of claim 9 further comprising
an electrical wire (sensor connection wire 330 of Jung, as applied to Yang)
Yang, as modified, does not teach
an electrical wire, wherein (i) the electrical wire extends from the temperature sensor, (ii) along the first side of the panel, and (iii) within the receptacle
Klingshirn teaches
an electrical wire, wherein (i) the electrical wire extends from the temperature sensor, (ii) along the first side of the panel, and (iii) within the receptacle (as shown on fig. 1, Klingshirn comprises line cluster 21 which extends from temperature sensor 20 along a ceiling 39 over passage 13 of storage compartment 3)
Yang, as modified by Jung, teaches “The sensor connection wire 330 is connected to a controller (not shown) of the refrigerator” [0201 of Jung], but does not further teach the structure of sensor connection wire 330. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the line cluster 21 arrangement of Klingshirn to internal sensor module 300 of Jung, as applied to Jiang (wherein the internal sensor module 300 and sensor connection wire 330, and thus the line cluster, are located on wall plate 212 of Yang, in order to neatly connect the wires of the sensor arrangement to an outside controller without interfering with the function of storage box 50.
Regarding claim 12, Yang, as modified, does not teach the refrigerated pantry of claim 8 further comprising
an actuator configured to adjust a position of the damper and (ii) an electrical wire, wherein (a) the electrical wire extends from the actuator, (b) along the first side of the panel, and (c) within the receptacle
Klingshirn teaches
an actuator configured to adjust a position of the damper (control element 18 to adjust plate 14) and (ii) an electrical wire, wherein (a) the electrical wire extends from the actuator (wire from control element 18 to line bundle 21, fig. 1), (b) along the front side of the panel, and (c) within the receptacle (as shown on fig. 1, line cluster 21 extends from control element 18 along a ceiling 39 over passage 13 of storage compartment 3)
Yang teaches “Both the air inlet damper 700 and the air outlet damper 800 are configured to be controllably opened or closed according to the operating state of the fan” [0071], but does not teach an actuator or wire structure to open and close the air inlet damper 700 independent of the fan operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the control element 18 and line cluster 21 arrangement of Klingshirn to the air inlet damper 700 of Yang (wherein the air inlet damper 700, and thus the line cluster, are located on wall plate 212 of Yang), in order to effectively control the opening and closing of the system using a simple and well known actuator and control wire arrangement, thus ensuring the air inlet damper 700 can open for even very low air volumes, as well as close entirely when the fan is no longer blowing air.
Regarding claim 13, Yang, as modified, teaches the refrigerated pantry of claim 12,
wherein (ii) the electrical wire extends from the actuator, through an orifice defined by the damper box, and into the receptacle (as shown on fig. 1 of Klingshirn, the wire extends through ceiling 39 from control element 18 into storage compartment 3)
Yang, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for “wherein (i) the actuator is disposed within the damper box”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the control element 18 of Klingshirn, as applied to Yang, as modified, within the damper box as claimed, since it has been held that the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice when no criticality of the arrangement is provided. In the instant case, the location of the control element 18 of Klingshirn, as applied to Yang, as modified, would effectively perform the same function as claimed, whether or not is located within or outside shroud 410 of Jung as applied to Yang; In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), wherein the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. Therefore, the claim is given no distinguishable patentability.
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN113819707A), referring to the English translation dated 04/14/2026, in view of Jung (US20220404086A1), in further view of Jung2017 (US20170198961A1).
Regarding claim 4, Yang, as modified, does not teach the refrigerator of claim 1 further comprising
a cover, wherein the cover is (i) disposed over the air damper, (ii) removably secured to the front side of the panel, and (iii) faces into the drawer receptacle
Jung2017 teaches
a cover (duct structure 1600, fig. 3), wherein the cover is (ii) removably secured to the front side of the panel (via attaching portion 1671, 1672, and 1673; “When the attaching projections 1671 and 1672 are inserted into the attaching projection receiving portions 1163 , the duct structure 1600 is temporarily fixed to the second cover 1150” [0098], and (iii) faces into the drawer receptacle (fig. 3)
Jung2017 taches a similar system to that of Yang, as modified, wherein Jung2017 comprises a pantry fan 1900 to blow cold air into a drawer 1520. However, Jung2017 further comprises a duct structure 1600. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the duct structure 1600 of Jung2017 to the air inlet of Yang, as modified, in order to cover air inlet and thus prevent outside interference of air inlet damper 700, as well as since “the structure of the front portion 1620 may help prevent reverse flow of cold air” [0104 of Jung2017].
The combination teaches
a cover (duct structure 1600, fig. 3 of Jung2017, as applied to Yang as modified), wherein the cover is (i) disposed over the air damper (as applied to Yang, disposed over air inlet damper 700)
Regarding claim 11, Yang, as modified, does not teach the refrigerated pantry of claim 8 further comprising
a cover, wherein the cover is (i) disposed over the damper, (ii) removably secured to the first side of the panel, and (iii) faces into the receptacle
Jung2017 teaches
a cover (duct structure 1600, fig. 3), wherein the cover is (ii) removably secured to the first side of the panel (via attaching portion 1671, 1672, and 1673; “When the attaching projections 1671 and 1672 are inserted into the attaching projection receiving portions 1163 , the duct structure 1600 is temporarily fixed to the second cover 1150” [0098], and (iii) faces into the receptacle (fig. 3)
Jung2017 taches a similar system to that of Yang, as modified, wherein Jung2017 comprises a pantry fan 1900 to blow cold air into a drawer 1520. However, Jung2017 further comprises a duct structure 1600. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the duct structure 1600 of Jung2017 to the air inlet of Yang, as modified, in order to cover air inlet and thus prevent outside interference of air inlet damper 700, as well as since “the structure of the front portion 1620 may help prevent reverse flow of cold air” [0104 of Jung2017].
The combination teaches
a cover (duct structure 1600, fig. 3 of Jung2017, as applied to Yang as modified), wherein the cover is (i) disposed over the air damper (as applied to Yang, disposed over air inlet damper 700)
Regarding claim 18, Yang, as modified, does not teach the refrigerator of claim 16 further comprising
a cover, wherein the cover is (i) removably secured to the front side of the panel, (ii) faces into the first receptacle, and (iii) forms a first portion of the second receptacle
Jung2017 teaches
a cover (duct structure 1600, fig. 3), wherein the cover is (i) removably secured to the front side of the panel (via attaching portion 1671, 1672, and 1673; “When the attaching projections 1671 and 1672 are inserted into the attaching projection receiving portions 1163 , the duct structure 1600 is temporarily fixed to the second cover 1150”) [0098], (ii) faces into the first receptacle (fig. 3)
Jung2017 taches a similar system to that of Yang, as modified, wherein Jung2017 comprises a pantry fan 1900 to blow cold air into a drawer 1520. However, Jung2017 further comprises a duct structure 1600. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the duct structure 1600 of Jung2017 to the air inlet of Yang, as modified, in order to cover air inlet and thus prevent outside interference of air inlet damper 700, as well as since “the structure of the front portion 1620 may help prevent reverse flow of cold air” [0104 of Jung2017].
The combination teaches
a cover (duct structure 1600, fig. 3 of Jung2017, as applied to Yang as modified), wherein the cover (iii) forms a first portion of the second receptacle (as applied to Yang, as modified, air flows out of fixed frame 454 of Jung as applied to Yang and into duct structure 1600 of Jung2017 as applied to Yang, thus forming a second receptacle wherein duct structure 1600 forms a first portion)
Claim(s) 7, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN113819707A), referring to the English translation dated 04/14/2026, in view of Jung (US20220404086A1), in further view of Xia (WO2021083432A1), referring to the English translation dated 04/14/2026.
Regarding claim 7, Yang, as modified, does not teach the refrigerator of claim 6 further comprising
a gasket disposed between the outer periphery of the panel and the drawer receptacle along the outer periphery of the cutout
Xia teaches
a gasket disposed between the outer periphery of the panel and the drawer receptacle along the outer periphery of the cutout (gasket 326)
In figs. 10-12, Xia teaches a fan 331 and fan frame 332 secured to a mother plate 321, similar to the grille fan member 450 and shroud 410 secured to a grille plate 200 of Jung. However, Xia further teaches a gasket 326. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the gasket 326 of Xia to the assembly of Jung, as applied to Yang, since “Each gasket 326 is made of an elastic material to cushion the pressing force between adjacent layers” [0057 of Xia].
Regarding claim 15, Yang, as modified, does not teach the refrigerated pantry of claim 14 further comprising
a gasket disposed between the outer periphery of the panel and the receptacle along the outer periphery of the second opening
Xia teaches
a gasket disposed between the outer periphery of the panel and the receptacle along the outer periphery of the second opening (gasket 326)
In figs. 10-12, Xia teaches a fan 331 and fan frame 332 secured to a mother plate 321, similar to the grille fan member 450 and shroud 410 secured to a grille plate 200 of Jung. However, Xia further teaches a gasket 326. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the gasket 326 of Xia to the assembly of Jung, as applied to Yang, since “Each gasket 326 is made of an elastic material to cushion the pressing force between adjacent layers” [0057 of Xia].
Regarding claim 20, Yang, as modified, does not teach the refrigerator of claim 19,
wherein a gasket is disposed between the outer periphery of the panel and the first receptacle along the outer periphery of the cutout
Xia teaches
wherein a gasket is disposed between the outer periphery of the panel and the first receptacle along the outer periphery of the cutout (gasket 326)
In figs. 10-12, Xia teaches a fan 331 and fan frame 332 secured to a mother plate 321, similar to the grille fan member 450 and shroud 410 secured to a grille plate 200 of Jung. However, Xia further teaches a gasket 326. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the gasket 326 of Xia to the assembly of Jung, as applied to Yang, since “Each gasket 326 is made of an elastic material to cushion the pressing force between adjacent layers” [0057 of Xia].
Conclusion
The prior art of record not relied upon includes:
Jiang (WO2023160532A1), Carballo (US20180299144A1), Vijayan (US20160033189A1), and Zhang (WO2023016094A1), which teach similar refrigerator arrangements to that claimed
/BRETT P. MALLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762