DETAILED ACTION
Formal Matters
Applicant’s response in the reply filed on 01 December 2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 13-15, 18-20, 23-24, 31-32, and 34 are pending. Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9 are under consideration in the instant office action. Claims 10-11, 13-15, 18-20, 23-24, 31-32, and 34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01 December 2025. Claims 5, 8, 12, 16-17, 21-22, 25-30, and 33 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 14 May 2024 is noted and the submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the references. A signed copy is attached herein.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9) in the reply filed on 01 December 2025 is acknowledged. Additionally, Applicant’s election of the species below in the reply filed on 01 December 2025 is also acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Note: The claims are examined with respect to the elected species as follows:
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kameni et al. (WO2021/016305) in view of Momoi (US2009/0304601).
Note: The claims are examined with respect to the elected species set forth below:
Applicants’ claims
Applicants claim a softgel capsule comprising: a fill material; and a shell composition, wherein the shell composition comprises a marking formulation including a marking component, wherein laser irradiation is applied to the softgel capsule at a wavelength of about 1000 nm to about 2200 nm, causing the marking component to provide a visible effect. Dependent claims thereof recite limitations further defining features.
Claim Interpretation: Applicant in the specification paragraph 0093 discloses “Several sample softgel capsules were prepared using a variety of marking formulations which were tested using a fiber laser. In each example capsule, glycerol, purified water, and gelatin were combined with a marking formulation according to Table 1.” In Table 1 Samples 1-4 recite marking formulations of different iron oxide pigments. The broadest reasonable interpretation includes the capsule shell contains the capsule making ingredients and the marking composition.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Kameni et al. teach softshell capsule formulation, comprising: a synthetic polymer; a natural gelling agent; a buffering agent; a plasticizer; and water (see claim 1). The softshell capsule formulation of claim 1, wherein the synthetic polymer comprises at least one of a poly(N-vinyl lactam), povidone, crospovidone, a maleic anhydride copolymer, poly(2-ethyl-2-oxazoline), poly(ethyleneimine), polyurethane hydrogelsan acrylic acid polymer, a methacrylic acid polymer, methyl acrylate, ethyl acrylate, methyl methacrylate, ethyl methacrylate, aminoethyl acrylate, maleic anhydride, polymaleic acid, a polyacrylamide, poly(methacrylamide), poly(dimethylacrylamide), poly(N-isopropyl acrylamide), a polyolefmic alcohol, poly(N-vinyl caprolactam), a polyol, glycerol, polyglycerol, propylene glycol, polyoxyethylated sorbitol, polyoxy ethylated glucose, a polyoxazoline, poly(methyloxazoline), poly(ethyloxazoline), a polyvinylamine, a polyvinylacetate, polyvinyl acetate, polyvinyl acetate phthalate, a polyimine, polyethyleneimine, a polyurethane hydrogel, chitosan, a polysaccharide gum, zein, shellac, ammoniated shellac, shellac acetyl alcohol, shellac n-butyl stearate, esters thereof, homopolymers thereof, copolymers thereof, block copolymers thereof, graft copolymers thereof and combinations thereof (see claim 2). The softshell capsule formulation of claim 1 or 2, wherein the synthetic polymer comprises povidone (see claim 3). The softshell capsule formulation of claim 1, wherein the natural gelling agent comprises at least one of carrageenan, xanthan gum, agar agar or pectin, sugar, sugar derived alcohol, starch, pregelatinized starch, a cellulose derivative, a cellulosic polymer, hydroxyethylcellulose, hydroxypropylcellulose, hydroxypropylmethylcellulose, carboxymethylcellulose, microcrystalline cellulose, attapulgite, bentonite, dextrin, alginate, kaolin, lecithin, magnesium aluminum silicate, carbomer, carbopol, polyethylene glycol, polyethylene oxide, polyvinyl alcohol, silicon dioxide, curdlan, furcelleran, egg white powder, lacto albumin, soy protein, chitosan and sodium laurel sulfate (see claim 4). The softshell capsule formulation of claim 1, wherein the buffering agent comprises at least one of dibasic sodium phosphate, monobasic sodium phosphate, sodium bicarbonate, sodium citrate, disodium phosphate, calcium phosphate, dibasic calcium phosphate, tribasic calcium phosphate, monobasic potassium phosphate and dibasic potassium phosphate (see claim 8). The softshell capsule formulation of claim 1, wherein the buffer agent comprises dibasic sodium phosphate (see claim 9). The softshell capsule formulation of claim 1, wherein the plasticizer comprises at least one of glycerin, glycerol, adonitol, sorbitol, sorbitol blend, ribitol, galactitol, D- galactose, 1,3-dihydroxypropanol, glucose, sucrose, mannitol, xylitol, meso-erythritol, adipic acid, proline, hydroxyproline, polyol compound, monoglyceride, short- or medium-chain free fatty acid, monoacylglycerol ester, low molecular weight polymer, oligomer, copolymer, oil, small organic molecule, low molecular weight polyol having aliphatic hydroxyl, glycol ethers, polypropylene glycol), multi-block polymer, single block polymer, low molecular weight poly(ethylene glycol), citrate ester-type, triacetin, propylene glycol, ethylene glycol, 1,2-butylene glycol, 2,3 -butylene glycol, styrene glycol, di ethylene glycol, tri ethylene glycol, tetraethylene glycol, monopropylene glycol monoisopropyl ether, propylene glycol monoethyl ether, ethylene glycol monoethyl ether, diethylene glycol monoethyl ether, sorbitol lactate, ethyl lactate, butyl lactate, ethyl glycolate, dibutyl sebacate, acetyl tributyl citrate, triethyl citrate, acetyl triethyl citrate, tributyl citrate and allyl glycolate (see claim 10). The softshell capsule formulation of claim 1, wherein the plasticizer comprises glycerin (see claim 11). The softshell capsule formulation of claim 1, further comprising at least one of a colorant, opacifier, flavorant, sweetener, preservative, embrittlement inhibiting agent and disintegrant (see claim 12). The softshell capsule formulation of claim 12, wherein the colorant comprises at least one of an azo dye, quinophthalone dye, triphenylmethane dye, xanthene dye, iron oxide, iron hydroxide, titanium dioxide, sunset yellow, allura red, amaranth, koki neil red, azogeranin, tartrazine, brilliant black, canthaxanthin, patent blue, fast green, brilliant blue, acid green, erythrosine, quinoline yellow, indigotin, curcumin, carbon black and combinations thereof (see claim 13). The examiner notes that one can pick the iron oxide from the Markush list meeting the limitations of claims 6-7. The softshell capsule formulation of claim 1, wherein the softshell capsule formulation is free of at least one of gelatin and starch (see claim 26). In certain embodiments, the softshell capsule formulation is free of at least one of gelatin and/or starch (paragraph 0023). The examiner notes that gelatin can be incorporated.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Kameni et al. do not specifically teach wherein laser irradiation is applied to the softgel capsule at a wavelength of about 1000 nm to about 2200 nm, causing the marking component to provide a visible effect. These deficiencies are cured by the teachings of Momoi.
Momoi teaches a marking method that is highly productive and enables production of easily-identifiable compositions for use in oral administration such as drugs and foods without damaging the quality of the oral composition. The marking method according to the present invention is a method for marking such a composition for use in oral administration and includes the steps of: dispersing a change in color-inducing oxide in the composition for use in oral administration; and scanning a surface of the composition for use in oral administration with a laser beam at wavelengths of from 200 nm to 1100 nm and with from 0.1 W to 50 W average power in to make the particles of the change in color-inducing oxide agglomerate so as to become discolored. The change in color-inducing oxide used in the present invention is at least one selected from the group consisting of titanium dioxide, yellow ferric oxide, and red ferric oxide (see abstract). The examiner notes that one can pick the iron oxide from the Markush list meeting the limitations of claims 6-7. In a preferred embodiment of the manufacturing method according to the present invention, there is provided a method for manufacturing a composition for use in oral administration, including the steps of: obtaining a composition for use in oral administration, which has a coating layer in which at least one type of change in color-inducing oxide selected from the group consisting of titanium dioxide, yellow ferric oxide, and red ferric oxide, is dispersed; and making an identification mark by scanning a surface of the coating layer with a laser beam at wavelengths of from 200 nm to 1100 nm and with from 0.1 W to 50 W average power. The coating layer may comprise any of titanium dioxide, yellow ferric oxide, and red ferric oxide, but there is no particular limitation on combinations of these oxides or any other components. Specific examples of the coating layer include capsule coating layers, film-coated layers, and sugar-coated layers. The dosage forms of the composition for use in oral administration in a preferred embodiment of the present invention are: film-coated tablets, sugar-coated tablets, hard capsules, and soft capsules (paragraph 0018). Momoi teaches With regard to pharmaceutical compositions for use in oral administration such as tablets and capsules, not only their packages, but also the compositions themselves are required to be identifiable in order to prevent mistakenly dispensing or taking the wrong drugs. However, there are limitations to identifying tablets and capsules with only their shapes and color tones. Therefore, marks are made on the surface of tablets and capsules in order to enhance identifiability. For example, the following methods are employed for marking tablets and capsules: transfer-type printing using a rubber roller to directly print letters and the like on a the surface of film-coated tablets and capsules; and inkjet-type printing of printing ink dots on the surface of film-coated tablets or capsules. In the case of uncoated tablets, a method for imprinting tablets, using a tableting punch with a concave-convex surface, has been employed since old times (paragraph 0002). However, these classic methods like the transfer-type printing are easily affected by, for example, the surface condition of tablets or capsules and the atmosphere where the printing is carried out. Accordingly, very complicated management is required in order to stably provide clear printing. Also, in the case of inkjet-type printing, insufficient drying of ink causes stains, or blurring of the printed letters on the tablets, which may have an influence on the appearance of the tablets. Furthermore, in the case of imprinting, tablets and capsules have spherical surfaces in many cases and, therefore, there are limitations on the area on the tablet surface where letters and the like can be printed, and the number and size of letters or the shapes of graphic symbols that can be printed on the tablet surface. Consequently, the amount of information provided by the marked tablets is not always sufficient. Also, imprinting requires an exclusive punch for each product. Moreover, depending on the shape of the engraved mark, sticking may easily occur, resulting the engraved part being chipped off; and the engraved part may also wear off in the post-tableting step as well, which will cause an increase in the defect rate in an appearance examination. The engraved part may also chip off in the distribution process, which may not only decrease identifiability, but also have an influence on the product quality (paragraph 0003). Therefore, there is a strong need for development of a marking method unlike the conventional marking methods, which is highly productive and which enables production of easily-identifiable compositions for use in oral administration such as drugs and foods without damaging the quality of the compositions for use in oral administration (see paragraph 0009). As a result of thorough research of a method for marking the compositions for use in oral administration in light of the circumstances described above, the inventor of the present invention have found that irradiation of the surface of a composition for use in oral administration, in which a specified change in color-inducing oxide is dispersed, with a specified laser beam causes change in color of the surface due to agglomeration of the change in color-inducing oxide. As a result of this agglomeration phenomenon, the present inventor has completed the present invention (see paragraph 0010).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Kameni et al. by achieving a visible effect on a softgel capsule through applying laser irradiation to the softgel capsule at a wavelength of about 1000 nm to about 2200 nm because Momoi teaches a marking method that is highly productive and enables production of easily-identifiable compositions for use in oral administration such as drugs and foods without damaging the quality of the oral composition. The marking method according to the present invention is a method for marking such a composition for use in oral administration and includes the steps of: dispersing a change in color-inducing oxide in the composition for use in oral administration; and scanning a surface of the composition for use in oral administration with a laser beam at wavelengths of from 200 nm to 1100 nm and with from 0.1 W to 50 W average power in to make the particles of the change in color-inducing oxide agglomerate so as to become discolored. The change in color-inducing oxide used in the present invention is at least one selected from the group consisting of titanium dioxide, yellow ferric oxide, and red ferric oxide (see abstract). In a preferred embodiment of the manufacturing method according to the present invention, there is provided a method for manufacturing a composition for use in oral administration, including the steps of: obtaining a composition for use in oral administration, which has a coating layer in which at least one type of change in color-inducing oxide selected from the group consisting of titanium dioxide, yellow ferric oxide, and red ferric oxide, is dispersed; and making an identification mark by scanning a surface of the coating layer with a laser beam at wavelengths of from 200 nm to 1100 nm and with from 0.1 W to 50 W average power. The coating layer may comprise any of titanium dioxide, yellow ferric oxide, and red ferric oxide, but there is no particular limitation on combinations of these oxides or any other components. Specific examples of the coating layer include capsule coating layers, film-coated layers, and sugar-coated layers. The dosage forms of the composition for use in oral administration in a preferred embodiment of the present invention are: film-coated tablets, sugar-coated tablets, hard capsules, and soft capsules (paragraph 0018). Momoi teaches with regard to pharmaceutical compositions for use in oral administration such as tablets and capsules, not only their packages, but also the compositions themselves are required to be identifiable in order to prevent mistakenly dispensing or taking the wrong drugs. However, there are limitations to identifying tablets and capsules with only their shapes and color tones. Therefore, marks are made on the surface of tablets and capsules in order to enhance identifiability. For example, the following methods are employed for marking tablets and capsules: transfer-type printing using a rubber roller to directly print letters and the like on a the surface of film-coated tablets and capsules; and inkjet-type printing of printing ink dots on the surface of film-coated tablets or capsules. In the case of uncoated tablets, a method for imprinting tablets, using a tableting punch with a concave-convex surface, has been employed since old times (paragraph 0002). However, these classic methods like the transfer-type printing are easily affected by, for example, the surface condition of tablets or capsules and the atmosphere where the printing is carried out. Accordingly, very complicated management is required in order to stably provide clear printing. Also, in the case of inkjet-type printing, insufficient drying of ink causes stains, or blurring of the printed letters on the tablets, which may have an influence on the appearance of the tablets. Furthermore, in the case of imprinting, tablets and capsules have spherical surfaces in many cases and, therefore, there are limitations on the area on the tablet surface where letters and the like can be printed, and the number and size of letters or the shapes of graphic symbols that can be printed on the tablet surface. Consequently, the amount of information provided by the marked tablets is not always sufficient. Also, imprinting requires an exclusive punch for each product. Moreover, depending on the shape of the engraved mark, sticking may easily occur, resulting the engraved part being chipped off; and the engraved part may also wear off in the post-tableting step as well, which will cause an increase in the defect rate in an appearance examination. The engraved part may also chip off in the distribution process, which may not only decrease identifiability, but also have an influence on the product quality (paragraph 0003). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Momoi teaches that, the laser beam based marking method is highly productive and which enables production of easily-identifiable compositions for use in oral administration such as drugs and foods without damaging the quality of the compositions for use in oral administration (see paragraph 0009). Momoi teaches that as a result of thorough research of a method for marking the compositions for use in oral administration in light of the circumstances described above, the inventor of the present invention have found that irradiation of the surface of a composition for use in oral administration, in which a specified change in color-inducing oxide is dispersed, with a specified laser beam causes change in color of the surface due to agglomeration of the change in color-inducing oxide. As a result of this agglomeration phenomenon, the present inventor has completed the present invention (see paragraph 0010). Furthermore, in the case where the claimed ranges of measurable parameters" overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, differences in concentration or measurable parameters will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable chance of success in combining the teachings of Kameni et al. and Momoi. because both references are drawn to softgel capsules containing colorants like iron oxides.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kameni et al. (WO2021/016305) in view of Momoi (US2009/0304601) as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-7 above, and further in view of Goethals et al. (EP3928996).
Applicants’ claims
Applicants claim a softgel capsule comprising: a fill material; and a shell composition, wherein the shell composition comprises a marking formulation including a marking component, wherein laser irradiation is applied to the softgel capsule at a wavelength of about 1000 nm to about 2200 nm, causing the marking component to provide a visible effect. Claim 9 recites the softgel capsule of claim 1, wherein the laser irradiation is achieved using a fiber laser.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP 2141.01)
The teachings Kameni et al. and Momoi are described above in detail and are incorporated herein by reference.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Kameni et al. and Momoi do not specifically teach wherein the laser irradiation is achieved using a fiber laser. These deficiencies are cured by the teachings of Goethals et al.
Goethals et al. teach a method of marking an article (1) comprising a marking step wherein the article (1) including a first (100) and a second (200) colour-forming layer provided on at least part of a support (500), each colour-forming layer capable of forming respectively a first and a second colour upon marking, is marked thereby forming an image (350, 350'), characterized in that first and the second colour are formed simultaneously in at least part of the marking step (see abstract). Another advantage of using laser marking or thermal printing instead of another printing technique, such as inkjet printing, is the absence of any chemicals in the marking process. Especially for pharmaceutical and food packaging, the absence of chemicals in the packaging line is an advantage (paragraph 0155). The laser can be a solid state laser, such as a disk laser, a Nd:Yag laser or a Fiber laser. The laser can be a gas laser, such as a He-Ne laser, a CO2-laser, or an Excimer laser (paragraph 0171). To produce high resolution laser marked data, it is preferred to use a near infrared (NIR) laser having an emission wavelength between 750 and 2500, preferably between 800 and 1500 nm in the laser marking step (see paragraph 0175).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Kameni et al. and Momoi by utilizing fiber laser for achieving marking because Goethals et al. teach a method of marking an article (1) comprising a marking step wherein the article (1) including a first (100) and a second (200) colour-forming layer provided on at least part of a support (500), each colour-forming layer capable of forming respectively a first and a second colour upon marking, is marked thereby forming an image (350, 350'), characterized in that first and the second colour are formed simultaneously in at least part of the marking step (see abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Goethals et al. teach that another advantage of using laser marking or thermal printing instead of another printing technique, such as inkjet printing, is the absence of any chemicals in the marking process. Especially for pharmaceutical and food packaging, the absence of chemicals in the packaging line is an advantage (paragraph 0155). The laser can be a solid state laser, such as a disk laser, a Nd:Yag laser or a Fiber laser. The laser can be a gas laser, such as a He-Ne laser, a CO2-laser, or an Excimer laser (paragraph 0171). To produce high resolution laser marked data, it is preferred to use a near infrared (NIR) laser having an emission wavelength between 750 and 2500, preferably between 800 and 1500 nm in the laser marking step (see paragraph 0175). Momoi clearly also teaches an overlapping range of wavelengths of from 200 nm to 1100 nm. Furthermore, in the case where the claimed ranges of measurable parameters such as wevelengths" overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, differences in concentration or measurable parameters will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable chance of success in combining the teachings of Kameni et al., Momoi, and Goethals et al. because all of the references are drawn to encapsulated compositions.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Chu (US Patent No. 3,395,202).
Chu teach a method of forming pigment marked edible soft gelatin capsules having pigmented indicia on the surface which comprises: suspending from 10 to 20 parts of a non-toxic water and alcohol insoluble pigment selected from the group consisting of titanium dioxide, calcium carbonate, barium sulfate, charcoal, iron oxides and the lakes of dyes approved for drug and cosmetic use, in 30 to 60 parts of a polyhydric alcohol selected from the group consisting of propylene glycol, polyethylene glycol and glycerine (which is glycerol) and sufficient water to make a total of 100 parts with the aid of 0.005 to 1 part of a non-toxic surface active suspending agent in the presence of from about 0.5 to 3 parts of a water-soluble non-toxic cellulose derivative (gelling agent) selected from the group consisting of methyl cellulose and sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, applying the thus formed pigment marking fluid to a wet soft gelatin strip, forming gelatin capsules from said strip, and thereafter drying the pigment marked capsules (see claim 1).
No claims are allowed.
/TIGABU KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619