DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed September 22, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-12, 14-17, and 19-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the Claim Interpretation issues for claims 1 and 16, and the Claim Objections for claims 1, 12, 16, and 20 previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed June 20, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s claims 1, 16, and 20 arguments about the teachings of Lin, US 7555805 B2, in view of Jankura, US 11585485 B2, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The use of broadly claimed “configured to” functional limitations requires the art applied to only be structurally capable without modification of performing the function and, without accompanying detailed structure, allows for the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitations in question.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, line 15, the paragraph reciting the biasing member does not end with any punctuation. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim paragraph to end with a semicolon.
Regarding claim 16, line 18, the paragraph reciting the biasing member does not end with any punctuation. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim paragraph to end with a semicolon.
Regarding claim 20, line 16, the paragraph reciting moving the actuating m ember from the first position does not end with any punctuation. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim paragraph to end with a semicolon.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin, US 7555805 B2, in view of Jankura et al., US 11585485 B2 (hereinafter Jankura).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a latch assembly (holding assembly 7a), the latch assembly being configured to couple with a device (cleaning head 1), the latch assembly defining an X direction, a Y direction that is orthogonal to the X direction, and a Z direction that is orthogonal to the X direction and to the Y direction, the latch assembly defining a centerline that extends along the Z direction, wherein the centerline defines an inward direction and an outward direction (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), the latch assembly comprising:
a first attachment member (right insertion head 81; Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin);
a second attachment member (left insertion head 81; Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin);
an actuating member (release assembly 9) configured to move from a first position (Fig 3) to a second position (Fig 4) along the Z direction (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), wherein the actuating member is configured to exert an inward force onto the first attachment member and onto the second attachment member when the actuating member is in the second position (movement between Fig 3 and Fig 4 depicts 9 inwardly forcing left and right 81 together); and
Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin
a biasing member (spring 82) configured to pivot at least one of the first attachment member or the second attachment member in the outward direction when the actuating member is moved from the second position to the first position (82 is structurally capable without modification of moving, sliding or pivoting, the attachment members outwardly when 9 is moved from Fig 4 to Fig 3); (see claim interpretation under claim 1 Claim Objection)
wherein the first attachment member comprises a first clip portion (right outer projection 85; Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin) and the second attachment member comprises a second clip portion (left outer projection 85; Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), wherein the first clip portion and the second clip portion extend in the outward direction (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin depicts the first and second clips extending in the outward direction).
Lin does not teach attachment members that pivot.
Jankura teaches a coupling latch assembly with first and second attachment members (locking jaws 126) which pivot (col 12, lines 18-27) or slide (col 23, lines 5-44); wherein the first attachment member (Jankura, 126 right; see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) comprises a first clip portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) and the second attachment member(Jankura, 126 left; see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) comprises a second clip portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura), wherein the first clip portion and the second clip portion extend in the outward direction (Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura depicts the first and second clips extending in the outward direction); wherein the first clip portion includes a downward slope portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) and the second clip portion includes a downward slope portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) configured to pivot the first attachment member and the second attachment member inwards towards the centerline (Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura depicts the downward portions of the first and second clips to be structurally capable without modification of pivoting right and left 126 inwards towards the centerline).
The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit. The Court quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006), stated that “‘[R]ejections on obviousness cannot be sustained by mere conclusory statements; instead, there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness.’” KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
See MPEP § 2143 for a discussion of the rationales listed above along with examples illustrating how the cited rationales may be used to support a finding of obviousness. See also MPEP § 2144 - § 2144.09 for additional guidance regarding support for obviousness determinations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, using KSR Rationale E, to modify Lin’s sliding attachment member structure with the pivoting attachment member structure of Jankura. At the time of the invention, there had been a recognized design need in the art to mount an attachment member thereby determining how it will move in operation. There had been a finite number of identified, predictable solutions to the recognized need to mount an attachment member (e.g. mount it so that it slides, mount it so that it pivots). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify attachment member mounting in order to improve apparatus form, fit and function. One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions, as taught by Jankura, and redesigned Lin with Jankura with a reasonable expectation of success resulting a predictable change of attachment member mounting and movement.
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the biasing member (Lin, 82) is positioned between the first attachment member (Lin, 81; Jankura, 126) and the second attachment member (Lin, 81; Jankura, 126), the biasing member configured to exert an outward force onto the first attachment member and onto the second attachment member, which causes each of the first attachment member and the second attachment member to pivot in the outward direction when the actuating member is moved from the second position to the first position (movement of 9 from Fig 4 to Fig 3 depicts 82 exerting an outward force of the attachment members causing them to move outwardly).
Regarding claim 3, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the latch assembly of claim 2, wherein when the actuating member (Lin, 9) is in the second position (Lin, Fig 4), the inward force is greater than the outward force (Lin, movement from Fig 3 to Fig 4 depicts the inward force exerted by 9 to be greater than the outward force of 82 thereby compressing 82).
Regarding claim 4, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the latch assembly of claim 2, wherein when the actuating member (Lin, 9) is in the first position (Lin, Fig 3), the outward force is greater than the inward force (Lin, movement from Fig 4 to Fig 3 depicts the outward force exerted by 82 to be greater than the inward force of 9 thereby decompressing 82).
Regarding claim 5, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuating member (Lin, 9) comprises a first arm and a second arm (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), wherein an opening (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin) is defined between the first arm and the second arm (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin depicts the opening defined between the first and second arms).
Regarding claim 6, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the latch assembly of claim 5, wherein the opening (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin) is a V-shaped opening (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin depicts the opening to be generally V-shaped; In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), the court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant; the claimed V-shape is discussed in instant specification paragraph [0075] as a possible configuration of the opening with no significance given; the shape of Lin’s opening operates in the same manner as the instant invention).
Regarding claim 7, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuating member (Lin, 9) comprises a first arm and a second arm (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), wherein the first arm and the second arm each comprise a proximal end and a distal end (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), wherein a first distance between the first arm and the second arm at the distal end is greater than a second distance between the first arm and the second arm at the proximal end (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin depicts a first distance between the first arm and the second arm at the distal end is greater than a second distance between the first arm and the second arm at the proximal end).
Regarding claim 8, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuating member (Lin, 9) comprises a first arm and a second arm (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), wherein the first arm and the second arm each comprise a proximal end and a distal end (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), wherein a distance between the first arm and the second arm progressively increases from the proximal end to the distal end (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin depicts a distance between the first arm and the second arm progressively increases from the proximal end to the distal end).
Regarding claim 9, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the first attachment member (Lin, right 81; Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin) and the second attachment member (Lin, left 81; Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin) are arranged symmetrically in relation to the centerline (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin depicts left and right 81 arranged symmetrically in relation to the centerline).
Regarding claim 10, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuating member (Lin, 9) comprises a button portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), wherein the button portion is positioned closer to the first attachment member and the second attachment member (Lin, right and left 81) in the second position (Lin, Fig 4) than in the first position (Lin, Fig 3; movement of 9 from Fig 3 to Fig 4 depicts the button portion moving closer to 81).
Regarding claim 11, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the first attachment member (Jankura, 126 right; see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) is configured to pivot on a first axis (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) and the second attachment member (Jankura, 126 left; see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) is configured to pivot on a second axis (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura), and wherein the first attachment member and the second attachment member are configured to pivot closer to the centerline when the actuating member is in the second position than in the first position (Lin, movement between Fig 3 and Fig 4 depicts the right and left 81, as sliding first and second attachment members, moving closer to the centerline upon 9 moving inwardly).
Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura
Regarding claim 12, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the latch assembly of claim 11, wherein the first axis and the second axis (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) extend in the Z direction (One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions, as taught by Jankura, and redesigned Lin with Jankura with a reasonable expectation of success resulting a predictable change of attachment member mounting and movement, with the first and second axes of the modified attachment members extending in the Z direction).
Regarding claim 14, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the first clip portion and the second clip portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) are configured to be coupled to the device (Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura depicts right and left 126 coupled to the device).
Regarding claim 15, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the actuating member (Lin, 9) comprises a first arm and a second arm (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), wherein the first attachment member (right 81; Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin) comprises a first channel (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin depicts the channel to be the v-shaped groove formed between blocking piece 83 and outer projection 85 thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition 3 of channel and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term) and the second attachment member (right 81; Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin) comprises a second channel (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin depicts the channel to be the v-shaped groove formed between blocking piece 83 and outer projection 85 thereby meeting the Merriam-Webster definition 3 of channel and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term), and wherein the first arm is configured to be slidingly engageable with the first channel of the first attachment member and the second arm is configured to be slidingly engageable with the second channel of the second attachment member (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin and motion between Fig 3 and Fig 4 depict the first and second arms slidably engaged with the first and second channels of the first and second attachment members respectively).
Regarding claim 16, Lin teaches a docking assembly (holding assembly 7a; base plate 11; two fixing elements 15) configured to couple with a device (cleaning head 1), the docking assembly comprising:
a docking portion (11; 15) comprising a protruding portion (15) configured to be engaged with the device (Figs 1;2); and
a latch assembly (7a) configured to be coupled to the docking portion and selectively coupled with the device (Figs 1;2), the latch assembly defining an X axis, a Y axis that is orthogonal to the X axis, and a Z axis that is orthogonal to the X axis and to the Y axis, the latch assembly defining a centerline that extends along the Z axis, wherein the centerline defines an inward direction and an outward direction (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), the latch assembly comprising:
a first attachment member (right insertion head 81; Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin);
a second attachment member (left insertion head 81; Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin);
an actuating member (release assembly 9) configured to move from a first position (Fig 3) to a second position (Fig 4) along the Z axis (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), wherein the actuating member is configured to exert an inward force onto the first attachment member and onto the second attachment member when the actuating member is in the second position (movement between Fig 3 and Fig 4 depicts 9 inwardly forcing left and right 81 together); and
a biasing member (spring 82) configured to pivot at least one of the first attachment member or the second attachment member in the outward direction when the actuating member is moved from the second position to the first position (82 is structurally capable without modification of moving, sliding or pivoting, the attachment members outwardly when 9 is moved from Fig 4 to Fig 3); (see claim interpretation under claim 16 Claim Objection)
wherein the first attachment member comprises a first clip portion (right outer projection 85; Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin) and the second attachment member comprises a second clip portion (left outer projection 85; Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), wherein the first clip portion and the second clip portion extend in the outward direction (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin depicts the first and second clips extending in the outward direction).
Lin does not teach attachment members that pivot.
Jankura teaches a coupling latch assembly with first and second attachment members (locking jaws 126) which pivot (col 12, lines 18-27) or slide (col 23, lines 5-44); wherein the first attachment member (Jankura, 126 right; see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) comprises a first clip portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) and the second attachment member(Jankura, 126 left; see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) comprises a second clip portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura), wherein the first clip portion and the second clip portion extend in the outward direction (Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura depicts the first and second clips extending in the outward direction); wherein the first clip portion includes a downward slope portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) and the second clip portion includes a downward slope portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) configured to pivot the first attachment member and the second attachment member inwards towards the centerline (Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura depicts the downward portions of the first and second clips to be structurally capable without modification of pivoting right and left 126 inwards towards the centerline).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, using KSR Rationale E, to modify Lin’s sliding attachment member structure with the pivoting attachment member structure of Jankura. At the time of the invention, there had been a recognized design need in the art to mount an attachment member thereby determining how it will move in operation. There had been a finite number of identified, predictable solutions to the recognized need to mount an attachment member (e.g. mount it so that it slides, mount it so that it pivots). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify attachment member mounting in order to improve apparatus form, fit and function. One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions, as taught by Jankura, and redesigned Lin with Jankura with a reasonable expectation of success resulting a predictable change of attachment member mounting and movement.
Regarding claim 17, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the docking assembly of claim 16, wherein the actuating member (Lin, 9) comprises a first arm and a second arm (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), wherein the first arm and the second arm each comprise a proximal end and a distal end (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), wherein a distance between the first arm and the second arm progressively increases from the proximal end to the distal end (Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin depicts the distance between the first arm and the second arm to progressively increase from the proximal end to the distal end).
Regarding claim 19, Lin in view of Jankura teaches the docking assembly of claim 16, wherein the first attachment member (Jankura, 126 right; see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) is configured to pivot on a first axis (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) and the second attachment member (Jankura, 126 left; see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) is configured to pivot on a second axis (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura), and wherein the first attachment member and the second attachment member are configured to pivot closer to the centerline when the actuating member is in the second position than in the first position (Lin, movement between Fig 3 and Fig 4 depicts the right and left 81, as sliding first and second attachment members, moving closer to the centerline upon 9 moving inwardly; One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions, as taught by Jankura, and redesigned Lin with Jankura with a reasonable expectation of success resulting a predictable change of attachment member mounting and movement, the attachment member movement towards centerline occurring if the attachment members were pivoting in the manner of Jankura 126 members).
Regarding claim 20, the Examiner notes that the instant method step limitations are considered obvious over the prior art in view of rejections of the structural limitations previously set forth. When the method steps essentially set forth the provision and use of an apparatus, as intended by its structure, then such method steps are considered obvious when the structure of the apparatus has been demonstrated as obvious by the prior art, therefore Lin discloses a method of decoupling a latch assembly (holding assembly 7a) from a device (cleaning head 1), the latch assembly defining an X axis, a Y axis that is orthogonal to the X axis, and a Z axis that is orthogonal to the X axis and to the Y axis, the latch assembly defining a centerline that extends along the Z axis, wherein the centerline defines an inward direction and an outward direction (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin), the method comprising:
moving an actuating member (release assembly 9) from a first position (Fig 3) to a second position (Fig 4) along the Z axis (see Annotated excerpt Fig 3-Lin);
exerting an inward force onto a first attachment member of the latch assembly and onto a second attachment member of the latch assembly with the actuating member when the actuating member is moved to the second position (movement between Fig 3 and Fig 4 depicts 9 inwardly forcing left and right 81 together); and
sliding the first attachment member of the latch assembly and the second attachment member of the latch assembly towards the centerline (movement between Fig 3 and Fig 4 depicts left and right 81 moving towards the centerline),
wherein moving the actuating member from the first position to the second position causes the inward force to be exerted onto the first attachment member and onto the second attachment member (movement between Fig 3 and Fig 4 depicts 9 inwardly forcing left and right 81 together), which causes the sliding of the first attachment member and the second attachment member, which allows for the latch assembly to be decoupled from the device (movement between Fig 3 and Fig 4 depicts the how the movement of left and right 81 inwardly towards each other to withdraw 85 of 81 of 71 from fixing hole 17 of fixing element 15 of cleaning head 1).
Lin does not teach attachment members that pivot.
Jankura teaches a coupling latch assembly with first and second attachment members (locking jaws 126) which pivot (col 12, lines 18-27) or slide (col 23, lines 5-44); wherein the first attachment member (Jankura, 126 right; see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) comprises a first clip portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) and the second attachment member(Jankura, 126 left; see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) comprises a second clip portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura), wherein the first clip portion and the second clip portion extend in the outward direction (Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura depicts the first and second clips extending in the outward direction); wherein the first clip portion includes a downward slope portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) and the second clip portion includes a downward slope portion (see Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura) configured to pivot the first attachment member and the second attachment member inwards towards the centerline (Annotated excerpt Fig 2-Jankura depicts the downward portions of the first and second clips to be structurally capable without modification of pivoting right and left 126 inwards towards the centerline).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, using KSR Rationale E, to modify Lin’s sliding attachment member structure with the pivoting attachment member structure of Jankura. At the time of the invention, there had been a recognized design need in the art to mount an attachment member thereby determining how it will move in operation. There had been a finite number of identified, predictable solutions to the recognized need to mount an attachment member (e.g. mount it so that it slides, mount it so that it pivots). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify attachment member mounting in order to improve apparatus form, fit and function. One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions, as taught by Jankura, and redesigned Lin with Jankura with a reasonable expectation of success resulting a predictable change of attachment member mounting and movement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN A TULLIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3675