Claim Status
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 9-10, 12-13, 16-18, 21-22, and 29-32 remain withdrawn.
Claims 5-7, 11, 14-15, 19-20, and 23-28 are canceled.
Claims 1-4 and 8 are examined on the merits.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 06/22/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of copending application 18/516,295 on this application has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded. It is noted that no additional Terminal Disclaimers or claim to any additional applications have been filed.
New Rejections Necessitated by Claim Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momoi (US20090304601A1, published 12/10/2009, hereafter Momoi) in view of Bauer et al. (US20200038389A1, published 02/06/2020, hereafter Bauer).
Momoi claims a method of marking a composition for use in oral administration (title and claim 1; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Momoi claims dispersing a change in color inducing oxide in the composition (claim 1; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Momoi teaches the laser beam is at a wavelength of from 200nm to 1100nm (abstract and claim 12; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Momoi teaches the change in color inducting oxide is at least one that is selected from the group consisting of titanium dioxide, yellow ferric oxide, and red ferric oxide (abstract and claim 5; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1, 2, and 4). Momoi further teaches black-iron-oxide coating (table 2, comparative example 7; according to the claim limitation of the instant claim 4). Momoi teaches the capsules are made by filling a capsule coating layer which contains at least one type of metal oxide selected from the group consisting of titanium dioxide, yellow ferric oxide, and red ferric oxide ([0042]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1, 2, and 4). Momoi teaches a soft capsule having a gelatin coating layer that contains glycerin ([0051]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1 and 3). The same paragraph of Momoi teaches the capsule has a white color that after irradiation demonstrated a letter marking in a highly visible gray ([0051]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Momoi teaches the composition have other additives to include plasticizers such as glycerin ([0044]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 3). Momoi claims the amount of titanium dioxide is from 0.01 to 20 parts by weight based on 100 parts of the coating layer (claim 10; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 5). Momoi teaches the laser used is a Deep UV laser ([0053], table 3; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 8). Lastly, Momoi teaches the active ingredients includes therapeutic drugs ([0043]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1).
Although Momoi teaches the addition of titanium dioxide, it fails to teach the concentration as claimed by instant claim 1.
Bauer teaches a soft gelatin capsule embodiment for oral administration (title, [0018], [0140]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Bauer teaches the invention in considered with administering therapeutic agents [0076]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Bauer teaches an embodiment in which the capsules are liquid-filled ([0054]) and teaches in some embodiments the capsuled are filled with powder, beads, or granules containing the active ingredients in admixture with non-toxic pharmaceutically acceptable excipient which are suitable for manufacture of hard or soft capsules ([0142]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Bauer teaches the soft capsule comprises a capsule shell comprising one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients selected from the group consisting of a gelatin shell, a plasticizer, an opacifier, and a colorant ([0212]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1 and 3). Bauer teaches that plasticizers, opacifiers, and colorants are well-known in the art ([0212]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1 and 3). Bauer further teaches the capsule shell comprises one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients selected from the group consisting of gelatin, glycerin, titanium dioxide, and iron oxide ([0212]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Bauer teaches in some embodiments, the iron oxide comprises iron oxide (yellow) ([0212]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 4). Bauer teaches in some embodiments the soft capsule comprising about 0.01 to about 2% of titanium dioxide and about 0.1 to about 1% iron oxide ([0225]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Lastly, Bauer defines “about” to be +/- 10% ([0059]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim an oral soft gel composition comprising a fill material and a shell comprising titanium dioxide and iron oxide as outlined by Momoi with the ready for improvement with the known technique of adjusting the concentration of the titanium dioxide as outlined by Bauer. Adjusting the forementioned components of a oral soft gel composition as claimed by instant claim 1 would yield predictable results thus making them of obviousness as modification of a known product with a known technique is within the purview of the skilled artisan.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13-14 of copending Application No. 17/629,126 (reference application) in view of Momoi (US20090304601A1, published 12/10/2009, hereafter Momoi). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
17/629,126 claims a softshell capsule formulation comprising (a) a softshell composition comprising a natural gelling agent and a plasticizer; and (b) a fill composition (claim 1; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1 and 3). 17/629,126 claims the shell composition further comprises a colorant, wherein the colorant comprises at least one of iron oxide, iron hydroxide, titanium dioxide, or combinations thereof (claim 13; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1 and 2). 17/629,126 claims the softshell formulation further comprises an opacifier, titanium oxide (claim 14; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 2).
17/629,126 fails to teach the capsule has a laser marking at a wavelength of about 100nm to about 400 nm and the marking has a different color than the capsule as in instant claim 1.
As outlined above, Momoi teaches a soft gelatin capsule composition with a UV laser, with a wavelength of 200nm to 1100nm, marking on a coating composition in which the marking is a different color than the coating and the coating has a fill material.
Further, both 17/629,126 and Momoi fail to teach the concentration of titanium dioxide as required by instant claim 1.
As outlined above, Bauer teaches a soft gelatin capsule comprising iron oxide and titanium dioxide, specifically titanium dioxide at a concentration of about 0.01 to about 2% ([0225]).
One skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would claim a softshell capsule with a gelling agent and plasticizer, an iron oxide colorant, and a fill composition as outlined by 17/629,126 with the ready for improvement with the known technique of marking the capsule with a UV laser at a wavelength of 200nm to 1100nm in which the marking is a different color then the capsule as outlined by Momoi. Adding the forementioned components to a softshell capsule as claimed by instant claim 1 would yield predictable results thus making them of obviousness as modification of a known product with a known technique is within the purview of the skilled artisan. Further, It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim an oral soft gel composition comprising titanium dioxide and iron oxide as outlined by 17/629,126 in view of Momoi with the ready for improvement with the known technique of adjusting the concentration of the titanium dioxide as outlined by Bauer. Adjusting the forementioned components of an oral soft gel composition as claimed by instant claim 1 would yield predictable results thus making them of obviousness as modification of a known product with a known technique is within the purview of the skilled artisan.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/22/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
In regards to the 35 USC § 103 rejection over Momoi, Applicant argues that Momoi fails to teach a concentration of titanium dioxide greater than 0% and less than 0.01% as required by instant claim 1.
It is first noted, that the previous rejection of record has been amended to include Bauer which teaches an oral soft gel composition with a shell ([0212]) and concentration of the titanium dioxide to include a range of about 0.01 to about 2% of titanium dioxide ([0225]) and defines “about” to be +/-10% ([0059]). Therefore, Bauer teaches a range of 0.009-1.8% of titanium dioxide which overlaps Applicant’s instantly claimed range. Applicant has failed to provide any additionally reasoning as to why the rejection over Momoi should be withdrawn.
In summary, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive. The rejection of record is maintained and updated to account for claim amendments.
In regards to Applicant’s argument against the Double Patenting rejections over 18/516,295, Applicant’s filed and approved terminal disclaimer overcomes the rejection of record. Thus, the double patenting rejection over application 15/516,295 has been withdrawn.
In regards to Applicant’s argument against the Double Patenting rejections over 17/629,126 in view of Momoi, Applicant argues that 17/629,126 does not teach the amount of titanium dioxide as claimed by instant claim 1.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Further, the rejection has been amended to incorporate Bauer which teaches the motivation to adjust the concentration of the titanium dioxide to include a range of about 0.01 to about 2% of titanium dioxide ([0225]).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive. The rejection of record is maintained and updated to account for amendments.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.N.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 1611