DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a final action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-22, 25-29, 40, 44, and 48-51 are pending in this application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 7, 13-18, 21, and 28 are amended. Claims 3-5, 15-17, 20-22, 26, and 28-29 are withdrawn. Claims 6, 10, 23-24, 30-39, 41-43, and 45-47 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 Aug. 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 2 Jun. 2025 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, 11-14, 18-19, 25, 40, 44, and 48-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (WO 2018/183906 A1; published 4 Oct. 2018), in view of Platzak et al. (US 2002/0068037 A1; published 6 Jun. 2002) and Liu et al. (Bioconjugate Chem.; published 2002) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 31 Jan. 2025.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants assert that Wilson does not teach the incorporation of a conjugation site at the positions specified in the instant claims. Wilson teaches that the moiety connecting the macrocycle to the pyridine rings must be linear, unsubstituted methylene group or chain of up to three methylene groups. Even if one skilled in the art would so motivated, they would not have sought to modify the compounds of Wilson at the positions corresponding to variables L1 and L2 because Wilson teaches only unsubstituted methylene groups may be present at these positions. Liu does not remedy the deficiencies of Wilson. While DOTA and TOPA are both chelators., these compounds possess significantly different structures. None of the cited references possess any teaching or suggestion that specific structural modifications to a DOTA chelator would have an equivalent effect when corresponding structural modification are made to a TOPA chelator. Without benefit of hindsight, one or ordinary skill in the art would not look to the chelators of Liu (DOTA) to assess possible modifications to the chelators of Wilson (TOPA). Liu does not possess any teaching or suggestion that repositioning the linker from the pyridine group would even be tolerated. Linkers bound to the 4-position relative to the nitrogen of the pyridine group as in Wilson are oriented 180o away from the coordination site. The methylene positions of the instant claims are more proximal to the metal ion in the radiolabeled complex and it is not evident that this position in particular would tolerate a linker as described in the instant claims and not interfere with metal binding. Applicants have shown that this position is tolerated and permits 99.9% binding of Ac-225. Although Platzek does teach conjugation of a biomolecule to a DOTA chelator, there is no teaching in this reference that would lead one of ordinary skill in that the art to assume that a TOPA chelator will behave in a similar fashion as DOTA.
Applicant's arguments filed 2 Jun. 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Wilson does not provide any teaching or suggestion that a PEG linker moiety attached to an isothiocyanate such as PEG-NCS should not be attached to the methylene unit at the arms bridging the pyridine carboxylate and macrocyclic ring structure of macropa. Instead Wilson merely provides for macropa-NCS and provides for the general formula such as (I-h)
wherein L1 and L2 may be -(CH2)p- where p is 1, 2, or 3. At for example [0019], alkyl groups may be substituted or unsubstituted. Since Wilson does not provide any reason or motivation other than the example macropa-NCS for incorporating a NCS group directly on the pyridinyl where it can influence N,O donor atoms by at least inductive effects, a person of ordinary skill art in view of the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art would have seen Wilson as incomplete. Although macropa-NCS and DOTA are structurally different, Wilson alone teaches macropa-NCS and DOTA together. At for example [0146], Wilson teaches the conjugation of macropa-NCS and p-SCN-Bn-DOTA to trastuzumab and starting at [0152], Wilson teaches 225Ac radiolabeling of Tmab conjugates. In the case of p-SCN-Bn-DOTA, the p-SCN-Bn- linker is attached to the macrocycle rather than a chelator arm. Liu teaches p-SCN-Bn-DOTA and a wide range of other chelators optionally comprising a pyridine carboxylate arm and optionally complexing an actinide. When discussing attachment positions of biomolecules, Liu teaches that there at generally three possible approaches to attach a biomolecule to a chelator. In the second approach, the linker for attachment to the biomolecule is placed at an acetate arm, for example as in
. Liu goes on to warn that the position for the conjugation of a biomolecule can significantly change the thermodynamic stability and kinetic inertness of the metal complex. In the case of macropa-NCS, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the -NCS can provide an electron withdrawing effect that weakens thermodynamic stability and kinetic inertness. The repositioning of the -NCS linker moiety of macropa-NCS to the methylene unit of the macropa arm is a finite identified predictable solution that yielded no more than predictable results and is therefore obvious. Platzek provides for the 10-(9-isothiocyanato-2-hydroxy-4,7-dioxanonyl)-1,4,7-triscarboxymethyl-1,4,7,10-tetraaacylcododecane that places PEG2-NCS linker moiety at a methylene unit of a coordinative chelator arm. Platzek teaches that conjugate showed good compatibility and good water solubility. The -NCS enables forming antibody conjugates. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the macropa-NCS in Wilson by repositioning the -NCS linker moiety to the methylene unit of the chelator arm using PEG-NCS because the repositioning and PEG-NCS would have been expected to provide 225Ac-labeled antibody conjugates having good compatibility and good solubility and wherein the 225Ac complex has optimal thermodynamic stability and kinetic inertness.
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, 11-14, 18-19, 25, 27, 40, 44, and 48-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (WO 2018/183906 A1; published 4 Oct. 2018), in view of Platzak et al. (US 2002/0068037 A1; published 6 Jun. 2002) and Liu et al. (Bioconjugate Chem.; published 2002), in further view of Timmermand et al. (US 2016/069009 A1; published 22 Dec. 2016) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 31 Jan. 2025.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants assert that there is not suggestion in Timmerman teach that a similar type of conjugation, an aryl containing macrocyclic chelator would have identical outcomes.
Applicant's arguments filed 2 Jun. 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Both Wilson and Platzek teach antibody conjugation using the -NCS reactive group. The conjugation of an antibody to a PEG2-NCS would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date. Timmermand teaches and motivates the use of humanized 11B6 antibody targeting moieties since humanized 11B6 antibodies enable targeted treatment (and diagnosis) of prostate cancer. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Wilson so that the antibody conjugate is a 11B6 antibody conjugate since the 11B6 antibody conjugate would have been expected to enable treatment of prostate cancer.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11-14, 18-19, 25, 27, 40, 44, and 48-51 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,576,986 B2, in view of Platzak et al. (US 2002/0068037 A1; published 6 Jun. 2002), Liu et al. (Bioconjugate Chem.; published 2002), and Timmermand et al. (US 2016/069009 A1; published 22 Dec. 2016) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 21 Jan. 2025.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants assert that the linkers of the ‘986 patent are not PEG groups. The instant claims specify that R1 is polyethylene glycol. The linkers of the instant claims are distinct from the linkers of the ‘986 patent. Platezek, Liu and Timmerman all teach DOTA chelators. There is no expectation that chelators of an entirely different structure will possess identical properties or exhibit similar optimization parameters.
Applicant's arguments filed 2 Jun. 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The ‘986 patent claims chelators of formula
wherein L1 is a generic linker moiety and R11 is a reactive group such as NCS. Platzek and Liu are not deficient for the reasons discussed above. It would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claims of the ‘986 patent so that the L1-R11 is a PEG2-NCS as taught by Platzek and Liu because the PEG2-NCS would have been expected to enable antibody conjugates having good compatibility and good solubility.
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11-14, 18-19, 25, 27, 40, 44, and 48-51 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-5, 10-11, 15, and 35-49 of copending Application No. 17/810,316, in view of Platzak et al. (US 2002/0068037 A1; published 6 Jun. 2002), Liu et al. (Bioconjugate Chem.; published 2002), and Timmermand et al. (US 2016/069009 A1; published 22 Dec. 2016). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants assert that there is not teaching or suggestion in the ‘316 application of in Platzek, Liu, or Timmermand that would motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to select PEG moiety over other moieties recited.
Applicant's arguments filed 2 Jun. 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The ‘316 application claims chelators of formula
wherein -L1-R11 may be -PEG2-NSC. Platzek and Liu are not deficient for the reasons discussed above. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claims of the ‘316 application so that the -L1-R11 is PEG2-NCS as taught by Platzek and Liu because the PEG2-NCS would have been expected to enable an antibody conjugate having good compatibility and good water solubility.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618