GRAFTED CATALYST
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4 and 6-15 in the reply filed on 8/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sections with greater activity and sections with less activity” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses polymeric chains are grated to the sections (of the catalyst particle) with less activity. However, there is no disclosure in the specification for how this is done. Paragraphs 0026 and 0027 of the as-filed specification disclose the polymeric units are grafted to the corners, edge, or facets with less activity of the catalyst particle but they do not disclose how this is accomplished. Paragraph 0045 discloses:
the polymeric units may be formed or grown in solution and/or grafted simultaneously with deposition such as in the ink/slurry. Depending on the polymeric units used further steps may be necessary. For example, if a scavenger such as in the form of a coordination compound, complex, or weak crosslinks is incorporated in the polymeric grafting units a metal oxide powder such as cerium oxide may be added into the ink or added after the catalyst is deposited and the polymeric units are grafted.
However, this still does not disclose how one of ordinary skill in the art can selectively choose to graft a polymeric chain to a less activity site on a catalyst particle due to lack of synthesis explanation and materials used.
Further, how can corners and edges of the catalyst particles have less activity? One of ordinary skill in the art would understand these atoms would be more reactive not less being that they have a lower coordination number, share fewer bonds with neighboring atoms, and have exposed 5d orbitals with higher-lying d-band centers.
Claims 2-4 and 6-15 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buvat et al. (US 2019/0109329 A1) and further in view of He et al. (J. Phys. Chem. C (2013) 117 (10): 4877–4887).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Buvat et al. teach an electrochemical cell (Abstract; paragraphs 0026 and 107 disclose fuel cells.) comprising:
a pair of electrodes (Paragraph 0006); and
a plurality of catalyst particles deposited on a catalyst support (Paragraphs 0048, 0050, and claim 18 disclose platinum particles on a carbon support.). However, Buvat et al. do not specifically teach each catalyst particle having sections with greater activity, sections with less activity, and polymeric chains grafted to the sections with less activity, the polymeric chains providing steric hindrance proximate the catalyst to corresponding catalyst particle to reduce catalyst poisoning.
However, Buvat et al. teach platinum particles being grafted with grafts consisting of at least one polymer comprising at least one styrene repeating unit (Claim 18).
While Buvat does not disclose the catalyst particle has sections with greater activity and sections with less activity, this feature is shown in He et al.
He et al. disclose the presence of phosphate anions on atop (less reactive) sites on platinum clusters whereas more reactive sites on the platinum cluster (2-fold and 3-fold) are available for molecular oxygen to undergo the oxygen reduction reaction. The phosphate anions block O(H) poisoning from the atop sites with steric hindrance and prevents O(H) from poisoning the catalyst (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Buvat with the concept of He in order to keep remaining sites free for molecular oxygen to undergo the ORR.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the combination of Buvat and He et al. teach the electrochemical cell of claim 1. Buvat et al. further teaches an ionomer adjacent to catalyst particles and having sulfonic acid functional groups (Paragraphs 0184-0193 disclose hot pressing the catalyst particles onto a Nafion membrane. Nafion is ionomeric containing sulfonic acid functional groups.).
Regarding claims 6-11, the combination of Buvat and He et al. teach the electrochemical cell of claim 1. However, they do not disclose the bending stiffness, persistence length, or Kuhn length of the polymeric chains.
These limitations are merely examples of Changes in Size/Proportion. MPEP 2144.04 IV A: In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claims 12-14, the combination of Buvat and He et al. teach the electrochemical cell of claim 1. Further, Buvat et al. teach the polymeric chains include double bonds, are cyclic, and include benzene rings (See Formula III in Claim 31).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Buvat and He et al. teach the electrochemical cell of claim 1. However, they do not teach wherein the catalyst has a grafting density of at least 2 to 20 chains per catalyst particle.
MPEP 2144.05 II A: Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 August 19th, 2026