DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending and are examined herein.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 USC 103.
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the grounds of non-statutory double patenting.
Examiner Remarks
This Office action includes a Non-statutory Double Patenting rejection. Please note that MPEP § 804 states:
A complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action (see MPEP § 1490 for a discussion of terminal disclaimers). Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional. As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. Replies with an omission should be treated as provided in MPEP § 714.03.
Information Disclosure Statement
The attached information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the attached information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 11-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Kodra” (US 2017/0176640 A1) in view of “Perkins” (US 2020/0242400 A1), further in view of “Haidar” (Monthly Rainfall Forecasting Using One-Dimensional Deep Convolutional Neural Network).
Regarding claim 1, Kodra teaches
A method for generating a multi-model ensemble of global climate simulation data from a plurality of pre-existing global climate simulation model (GCM) datasets…, comprising: (Kodra, Abstract describes forecasting climate data based on simulated climate model data. The ensembles of GCMs/GCM datasets are further described at [0066-0068]. [0004] indicates that a Bayesian algorithm is used to weight the outputs of different models (i.e., a Bayesian ensemble).)
computing a GCM dataset validation measure, for each of the plurality of pre-existing GCM datasets, based on at least one sample statistic for at least a first climate variable from the pre-existing GCM dataset; (Kodra, [0072] describes weighting models based on their ability to replicate observed covariance relationships. The observed covariances are sample statistics. [0067,0070-0073] describes particular variables which may be considered by the system. The weight is understood to be a validation measure (i.e., a more highly weighted model is more valid). Figure 1 shows an overview of the ensemble. This is further described at [0066-0068])
[evaluating the performance of the GCM datasets] based on observational historical climate data;… the model analog comprises a GCM having an initial state that [has an] observational historical data related to a second climate variable, and wherein the model analog is evolved to generate an analog forecast (Kodra, [0072] describes weighting models/datasets based on their ability to replicate observed covariance relationships determined in historical climate data. That is, historical climate data is used to determine how influential a model should be on the final ensemble. The data used to evaluate the models may be data determined using a GCM as described at [0081-0082] where a model is evolved based on an initial input to produce output simulations.)
…wherein for a given input to the … climate forecasting model, a forecast output at a target lead time is generated by the … climate forecasting model based on the given input, (Kodra, Abstract indicates that the models taught by Kodra predict events for a future time period. The length between the present and the time period is the lead time. [0116] makes this explicit.)
Kodra does not appear to explicitly teach
for training a neural network (NN)-based climate forecasting model
… selecting a validated subset of the plurality of pre-existing GCM datasets, by comparing each computed GCM dataset validation measure to a validation threshold determined
selecting a subset of GCM datasets from the validated subset of GCM datasets;
generating a plurality of candidate ensembles of GCM datasets, wherein each of the plurality of candidate ensembles of GCM datasets is generated by merging at least two GCM datasets from the subset of GCM datasets;
computing an ensemble forecast skill score for each candidate ensemble of GCM datasets based on a model analog, wherein the model analog … having an initial state that matches a corresponding observational historical data … for computing the ensemble forecast skill score;
generating the multi-model ensemble of GCM datasets by selecting, from the one or more candidate ensembles of GCM datasets, a candidate ensemble of GCM datasets with a best ensemble forecast skill score; and
training the NN-based climate forecasting model using the multi-model ensemble of GCM datasets generated from the plurality of pre-existing GCM datasets, wherein the NN-based claim forecasting model comprises a predictive neural network,
… the NN-based climate forecasting model…the NN-based climate forecasting model
wherein the forecast output at the target lead time is compared to a corresponding desired output at the target lead time during the training, and
wherein the given input and the corresponding desired output at the target lead time are selected from the multi-model ensemble of GCM datasets.
However, Perkins—directed to analogous art—teaches
…selecting a validated subset of the plurality of pre-existing GCM datasets, by comparing each computed GCM dataset validation measure to a validation threshold determined based on observational historical climate data; (Abstract describes performing model ensemble generation. Figures 4-5 (described at [0037-0054]) shows an overview of the method and a schematic of the ensemble, respectively. [0005] describe using the base models to make predictions and eliminating base models with an accuracy below a threshold value. In the combination with Kodra, it is understood that the base models could be GCM datasets and the underlying data would be observational historical climate data (note discussion regarding the application of Kodra above).)
selecting a subset of GCM datasets from the validated subset of GCM datasets; (Kodra teaches selecting a subset of GCM datasets as described above. Perkins, Figures 4-5 (described at [0037-0054]) shows an overview of the method and a schematic of the ensemble, respectively. [0005] describe using the base models to make predictions and eliminating base models with an accuracy below a threshold value. In the combination, the selection performed by Kodra would be from the validated subset of GCM datasets taught by Perkins.)
generating a plurality of candidate ensembles of GCM datasets, wherein each of the plurality of candidate ensembles of GCM datasets is generated by merging at least two GCM datasets from the subset of GCM datasets; (Perkins, Figure 4, element 404 shows generating a matrix populated with predictions from a set of base models. As indicated above, the base models would correspond to GCM models in the combination with Kodra. The combination of the outputs of these models is being interpreted as a merging of this data. See also [0045]. [0053] indicates that multiple matrices may be produced in this way.)
computing an ensemble forecast skill score for each candidate ensemble of GCM datasets based on a model analog, wherein the model analog … having an initial state that matches a corresponding observational historical data … for computing the ensemble forecast skill score; generating the multi-model ensemble of GCM datasets by selecting, from the plurality of candidate ensembles of GCM datasets, a candidate ensemble of GCM datasets with a best ensemble forecast skill score; and ([0045] describes computing predictions using the trained base models and storing these predictions in a column. [0047] describes eliminating sets of base model predictions from the matrix based on an accuracy. The accuracy score is computed based on the predictions made by the base models (each of the base models may be taken to be a model analog). [0034] indicates that the data is labeled training data (meaning that the model analogs are evolved based on initial inputs to generate outputs). Since the data produced by the models are part of the ensemble (i.e., the merged data in the matrix) the computation of the accuracy score for any of these could be taken to be computed “for” the final ensemble. The final matrix is taken to be the selected multi-model ensemble. In the combination with Kodra, the data would be the historical climate data described above and the analog model would correspond to one or more of the GCMs taught by Kodra as described above.)
wherein the given input and the corresponding desired output at the target lead time are selected from the multi-model ensemble of GCM datasets. (Figure 4, step 406, described at [0046-0048] describes using the matrix (i.e., multi-model ensemble) data to train a machine learning model.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which the invention pertains to modify Kodra to use the ensemble generation method taught by Perkins because this results in a model with greater accuracy and performance as described by Perkins at [0048].
The combination of Kodra and Perkins does not appear to explicitly teach
for training a neural network (NN)-based climate forecasting model
… wherein the model analog comprises a GCM
…training the NN-based climate forecasting model using the multi-model ensemble of GCM datasets generated from the plurality of pre-existing GCM datasets, wherein the NN-based claim forecasting model comprises a predictive neural network,
… the NN-based climate forecasting model…the NN-based climate forecasting model
wherein the forecast output at the target lead time is compared to a corresponding desired output at the target lead time during the training, and
However, Haidar—directed to analogous art—teaches
for training a neural network (NN)-based climate forecasting model…training the NN-based climate forecasting model using the multi-model ensemble of GCM datasets generated from the plurality of pre-existing GCM datasets, wherein the NN-based claim forecasting model comprises a predictive neural network. (Haidar, Abstract describes using a deep convolutional neural network to predict monthly rainfall values for certain locations. In the combination with Kodra and Perkins, the ensemble of datasets on which the neural network is trained would be determined as described above with respect to Kodra and Perkins in place of or in addition to the data used to train the CNN taught by Haidar. Section II, starting page 69055 provides details of the neural network training.)
… the NN-based climate forecasting model…the NN-based climate forecasting model(Haidar, Abstract describes using a deep convolutional neural network to predict monthly rainfall values for certain locations. In the combination with Kodra and Perkins, the ensemble of datasets on which the neural network is trained would be determined as described above with respect to Kodra and Perkins in place of or in addition to the data used to train the CNN taught by Haidar. Section II, starting page 69055 provides details of the neural network training.)
wherein the forecast output at the target lead time is compared to a corresponding desired output at the target lead time during the training, and (Haidar, page 69055, Algorithm 1 shows the algorithm for training the NN, which includes comparing the actual values (i.e., “corresponding desired output at the target lead time” to the predicted value (i.e., “the forecast output at the target lead time”) during the training. The training data would be selected from the matrix taught by Perkins as described above.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which the invention pertains to modify the combination of Kodra and Perkins to train a neural network on a collection of climate data as taught by Haidar because “The developed model was compared to the first version of the Australian Community Climate and Earth-System Simulator (ACCESS-S1) and a Multi-Layered Perceptron (MLP), where better performance was revealed with the proposed CNN model. This study highlighted the ability of CNN in performing in a rainfall prediction task. In addition, the capability of convolutional neural networks in performing in a monthly rainfall prediction has been evaluated. The study showed that the CNN was performing better in months with high annual averages compared to alternative approaches” (Haidar, Conclusion, page 69062).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Furthermore, Kodra teaches
wherein the NN-based climate forecasting model forecasts the target output variable at a target lead time; and (Abstract indicates that the models taught by Kodra predict events for a future time period. The length between the present and the time period is the lead time. [0116] makes this explicit.)
The combination of Kodra and Perkins does not appear to explicitly teach
…determining a loss function for the predictive neural network in the NN-based climate forecasting model based on a target output variable, wherein the NN-based climate forecasting model forecasts the target output variable at the target lead time.
However, Haidar—directed to analogous art—teaches
…determining a loss function for the predictive neural network in the NN-based climate forecasting model based on a target output variable, wherein the NN-based climate forecasting model forecasts the target output variable at the target lead time. (Haidar, Abstract describes using a deep convolutional neural network to predict monthly rainfall values for certain locations. In the combination with Kodra and Perkins, the ensemble of datasets on which the neural network is trained would be determined as described above with respect to Kodra and Perkins in place of or in addition to the data used to train the CNN taught by Haidar. Section II, starting page 69055 provides details of the neural network training. Equation (4) on page 69057 shows the loss function. Equation (6) shows that the forecast is made with a lead time k.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed this combination for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Furthermore, Kodra teaches
wherein the second climate variable is different from the forecast output at the target lead time. (Kodra, [0075] indicates that various different output metrics/variable may be produced. Any one of these could be taken to correspond to the claimed second climate variable and any other could be taken to correspond to the forecast output.)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Furthermore, Kodra teaches
wherein the at least one climate variable is an input climate variable to the … climate forecasting model, and wherein the … climate forecasting model forecasts a target output variable at the target lead time from the input climate variable. ([0067,0070-0073] describes particular variables which may be input to the climate forecasting model. Abstract indicates that the models taught by Kodra predict events for a future time period. The length between the present and the time period is the lead time. [0116] makes this explicit. )
Kodra does not appear to explicitly teach
the NN-based climate forecasting model… the NN-based climate forecasting model
However, Haidar—directed to analogous art—teaches
the NN-based climate forecasting model… the NN-based climate forecasting model (Haidar, Abstract describes using a deep convolutional neural network to predict monthly rainfall values for certain locations. In the combination with Kodra and Perkins, the ensemble of datasets on which the neural network is trained would be determined as described above with respect to Kodra and Perkins in place of or in addition to the data used to train the CNN taught by Haidar. Section II, starting page 69055 provides details of the neural network training.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed this combination for the reasons given above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Furthermore, Kodra teaches
wherein the observational historical climate data comprises reanalysis data. ([0062] indicates that the input data may be reanalysis data.)
Regarding claim 8, Kodra teaches
A system for generating a multi-model ensemble of global climate simulation data from a plurality of pre-existing global climate simulation model (GCM) datasets for training a neural network (NN)-based climate forecasting model, comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory physical storage medium comprising program code and accessible by the processor, the program code when executed by the processor causes the processor to: (Abstract describes forecasting climate data based on simulated climate model data. The ensembles of GCMs/GCM datasets are further described at [0066-0068]. [0004] indicates that a Bayesian algorithm is used to weight the outputs of different models (i.e., a Bayesian ensemble). Kodra teaches a system comprising a processor and memory storing program code at [0007-0008].)
The remainder of claim 8 is substantially similar to claim 1; claim 8 is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claims 9 and 11-13, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated herein. Claims 9 and 11-13 recite substantially similar subject matter to claims 2 and 4-6, respectively, and are rejected with the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, Kodra teaches
A non-transitory physical storage medium for generating a multi-model ensemble of pre- existing global climate simulation model (GCM) datasets for training a neural network (NN)-based climate forecasting model, the storage medium comprising program code stored thereon, that when executed by a processor causes the processor to: (Abstract describes forecasting climate data based on simulated climate model data. The ensembles of GCMs/GCM datasets are further described at [0066-0068]. [0004] indicates that a Bayesian algorithm is used to weight the outputs of different models (i.e., a Bayesian ensemble). Kodra teaches a system comprising a processor and memory storing program code at [0007-0008].)
The remainder of claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 1; claim 15 is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Kodra” (US 2017/0176640 A1) in view of “Perkins” (US 2020/0242400 A1), further in view of “Haidar” (Monthly Rainfall Forecasting Using One-Dimensional Deep Convolutional Neural Network), and further in view of “Kim” (Deep-Hurricane-Tracker: Tracking and Forecasting Extreme Climate Events).
Remark: Claims 3 and 10 recite multiple options, which are addressed by different references and consequently claims 3 and 10 are subject to multiple grounds of rejection under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Kodra, Perkins and Haidar does not appear to explicitly teach
wherein the predictive neural network is selected from the group consisting of a Convolutional Recurrent Neural Network (CRNN) having at least one Long Short- Term Memory (LSTM) layer, a Spherical Convolutional Neural Network (S2-CNN), and a transformer neural network.
However, Kim—directed to analogous art—teaches
wherein the predictive neural network is selected from the group consisting of a Convolutional Recurrent Neural Network (CRNN) having at least one Long Short- Term Memory (LSTM) layer, a Spherical Convolutional Neural Network (S2-CNN), and a transformer neural network. (Abstract and section 3.3. describe using a ConvLSTM model to perform climate forecasting. The ConvLSTM is a convolutional recurrent neural network which includes an LSTM (see especially second paragraph of section 3.3.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which the invention pertains to modify the combination of Kodra, Perkins and Haidar to use the more sophisticated neural network taught by Kim in place of or in addition to the conventional NN taught by Haidar because the ConvLSTM model performs well and achieves successful mapping from predicted density map to ground truth as described by Kim in the abstract and in the second to last paragraph of the introduction (section 1).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Claim 10 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 3 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Kodra” (US 2017/0176640 A1) in view of “Perkins” (US 2020/0242400 A1), further in view of “Haidar” (Monthly Rainfall Forecasting Using One-Dimensional Deep Convolutional Neural Network), and further in view of “Cohen” (Spherical CNNs).
Remark: Claims 3 and 10 recite multiple options, which are addressed by different references and consequently claims 3 and 10 are subject to multiple grounds of rejection under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Kodra, Perkins and Haidar does not appear to explicitly teach
wherein the predictive neural network is selected from the group consisting of a Convolutional Recurrent Neural Network (CRNN) having at least one Long Short- Term Memory (LSTM) layer, a Spherical Convolutional Neural Network (S2-CNN), and a transformer neural network.
However, Cohen—directed to analogous art—teaches
wherein the predictive neural network is selected from the group consisting of a Convolutional Recurrent Neural Network (CRNN) having at least one Long Short- Term Memory (LSTM) layer, a Spherical Convolutional Neural Network (S2-CNN), and a transformer neural network. (Abstract and introduction describe using a spherical convolutional neural network for performing climate and weather science. Implementation details are described in sections 3-5.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which the invention pertains to modify the combination of Kodra, Perkins and Haidar to use the SCNN as taught by Cohen in place of or in addition to the conventional neural network taught by Haidar because these networks are very effective at dealing with rotationally invariant classification problems (e.g., climate on a globe) as described by Cohen at the end of the abstract. Cohen explicitly indicates that the network is appropriate for climate applications in the abstract and in the last paragraph of the conclusion.
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Claim 10 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 3 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Kodra” (US 2017/0176640 A1) in view of “Perkins” (US 2020/0242400 A1), further in view of ““Haidar” (Monthly Rainfall Forecasting Using One-Dimensional Deep Convolutional Neural Network), and further in view of “Vaswani” (Attention Is All You Need).
Remark: Claims 3 and 10 recite multiple options, which are addressed by different references and consequently claims 3 and 10 are subject to multiple grounds of rejection under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Kodra, Perkins and Haidar does not appear to explicitly teach
wherein the predictive neural network is selected from the group consisting of a Convolutional Recurrent Neural Network (CRNN) having at least one Long Short- Term Memory (LSTM) layer, a Spherical Convolutional Neural Network (S2-CNN), and a transformer neural network.
However, Vaswani—directed to analogous art—teaches
wherein the predictive neural network is selected from the group consisting of a Convolutional Recurrent Neural Network (CRNN) having at least one Long Short- Term Memory (LSTM) layer, a Spherical Convolutional Neural Network (S2-CNN), and a transformer neural network. (Abstract and Introduction provide an overview of the transformer neural network. Technical details are presented in section 3.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which the invention pertains to modify the combination of Kodra, Perkins and Haidar to use a Transformer Neural Network as taught by Vaswani because these models are able to draw global dependencies between input and output without relying on recurrence as described by Vaswani in the last paragraph of the Introduction.
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Claim 10 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 3 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Kodra” (US 2017/0176640 A1) in view of “Perkins” (US 2020/0242400 A1), further in view of ““Haidar” (Monthly Rainfall Forecasting Using One-Dimensional Deep Convolutional Neural Network), and further in view of “Glenis” (A transient stochastic weather generator incorporating climate model uncertainty).
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Kodra, Perkins, and Haidar does not appear to explicitly teach
wherein the merging the at least two GCM datasets comprises at least one of concatenating and interleaving the at least two GCM datasets.
However, Glenis—directed to analogous art—teaches
wherein the merging the at least two GCM datasets comprises at least one of concatenating and interleaving the at least two GCM datasets. (Abstract and introduction describe identifying climate data using ensembles of models. Implementation details are provided in sections 2 and 3. In particular, section 2.5, first paragraph and section 3.3.2., last paragraph describe concatenating together various simulations to produce a time series. Since the data is being inserted between other data, this is also understood to be interleaving.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which the invention pertains to modify the combination of Kodra, Perkins, and Haidar to use the concatenation/interleaving approach for combining data taught by Glenis because this approach is consistent with the widely accepted UKCP09 approach as described by Glenis in the last paragraph of section 3.3.2.
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Claim 14 recites substantially similar subject matter to claim 7 and is rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-8, 12-15, and 17-20, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,835,677 in view of “Kodra” (US 2017/0176640 A1), further in view of “Perkins” (US 2020/0242400 A1),
Regarding instant claim 1, patented claim 1 recites limitations which are substantially identical to those recited in instant claim 1, except that instant claim 1 recites
computing an ensemble forecast skill score for each candidate ensemble of GCM datasets based on a model analog, wherein the model analog comprises a GCM having an initial state that matches a corresponding observational historical data related to a second climate variable, and wherein the model analog is evolved to generate an analog forecast for computing the ensemble forecast skill score;
However, Kodra teaches
[evaluating the performance of the GCM datasets] based on observational historical climate data;… the model analog comprises a GCM having an initial state that [has an] observational historical data related to a second climate variable, and wherein the model analog is evolved to generate an analog forecast (Kodra, [0072] describes weighting models/datasets based on their ability to replicate observed covariance relationships determined in historical climate data. That is, historical climate data is used to determine how influential a model should be on the final ensemble. The data used to evaluate the models may be data determined using a GCM as described at [0081-0082] where a model is evolved based on an initial input to produce output simulations.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified patented claim 1 by Kodra because the techniques taught by Kodra allow for the provision of reliable tools for coping with future precipitation extremes related to hydrological extremes as described at [0006] and also because the techniques taught by Kodra outperform other methods as described by Kodra at [0113].
The combination of patented claim 1 and Kodra does not appear to explicitly teach
computing an ensemble forecast skill score for each candidate ensemble of GCM datasets based on a model analog, wherein the model analog … having an initial state that matches a corresponding observational historical data … for computing the ensemble forecast skill score;
However, Perkins—directed to analogous art—teaches
computing an ensemble forecast skill score for each candidate ensemble of GCM datasets based on a model analog, wherein the model analog … having an initial state that matches a corresponding observational historical data … for computing the ensemble forecast skill score; ([0045] describes computing predictions using the trained base models and storing these predictions in a column. [0047] describes eliminating sets of base model predictions from the matrix based on an accuracy. The accuracy score is computed based on the predictions made by the base models (each of the base models may be taken to be a model analog). [0034] indicates that the data is labeled training data (meaning that the model analogs are evolved based on initial inputs to generate outputs). Since the data produced by the models are part of the ensemble (i.e., the merged data in the matrix) the computation of the accuracy score for any of these could be taken to be computed “for” the final ensemble. The final matrix is taken to be the selected multi-model ensemble. In the combination with Kodra, the data would be the historical climate data described above and the analog model would correspond to one or more of the GCMs taught by Kodra as described above.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which the invention pertains to modify patented claim 1 in view of Kodra to use the ensemble generation method taught by Perkins because this results in a model with greater accuracy and performance as described by Perkins at [0048].
Instant claims 2-7 recite substantially identical subject matter to patented claims 2-4, and 6-8, respectively, and are rejected in view of the rejection of instant claim 1.
Instant claim 8 recites substantially identical subject matter to patented claim 12, except for the limitation which is substantially identical to that addressed above with respect to instant claim 1. Instant claim 8 is rejected with the same rationale.
Instant claims 9-14 recite substantially identical subject matter to patented claims 13-15 and 17-19, respectively, and are rejected in view of the rejection of instant claim 8.
Instant claim 15 recites substantially identical subject matter to patented claim 20, except for the limitation which is substantially identical to that addressed above with respect to instant claim 1. Instant claim 15 is rejected with the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cannon (Nonlinear analog predictor analysis: A coupled neural network/analog model for climate downscaling) – Abstract describes using a combination of analog and artificial neural network models to perform climate forecasting.
/MARKUS A. VASQUEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2121