DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4-6, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the edge processing module" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the processor" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the edge processing module" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the edge processing module" in line 1 and line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the edge processing module" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the edge processing module" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the edge learning machine" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims appear to be numbered incorrectly. There appears to be no Claim 8 in the claim sheet. Therefore claims 9-20 should be renumbered to claims 8-19 respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2017/0064616 A1 herein Park).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a system (read as system 500) (Park – Figure 5, [0078]), comprising:
a transceiver (read as transceiver 430) (Park – Figure 4, [0015], [0073], [0076], [0078]) to communicate with a predetermined target (read as at least one wireless device 115) (Park – Figure 4, Figure 5, [0076]-[0078]);
one or more antennas coupled to the transceiver each electrically or mechanically steerable to the predetermined target (read as antennas 435) (Park – Figure 4, Figure 5, [0075]-[0076]); and
an AI processing module coupled to the transceiver and one or more antennas to provide low-latency computation for the predetermined target based on AI determination (read as edge computing platform 215-a, 215-b) (Park – Figure 4, [0069], [0073], [0075]).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Park further teaches wherein the transceiver comprises a 5G or 6G cellular transceiver (read as wireless device 115 may be a cellular phone) (Park – [0038]).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 1, Park further teaches comprising one or more cameras and sensors in the housing to capture security information (read as a sensor or other input device of the edge computing device 145 such as temperature sensor, light sensor, or camera) (Park – [0049]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 1, Park further teaches comprising a camera for individual identity identification (read as a sensor or other input device of the edge computing device 145 such as temperature sensor, light sensor, or camera) (Park – [0049]).
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 1, Park further teaches wherein the edge processing module streams data to the predetermined target to minimize loading the target (read as up stream, down stream, video streaming) (Park – [0005], [0070]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 11, 13, 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-10 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, the best prior art of record found during the examination of the present application, Park et al. (US 2017/0064616 A1 herein Park), fails to specifically teach, suggest, or disclose a system, comprising: a transceiver to communicate with a predetermined target; one or more antennas coupled to the transceiver each electrically or mechanically steerable to the predetermined target; and a beam sweeping module controlling the antenna in accordance with one of: a service level agreement, a performance requirement, a traffic distribution data, a networking requirement or prior beam sweeping history.
Park teaches providing small cell computing resources as a service, wherein a base station in the small cell is co-located with an edge computing device providing the small cell computing resources. The method may further include hosting an application on the small cell computing resources of the edge computing device, the application accessible to a mobile device in the small cell (Park – Abstract). Park teaches a wireless communications system 100A. The wireless communications system 100A includes base stations 105, wireless devices 115, and a core network 130. The core network 130 may provide user authentication, access authorization, tracking, Internet Protocol (IP) connectivity, and other access, routing, or mobility functions. The base stations 105 interface with the core network 130 through backhaul links 132 (Park – Figure 1A, [0032]). These teachings of Park differ and fall short of the present application, therefore claim 9 is considered novel and non-obvious over the prior art and therefore is allowed.
Claim 10 depends upon allowable claim 9 therefore this claim is also allowed for the same reasons explained above.
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648