DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 and 13-15 in the reply filed on 7/21/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 12 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/21/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, which all claims depend upon, states that R4 of formula 2 of the “trialkoxysilane” can be an alkoxy group, however that would make it a tetraalkoxysilane and thus contradicting the “trialkoxysilane-based compound” mentioned earlier in the claim and therefore making the claim indefinite.
As to claim 11, “mixed at a molar ratio of 1:1 to 1:2 is unclear. Is the molar ratio referring to the monomers
1) for the “homopolymerization of propylene or copolymerization of propylene and ethylene” to “copolymerization of propylene and an ethylene or alpha-olefin comonomer.”
2) for the propylene and “ethylene or alpha-olefin comonomer” of the second copolymerization?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 2010027875 (herein Lee).
In setting forth the instant rejection, a machine translation of Lee has been relied upon, which is included with the instant rejection.
As to claims 1 and 13, Lee discloses a method for producing a propylene polymer (see abstract and examples) using a catalyst system and a catalyst system thereof comprising “a Ziegler-based catalyst including magnesium, titanium, halogen and inside electron donors as a main catalyst component, an alkyl aluminum compound as a co-catalyst” and an external electron donor. See abstract. The external electron donor is exemplified as diisopropyldimethoxysilane (dialkoxysilane reading on formula 1), isobutyltriethoxysilane (trialkoxysilane reading on formula 2), and vinyltriethoxysilane (trialkoxysilane reading on formula 3) in ratios of 4:2:1 (examples 1-9 and 11), 4:1:2 (example 9), and 3.3:3:1.7 (example 10). See table 1 and pages 8-11.
As to claims 2-3 and 14-15, this property appears to be inherent because the catalyst system is identical and therefore, identical catalysts would have identical properties. Note that Lee teaches the polymerization of homopolymers of propylene and copolymers of propylene and ethylene or C4-C6 alpha olefins. See page 7.
As to claim 4, Lee teaches “5 to 40 wt% magnesium, 0.5 to 10 wt% titanium, 50 to 85 wt% halogen, and 2.5 to 30 wt% internal electron donor”. See page 3 and examples.
As to claim 5, the internal electron donor is taught as diethyl phthalate (phthalic acid ester). See pages 3-4 and examples.
As to claim 6, the alkyl aluminum is taught as triethyl aluminum etc. (R=2 carbon). See page 4 and examples.
As to claim 7, the molar ratio of aluminum atoms in the cocatalyst to titanium
1 to 1000 and within the claimed range. See page 7 and examples.
As to claim 8, the molar ratio of silicon atoms to titanium atoms is 1 to 100. See page 7 and examples.
As to claims 9-10, the molar ratios taught in examples 1-11 of 4:2:1 (examples 1-9 and 11), 4:1:2 (example 9), and 3.3:3:1.7 (example 10) fall within the claimed ranges. Also see page 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2010027875 (herein Lee) in view of US 2020/0199274 (herein Hosaka).
The discussion with respect to Lee set-forth above is incorporated herein by reference.
As to claim 11, Lee is silent on the claimed steps.
Hosaka teaches similar methods of polymerizing propylene. See abstract and examples. Hosaka discloses that it is advantageous to utilize similar catalyst to produce block copolymers involves a first state homopolymerization of propylene followed by a second stage polymerization of propylene and ethylene. See paragraph 252. The molar ratio of propylene to ethylene is exemplified as 1:1. See paragraph 318. These block copolymers are advantageous because they have favorable moldability (see paragraph 350) and other properties (see paragraph 248, 8, 24, abstract and examples).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have modified the method of Lee with the two stages of first homopolymerization followed by copolymerization of propylene and ethylene at a molar ratio of 1:1 as taught by Hosaka because one would want to yield polymers that are advantageous because they have favorable moldability (see paragraph 350 of Hosaka) and other properties (see paragraph 248, 8, 24, abstract and examples of Hosaka).
Conclusion
/MARK S KAUCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764