DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 7/30/2026.
Claims 8, 19, 21-22 have been cancelled.
Claim 23 have been added.
Claims(s) 1-7, 9-18, 20, 23 is/are currently pending.
Examiner’s Comments Regarding Subject Matter Eligibility
The abstract ideas of “determining, in accordance with a condition being met, that local first system information is abnormal…” as noted in claim 1 and similarly in claims 13, 20, and 23 are considered as being recited with additional elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and the claims are therefore considered as eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/21/2023. These drawings are accepted
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/30/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-7, 9-18, 20, 23 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-18, 20, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20200344605 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20190364462 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. teaches a communication method carried out by a terminal (Paragraph 46, 57, 219, teaches a communication method performed by a UE, which is expressly identified as a terminal), the method comprising: determining, in accordance with a condition being met, that local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 91, 145, 149, 166, 223, teaches the terminal determining that locally received/read system information is abnormal or inauthentic when a comparison condition reveals modification or a hash mismatch); sending, in accordance with the determining, a notification message (Paragraph 149, 166, 224, teaches sending a message/indication as a consequence of determining that the locally held system information does not match the valid system information) to notify an access network device that the local first system information in the terminal device is abnormal (Paragraph 149, 166, teaches the UE notifying the base station/access-network device that its received system information is abnormal by transmitting an indication that its locally determined hash mismatches the valid network-provided hash); receiving, in accordance with the determining and sending, second system information from the access network device (Paragraph 48, 149, 169, 225, teaches that, after detecting abnormal system information and reporting the mismatch, the UE receives corrected/valid system information from the base station in response to that indication); and updating, after the receiving, the local first system information using the second system information (Paragraph 106, 168-169, 225-226, teaches replacing the practical use of the abnormal first information with the received corrected system information and thereafter operating based on that corrected information), wherein the receiving, in accordance with the determining and sending, the second system information comprises receiving the second system information from the access network device (Paragraph 48, 149-150, 169, teaches the UE receiving the corrected second system information from the base station/access-network device after reporting the detected mismatch).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the condition is taken from the group consisting of: a change trend of a tag value of a same system information block (SIB) is abnormal; and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold within second preset duration, and wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information.
However, Kim et al. teaches wherein the condition is taken from the group consisting of (Paragraph 388, 390, teaches a defined condition whose satisfaction causes the terminal to determine that its stored system information should no longer be used and instead reacquire the system information): a change trend of a tag value (Paragraph 373, 388, teaches monitoring the behavior of a value tag over successive SI updates, including its sequential increments, accumulated number of changes, and eventual wraparound) of a same system information block (SIB) (Paragraph 373, 388, associates the value tag and accumulated-update indication with particular system information comprising SIBs, such that successive changes concern the corresponding system information rather than unrelated information) is abnormal (Paragraph 373, 388, teaches an abnormal/problematic tag-change circumstance in which repeated changes cause wraparound and make the stored tag unreliable for establishing that the terminal's stored system information remains current); and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB (Paragraph 373, 388, expressly counts successive changes represented by the value tag for corresponding SIB-containing system information, including determining whether at least 2^n such updates have occurred) is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold (Paragraph 388, 392, expressly teaches comparing the quantity of updates against a predetermined threshold of 2^n changes and determining whether the quantity is greater than or equal to that threshold) within second preset duration (Paragraph 388, 392, expressly limits the counted updates to a predefined specific time period before the current time, directly teaching the claimed preset duration), and wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information (Paragraph 373, 375, 380, 388, 390, expressly conditions reacquisition of updated system information on the newly/currently provided value tag differing from the terminal's stored value tag).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the condition is taken from the group consisting of: a change trend of a tag value of a same system information block (SIB) is abnormal; and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold within second preset duration, and wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information as taught by Kim et al. in the system of Lee et al., so that it would enable the terminal to detect stale or unreliable local system information using objective tag-value change criteria and efficiently trigger retrieval and updating of valid system information only when predefined abnormal update conditions indicate that the stored system information is no longer reliable.
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. teaches the first signaling comprises a tracking area update (TAU) request message, and wherein the local first system information comprises information related to a tracking area code (TAC) (Paragraph 97-98, 101, teaches local system information in a SIB/SIB1 containing a TAC and expressly teaches that a fake TAC triggers continuous TAUs and associated TAU signaling).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. teaches the first service comprises a multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS), and wherein the local first system information comprises information related to scheduling and receiving of the MBMS (Paragraph 50, 60, 98, 109, 146, 168, teaches service delivery including one-to-many communications and locally received MIB/SIB system information containing scheduling information that a UE uses to receive desired information and communicate with the network).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. teaches the first signaling is a message 1 (MSG 1) in a random access procedure, and wherein the local first system information comprises information related to a random access configuration (Paragraph 110, 127-130, teaches that the UE receives local system information comprising MIB/SIB information, performs a connection procedure including a RACH procedure based on that system information, and transmits a RACH request expressly identified as Msg1, with the indication of the received system information carried as part of the RACH request).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. teaches the first service comprises a cell selection service and a cell reselection service, and wherein the local first system information comprises information related to cell selection (Paragraph 50, 98-99, 119, 135, teaches cell selection through selecting/camping on a suitable cell using cell-selection information and parameters carried in SIB system information, and teaches cell reselection through selecting, searching for, reattaching to, or connecting to a different cell/base station when the current cell is unsuitable or inauthentic).
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al. teaches the first service comprises a random access service or a cell access service, and wherein the local first system information comprises information related to access control (Paragraph 97-99, 103, 110, 127-129, 139-141, 145, 168, 194, teaches the claimed limitation because the first service is a random-access/cell-access service through its RACH-based connection procedure used to obtain network/cell access, while the local first system information includes SIB1/SIB2 containing access-control information such as cell barring, CSG identity, cell-selection information, and other access-control parameters that determine or affect whether and how the UE accesses a cell).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al. teaches the first service comprises a service provided by other system information (OSI), wherein the local first system information comprises a SIB type 1, and wherein the SIB type 1 comprises scheduling information of the OSI (Paragraph 47, 49, 98-100, 146-147, 149, teaches that the local system information includes SIB1, that SIB1 expressly contains a “scheduling information list,” and that other SIBs provide additional/optional system information and services to the UE).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. teaches a system information parameter in the second system information is different from a system information parameter in the local first system information (Paragraph 97-98, 105-106, 115, 118-119, 133-134, 149-150, teaches that locally received first system information may contain one or more modified MIB/SIB parameters expressly including SFN, bandwidth, scheduling information, PLMN identity, TAC, cell identity, cell barring, frequency-band information, TDD configuration, and system-information value tag—and that corrected/valid second system information is subsequently received and determined to differ from that locally received modified system information).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. teaches the notification message comprises a message 1 (MSG 1) in a random access procedure; and wherein the sending the notification message comprises performing a sending operation taken from the group consisting of: sending the MSG 1 that carries a random access preamble of a pre-defined index value, wherein the random access preamble of the pre-defined index value is used to indicate to the access network device that the local first system information is abnormal; and sending the MSG 1 on a pre-defined time domain and/or frequency domain resource, wherein the pre-defined time domain and/or frequency domain resource is used to indicate to the access network device that the local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 76, 78, 82, 90, 103, 110, 121, 128-130, 133, 140-141, 166, teaches a UE detecting modified/inauthentic local system information and sending an indication concerning that system information to a base station as part of a RACH request that is expressly identified as Msg1, using a predefined random-access-preamble index or a predefined time/frequency resource of Msg1 itself to indicate that the local system information is abnormal).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. teaches the notification message comprises a message 3 (MSG 3) in a random access procedure; and wherein the sending the notification message comprises: sending the MSG 3 that comprises a pre-defined cause value, and wherein the pre- defined cause value is used to indicate to the access network device that the local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 110, 121, 127-130, 133, teaches a random-access connection procedure in which the UE's RRC connection request is expressly Msg3 and further teaches placing within that RRC connection request an indication concerning received system information that enables the base station to determine that the UE's received system information was modified/abnormal).
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. teaches the notification message comprises a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling used to carry a measurement report, and wherein the measurement report is obtained based on a minimization drive test (MDT); and wherein the sending the notification message comprises: sending the RRC dedicated signaling carries an indication indicating that the local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 48-49, 89, 91, 101, 106, 113-114, 120, 130, 149, 166, 224, teaches a UE sending dedicated RRC/AS signaling containing a report/indication that locally received system information is abnormal, modified, corrupted, or inauthentic, particularly through an AS security mode complete message carrying a hash-mismatch indication and through reporting detected fake-base-station/SIB information).
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al. teaches a communication method carried out by an access network device, with a terminal device (Paragraph 53, 57, 63, 227, teaches a communication method performed by a base station/access-network entity communicating with a UE, the UE is identified as a “terminal” and teaches communication between that terminal and the base station) that has determined, in accordance with a condition being met, that local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 91, 145, 149, 166, 223, teaches the terminal determining that locally received/read system information is abnormal or inauthentic when a comparison condition reveals modification or a hash mismatch); wherein the method comprises: receiving a notification message from the terminal device that is used to indicate that local first system information in the terminal device is abnormal (Paragraph 48, 91, 149, 192, 242, teaches the base station receiving from the UE a notification indicating that the UE's received system information is modified/corrupted through a hash-mismatch indication); and sending, in accordance with the receiving the notification message, second system information that is used by the terminal device to update the local first system information (Paragraph 48, 91, 149, 169, 195, 243-244, teaches responding to the UE's abnormal-system-information notification by sending corrected system information that replaces the erroneous information for subsequent UE operation).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the condition is taken from the group consisting of: a change trend of a tag value of a same system information block SIB is abnormal; and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold within second preset duration, wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information.
However, Kim et al. teaches wherein the condition is taken from the group consisting of: a change trend of a tag value of a same system information block SIB is abnormal (Paragraph 373, 388, teaches monitoring the progression of a SIB-associated value tag and identifies an abnormal/unreliable change trend when repeated increments cause the tag to wrap around and falsely appear unchanged); and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold within second preset duration (Paragraph 373, 388, 390, 392, teaches detecting whether the system information, and correspondingly its incremented value tag, has changed at least a preset number of times (2ⁿ/specific number) within a preset period and using that threshold condition to trigger reacquisition), wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information (Paragraph 375, 380, 388, 390, 408, compares the terminal's locally stored/acquired system-information tag against the tag associated with newly available second system information and reacquires/updates that information when the tag values differ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the condition is taken from the group consisting of: a change trend of a tag value of a same system information block SIB is abnormal; and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold within second preset duration, wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information as taught by Kim et al. in the system of Lee et al., so that it would enable the access network device and terminal to more reliably identify stale or abnormal local system information based on objective SIB tag-value behavior, trigger reacquisition only when warranted, reduce unnecessary system information updates, and ensure that the replacement system information is distinguishable from the outdated local copy through a different tag value, thereby improving the accuracy and efficiency of system information maintenance in the wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al. teaches a system information parameter in the second system information is different from a system information parameter in the local first system information (Paragraph 97-98, 105-106, 115, 118-119, 133-134, 149-150, teaches that locally received first system information may contain one or more modified MIB/SIB parameters expressly including SFN, bandwidth, scheduling information, PLMN identity, TAC, cell identity, cell barring, frequency-band information, TDD configuration, and system-information value tag—and that corrected/valid second system information is subsequently received and determined to differ from that locally received modified system information).
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al. teaches sending second system information comprises: sending all system information comprising the second system information (Paragraph 115-116, 147, 149, 152, teaches sending all system information comprising the second system information by expressly disclosing that, upon detecting modified or changed system information, the base station may retransmit a complete MIB, set of SIBs, or combination thereof, including corrected MIB/SIBs and any changed system information, such that the transmitted complete/set system information encompasses the particular corrected or second system information).
Regarding claim 16, Lee et al. teaches the notification message comprises a message 1 (MSG 1) in a random access procedure; and wherein the receiving the notification message used to indicate that local first system information is abnormal comprises performing a receiving operation taken from the group consisting of: receiving the MSG 1 that carries a random access preamble of a pre-defined index value, wherein the random access preamble of the pre-defined index value is used to indicate to the access network device that the local first system information is abnormal; and receiving the MSG 1 on a pre-defined time domain and/or frequency domain resource that is used to indicate to the access network device that the local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 110, 121, 127-133, teaches that a UE receiving potentially modified/inauthentic system information can perform a random-access procedure in which the RACH request is expressly MSG1, can include in that RACH request a protected indication concerning the received system information, and the verified base station receives and evaluates that indication to determine whether the system information was modified).
Regarding claim 17, Lee et al. teaches the notification message is a message 3 (MSG 3) in a random access procedure; and wherein the receiving the notification message used to indicate that local first system information is abnormal comprises: receiving the MSG 3 that comprises a pre-defined cause value, and wherein the pre-defined cause value is used to indicate to the access network device that the local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 90, 103, 106, 110, 121, 128-130, 132-133, 149, 166, 192, 242, teaches a random-access connection procedure in which the UE transmits an RRC connection request as MSG3 and expressly permits that RRC connection request to carry an indication concerning locally received system information, such as a hash-based indication or retransmission request from which the base station determines that the UE's locally received system information was modified/abnormal).
Regarding claim 18, Lee et al. teaches the notification message is radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling used to carry a measurement report that is obtained based on a minimization drive test (MDT); and wherein the receiving the notification message used to indicate that local first system information is abnormal comprises: receiving the RRC dedicated signaling that carries an indication indicating that the local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 48, 74, 113-115, 120, 145, 149, 166, 192, 223-224, 242, teaches a UE determining that locally received system information is abnormal because its locally computed hash mismatches the valid-system-information hash and transmitting that abnormality indication to the base station through protected RRC/AS dedicated signaling, particularly an AS Security Mode Complete message).
Regarding claim 20, Lee et al. teaches a communication apparatus comprising; a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to implement a method(Paragraph 171, 176-178, 206, teaches a communication device/UE having processor 940 and memory storing computer-executable software in a non-transitory computer-readable medium, where execution of the instructions causes the device to perform the disclosed wireless-communication method) comprising: determining, in accordance with a condition being met, that local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 91, 145, 149, 166, 223, teaches the terminal determining that locally received/read system information is abnormal or inauthentic when a comparison condition reveals modification or a hash mismatch); sending, in accordance with the determining, a notification message (Paragraph 149, 166, 224, teaches sending a message/indication as a consequence of determining that the locally held system information does not match the valid system information) to notify an access network device that the local first system information in the terminal device is abnormal (Paragraph 149, 166, teaches the UE notifying the base station/access-network device that its received system information is abnormal by transmitting an indication that its locally determined hash mismatches the valid network-provided hash); receiving, in accordance with the determining and sending, second system information from the access network device (Paragraph 48, 149, 169, 225, teaches that, after detecting abnormal system information and reporting the mismatch, the UE receives corrected/valid system information from the base station in response to that indication); and updating, after the receiving, the local first system information using the second system information (Paragraph 106, 168-169, 225-226, teaches replacing the practical use of the abnormal first information with the received corrected system information and thereafter operating based on that corrected information), wherein the receiving, in accordance with the determining and sending, the second system information comprises receiving the second system information from the access network device (Paragraph 48, 149-150, 169, teaches the UE receiving the corrected second system information from the base station/access-network device after reporting the detected mismatch).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the condition is taken from the group consisting of: a change trend of a tag value of a same system information block (SIB) is abnormal; and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold within second preset duration, and wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information.
However, Kim et al. teaches wherein the condition is taken from the group consisting of (Paragraph 388, 390, teaches a defined condition whose satisfaction causes the terminal to determine that its stored system information should no longer be used and instead reacquire the system information): a change trend of a tag value (Paragraph 373, 388, teaches monitoring the behavior of a value tag over successive SI updates, including its sequential increments, accumulated number of changes, and eventual wraparound) of a same system information block (SIB) (Paragraph 373, 388, associates the value tag and accumulated-update indication with particular system information comprising SIBs, such that successive changes concern the corresponding system information rather than unrelated information) is abnormal (Paragraph 373, 388, teaches an abnormal/problematic tag-change circumstance in which repeated changes cause wraparound and make the stored tag unreliable for establishing that the terminal's stored system information remains current); and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB (Paragraph 373, 388, expressly counts successive changes represented by the value tag for corresponding SIB-containing system information, including determining whether at least 2^n such updates have occurred) is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold (Paragraph 388, 392, expressly teaches comparing the quantity of updates against a predetermined threshold of 2^n changes and determining whether the quantity is greater than or equal to that threshold) within second preset duration (Paragraph 388, 392, expressly limits the counted updates to a predefined specific time period before the current time, directly teaching the claimed preset duration), and wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information (Paragraph 373, 375, 380, 388, 390, expressly conditions reacquisition of updated system information on the newly/currently provided value tag differing from the terminal's stored value tag).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the condition is taken from the group consisting of: a change trend of a tag value of a same system information block (SIB) is abnormal; and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold within second preset duration, and wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information as taught by Kim et al. in the system of Lee et al., so that it would enable the terminal to detect stale or unreliable local system information using objective tag-value change criteria and efficiently trigger retrieval and updating of valid system information only when predefined abnormal update conditions indicate that the stored system information is no longer reliable.
Regarding claim 23, Lee et al. teaches an access network device comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the communication apparatus to implement a communication method with a terminal device (Paragraph 53, 57, 197, 202-203, 205, 227, 230-231, teaches an access-network device in the form of a base station/gNB having processor 1340 and memory storing executable software in a non-transitory computer-readable medium, with the processor executing those instructions to implement a communication method involving bidirectional communication with a UE expressly identified as a terminal) that has determined, in accordance with a condition being met, that local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 91, 145, 149, 166, 223, teaches the terminal determining that locally received/read system information is abnormal or inauthentic when a comparison condition reveals modification or a hash mismatch); wherein the communication method comprises: receiving a notification message from the terminal device that is used to indicate that local first system information in the terminal device is abnormal (Paragraph 48, 91, 149, 192, 242, teaches the base station receiving from the UE a notification indicating that the UE's received system information is modified/corrupted through a hash-mismatch indication); and sending, in accordance with the receiving the notification message, second system information that is used by the terminal device to update the local first system information (Paragraph 48, 91, 149, 169, 195, 243-244, teaches responding to the UE's abnormal-system-information notification by sending corrected system information that replaces the erroneous information for subsequent UE operation).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the condition is taken from the group consisting of: a change trend of a tag value of a same system information block SIB is abnormal; and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold within second preset duration, wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information.
However, Kim et al. teaches wherein the condition is taken from the group consisting of: a change trend of a tag value of a same system information block SIB is abnormal (Paragraph 373, 388, teaches monitoring the progression of a SIB-associated value tag and identifies an abnormal/unreliable change trend when repeated increments cause the tag to wrap around and falsely appear unchanged); and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold within second preset duration (Paragraph 373, 388, 390, 392, teaches detecting whether the system information, and correspondingly its incremented value tag, has changed at least a preset number of times (2ⁿ/specific number) within a preset period and using that threshold condition to trigger reacquisition), wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information (Paragraph 375, 380, 388, 390, 408, compares the terminal's locally stored/acquired system-information tag against the tag associated with newly available second system information and reacquires/updates that information when the tag values differ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the condition is taken from the group consisting of: a change trend of a tag value of a same system information block SIB is abnormal; and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold within second preset duration, wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information as taught by Kim et al. in the system of Lee et al., so that it would enable the access network device and terminal to more reliably identify stale or abnormal local system information based on objective SIB tag-value behavior, trigger reacquisition only when warranted, reduce unnecessary system information updates, and ensure that the replacement system information is distinguishable from the outdated local copy through a different tag value, thereby improving the accuracy and efficiency of system information maintenance in the wireless communication system.
Conclusion
/A.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464