DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nix (US 12470924 B2) in view of Won et al. (US 20240031912 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nix teaches a communication method carried out by a terminal, the method comprising: determining, in accordance with one or more conditions being met that local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 148, 149, The terminal detects error conditions and disabled or unavailable communication states of its local system information, constituting a determination that local first system information is abnormal), wherein the one or more conditions are conditions taken from the group consisting of: a quantity of times of sending first signaling is greater than or equal to a first preset threshold within first preset duration (Paragraph 149, The passage teaches that the terminal remains in an offline or unavailable service state for a period of time and performs actions based on that continued unavailability, satisfying a duration-based service unavailability condition); a time length in which a first service is unavailable is greater than or equal to a second preset threshold (Paragraph 149, The terminal detects prolonged service unavailability over time, satisfying a duration-based abnormality condition); receiving, in accordance with the determining, second system information from an access network device (Paragraph 153, 194, 205, Upon detecting abnormal conditions, the terminal receives updated system/configuration information from network-side entities); and updating, after the receiving. the local first system information using the second system information (Paragraph 157, 216, The terminal updates its locally stored system information using the newly received network-provided information).
Nix does not explicitly teach a change trend of a tag value of a same system information block SIB is abnormal; and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold within second preset duration.
However, Won et al. teaches a change trend of a tag value of a same system information block SIB is abnormal; and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold within second preset duration (Paragraph 196, 126, 142, The disclosure teaches that a change-indicating tag within a system information block is monitored such that repeated changes over time trigger abnormal handling and suppression based on a timing condition, encompassing detecting an abnormal change trend when the number of tag changes reaches a threshold within a duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a change trend of a tag value of a same system information block SIB is abnormal; and a quantity of changes in a tag value of a same SIB is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold within second preset duration as taught by Won et al. in the system of Nix, so that it would enable the terminal to more robustly and timely identify unstable or repeatedly changing system information conditions and trigger appropriate abnormal handling and updating behavior consistent with reliable network operation.
Regarding claim 2, Nix teaches the first signaling comprises a tracking area update (TAU) request message, and wherein the local first system information comprises information related to a tracking area code (TAC) (Paragraph 162, 163, 193, Identifying surrounding LTE/5G networks includes TAC info as part of system information, and using that info to select access credentials shows initiating TAU signaling).
Regarding claim 3, Nix teaches the first service comprises a multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS), and wherein the local first system information comprises information related to scheduling and receiving of the MBMS (Paragraph 175, 189–192, These passages collectively describe a broadcast-type service architecture involving scheduling, receiving, and authentication parameters associated with reporting system communication, including software and system configuration information that parallels MBMS characteristics and behaviors).
Regarding claim 4, Nix teaches the first signaling is a message 1 (MSG 1) in a random access procedure, and wherein the local first system information comprises information related to a random access configuration (Paragraph 147, 149, 150, 152, 203, The passage teaches that the first signaling is message 305 initiated by the device in a procedure similar to a random access, and that the local first system information includes stored configuration and credential data used to initiate this signaling, effectively representing random access configuration).
Regarding claim 5, Nix teaches the first service comprises a cell selection service and a cell reselection service, and wherein the local first system information comprises information related to cell selection (Paragraph 163, 166, 169, The passage teaches that device 101 collects RF conditions and available networks for access selection, showing support for cell selection and reselection services based on system information).
Regarding claim 6, Nix teaches the first service comprises a random access service or a cell access service, and wherein the local first system information comprises information related to access control (Paragraph 147, 148, 203, 207, The passage teaches that the device performs a service for accessing a wireless connection such as WiFi setup (random/cell access), using stored system information (Config-default.device and PSK-default.device) which governs access control through authentication parameters like keys and MAC address matching).
Regarding claim 7, Nix teaches the first service comprises a service provided by other system information (OSI),wherein the local first system information comprises a SIB type 1, and wherein the SIB type 1 comprises scheduling information of the OSI (Paragraph 162, 163, 168, 169, the passage describes analogous functions (network discovery, identity/config data collection, RF/frequency band identification, signal strength, and transfer of such info to a configuration server)).
Regarding claim 8, Nix teaches sending a notification message to notify the access network device that the local first system information in the terminal device is abnormal; wherein the receiving the second system information comprises: receiving the second system information from the base station again, wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information (Paragraph 149-152, 155-158, The passage teaches the claim by describing how the device (terminal) sends a message (305) to notify the network (via mobile or configuration server) of an abnormal or incomplete local configuration state, then receives updated configuration (second system information) via message 308 or 307 that includes authentication or configuration data. The new system information contains a tag value (such as a random number in tag-value 101w) that is distinct from the original, ensuring freshness or validation).
Regarding claim 9, Nix teaches a system information parameter in the second system information is different from a system information parameter in the local first system information (Paragraph 150–151, 158, 196, 213, 223, The passage shows device 101 starts with default config parameters (e.g., address, port, protocol), which are later replaced with updated values (e.g., URL-CS 112b, credentials 199) from configuration package 132, demonstrating a difference in system information parameters).
Regarding claim 10, Nix teaches the notification message comprises a message 1 (MSG 1) in the a random access procedure; and wherein the sending the notification message comprises performing a sending operation taken from the group consisting of sending the MSG 1 that carries a random access preamble of a pre-defined index value, wherein the random access preamble of the pre-defined index value is used to indicate to the access network device that the local first system information is abnormal; and sending the MSG 1 on a pre-defined time domain and/or frequency domain resource, wherein the pre-defined time domain and/or frequency domain resource is used to indicate to the access network device that the local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 149, 152, The passage teaches a notification message (message 305) sent in an offline state with predefined structure and parameters (such as a TCP SYN and stored values from message 221), which aligns with the broad interpretation of a MSG 1 carrying signaling information on predefined resources or with a predefined indicator of abnormal local system information).
Regarding claim 11, Nix teaches the notification message comprises a message 3 (MSG 3) in a random access procedure; and wherein the sending the notification message comprises: sending the MSG 3 that comprises a pre-defined cause value, and wherein the pre-defined cause value is used to indicate to the access network device that the local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 149, 150, 151, 152, Message 305 is sent by the device while offline due to abnormal or incomplete configuration, using predefined parameters that serve as a cause value to notify the access network of system information abnormality, effectively functioning as MSG 3 in a random access procedure).
Regarding claim 12, Nix teaches the notification message-comprises a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling used to carry a measurement report, and wherein the measurement report is obtained based on a minimization drive test (MDT); and wherein the sending the notification message comprises: sending the RRC dedicated signaling carries an indication indicating that the local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 148, 152, 162–164, 166, The passage teaches collecting MDT-type RF scan data as part of network availability reporting and sending error codes upon connection failure, which reasonably map to a dedicated signaling-based notification message including a measurement report and an indication that local system information is abnormal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Won et al. (US 20240031912 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Won et al. teaches a communication method carried out by an access network device, the method comprising: receiving a notification message from a terminal device that is used to indicate that local first system information in the terminal device is abnormal (Paragraph 99, 110, 111, 113, 126, The terminal-originated message and subsequent signaling convey that the UE’s locally held system state (e.g., PLMN validity/location consistency) is invalid or abnormal, triggering abnormal handling); and sending second system information based on the notification message (Paragraph 96, 104, 117, Based on the received terminal message, the access network device generates and transmits system-level information (network selection assistance information) back to the terminal), wherein a tag value of the second system information is different from a tag value of the local first system information (Paragraph 110, 162, 135, The transmitted system information explicitly includes a cause/tag value that differs from previously stored or assumed system information at the UE, indicating a changed or inconsistent system state).
Regarding claim 14, Won et al. teaches a system information parameter in the second system information is different from a system information parameter in the local first system information (Paragraph 117, 124, 142, 162, The passage teaches that later network-provided information includes modified parameters (network selection assistance information and cause values) that differ from the UE’s locally stored system information).
Regarding claim 15, Won et al. teaches the sending second system information comprises: sending all system information comprising the second system information (Paragraph 116–117, 124, 131–132, The passage teaches that when the second system information (network selection assistance information) is sent, it is included within the transmitted reject/request message, such that sending the second system information comprises sending the full system information message that contains it).
Regarding claim 16, Won et al. teaches the notification message comprises a message 1 (MSG 1) in a random access procedure; and wherein the receiving the notification message used to indicate that local first system information is abnormal comprises performing a receiving operation taken from the group consisting of: receiving the MSG 1 that carries a random access preamble of a pre-defined index value, wherein the random access preamble of the pre-defined index value is used to indicate to the access network device that the local first system information is abnormal; and receiving the MSG 1 on a pre-defined time domain and/or frequency domain resource that is used to indicate to the access network device that the local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 81, 82, 87, 113–116, 126, The passage describes the UE sending a SERVICE REQUEST message with location and network information to the network, which then sends a SERVICE REJECT message indicating that access is denied due to location-based system behavior, effectively signaling that the local system information is abnormal and triggering specific handling at the UE).
Regarding claim 17, Won et al. teaches the notification message is a message 3 (MSG 3) in a random access procedure; and wherein the receiving the notification message used to indicate that local first system information is abnormal comprises: receiving the MSG 3 that comprises a pre-defined cause value, and wherein the pre-defined cause value is used to indicate to the access network device that the local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 110, 117, 135, 138–141, 145, 156, 162, early UE-originated messages (REGISTRATION REQUEST, SERVICE REQUEST) correspond to comparable signaling steps and involve rejection responses containing pre-defined cause values that indicate location-based system info abnormality).
Regarding claim 18, Won et al. teaches the notification message is radio resource control (RRC) dedicated signaling used to carry a measurement report that is obtained based on a minimization drive test (MDT); and wherein the receiving the notification message used to indicate that local first system information is abnormal comprises: receiving the RRC dedicated signaling that carries an indication indicating that the local first system information is abnormal (Paragraph 111, 113–117, 126–127, 129, The UE sends location and signal data, triggering the AMF to detect abnormal system access, and the AMF responds with a SERVICE REJECT message, RRC signaling that includes network selection assistance and an indication that the UE's current location is not permitted, which corresponds to abnormal local system information and MDT-based reporting).
Regarding claim 19, Won et al. teaches a communication apparatus, comprising a module configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (Paragraph 74, 76, 77, 95, 97, 196, 197, The reference discloses a communication apparatus such as a user equipment or network node, each comprising various modules (e.g., circuitry, processor, memory, interfaces) that collectively perform communication functions).
Regarding claim 20, Won et al. teaches a communication apparatus, comprising a processor configured to invoke program code to implement the method according to claim 1 (Paragraph 191, 193, 195, 196, Describes an apparatus with a processor that runs program code to perform communication-related functions).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung et al. (US 20230328575 A1)
Bergström et al. (US 12382527 B2)
Narasimha (US 20220104277 A1)
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464