Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The preliminary amendment was filed 2/28/24 and does not form part of the original disclosure which was filed 11/21/23.
The specification as originally filed does not provide support for the limitations regarding the perimeter and the first and second surfaces of the perimeter, or the first and second yarn types and their location. Further, the specification does not disclose that the second yarn has a denier of less than 100, (cl1im 6). The specification teaches a range of value but does not disclose any values less than 33, (see paragraph 0092 of the published application).
Since the claims include limitations which are not present in the original disclosure or the disclosure of the parent applications, the effective filing date of the instant application is 11/21/23.
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 14, 15-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perera et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0365001.
Perera discloses a knit textile having first and second portions. The knit textile comprises a first and second surface opposite the first surface, wherein the first surface comprises a plurality of cells, wherein each cell comprises a perimeter comprising a first percentage of a first yarn type and also a second yarn type, and a central region enclosed within the perimeter, the central region comprising the second yarn type and a second percentage of the first yarn type. The first cell and second cell have a least one common portion of the perimeter. See claims 1 and 2. The perimeter of each cell is interconnected with the other cells throughout the textile. See figures. The first yarn type can be polyester, (polyethylene terephthalate), and the second yarn type can be polyamide. See paragraph 0016. The cells can be hexagonal. See paragraph 0041 and figures. The structure is permeable to air. See paragraph 0016. The central portions are more permeable than the perimeter, therefore the perimeter is more densely stitched than the central portion. The textile has a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, wherein the first surface comprises a plurality of cells, each cell comprising a perimeter comprising a first percentage by weight of a first yarn type and a second yarn type, wherein the plurality of cells further comprises a central region enclosed within the perimeter, wherein the central region comprising the second yarn type and a second percentage by weight of the first yarn type, wherein the second percentage by weight of the first yarn type is less than the first percentage by weight of the first yarn type. The first and second portions integrally extend from one another. See paragraphs 0019, 0020. The construction can be a single knit. See paragraph 0032. The first yarn can have a denier of 30-100 and the second yarn has a denier of from about 23-43 denier. See paragraph 0035. The structure can be made by circular knitting. See paragraph 0043.
Claims 2-6, 14, 15-17, 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perera et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0365001.
Perera discloses a knit textile having first and second portions. The knit textile comprises a first and second surface opposite the first surface, wherein the first surface comprises a plurality of cells, wherein each cell comprises a perimeter comprising a first percentage of a first yarn type and also a second yarn type, and a central region enclosed within the perimeter, the central region comprising the second yarn type and a second percentage of the first yarn type. The first cell and second cell have a least one common portion of the perimeter. See claims 1 and 2. The perimeter of each cell is interconnected with the other cells throughout the textile. See figures.
The first yarn type can be polyester, (polyethylene terephthalate), and the second yarn type can be polyamide. See paragraph 0016. The cells can be hexagonal. See paragraph 0041 and figures. The structure is permeable to air. See paragraph 0016. The central portions are more permeable than the perimeter, therefore the perimeter is more densely stitched than the central portion. The textile has a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface, wherein the first surface comprises a plurality of cells, each cell comprising a perimeter comprising a first percentage by weight of a first yarn type and a second yarn type, wherein the plurality of cells further comprises a central region enclosed within the perimeter, wherein the central region comprising the second yarn type and a second percentage by weight of the first yarn type, wherein the second percentage by weight of the first yarn type is less than the first percentage by weight of the first yarn type. The first and second portions integrally extend from one another. See paragraphs 0019, 0020. The construction can be a single knit. See paragraph 0032. The first yarn can have a denier of 30-100 and the second yarn has a denier of from about 23-43 denier. See paragraph 0035. The structure can be made by circular knitting. See paragraph 0043.
Perera differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose the particularly claimed open area or the use of jacquard knitting.
However, it would have been obvious to have selected the open area in the fabric as well as the particular type of known and conventional knitting which provided a knit fabric having the desired opacity, air permeability and appearance.
Claim(s) 5, 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perera et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0365001 in view of DE20207797U1. Perera discloses a knit structure as set forth above.
Perera differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose the claimed third fiber
However, DE ‘797 teaches a knit cooling fabric including zones including multiple types of yarns as well as stitching to form a plurality of cells. DE ‘797 teaches employing polyamide, polyester as well as additional yarns such as spandex or polypropylene as a third yarn. See paragraphs 0035, 0109.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed additional yarns in the structure of Perera in order to provide improved properties such as elasticity, strength, moisture transport, to the knitted fabric.
With regard to the particularly claimed deniers of the yarns, it would have been obvious to have selected the deniers of each of the yarns which provided the desired weight, strength and porosity to the knit fabric.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conway, U.S. Patent No. 5,906, 876.
Conway discloses a moisture management fabric. The fabric has an upper face, a middle region and a lower face, wherein the middle region is between the upper face and the lower face. The middle region comprises a mixture of hydrophobic and hydrophilic yarns such as a 50/50 polyester/cotton fabric. The middle region is exposed in the channels, which correspond to the claimed perimeter of the cells. The channels can form a grid, which would connect the perimeter of each of the plurality of cells formed by the grid channels throughout the textile. The regions within the perimeters or channels correspond to the claimed cells and the central region enclosed within the perimeter of the cell. In the fabric of Conway, one face can comprise wholly hydrophilic fibers and another face can comprise wholly hydrophobic fibers. The channels are formed by omitting the loop pile making up the upper face. Thus, the perimeter structure has two kinds of yarns, (the blend of polyester and cotton), while the central regions have one kind of yarn. (hydrophilic or hydrophobic yarns alone). Therefore, since the second percentage of the first type of yarn can be zero in the claimed invention, a fabric having only one kind of yarn in the central region meets the limitation of the percentage of the first yarn being less in the central region than in the perimeter. See figures 1-3, col. 3, line 52 – col. 4, line 30. The fabric is formed by knitting. See col. 4, line 14.
Conway does not teach that both the first and second surfaces include the first and second yarns.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789