DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I and Species III in reply filed on
July 17th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Therefore claims 2, 8-10, 16 and 27 (as indicated by Applicant) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected
invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Upon further review, the Examiner recognized that a further restriction was needed as set forth below:
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
Group I: Claims 1,3-7,11-15,17-26 and 28-30: drawn to a device for insertion of a cannula.
Group II: Claim 31: drawn to a method of making a device for insertion of a cannula.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because: Inventions I and II are related as product and process of use. The inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the product of Invention I can be made by a process that does not require making a structural modification on the elongated shaft.
During a telephone conversation with Chad Wickman at 612-336-4789 on September 21st, 2026, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group 1, claims 1,3-7,11-15,17-26 and 28-30. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 31 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 7, 11, 18, 19, 23 and 25 is/are objected to due to the following informalities:
In claim 7, line 1, “the other angled cuts” should be corrected to “the other angled cuts of the plurality of angled cuts” for claim language consistency.
In claim 11, line 1, “the elongated shaft has a length longer than the cannula’s length” should be corrected to “a length of the elongated shaft is longer than the cannula’s length” for grammatical correctness.
In claim 15, line 1, “the straight portion” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 14 could be corrected to recite “the elongated shaft has a straight portion” to provide proper antecedent basis to claim 15.
In claim 18, line 1, the term “and” should be inserted before “the structural modification”.
In claim 19, line 1, the term “and” should be inserted before “the structural modification”.
In claim 23, line 1, “the cannula’s average angle” lacks proper antecedent basis. Claim 23 should be corrected to recite “an average angle of the cannula
In claim 23, lines 1-2, “the wearer’s skin surface” should be corrected to “a surface of the wearer’s skin
In claim 25, lines 3, “the wearer’s skin surface” should be corrected to “a surface of the wearer’s skin
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 20-22 and 24 all appear to positively recite the cannula. However it is unclear if the cannula in claims 20-22 and 24 is part of the claimed invention or not since claim 1 does not positively recite the cannula. In view of claim 26 which clearly introduces the cannula as a part of the claimed invention, claims 20-22 and 24 are interpreted as only functionally reciting the cannula for the sake of examination. Applicant is suggested to:
amend claim 20 to recite “the structural modification is configured to be positioned”,
amend claim 21 to recite “the device is configured to be fully withdrawn”,
amend claim 22 to recite “the cannula is configured to remain
amend claim 24 to recite “the cannula and the elongated shaft’s section configured to be within the cannula are configured to be straight”,
to overcome rejection of claims 20-22 and 24.
Claim 23 appears to positively recite the cannula. However, it is unclear if the cannula in claim 23 is part of the claimed invention or not since claim 1, which claim 23 indirectly depends on, does not positively recite the cannula. In view of claim 26 which clearly introduces the cannula as a part of the claimed invention, claim 23 is interpreted as only functionally reciting the cannula for the sake of examination. In view of the objection for claim 23 set forth above, Applicant is suggested to amend claim to recite “an average angle of the cannula relative to a surface of the wearer’s skin configured to be -10 to 45 degrees”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3, 11-15, 17-20, 24, 26, 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. (US 20150065959 A1), and further in view of Darr (US 20130035609 A1).
Regarding claim 1, a device for (the device 100 with infusion device 110 of Fig. 12) inserting a cannula (cannula 180 in Fig. 12) transcutaneously (a cannula arranged to be deployed beneath the skin of a patient [0008]) for use with a medication infusion device (infusion device 110 in Fig. 2) configured to be removably adhered to a wearer’s skin [device 100 is adhered to skin via adhesive layer 140 [0049]], the device comprising:
an elongated shaft (needle 170 in Fig. 12) defining a longitudinal axis (needle 170is interpreted to extend along a longitudinal axis) and having a proximal region (see proximal region on the upper side of device 110 in Fig. 12) and a distal region (see distal region of needle 170 near the cannula 180 in Fig. 12), the elongated shaft configured to be disposed within a lumen in the cannula (Protruding from the cannula 180 is the insertion needle 170 [0054]; see Fig. 29 which shows the needle 170 is disposed within an inner channel 285 of cannula 180) in a pre-deployment state (see Fig 6 which shows the cover 130 being removed to configure the device to a pre-deployment state);
a needle tip at the distal region of the elongated shaft (see tip of needle 170 at distal end of needle in Fig. 29) configured to pierce the wearer’s skin (needle 170 pierce the skin [0056]);
Carter further discloses a structural modification at the distal region of the elongated shaft (plurality of beveled cuts at the tip of the needle in Fig. 29) but fails to explicitly disclose the structural modification configured to cause the elongated shaft and the cannula to curve within the wearer’s skin in a deployment state for transcutaneously implanting the cannula.
However, Darr teaches in Fig. 1 a stylet 10 comprising a notch 12 which allows the stylet flexibility in one plane, 14, that is perpendicular to the radius of the notch cut marked A and allows the stylet greater flexibility in that plane, but retains rigidity in field of motion of the opposite plane, 16, motion [Darr, 0064].
Darr further teaches in Fig. 2 cannula contains notch sets, 20, machined into its surface that allow the cannula greater flexibility in one plane, 22, marked A that is parallel to the direction of flexibility of stylet 10 when cannula 18 is used in conjunction with stylet 10 [0065].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Carter to incorporate the curving of elongated shaft and cannula as taught by Darr since such a modification enables the device of Carter to undergo maximum flexibility in a plane of motion [Darr, 0065].
Regarding claim 3, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 1. Carter further discloses wherein the structural modification comprises a plurality of angled cuts at the needle tip (plurality of beveled cuts at the tip in Fig. 29; it is further interpreted the notch 12. of stylet 10 of Darr can extend to one of these beveled cuts in Fig. 29 of Carter).
Regarding claim 11, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 1. Carter further discloses wherein the elongated shaft has a length longer than the cannula’s length (elongated shaft 170 is seen having greater length than the length of cannula 180 in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 12, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 1. Carter further discloses further comprising a proximal bend at the proximal region of the elongated shaft (see proximal bend of shaft 170 in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 13, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 12. wherein the proximal bend is orthogonal to the longitudinal axis (the proximal bend is seen to be orthogonal to the longitudinal direction of the elongated shaft 170 in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 14, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 12. wherein the elongated shaft is straight between the proximal bend and the structural modification (the portion of the elongated shaft 170 between the proximal bend and structural modification in Fig. 29 is seen to be straight).
Regarding claim 15, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 14. Carter further discloses wherein the straight portion of the elongated shaft is longer than the cannula’s length (the straight portion of the shaft 170 is seen to be longer than the cannula in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 17, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 12. Carter further discloses wherein the elongated shaft, the needle tip, the structural modification, and the proximal bend are monolithic (the elongated shaft, needle tip, structural modification and the proximal bend is seen to be a single device in Fig. 12 with no assembly).
Regarding claim 18, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 1. Carter further discloses wherein the elongated shaft, the needle tip, the structural modification are solid (In Fig. 29, the needle tip appears to be solid with no holes or lumen.
Regarding claim 19, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 1. However Carter failed to explicitly disclose wherein the elongated shaft, the needle tip, the structural modification are a metal needle.
However Darr teaches stylet is machined from stock comprising stainless steel [0054].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Carter to incorporate wherein the elongated shaft, the needle tip, the structural modification are a metal needle as taught by Darr since such a modification enables the elongated shaft of Carter to maintain ductility [Darr, 0054].
Regarding claim 20, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 1. Carter further discloses wherein the structural modification is positioned on the elongated shaft distal to the cannula’s distal end in the pre-deployment state (structural modification of shaft 170 is seen distally positioned from the distal end of cannula 180 in Fig. 29).
Regarding claim 24, Carter, as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 1. Carter disclosed wherein the cannula and the elongated shaft’s section within the cannula are straight in the pre-deployment state (see cannula 180 and shaft 170 in straight position prior to being driven into skin in Fig. 7) but fails to explicitly disclose the elongated shaft and cannula configured to curve within the wearer’s skin in the deployment state.
However, Darr further teaches in Fig. 2 cannula 18 with flexibility in one plane, 22, marked A that is parallel to the direction of flexibility of stylet 10 when cannula 18 is used in conjunction with stylet 10 [0065] (it is set forth in the rejection of claim 1 the cannula 18 is configured to bend when stylet 10 bends in the direction perpendicular to the notch of stylet 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Carter to incorporate the elongated shaft and cannula configured to curve within the wearer’s skin in the deployment state as taught by Darr since such a modification enables the device of Carter undergo maximum flexibility in a plane of motion [Darr, 0065].
Regarding claim 26, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 1. Carter further discloses further comprising the cannula (device 110 comprising cannula 180 in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 28, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 1. Carter further discloses wherein the elongated shaft, the needle tip, and the structural modification are a needle (needle 170 in Fig. 12), the device further comprising an applicator (device thus prepared is then driven into the skin, as shown in Fig. 7, through the aid of an inserter; the inserter is interpreted as the applicator) configured to house the needle and the cannula in the pre-deployment state (the inserter is configured to receive device 100 [0056]; it is interpreted the inserter houses the needle 170 and cannula 180), and wherein the applicator is configured to, upon actuation, cause the needle and the cannula to be inserted into the wearer’s skin for transcutaneously implanting the cannula (Upon actuation by the patient, the inserter would drive the cannula and insertion needle into the skin of the patient [0056]).
Regarding claim 29, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 1. Carter further discloses further comprising an adhesive pad (adhesive layer 140 in Fig. 2) configured to be adhered to the wearer’s skin (adhesive layer 140 is configured to be attached to the patient's skin), wherein, in the deployment state, the elongated shaft is configured to be removed from the cannula while the cannula is coupled to the adhesive pad and remains transcutaneously implanted (needle 170 is seen removed from device 110 with cannula implanted and coupled to adhesive pad 140 in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 30, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 1. Carter further discloses further comprising the medication infusion device (device 100 comprising infusion device 110 in Fig. 2), the medication infusion device being a patch pump (device 110 comprising reservoir 115 and pumping mechanism 181 ([0058]; see also Figs. 10 and 13 for reservoir 115 and pumping mechanism 181) configured to be fluidly coupled to the transcutaneously implanted cannula after the elongated shaft, the needle tip, and the structural modification have been removed from the cannula via the lumen (medicament is transported into reservoir 115 for storage and later delivery to cannula port 185 [0060]; see Fig. 14 which shows cannula port 185 connected to cannula 180), the patch pump configured to infuse medication to the wearer via the transcutaneously implanted cannula (the medicament flow through the pump mechanism 181 and ultimately through the cannula and into the patient [0061]).
Claim(s) 4, 5, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. (US 20150065959 A1), and further in view of Darr et al. (US 20130035609 A1) and Isaacson (US 20200324086 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 3. However, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed a first angled cut (see annotated Fig. 29 below of Carter; it is also set forth in the rejection of claim 3 the notch of stylet 10 of Darr can extend to the first cut of Carter) but failed to explicitly disclose wherein the first angled cut of the plurality of angled cuts extends more proximally along the elongated shaft than other angled cuts of the plurality of angled cuts.
Annotated Fig. 29 of Carter
However Isaacson teaches in Fig. 6B the length 38 of the first beveled surface 18 from the distal tip to the apex of the first proximal edge 30 being greater than the length 40 of the second beveled surface 20 from the distal tip 16 to the apex of the second proximal edge 32 and/or the length 42 of the third beveled surface 22 from the distal tip 16 to the apex of the third proximal edge [0077].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Carter as modified by Darr to include wherein a first angled cut of the plurality of angled cuts extends more proximally along the elongated shaft than other angled cuts of the plurality of angled cuts as taught by Isaacson since such a modification enables the device of Carter to allow the needle tip geometry to provide more reliable placement of the cannula within the skin [Isaacson, 0008].
Regarding claim 5, Carter as modified by Darr and Isaacson disclosed all limitations of claim 4. However, Carter as modified by Darr failed to explicitly disclose wherein the first angled cut’s angle relative to the longitudinal axis is less than the other angled cuts’ angle relative to the longitudinal axis.
However, Fig. 6B of Isaacson appears to depict beveled surface 18 as having a shallower angle relative to central axis 36 to establish the length 38 as being greater than the length of the other beveled surfaces.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Carter as modified by Darr to include wherein the first angled cut’s angle relative to the longitudinal axis is less than the other angled cuts’ angle relative to the longitudinal axis as taught by Isaacson since such a modification enables the device of Carter to allow the needle tip geometry to provide more reliable placement of the cannula within the skin [Isaacson, 0008].
Regarding claim 6, Carter as modified by Darr and Isaacson disclosed all limitations of claim 4. However, Carter as modified by Darr failed to explicitly disclose wherein the first angled cut is positioned at the needle tip such that the elongated shaft and the cannula curve away from the first angled cut when deployed within the wearer’s skin.
It is set forth in the Specification the position of the first angle extending proximally more than the other angled cuts enables the elongated shaft and cannula to curve away, therefore, it is interpreted the device of Carter as modified by Darr incorporating the beveled surface 18 of Isaacson extending proximally more than the other beveled surfaces is capable of performing the same function.
Therefore, it is would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Carter as modified by Darr to include wherein the first angled cut is positioned at the needle tip such that the elongated shaft and the cannula curve away from the first angled cut when deployed within the wearer’s skin as taught by Isaacson since such a modification enables the device of Carter to allow the needle tip geometry to provide more reliable placement of the cannula within the skin [Isaacson, 0008].
Regarding claim 7, Carter as modified by Darr and Isaacson disclosed all limitations of claim 4. However, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed wherein the other angled cut consist of a second angled cut (see annotated Fig. 29 of Carter above) but failed to explicitly disclose a third angled cut.
However, Isaacson teaches a third beveled surface 22 from the distal tip 16 to the apex of the third proximal edge ([0077]; see also Fig. 6B where third bevel 22 is interpreted to be on the other side of first bevel 18 and second bevel 20).
Therefore, it is would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Carter as modified by Darr to include a third angled cut as taught by Isaacson since such a modification enables the device of Carter to allow the needle tip geometry to provide more reliable placement of the cannula within the skin [Isaacson, 0008].
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. (US 20150065959 A1), and further in view of Darr et al. (US 20190183551 A1) and Gray et al. (US 20190175827 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 1. However, Carter as modified by Darr failed to explicitly disclose wherein the device is fully withdrawn from the cannula such that the cannula remains transcutaneously implanted within the wearer’s skin.
However, Gray teaches in Fig. 3 an insertion flap 25 with needle 26 is used to assist in insertion of cannula 16 [0070]. Gray further teaches after the cannula 16 has been inserted into the patient, the insertion flap 25 and needle 26 is withdrawn from the cannula assembly 15. The cannula assembly 15 can then be secured to the patient by peeling a cover off an adhesive strip coupled to the bottom of the cannula body 17 [0070].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Carter as modified by Darr to incorporate a detachable cannula as taught by Gray since such a modification enables the device of Carter to allow fluid delivery to be changed from a first load position to a second operating position [0023].
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. (US 20150065959 A1), and further in view of Darr et al. (US 20190183551 A1), Gray et al. (US 20190175827 A1) and Brockman (US 20190183551 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Carter as modified by Darr and Gray disclosed all limitations of claim 21. However Carter as modified by Darr and Gray failed to explicitly disclose wherein the cannula remains curved within the wearer’s skin after the device is fully withdrawn from the cannula.
However Brockman teaches the flexible delivery tube 34 maintains the curved configuration along the curved path after stylet 48 is withdrawn from the flexible delivery tube 34 [0020].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Carter as modified by Darr and Gray to incorporate wherein the cannula remains curved within the wearer’s skin after the device is fully withdrawn from the cannula as taught by Brockman since such a modification enables the device of Carter to overcome challenges of off-axis delivery of curable material to a target site [Brockman, 0015].
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. (US 20150065959 A1), and further in view of Darr et al. (US 20190183551 A1), Gray et al. (US 20190175827 A1), Brockman (US 20190183551 A1) and Jager (US 20190133505 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Carter as modified by Darr, Gray and Brockman disclosed all limitations of claim 22. However, Carter failed to explicitly disclose wherein the cannula’s average angle relative to the wearer’s skin surface at insertion is -10 to 45 degrees.
Jager however teaches the insertion cannula may have the arch form, specifically with an angle of 45° [0099].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Carter as modified by Darr, Gray and Brockman to incorporate wherein the cannula’s average angle relative to the wearer’s skin surface at insertion is -10 to 45 degrees as taught by Jager since such a modification enables the device of Carter to allow the insertion of cannula from a storage position to a an inserted position within the body tissue on a curved insertion path [Jager, 0020].
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carter et al. (US 20150065959 A1), and further in view of Darr et al. (US 20190183551 A1) and Brockman (US 20190183551 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Carter as modified by Darr disclosed all limitations of claim 1. Carter as modified by Darr further teaches wherein the elongated shaft is configured to curve in the deployment state, and thereby cause the cannula to curve in the deployment state (See rejection of claim 24, that Carter as modified by Darr can be configured to curve), but fails to explicitly disclose the curve to be in a concave manner such that an open portion of the curve faces towards the wearer’s skin surface.
However, Brockman teaches in Fig. 2 the flexible tube 34 and stylet 48 in a curved position that is in a concave manner (curving outwardly).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Carter as modified by Darr to incorporate the curve to be in a concave manner such that an open portion of the curve faces towards the wearer’s skin surface as taught by Brockman since such a modification enables the device of Carter to overcome challenges of off-axis delivery of curable material to a target site [Brockman, 0015].
Conclusion
The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Chopra (US 20170368268 A1) – related to a needle device with beveled tip.
Young (WO 2023028059 A1) – related to a fluid delivery device for transcutaneous delivery.
Funderburk (US 6056718 A) – related to a medical infusion set with detachable cannula.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAHMOOD FAROOQ whose telephone number is (571)272-7276. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday: 7:30-5:00p EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Sirmons can be reached at (571) 272-4965. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/M.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KAMI A BOSWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783