DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the Abstract, correct the recitation of “The. The”
It is recommended that Applicant review the specification in its entirety to ensure that no other errors are present
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
The claims listed below are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of Claims 8 and 18, change “is positioned fluid communication” to -- is positioned in fluid communication --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cadima et al. (US 2022/0049850 A1) (hereinafter “Cadima”) in view of Jung (KR 101835673 B1) (see attached original document and translation for reference).
Regarding Claim 1, Cadima teaches of a cooktop appliance (100), comprising:
a burner body (210) forming a plurality of inward-fired flame ports (214) distributed along a circumferential direction (see at least [0044] and Figs. 4, 11), wherein the burner body forms a mixing chamber (216) extending in fluid communication between the plurality of flame ports and a mixing tube (230) (see at least [0052]-[0054] and Figs. 10-12);
a fuel manifold (fuel manifold comprising element (225)) comprising a body (the body of the fuel manifold that includes element (225) as shown in Figs. 10-11) forming a fuel passage (fuel passage that flows from element (225) to and then out of elements (222)) (see at least [0044], [0049] and Figs. 10-11), the fuel passage extending between an inlet opening (225)) and an outlet opening (222), wherein the outlet opening is circumferentially corresponding with the mixing tube at the burner assembly (Note that the limitation of “circumferentially corresponding with” in this context is being interpreted as circumferentially aligned with. In the instant case, the outlet opening (222)) is circumferentially aligned with the mixing tube (230) as is shown in Figs. 10-12 (see at least [0052]-[0054] and Figs. 10-12). Thus, Cadima meets this limitation as claimed.), the fuel manifold comprising a first post (A) (see Examiner Annotated Fig. 11 below) extending along a vertical direction from the body (as is shown in Fig. 11), the fuel manifold comprising a second post (B) extending along the vertical direction (as is shown in Examiner Annotated Fig. 11);
a heat sink plate (268) separably couplable to the fuel manifold at the first post (as is shown in Figs. 10-11) (see at least [0064]-[0066] and Figs. 10-11); and
a cooktop surface (142) separably couplable to the fuel manifold at the second post (see at least [0043] and Figs. 10-11), the second post configured to position the cooktop surface along the vertical direction in contact with the heat sink plate (as is shown in Figs. 10-11) (see at least [0043] and Figs. 10-11).
Cadima fails to explicitly teach that the first post is “configured to receive a fastener” and that the heat sink plate is configured to receive the fastener to secure the heat sink plate to the first post at the fuel manifold.
Jung discloses a relatable gas fired cooking appliance (1000) that comprises a fuel manifold (fuel manifold comprising element (1600)) with a first post (first post comprising (1620) as shown in Fig. 2) in addition to a heat sink plate (heat sink plate (1700) which comprises elements (1710), (1720) and (1730)) (see at least [0048]-[0050] and Figs. 1-4). Jung teaches that the first post is configured to receive a fastener (1413) and that the heat sink plate is configured to receive the fastener to secure the heat sink plate to the first post at the fuel manifold (via “positioning holes” (1714) - see at least [0049]-[0050] and Figs. 1-4). Jung teaches that such a fastener arrangement provides the advantage of, inter alia, enabling one to selectively and securely attach the heat sink plate to the fuel manifold as desired while ensuring that the heat sink plate is properly “aligned” (see at least [0049]-[0050] and Figs. 1-4).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the appliance taught by Cadima by configuring the existing first post to receive a fastener such that the existing heat sink plate would be configured to receive the fastener to secure the heat sink plate to the first post at the fuel manifold as is taught by Jung. Doing so would have enabled one to selectively and securely attach the heat sink plate to the fuel manifold as desired while ensuring that the heat sink plate is properly aligned. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 2, Cadima also teaches that the body (the body of the fuel manifold that includes element (225) as shown in Figs. 10-11), the first post (A), and the second post (B) of the fuel manifold form a unitary, monolithic structure (as is shown in Fig. 11/Examiner Annotated Fig. 11) (see at least [0049] and Examiner Annotated Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 3, Cadima also teaches that the body forms a first leg (224) intersecting a second leg (229) (see at least [0049] and Figs. 10-13), and wherein the inlet opening is formed at the first leg (as is shown in Figs. 10, 13) and the outlet opening is formed at the first and second legs circumferentially corresponding to the mixing tube at the burner body (as is shown in Figs. 10-13) (see at least [0048]-[0050] and Figs. 10-13).
Regarding Claim 4, Cadima also teaches that the first post and the second post each extend from the first leg, the second leg, or both (as is shown in Examiner Annotated Fig. 11) (see at least [0048]-[0050] and Figs. 10-13).
Regarding Claim 10, Cadima also teaches that the burner body comprises an inner side wall (side wall through which flame ports (214) extend as is shown in Figs. 4, 10) through which the plurality of flame ports extend to a central combustion zone (212) (see at least [0044] and Figs. 4, 10).
Regarding Claim 11, Cadima teaches of a burner assembly (200) for a cooktop appliance (100) (see Figs. 1, 10), the burner assembly comprising:
a burner body (210) forming a plurality of inward-fired flame ports (214) distributed along a circumferential direction (see at least [0044] and Figs. 4, 11), wherein the burner body forms a mixing chamber (216) extending in fluid communication between the plurality of flame ports and a mixing tube (230) (see at least [0052]-[0054] and Figs. 10-12);
a fuel manifold (fuel manifold comprising element (225)) comprising a body (the body of the fuel manifold that includes element (225) as shown in Figs. 10-11) forming a fuel passage (fuel passage that flows from element (225) to and then out of elements (222)) (see at least [0044], [0049] and Figs. 10-11), the fuel passage extending between an inlet opening (225)) and an outlet opening (222), wherein the outlet opening is circumferentially corresponding with the mixing tube at the burner assembly (Note that the limitation of “circumferentially corresponding with” in this context is being interpreted as circumferentially aligned with. In the instant case, the outlet opening (222)) is circumferentially aligned with the mixing tube (230) as is shown in Figs. 10-12 (see at least [0052]-[0054] and Figs. 10-12). Thus, Cadima meets this limitation as claimed.), the fuel manifold comprising a first post (A) (see Examiner Annotated Fig. 11) extending along a vertical direction from the body (as is shown in Fig. 11), the fuel manifold comprising a second post (B) extending along the vertical direction (as is shown in Examiner Annotated Fig. 11);
the second post configured to receive a cooktop surface (142) in contact with a heat sink plate (268) along the vertical direction (as is shown in Figs. 10-11) (see at least [0043], [0064]-[0066] and Figs. 10-11);
wherein the heat sink plate (268) is separably couplable to the fuel manifold at the first post (as is shown in Figs. 10-11) (see at least [0064]-[0066] and Figs. 10-11).
Cadima fails to explicitly teach that the first post is “configured to receive a fastener” and that the heat sink plate is configured to receive the fastener to secure the heat sink plate to the first post at the fuel manifold.
Jung discloses a relatable gas fired cooking appliance (1000) that comprises a fuel manifold (fuel manifold comprising element (1600)) with a first post (first post comprising (1620) as shown in Fig. 14) in addition to a heat sink plate (heat sink plate (1700) which comprises elements (1710), (1720) and (1730)) (see at least [0048]-[0050] and Figs. 1-4). Jung teaches that the first post is configured to receive a fastener (1413) and that the heat sink plate is configured to receive the fastener to secure the heat sink plate to the first post at the fuel manifold (via “positioning holes” (1714) - see at least [0049]-[0050] and Figs. 1-4). Jung teaches that such a fastener arrangement provides the advantage of, inter alia, enabling one to selectively and securely attach the heat sink plate to the fuel manifold as desired while ensuring that the heat sink plate is properly “aligned” (see at least [0049]-[0050] and Figs. 1-4).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the appliance taught by Cadima by configuring the existing first post to receive a fastener such that the existing heat sink plate would be configured to receive the fastener to secure the heat sink plate to the first post at the fuel manifold as is taught by Jung. Doing so would have enabled one to selectively and securely attach the heat sink plate to the fuel manifold as desired while ensuring that the heat sink plate is properly aligned. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 12, Cadima also teaches that the body (the body of the fuel manifold that includes element (225) as shown in Figs. 10-11), the first post (A), and the second post (B) of the fuel manifold form a unitary, monolithic structure (as is shown in Fig. 11/Examiner Annotated Fig. 11) (see at least [0049] and Examiner Annotated Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 13, Cadima also teaches that the body forms a first leg (224) intersecting a second leg (229) (see at least [0049] and Figs. 10-13), and wherein the inlet opening is formed at the first leg (as is shown in Figs. 10, 13) and the outlet opening is formed at the first and second legs circumferentially corresponding to the mixing tube at the burner body (as is shown in Figs. 10-13) (see at least [0048]-[0050] and Figs. 10-13).
Regarding Claim 14, Cadima also teaches that the first post and the second post each extend from the first leg, the second leg, or both (as is shown in Examiner Annotated Fig. 11) (see at least [0048]-[0050] and Figs. 10-13).
Regarding Claim 20, Cadima also teaches that the burner body comprises an inner side wall (side wall through which flame ports (214) extend as is shown in Figs. 4, 10) through which the plurality of flame ports extend to a central combustion zone (212) (see at least [0044] and Figs. 4, 10).
Claims 5-8 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cadima and Jung further in view of Zeng (CN 108613183 A) (see attached original document and translation for reference).
Regarding Claim 5, Cadima and Jung teach the cooktop appliance of Claim 3 (see the rejection for Claim 3) but fail to explicitly teach of an embodiment wherein a second fuel passage is formed from a second inlet opening to a second outlet opening, and wherein the second fuel passage is formed in parallel to the fuel passage extending between the inlet opening and the outlet opening.
Zeng discloses a relatable gas burner (Fig. 10) with a fuel manifold (fuel manifold comprising element (1)) (see at least [0047]-[0048] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10). The burner comprises a first fuel passage (the fuel passage at the entrance of element (131) as shown in Figs. 9, 11) that feeds an outer burner body (4) (see at least [0044]-[0048] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10) in addition to a second fuel passage (the fuel passage at the entrance of element (111) as shown in Figs. 9, 11) that feeds an inner burner body (3) and is formed from a second inlet opening (opening of element (111)) to a second outlet opening (outlet opening formed by element (6) that is connected to element (111) as shown in Fig. 11), wherein the second fuel passage is formed in parallel to the first fuel passage extending between inlet and outlet openings of the first fuel passage (as is shown in Fig. 11). Zeng teaches that such arrangement, inter alia, enables the burner to comprise two distinct burner rings (i.e., inner and outer rings) that can be independently controlled (see at least [0044]-[0048], [0065]-[0066] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the combined apparatus by configuring the apparatus to include a second fuel passage that is formed from a second inlet opening to a second outlet opening, wherein the second fuel passage is formed in parallel to the existing fuel passage extending between the inlet opening and the outlet opening, such that an independently controllable inner burner ring could be implemented as is taught by Zeng. Doing so would have enabled the burner to comprise two distinct burner rings (i.e., inner and outer rings) that could be independently controlled. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 6, Zeng also teaches that the second fuel passage that would be used in the combined apparatus (the fuel passage at the entrance of element (111) as shown in Figs. 9, 11) is formed at a first leg of the fuel manifold (as is shown in Figs. 9, 11) (see at least [0044]-[0048], [0065]-[0066] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10).
Regarding Claim 7, Zeng also teaches that the second fuel passage that would be used in the combined apparatus (the fuel passage at the entrance of element (111) as shown in Figs. 9, 11) is positioned vertically above the fuel passage (the fuel passage at the entrance of element (131) as shown in Figs. 9, 11) at the first leg of the fuel manifold (as is shown in at least Figs. 9-10) (see at least [0044]-[0048], [0065]-[0066] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10).
Regarding Claim 8, Zeng also teaches of an inner burner body (3) that would be used in the combined apparatus (as is presented above in the rejection for Claim 5) that is positioned radially inward of the burner body (4) (see at least [0044]-[0048], [0065]-[0066] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10), wherein the inner burner body is positioned in fluid communication with the second fuel passage at the fuel manifold to receive a flow of gaseous fuel through the second outlet opening (see at least [0044]-[0048], [0065]-[0066] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10).
Regarding Claim 15, Cadima and Jung teach the burner assembly of Claim 13 (see the rejection for Claim 13) but fail to explicitly teach of an embodiment wherein a second fuel passage is formed from a second inlet opening to a second outlet opening, and wherein the second fuel passage is formed in parallel to the fuel passage extending between the inlet opening and the outlet opening.
Zeng discloses a relatable gas burner (Fig. 10) with a fuel manifold (fuel manifold comprising element (1)) (see at least [0047]-[0048] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10). The burner comprises a first fuel passage (the fuel passage at the entrance of element (131) as shown in Figs. 9, 11) that feeds an outer burner body (4) (see at least [0044]-[0048] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10) in addition to a second fuel passage (the fuel passage at the entrance of element (111) as shown in Figs. 9, 11) that feeds an inner burner body (3) and is formed from a second inlet opening (opening of element (111)) to a second outlet opening (outlet opening formed by element (6) that is connected to element (111) as shown in Fig. 11), wherein the second fuel passage is formed in parallel to the first fuel passage extending between inlet and outlet openings of the first fuel passage (as is shown in Fig. 11). Zeng teaches that such arrangement, inter alia, enables the burner to comprise two distinct burner rings (i.e., inner and outer rings) that can be independently controlled (see at least [0044]-[0048], [0065]-[0066] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the combined apparatus by configuring the apparatus to include a second fuel passage that is formed from a second inlet opening to a second outlet opening, wherein the second fuel passage is formed in parallel to the existing fuel passage extending between the inlet opening and the outlet opening, such that an independently controllable inner burner ring could be implemented as is taught by Zeng. Doing so would have enabled the burner to comprise two distinct burner rings (i.e., inner and outer rings) that could be independently controlled. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 16, Zeng also teaches that the second fuel passage that would be used in the combined apparatus (the fuel passage at the entrance of element (111) as shown in Figs. 9, 11) is formed at a first leg of the fuel manifold (as is shown in Figs. 9, 11) (see at least [0044]-[0048], [0065]-[0066] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10).
Regarding Claim 17, Zeng also teaches that the second fuel passage that would be used in the combined apparatus (the fuel passage at the entrance of element (111) as shown in Figs. 9, 11) is positioned vertically above the fuel passage (the fuel passage at the entrance of element (131) as shown in Figs. 9, 11) at the first leg of the fuel manifold (as is shown in at least Figs. 9-10) (see at least [0044]-[0048], [0065]-[0066] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10).
Regarding Claim 18, Zeng also teaches of an inner burner body (3) that would be used in the combined apparatus (as is presented above in the rejection for Claim 15) that is positioned radially inward of the burner body (4) (see at least [0044]-[0048], [0065]-[0066] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10), wherein the inner burner body is positioned in fluid communication with the second fuel passage at the fuel manifold to receive a flow of gaseous fuel through the second outlet opening (see at least [0044]-[0048], [0065]-[0066] and Figs. 1-2, 9-10).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cadima and Jung further in view of Acosta et al. (KR 101835673 B1) (hereinafter “Acosta”) (see attached original document and translation for reference).
Regarding Claim 9, Cadima and Jung teach the cooktop appliance of Claim 1 (see the rejection for Claim 1) and Cadima also teaches of a fuel nozzle (outlet end of element (222) that forms a fuel nozzle as is shown in Figs. 10-12) coupled to the fuel manifold at the outlet opening (as is shown in Fig. 12) (see at least [0049]-[0052] and Figs. 10-12), wherein the fuel nozzle is positioned circumferentially corresponding to the mixing tube at the burner body (as is shown in Figs. 10-12) (see at least [0049]-[0052] and Figs. 10-12).
Cadima fails to explicitly teach that the fuel nozzle is separably couplable to the fuel manifold at the outlet opening.
Acosta discloses a relatable gas burning appliance (1) that comprises a gas burner (8) with a fuel manifold (fuel manifold comprising element (9)) (see at least [0028]-[0031] and Figs. 1-5). The burner comprises a fuel nozzle (17) that is separably couplable to the fuel manifold at an outlet opening (via screwing in and out - see at least [0010], [0030]-[0031] and Figs. 1-5). Acosta teaches that configuring the fuel nozzle to be separably couplable to the fuel manifold at the outlet opening is advantageous because, inter alia, it enables different fuel nozzles that are optimized for (at least) different fuel types to be interchanged as needed to thereby enhance adaptability of the gas burner and appliance (see at least [0008], [0010], [0030] and Figs. 1-5).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the combined apparatus by configuring the existing fuel nozzle to be separably couplable to the existing fuel manifold at the outlet opening based on the teachings of Acosta. Doing so would have enabled different fuel nozzles that are optimized for (at least) different fuel types to be interchanged as needed to thereby enhance adaptability of the gas burner and appliance. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 19, Cadima and Jung teach the burner assembly of Claim 11 (see the rejection for Claim 11) and Cadima also teaches of a fuel nozzle (outlet end of element (222) that forms a fuel nozzle as is shown in Figs. 10-12) coupled to the fuel manifold at the outlet opening (as is shown in Fig. 12) (see at least [0049]-[0052] and Figs. 10-12), wherein the fuel nozzle is positioned circumferentially corresponding to the mixing tube at the burner body (as is shown in Figs. 10-12) (see at least [0049]-[0052] and Figs. 10-12).
Cadima fails to explicitly teach that the fuel nozzle is separably couplable to the fuel manifold at the outlet opening.
Acosta discloses a relatable gas burning appliance (1) that comprises a gas burner (8) with a fuel manifold (fuel manifold comprising element (9)) (see at least [0028]-[0031] and Figs. 1-5). The burner comprises a fuel nozzle (17) that is separably couplable to the fuel manifold at an outlet opening (via screwing in and out - see at least [0010], [0030]-[0031] and Figs. 1-5). Acosta teaches that configuring the fuel nozzle to be separably couplable to the fuel manifold at the outlet opening is advantageous because, inter alia, it enables different fuel nozzles that are optimized for (at least) different fuel types to be interchanged as needed to thereby enhance adaptability of the gas burner and appliance (see at least [0008], [0010], [0030] and Figs. 1-5).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the combined apparatus by configuring the existing fuel nozzle to be separably couplable to the existing fuel manifold at the outlet opening based on the teachings of Acosta. Doing so would have enabled different fuel nozzles that are optimized for (at least) different fuel types to be interchanged as needed to thereby enhance adaptability of the gas burner and appliance. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following prior art is considered relevant to this application in terms of structure and use:
Paller (US 2019/0242583 A1)
/BENJAMIN W JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 2/6/2026
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762