DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111, dated March 30, 2026 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1-9, 12, 14-16, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are subject to examination and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20250142300, hereinafter, “Wu”) in view of Chen et.al. (Taiwanese Patent Application Publication, TWM577574U, hereinafter, “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches:
A method for obtaining sensing data, comprising (Wu: [0184] As shown in FIG. 10, this embodiment provides a method for reporting sensing data …):
transmitting, by a network function element to a terminal device, sensing data request information comprising parameters for sensing and reporting data by the terminal device (Wu: [0184] As shown in FIG. 10, this embodiment provides a method for reporting sensing data. The method is performed by a network function (NF) and includes step 101. [0185] In step 101, a reporting request is sent to a first terminal, where the reporting request is configured to request the sensing data.), the sensing data request information indicating, to the terminal device, to report sensing data to the network function element according to the parameters (Wu: [0111] In an embodiment, information on a sensing policy is received [i.e., parameters]; the sensing service is performed based on the information on the sensing policy to obtain the sensing data; in response to receiving a reporting request sent by the NF, based on the information on the sensing policy, the sensing data of the sensing service is reported according to the reporting mode of the sensing data indicated by the information on the sensing policy; where the sensing data indicates the features of the sensed object.);
obtaining the sensing data returned by the terminal device, the sensing data being transmitted by the terminal device according to the parameters indicated in the sensing data request information (Wu: [0186] In an embodiment, the first terminal receives information on a sensing policy. The first terminal executes a sensing service based on the information on the sensing policy to obtain the sensing data. The NF sends the reporting request to the first terminal. In response to the first terminal receiving the reporting request, the first terminal reports the sensing data based on the information on the sensing policy. The NF receives the sensing data.); and
preprocessing, by the network function element, the raw data (Wu: [0224] In an embodiment, in response to obtaining sensing data of the sensing service, the first terminal reports the sensing data of the sensing service based on information on a sensing policy, where the sensing data indicates one or more features of a sensed object. The NF receives the sensing data. It should be noted that the sensing data reported by the first terminal is the raw data obtained by the first terminal. After obtaining the raw data, the NF performs preprocessing on the raw data.).
Wu does not explicitly teach:
preprocessing the sensing data and providing a result of the preprocessing to a server based on a usage of computing resources of the server.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches:
preprocessing the sensing data and providing a result of the preprocessing to a server based on a usage of computing resources of the server (Chen: [00026] In another embodiment, in order to reduce the load on the server 120, the vehicle terminal 112 can process the sensing data of the sensing device 114 in advance [i.e., pre-processing]. For example, the aforementioned vehicle terminal 112 will be from The sensing data obtained by the aforementioned sensing device 114 is compared with the abnormal value range, wherein the abnormal value can be a preset threshold. If the value of the sensed data is greater than the preset threshold, that is, the sensed data falls within the abnormal value range, the information of the vehicle diagnostic system 116 is read, and the data is integrated and reported back to the server 120; otherwise, no report is given … [00035] In one embodiment, to reduce the data processing volume of the server 120, the abnormal value range of the sensing device 114 can be set to be greater than 1G, that is, the preset threshold is set to 1G [i.e., server’s computing resource usage]. After receiving the sensing data from the sensing device 114, the vehicle terminal 112 compares it with the preset threshold ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu to include the features as taught by Chen above in order to reduce the load on the server. (Chen, ¶ [00026]).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches:
An apparatus for obtaining sensing data, comprising:
processing circuitry of a network function element configured to (Wu: [0320] As shown in FIG. 25, an embodiment of the present disclosure illustrates a structure of a base station. For example, the base station 900 can be provided as a network side device. Referring to FIG. 25, the base station 900 includes a processing component 922 ... Fig. 25)
transmit, to a terminal device, sensing data request information comprising parameters for sensing and reporting data by the terminal device (Wu: [0184] As shown in FIG. 10, this embodiment provides a method for reporting sensing data. The method is performed by a network function (NF) and includes step 101. [0185] In step 101, a reporting request is sent to a first terminal, where the reporting request is configured to request the sensing data.), the sensing data request information indicating, to the terminal device, to report sensing data to the network function element according to the parameters (Wu: [0111] In an embodiment, information on a sensing policy is received [i.e., parameters]; the sensing service is performed based on the information on the sensing policy to obtain the sensing data; in response to receiving a reporting request sent by the NF, based on the information on the sensing policy, the sensing data of the sensing service is reported according to the reporting mode of the sensing data indicated by the information on the sensing policy; where the sensing data indicates the features of the sensed object.);
obtain the sensing data returned by the terminal device, the sensing data being transmitted by the terminal device according to the parameters; (Wu: [0186] In an embodiment, the first terminal receives information on a sensing policy. The first terminal executes a sensing service based on the information on the sensing policy to obtain the sensing data. The NF sends the reporting request to the first terminal. In response to the first terminal receiving the reporting request, the first terminal reports the sensing data based on the information on the sensing policy. The NF receives the sensing data.); and
preprocess the raw data (Wu: [0224] In an embodiment, in response to obtaining sensing data of the sensing service, the first terminal reports the sensing data of the sensing service based on information on a sensing policy, where the sensing data indicates one or more features of a sensed object. The NF receives the sensing data. It should be noted that the sensing data reported by the first terminal is the raw data obtained by the first terminal. After obtaining the raw data, the NF performs preprocessing on the raw data.).
Wu does not explicitly teach:
preprocess the sensing data and provide a result of the preprocessing to a server based on a usage of computing resources of the server.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches:
preprocess the sensing data and provide a result of the preprocessing to a server based on a usage of computing resources of the server (Chen: [00026] In another embodiment, in order to reduce the load on the server 120, the vehicle terminal 112 can process the sensing data of the sensing device 114 in advance [i.e., pre-processing]. For example, the aforementioned vehicle terminal 112 will be from The sensing data obtained by the aforementioned sensing device 114 is compared with the abnormal value range, wherein the abnormal value can be a preset threshold. If the value of the sensed data is greater than the preset threshold, that is, the sensed data falls within the abnormal value range, the information of the vehicle diagnostic system 116 is read, and the data is integrated and reported back to the server 120; otherwise, no report is given … [00035] In one embodiment, to reduce the data processing volume of the server 120, the abnormal value range of the sensing device 114 can be set to be greater than 1G, that is, the preset threshold is set to 1G [i.e., server’s computing resource usage]. After receiving the sensing data from the sensing device 114, the vehicle terminal 112 compares it with the preset threshold ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu to include the features as taught by Chen above in order to reduce the load on the server. (Chen, ¶ [00026]).
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions thereon, which, when executed by processing circuitry of a network function element, cause the network function element to perform a method for obtaining sensing data, the method comprising (Wu: [0320] As shown in FIG. 25, an embodiment of the present disclosure illustrates a structure of a base station. For example, the base station 900 can be provided as a network side device. Referring to FIG. 25, the base station 900 includes a processing component 922, which further includes one or more processors, and memory resources represented by a memory 932, for storing instructions that can be executed by the processing component 922, such as an application program. The application program stored in the memory 932 may include one or more modules each corresponding to a set of instructions. In addition, the processing component 922 is configured to execute instructions to perform any of the above methods applied to the base station. Fig. 25):
transmitting, by the network function element to a terminal device, sensing data request information comprising parameters for sensing and reporting data by the terminal device (Wu: [0184] As shown in FIG. 10, this embodiment provides a method for reporting sensing data. The method is performed by a network function (NF) and includes step 101. [0185] In step 101, a reporting request is sent to a first terminal, where the reporting request is configured to request the sensing data.), the sensing data request information indicating, to the terminal device, to report sensing data to the network function element according to the parameters (Wu: [0111] In an embodiment, information on a sensing policy is received [i.e., parameters]; the sensing service is performed based on the information on the sensing policy to obtain the sensing data; in response to receiving a reporting request sent by the NF, based on the information on the sensing policy, the sensing data of the sensing service is reported according to the reporting mode of the sensing data indicated by the information on the sensing policy; where the sensing data indicates the features of the sensed object.);
obtaining the sensing data returned by the terminal device, the sensing data being transmitted by the terminal device according to the parameters indicated in the sensing data request information; (Wu: [0186] In an embodiment, the first terminal receives information on a sensing policy. The first terminal executes a sensing service based on the information on the sensing policy to obtain the sensing data. The NF sends the reporting request to the first terminal. In response to the first terminal receiving the reporting request, the first terminal reports the sensing data based on the information on the sensing policy. The NF receives the sensing data.); and
preprocessing, by the network function element, the raw data (Wu: [0224] In an embodiment, in response to obtaining sensing data of the sensing service, the first terminal reports the sensing data of the sensing service based on information on a sensing policy, where the sensing data indicates one or more features of a sensed object. The NF receives the sensing data. It should be noted that the sensing data reported by the first terminal is the raw data obtained by the first terminal. After obtaining the raw data, the NF performs preprocessing on the raw data.).
Wu does not explicitly teach:
preprocessing the sensing data and providing a result of the preprocessing to a server based on a usage of computing resources of the server.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches:
preprocessing the sensing data and providing a result of the preprocessing to a server based on a usage of computing resources of the server (Chen: [00026] In another embodiment, in order to reduce the load on the server 120, the vehicle terminal 112 can process the sensing data of the sensing device 114 in advance [i.e., pre-processing]. For example, the aforementioned vehicle terminal 112 will be from The sensing data obtained by the aforementioned sensing device 114 is compared with the abnormal value range, wherein the abnormal value can be a preset threshold. If the value of the sensed data is greater than the preset threshold, that is, the sensed data falls within the abnormal value range, the information of the vehicle diagnostic system 116 is read, and the data is integrated and reported back to the server 120; otherwise, no report is given … [00035] In one embodiment, to reduce the data processing volume of the server 120, the abnormal value range of the sensing device 114 can be set to be greater than 1G, that is, the preset threshold is set to 1G [i.e., server’s computing resource usage]. After receiving the sensing data from the sensing device 114, the vehicle terminal 112 compares it with the preset threshold ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu to include the features as taught by Chen above in order to reduce the load on the server. (Chen, ¶ [00026]).
Claims 2-6, 9-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu-Chen in view of Gaal et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20200264628, hereinafter, “Gaal”).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Wu-Chen discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 as outlined above.
Wu-Chen does not explicitly teach:
encapsulating the sensing data request information into a first data packet, the parameters comprising at least one of a sensing data type, reporting frequency of the sensing data, a maximum reporting quantity of the sensing data, a reporting start time of the sensing data, a reporting end time of the sensing data, a reporting start condition of the sensing data, or a reporting end condition of the sensing data; and
transmitting the first data packet to the terminal device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gaal teaches:
encapsulating the sensing data request information into a first data packet (Gaal: [0116] … The header for a particular protocol typically indicates a type for the next protocol contained in its payload. The higher layer protocol is said to be encapsulated in the lower layer protocol …), the parameters comprising at least one of a sensing data type, reporting frequency of the sensing data, a maximum reporting quantity of the sensing data (Gaal: [0054] In step 303, the validation module 201 generates a sensor data request specifying a sensor data collection event to be performed on the road segment … the validation request can specify any combination of elements including but not limited to: … [0056] (2) Sensor data types to collect including but not limited to sensor data indicating detected road segments, lane markings, signs, poles, road furniture, etc. [0057] (3) A data range [i.e., reporting quantity] for the sensor data collection event (e.g., dates for which the sensor data request is active [i.e., reporting frequency]); ... Figs. 2, 3); and
transmitting the first data packet to the terminal device (Gaal: [0048] In one embodiment, as shown in FIG. 2, the campaign management platform 101 includes one or more components … for transmitting or publishing sensor data requests 209 to vehicles 103 and/or UEs 111 via sensor data delivery 219 ... Figs. 1, 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu-Chen to include the features as taught by Gaal above in order to reduce resources needed to transmit and or process the sensor data. (Gaal, ¶ [0002]).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Wu-Chen-Gaal discloses on the features with respect to claims 2, 9, and 16 as outlined above.
Gaal further teaches:
transmitting the reporting frequency of the sensing data and the maximum reporting quantity of the sensing data to a base station corresponding to the terminal device, so that the base station allocates and schedules resources according to the reporting frequency of the sensing data and the maximum reporting quantity of the sensing data (Gaal: [0074] … the discovery module 203 transmits the sensor data request to a plurality of vehicles, wherein the plurality of vehicles perform the sensor data collection event in the geographic area to collect sensor data ... In one embodiment, the number of vehicles can be minimized to obtain a target amount of date within a target time period to minimize bandwidth and/or other resource usages requirements to conduct the discovery campaign).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Gaal is the same as the rationale and motivation for claims 2, 9, and 16.
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Wu-Chen-Gaal discloses on the features with respect to claims 2, 9, and 16 as outlined above.
Gaal further teaches:
retransmitting the sensing data request information to the terminal device in response to a determination , according to a time at which the terminal device first returns the sensing data, that the terminal device has not returned the sensing data according to the reporting frequency of the sensing data after the sensing data is obtained for the first time (Gaal: [0066] In one embodiment, in response to detecting a change, the mapping platform 107 can request additional information to verify that the change is true (e.g., collect additional sensor data, send out personnel to personally verify, etc.) ... In addition, the campaign management platform 101 and/or mapping platform 107 can continue to request additional sensor observations of detected change until the new model or change reaches a confidence threshold to issue and publish a map update 109).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Gaal is the same as the rationale and motivation for claims 2, 9, and 16.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Wu-Chen-Gaal discloses on the features with respect to claims 2, 9, and 16 as outlined above.
Gaal further teaches:
obtaining the sensing data corresponding to the sensing data type returned by the terminal device, wherein the sensing data comprises the at least one of the location information (Gaal: [0042] The ingestion module 119 can store the receive sensor data observations in an observations database 121 or equivalent data store or forward the sensor data directly to the campaign management platform 101 (e.g., to evaluate whether a campaign is complete or whether more data is needed). Examples of the sensor data observations can include but are not limited to: [0043] (1) Vehicle drive or pose paths 123 comprising a time-ordered sequence to probe or location points (e.g., GPS location points) with each location point specifying a time-stamped location and heading (e.g., pose) of the collecting vehicle 103 …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Gaal is the same as the rationale and motivation for claims 2, 9, and 16.
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, Wu-Chen discloses on the features with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 as outlined above.
Wu-Chen does not explicitly teach:
obtaining an encrypted data packet returned by the terminal device;
decrypting the encrypted data packet to obtain a second data packet;
decapsulating the second data packet; and
obtaining the sensing data according to the decapsulated second data packet.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Gaal teaches:
obtaining an encrypted data packet returned by the terminal device;
decrypting the encrypted data packet to obtain a second data packet (Gaal: [0144] … cryptographic boards for encrypting and decrypting messages sent over a network …);
decapsulating the second data packet; and
obtaining the sensing data according to the decapsulated second data packet (Gaal: Gaal: [0116] … The header for a particular protocol typically indicates a type for the next protocol contained in its payload. The higher layer protocol is said to be encapsulated in the lower layer protocol …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu-Chen to include the features as taught by Gaal above in order to reduce resources needed to transmit and or process the sensor data. (Gaal, ¶ [0002]).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu-Chen in view of Rydén et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20200120447, hereinafter, “Rydén”).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Wu-Chen discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 8 as outlined above.
Wu-Chen does not explicitly teach:
obtaining sensing capability indication information transmitted by the terminal device, wherein the sensing capability indication information indicates whether the terminal device supports reporting of sensing data; and
transmitting the sensing data request information to the terminal device when the sensing capability indication information indicates that the terminal device supports the reporting of sensing data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rydén teaches:
obtaining sensing capability indication information transmitted by the terminal device, wherein the sensing capability indication information indicates whether the terminal device supports reporting of sensing data (Rydén: [0100] Action 400: [0101] According to a first optional step, the network node 20 may obtain capabilities of the target device 10 in association to reporting of displacements from the target device 10. In some embodiments this report may be triggered by a capability request message sent to the target device 10 from the network node 20 and/or the LS which may be comprised in the network node 20. The capabilities in association to reporting shall herein be interpreted as the sensor data that the UE is capable of reporting. Fig. 4); and
generating the sensing data request information and transmitting the sensing data request information to the terminal device when the sensing capability indication information indicates that the terminal device supports the reporting of sensing data (Rydén: [0103] Action 410: [0104] Furthermore, also optionally, the network node 20 and/or the LS may send a request for displacement information reporting to the target device 10. Optionally, the network node 20 and/or location server may provide the target device 10 with a reference position and/or a reference time, which the target device shall use when determining the displacement. Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu-Chen to include the features as taught by Rydén above in order to improve positioning of a target device. (Rydén, ¶ [0013]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416