DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 06/05/2026, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed on 06/05/2026, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1-21 are the current claims hereby under examination, with claims 1-6 withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, the claim recites the limitation “the peripheral material” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear if this limitation is meant to refer to the peripheral area from claim 8, line 10, or a different peripheral material. If it is meant to refer to the peripheral area in claim 8, it needs to refer back to it. If it is meant to refer to a different peripheral area, it needs to be distinguished from the peripheral area from claim 8. For purposes of examination, it is being interpreted as referring to the peripheral area from claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Luo (CN 212118134) in view of Zhang (CN 111508341). Citations to CN 212118134 and CN 111508341 will refer to the English Machine Translations that accompany this Office Action.
Regarding independent claim 8, Luo teaches a cover plate (Fig. 10, cover plate 107), comprising:
a first window area configured to allow light rays to pass through (Fig. 10, first light-transmitting window 104);
a second window area configured to allow the light rays to pass through (Fig. 10, second light-transmitting window 105), wherein the first window area is spaced apart from the second window area (Fig. 9 shows windows 104 and 105 spaced apart from each other. Fig. 9 shows windows 104 and 105 spaced apart from each other.);
a first light-shielding area configured to shield the light rays, wherein the first light- shielding area surrounds the first window area; a second light-shielding area configured to shield the light rays, wherein the second light-shielding area surrounds the second window area (Fig. 4, non-transparent area 113; [0066]: “the first light-transmitting window 104 and the second light-transmitting window 105 are both surrounded by the non-transparent area 113”. The non-transparent area surrounds the first window area and the second window area, and therefore is both the first light-shielding area and the second light-shielding area.).
However, Luo does not teach the first light-shielding area is spaced apart from the second light-shielding area; and a peripheral area surrounding the first light-shielding area and the second light-shielding area.
Zhang discloses a cover plate structure. Specifically, Zhang teaches the first light-shielding area is spaced apart from the second light-shielding area (Fig. 2; first light shielding area is the first semi-transparent area 254 and second light-shielding area is the second semi-transparent area 256. It is shown that these areas are spaced apart.); and
a peripheral area surrounding the first light-shielding area and the second light-shielding area (Fig. 2; the peripheral area is the light-blocking region 255). Luo and Zhang are analogous art as they are both related to the same field of endeavor of cover plates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the structure from Zhang into the device from Luo as Zhang discloses another known structure surrounding window areas in a cover plate, therefore it would be a simple substitution to produce a predictable result.
Regarding independent claim 15, Luo teaches an electronic device ([0002]: “This application relates to the field of wearable device technology, and more particularly to a wearable device”), comprising:
a cover plate (Fig. 10, cover plate 107), comprising:
a first window area configured to allow light rays to pass through (Fig. 10, first light-transmitting window 104);
a second window area configured to allow the light rays to pass through (Fig. 10, second light-transmitting window 105), wherein the first window area is spaced apart from the second window area (Fig. 9 shows windows 104 and 105 spaced apart from each other.);
a first light-shielding area configured to shield the light rays, wherein the first light-shielding area surrounds the first window area; a second light-shielding area configured to shield light rays, wherein the second light-shielding area surrounds the second window area (Fig. 4, non-transparent area 113; [0066]: “the first light-transmitting window 104 and the second light-transmitting window 105 are both surrounded by the non-transparent area 113”. The non-transparent area surrounds the first window area and the second window area, and therefore is both the first light-shielding area and the second light-shielding area.).
However, Luo does not teach the first light-shielding area is spaced apart from the second light-shielding area; and a peripheral area surrounding the first light-shielding area and the second light-shielding area.
Zhang discloses a cover plate structure. Specifically, Zhang teaches the first light-shielding area is spaced apart from the second light-shielding area (Fig. 2; first light shielding area is the first semi-transparent area 254 and second light-shielding area is the second semi-transparent area 256. It is shown that these areas are spaced apart.); and
a peripheral area surrounding the first light-shielding area and the second light-shielding area (Fig. 2; the peripheral area is the light-blocking region 255). Luo and Zhang are analogous art as they are both related to the same field of endeavor of cover plates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the structure from Zhang into the device from Luo as Zhang discloses another known structure surrounding window areas in a cover plate, therefore it would be a simple substitution to produce a predictable result.
The Luo/Zhang combination teaches a light emitter disposed on a side of the cover plate (Luo, Fig. 10, light-emitting diode 102; Fig. 10 shows the light emitting device (reference character 102) shows the light emitting device on a side of the cover plate when they are placed together.), wherein light rays emitted by the light emitter enter the first window area and are transmitted to another side of the cover plate away from the light emitter through the first window area (Luo, [0056]: “the light-emitting device 102 is disposed above the first light transmitting window 104, and the photoelectric conversion device 103 is disposed above the second light-transmitting window 105”. Since the LED is above the first window area, the light rays emitted by the LED is transmitted through the first window area to the other side of the cover plate.); and
a light detector (Luo, Fig. 10, photodiode 103), wherein the light detector and the light emitter are disposed on the same side of the cover pate, and the light rays that enter the second window area from the side of the cover pate away from the light detector pass through the second window area and enter the light detector (Luo, [0005]: “After being reflected and refracted by the skin, the light beam passes through the photoelectric light-transmitting window on the bottom shell of the wearable product and is received by the photoelectric conversion device”. The photodiode is the photoelectric conversion device, therefore since the second window area is positioned below the photodiode, the reflected light must pass through the second window area to enter the light detector.).
Regarding claim 21, the Luo/Zhang combination teaches the cover plate as claimed in claim 8, wherein the peripheral material is disposed between the first light-shielding area and the second light-shielding area, so that the first light-shielding area is spaced apart from the second light-shielding area (Zhang, Fig. 2 shows peripheral area 255 between the first light-shielding area 254 and second light-shielding area 256.).
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Luo/Zhang combination as applied to claims 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Zeng (CN 109917557), Olson (US 20220190188), The Engineering Toolbox (“Coefficients of Linear Thermal Expansion”), and Gallagher (“Polyurethane’s Temperature Range”). Citations to CN 109917557 will refer to the English Machine Translation that accompanies this Office Action.
Regarding claim 9, the Luo/Zhang combination teaches the cover plate as claimed in claim 8.
The Luo/Zhang combination discloses that the material of the cover plate can be resin (Luo, [0082]: “The light-transmitting cover can be made of materials such as glass, plastic, epoxy resin, or sapphire.”), however the Luo/Zhang combination is silent on the material of the peripheral area and the thermal expansion coefficients of the materials.
Zeng discloses a collimator and a collimator manufacturing method. Specifically, Zeng teaches the specific materials of the window areas and the light-shielding areas ([0075]: “transparent resin rods can be made from transparent resin materials with high melting points”; [0076]: “opaque resins can be made from black resins with a low melting point”. The first window area is made from the transparent resin with high melting points, and the first light-shielding area is made from black resin.). Luo and Zeng are analogous art as they are both related to devices used for optical imaging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the materials of the window areas and the light-shielding areas from Zeng into the device from the Luo/Zhang combination, as the Luo/Zhang combination is silent on the specific material used for the specific components of the cover plate, and Zeng discloses suitable materials in an analogous device.
However, the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination does not teach the material of the peripheral area and the thermal expansion coefficients of the materials.
Olson discloses an electro-optical physiologic sensor. Specifically, Olson teaches the material of the peripheral area ([0078]: “The housing 103 can be constructed from materials commonly used in the medical industry. A representative list of biocompatible materials from which the housing 103 can be constructed include silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, Parylene-C, Nafion, biocompatible EPO-TEK® epoxy resin, and platinum.”. The housing (the peripheral area) can be made from epoxy resin.). Luo, Zeng, and Olson are analogous art as they are all related to devices used for optical imaging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the material of the peripheral area from Olson into the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination as the combination is silent on the material of the peripheral area, and Olson provides a suitable material in an analogous device.
However, the Luo/Zhang/Zeng/Olson combination does not teach the thermal coefficient of the materials.
The Engineering Toolbox and Gallagher disclose thermal expansion coefficients of materials. Specifically, The Engineering Toolbox and Gallagher disclose the thermal expansion coefficients of the window areas, the light-shielding areas, and the peripheral area (The Engineering Toolbox, Page 2; Epoxy resin has a thermal expansion coefficient of 45-65 * (
10
-
6
m/(m K)); Gallagher, Page 2; Black resin can be made from polyurethane, which has a thermal expansion coefficient of 1.4-2.5 *
(
10
-
4
mm/(mm °C))). Luo, Zeng, Olson, The Engineering Toolbox, and Gallagher are analogous art as they are all related to resin and its properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the thermal expansion coefficients from The Engineering Toolbox and Gallagher into the Luo/Zhang/Zeng/Olson combination as the combination is silent on the thermal expansion coefficients, and The Engineering Toolbox and Gallagher disclose the thermal expansion coefficients.
The Luo/Zhang/Zeng/Olson/The Engineering Toolbox/Gallagher combination teach wherein a difference between a thermal expansion coefficient of a material of the first window area and a thermal expansion coefficient of a material of the peripheral area is defined as a first difference, a difference between the thermal expansion coefficient of the material of the first window area and a thermal expansion coefficient of a material of the first light-shielding area is defined as a second difference, and an absolute value of the first difference is less than or equal to an absolute value of the second difference; and/or a difference between a thermal expansion coefficient of a material of the second window area and the thermal expansion coefficient of the material of the peripheral area is defined as a third difference, a difference between the thermal expansion coefficient of the material of the second window area and a thermal expansion coefficient of a material of the second light-shielding area is defined as a fourth difference, and an absolute value of the third difference is less than or equal to an absolute value of the fourth difference (The Engineering Toolbox, Page 2; Epoxy resin has a thermal expansion coefficient of 45-65 * (
10
-
6
m/(m K)). The peripheral area is made from epoxy resin, and the first window area is made from a transparent resin, which can be epoxy resin, therefore the first difference is 0.; Gallagher, Page 2; Black resin can be made from polyurethane, which has a thermal expansion coefficient of 1.4-2.5 *
(
10
-
4
mm/(mm °C)), therefore second difference is greater than 0. Since the absolute value of the second difference is greater than 0, the first difference is less than or equal to the second difference. The same goes for the third distance and the fourth distance, as the second window area is made of the same material as the first window area, and the second light-shielding area is made of the same material as the first light-shielding area.).
Regarding claim 16, the Luo/Zhang combination teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 15.
The Luo/Zhang combination discloses that the material of the cover plate can be resin (Luo, [0082]: “The light-transmitting cover can be made of materials such as glass, plastic, epoxy resin, or sapphire.”), however Luo is silent on the material of the peripheral area and the thermal expansion coefficients of the materials.
Zeng discloses a collimator and a collimator manufacturing method. Specifically, Zeng teaches the specific materials of the window areas and the light-shielding areas ([0075]: “transparent resin rods can be made from transparent resin materials with high melting points”; [0076]: “opaque resins can be made from black resins with a low melting point”. The first window area is made from the transparent resin with high melting points, and the first light-shielding area is made from black resin.). Luo and Zeng are analogous art as they are both related to devices used for optical imaging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the materials of the window areas and the light-shielding areas from Zeng into the device from the Luo/Zhang combination, as the Luo/Zhang combination is silent on the specific material used for the specific components of the cover plate, and Zeng discloses suitable materials in an analogous device.
However, the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination does not teach the material of the peripheral area and the thermal expansion coefficients of the materials.
Olson discloses an electro-optical physiologic sensor. Specifically, Olson teaches the material of the peripheral area ([0078]: “The housing 103 can be constructed from materials commonly used in the medical industry. A representative list of biocompatible materials from which the housing 103 can be constructed include silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, Parylene-C, Nafion, biocompatible EPO-TEK® epoxy resin, and platinum.”. The housing (the peripheral area) can be made from epoxy resin.). Luo, Zeng, and Olson are analogous art as they are all related to devices used for optical imaging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the material of the peripheral area from Olson into the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination as the combination is silent on the material of the peripheral area, and Olson provides a suitable material in an analogous device.
However, the Luo/Zhang/Zeng/Olson combination does not teach the thermal coefficient of the materials.
The Engineering Toolbox and Gallagher disclose thermal expansion coefficients of materials. Specifically, The Engineering Toolbox and Gallagher disclose the thermal expansion coefficients of the window areas, the light-shielding areas, and the peripheral area (The Engineering Toolbox, Page 2; Epoxy resin has a thermal expansion coefficient of 45-65 * (
10
-
6
m/(m K)); Gallagher, Page 2; Black resin can be made from polyurethane, which has a thermal expansion coefficient of 1.4-2.5 *
(
10
-
4
mm/(mm °C))). Luo, Zeng, Olson, The Engineering Toolbox, and Gallagher are analogous art as they are all related to resin and its properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the thermal expansion coefficients from The Engineering Toolbox and Gallagher into the Luo/Zhang/Zeng/Olson combination as the combination is silent on the thermal expansion coefficients, and The Engineering Toolbox and Gallagher disclose the thermal expansion coefficients.
The Luo/Zhang/Zeng/Olson/The Engineering Toolbox/Gallagher combination teach wherein a difference between a thermal expansion coefficient of a material of the first window area and a thermal expansion coefficient of a material of the peripheral area is defined as a first difference, a difference between the thermal expansion coefficient of the material of the first window area and a thermal expansion coefficient of a material of the first light-shielding area is defined as a second difference, and an absolute value of the first difference is less than or equal to an absolute value of the second difference; and/or a difference between a thermal expansion coefficient of a material of the second window area and the thermal expansion coefficient of the material of the peripheral area is defined as a third difference, a difference between the thermal expansion coefficient of the material of the second window area and a thermal expansion coefficient of a material of the second light-shielding area is defined as a fourth difference, and an absolute value of the third difference is less than or equal to an absolute value of the fourth difference (The Engineering Toolbox, Page 2; Epoxy resin has a thermal expansion coefficient of 45-65 * (
10
-
6
m/(m K)). The peripheral area is made from epoxy resin, and the first window area is made from a transparent resin, which can be epoxy resin, therefore the first difference is 0.; Gallagher, Page 2; Black resin can be made from polyurethane, which has a thermal expansion coefficient of 1.4-2.5 *
(
10
-
4
mm/(mm °C)), therefore second difference is greater than 0. Since the absolute value of the second difference is greater than 0, the first difference is less than or equal to the second difference. The same goes for the third distance and the fourth distance, as the second window area is made of the same material as the first window area, and the second light-shielding area is made of the same material as the first light-shielding area.).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Luo/Zhang combination as applied to claims 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Zeng and Olson.
Regarding claim 10, the Luo/Zhang combination teaches the cover plate as claimed in claim 8.
The Luo/Zhang combination teaches wherein the cover plate can be made of resin (Luo, [0082]: “The light-transmitting cover can be made of materials such as glass, plastic, epoxy resin, or sapphire.”), however Luo does not teach the specific materials of the window areas or the peripheral area.
Zeng teaches wherein the window areas can be made of resin ([0075]: “transparent resin rods can be made from transparent resin materials with high melting points”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the material of the window areas from Zeng into the device from the Luo/Zhang combination as the Luo/Zhang combination is silent on the specific material of the window areas, and Zeng discloses a suitable material in an analogous device.
However, the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination does not teach the material of the peripheral area.
Olson discloses the peripheral area being made from resin ([0078]: “The housing 103 can be constructed from materials commonly used in the medical industry. A representative list of biocompatible materials from which the housing 103 can be constructed include silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, Parylene-C, Nafion, biocompatible EPO-TEK® epoxy resin, and platinum.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the material of the peripheral area from Olson into the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination as the combination is silent on the material of the peripheral area, and Olson provides a suitable material in an analogous device.
The Luo/Zhang/Zeng/Olson combination teaches wherein a material of the first window area, a material of the second window area, and a material of the peripheral area are the same material (The housing (the peripheral area) can be made from epoxy resin, and epoxy is a transparent resin, therefore the first window area and the second window area can be epoxy resin as well.); or a material of the first light-shielding area, a material of the second light-shielding area, and a material of the peripheral area are the same material.
Regarding claim 17, the Luo/Zhang combination teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 15.
The Luo/Zhang combination teaches wherein the cover plate can be made of resin (Luo, [0082]: “The light-transmitting cover can be made of materials such as glass, plastic, epoxy resin, or sapphire.”), however Luo does not teach the specific materials of the window areas or the peripheral area.
Zeng teaches wherein the window areas can be made of resin ([0075]: “transparent resin rods can be made from transparent resin materials with high melting points”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the material of the window areas from Zeng into the device from the Luo/Zhang combination as the Luo/Zhang combination is silent on the specific material of the window areas, and Zeng discloses a suitable material in an analogous device.
However, the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination does not teach the material of the peripheral area.
Olson discloses the peripheral area being made from resin ([0078]: “The housing 103 can be constructed from materials commonly used in the medical industry. A representative list of biocompatible materials from which the housing 103 can be constructed include silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, Parylene-C, Nafion, biocompatible EPO-TEK® epoxy resin, and platinum.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the material of the peripheral area from Olson into the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination as the combination is silent on the material of the peripheral area, and Olson provides a suitable material in an analogous device.
The Luo/Zhang/Zeng/Olson combination teaches wherein a material of the first window area, a material of the second window area, and a material of the peripheral area are the same material (The housing (the peripheral area) can be made from epoxy resin, and epoxy is a transparent resin, therefore the first window area and the second window area can be epoxy resin as well.); or a material of the first light-shielding area, a material of the second light-shielding area, and a material of the peripheral area are the same material.
Claims 11-13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Luo/Zhang combination as applied to claims 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Zeng.
Regarding claim 11, the Luo/Zhang combination teaches the cover plate as claimed in claim 8.
However, the Luo/Zhang combination does not teach how the cover plate is manufactured.
Zeng discloses wherein the cover plate is formed by squeezing a first composite material, a second composite material, and a peripheral material ([0042]: “the light screening rod group is extruded and stretched to obtain the collimator to be cut”. The screening rod group contains all the materials used to create the collimator, which is squeezed (extruded). Fig. 6 shows a plurality of individual composite materials (reference character 3), which can include the first and second composite materials. Figs. 2 and 10 show the peripheral area surrounding the cover plate, therefore it would be obvious that the peripheral material can be extracted as well.); the first composite material comprises a first light-transmitting material and a first light-shielding material (Fig. 6, reference character 3 shows the first composite material, and Fig. 5 shows the composite material comprising the transparent resin rod material (the light-transmitting material) and the opaque resin area (the light-shielding area)) and the first light-shielding material surrounds the first light-transmitting material (Fig. 5); the second composite material comprises a second light-transmitting material and a second light-shielding material (Fig. 6, reference character 3 shows the second composite material, and Fig. 5 shows the composite material comprising the transparent resin rod material (the light-transmitting material) and the opaque resin area (the light-shielding area)), and the second light-shielding material surrounds the second light-transmitting material (Fig. 5); and after squeezing, the first light-transmitting material forms the first window area ([0058]: “the light-transmitting rod is made of transparent resin”. The light-transmitting rod is used to allow light rays to pass through, therefore is the first window area.), the second light-transmitting material forms the second window area ([0058]: “the light-transmitting rod is made of transparent resin”. The light-transmitting rod is used to allow light rays to pass through, therefore is the second window area.), the first light-shielding material forms the first light-shielding area ([0051]: “a light-transmitting rod is wrapped with a non-transparent layer to form a light filtering rod”; [0076]: “The opaque resin can be understood as the non-transparent layer in the method embodiment corresponding to Figure 2”. The non-transparent layer is used to shield light rays, therefore is the first light-shielding area.), the second light-shielding material forms the second light-shielding material ([0051]: “a light-transmitting rod is wrapped with a non-transparent layer to form a light filtering rod”; [0076]: “The opaque resin can be understood as the non-transparent layer in the method embodiment corresponding to Figure 2”. The non-transparent layer is used to shield light rays, therefore is the second light-shielding area.), and the peripheral material forms the peripheral area (The peripheral material is the peripheral area, therefore it forms the peripheral area.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the manufacturing process from Zeng into the device form the Luo/Zhang combination as the Luo/Zhang combination is silent on how the device is made, and Zeng discloses a suitable manufacturing method in an analogous device.
Regarding claim 12, the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination teaches the cover plate as claimed in claim 11.
However, the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination does not teach the specific type of material used for the light-shielding areas.
Zeng discloses wherein the first light-shielding material comprises a first opaque rod material, or the first light-shielding material comprises a plurality of first opaque fiber filaments, and the second light-shielding material comprises a second opaque rod material, or second light-shielding material comprises a plurality of second opaque fiber filaments ([0077]: “The light-transmitting rod can be as shown in Figure 5, where 1 in Figure 5 is a transparent resin rod and 2 in Figure 5 is an opaque resin rod.”. The opaque resin rod (2) is the first light-shielding area and the second light-shielding area, which are opaque rod materials.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the specific material from Zeng into the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination as the combination does not teach the specific types of materials used, and Zeng discloses a suitable material in an analogous device.
Regarding claim 13, the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination teaches the cover plate as claimed in claim 11.
However, the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination does not teach the specific types of material of the window areas.
Zeng teaches wherein the first light-transmitting material comprises a first light-transmitting rod material, or the first light-transmitting material comprises a plurality of first light-transmitting fiber filaments; and the second light-transmitting material comprises a second light-transmitting rod material, or the second light-transmitting material comprises a plurality of second light-transmitting fiber filaments ([0077]: “The light-transmitting rod can be as shown in Figure 5, where 1 in Figure 5 is a transparent resin rod and 2 in Figure 5 is an opaque resin rod”. The transparent resin rod (1) is the first window area and the second window area, which are light-transmitting rod materials.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the specific material from Zeng into the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination as the combination does not teach the specific types of materials used, and Zeng discloses a suitable material in an analogous device.
Regarding claim 18, the Luo/Zhang combination teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 15.
However, the Luo/Zhang combination does not teach the specific type of material used for the light-shielding areas.
Zeng discloses wherein a material of the first light-shielding area comprises a first opaque rod material, or the material of the first light-shielding area comprises a plurality of first opaque fiber filaments, and a material of the second light-shielding area comprises a second opaque rod material, or the material of the second light-shielding area comprises a plurality of second opaque fiber filaments ([0077]: “The light-transmitting rod can be as shown in Figure 5, where 1 in Figure 5 is a transparent resin rod and 2 in Figure 5 is an opaque resin rod.”. The opaque resin rod (2) is the first light-shielding area and the second light-shielding area, which are opaque rod materials.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the specific material from Zeng into device from the Luo/Zhang combination as the Luo/Zhang combination does not teach the specific types of materials used, and Zeng discloses a suitable material in an analogous device.
Regarding claim 19, the Luo/Zhang combination teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 15.
However, the Luo/Zhang combination does not teach the specific types of material of the window areas.
Zeng teaches wherein a material of the first window area comprises a first light-transmitting rod material, or the material of the first window area comprises a plurality of first light-transmitting fiber filaments; and a material of the second window area comprises a second light-transmitting rod material, or the material of the second window area comprises a plurality of second light-transmitting fiber filaments ([0077]: “The light-transmitting rod can be as shown in Figure 5, where 1 in Figure 5 is a transparent resin rod and 2 in Figure 5 is an opaque resin rod”. The transparent resin rod (1) is the first window area and the second window area, which are light-transmitting rod materials.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the specific material from Zeng device from the Luo/Zhang combination as the Luo/Zhang combination does not teach the specific types of materials used, and Zeng discloses a suitable material in an analogous device.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Ruh (US 10537284).
Regarding claim 14, the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination teaches the cover plate as claimed in claim 11, wherein each of the first light-transmitting material, the second light-transmitting material, the first light-shielding material, the second light-shielding material, and the peripheral material is glass (Luo, [0082]: “The light-transmitting cover can be made of materials such as glass, plastic, epoxy resin, or Sapphire”. The light-transmitting cover contains the window areas and light-shielding areas and peripheral areas, therefore they are all made from glass.).
However, the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination is silent on the material of the peripheral area.
Ruh discloses an electronic device for sensor signal collection. Specifically, Ruh teaches a material of the peripheral area is glass (Column 4, lines 58-59: “The housing, which may sometimes be referred to as a case, may be formed of … glass”); or wherein the first light-shielding material comprises a plurality of first opaque fiber filaments arranged on the periphery of the first window area, and the second light-shielding material comprises a plurality of second opaque fiber filaments arranged on a periphery of the second window area. Luo, Zeng, and Ruh are analogous art as they are all related to optical sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the material of the peripheral area from Ruh into the device from the Luo/Zhang/Zeng combination as the combination is silent on the peripheral area material, and Ruh discloses a suitable material in an analogous device.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Luo/Zhang combination as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Ruh.
Regarding claim 20, the Luo/Zhang combination teaches the electronic device as claimed in claim 15, wherein each of a material of the first window area, a material of the second window area, a material of the first light-shielding area, a material of the second light-shielding area is glass ([0082]: “The light-transmitting cover can be made of materials such as glass, plastic, epoxy resin, or Sapphire”. The light-transmitting cover contains the window areas and light-shielding areas, therefore they are all made from glass.).
However, the Luo/Zhang combination is silent on the material of the peripheral area.
Ruh discloses an electronic device for sensor signal collection. Specifically, Ruh teaches a material of the peripheral area is glass (Column 4, lines 58-59: “The housing, which may sometimes be referred to as a case, may be formed of … glass”); or wherein the material of the first light-shielding area comprises a plurality of first opaque fiber filaments arranged on the periphery of the first window area, and the material of the second light-shielding area comprises a plurality of second opaque fiber filaments arranged on a periphery of the second window area. Luo and Ruh are analogous art as they are both related to optical sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the material of the peripheral area from Ruh into the device from the Luo/Zhang combination as the Luo/Zhang combination is silent on the peripheral area material, and Ruh discloses a suitable material in an analogous device.
Response to Arguments
All of applicant’s argument regarding the rejections and objections previously set forth have been fully considered and are persuasive unless directly addressed subsequently.
Applicant has amended the claims to overcome the claim objections and 112(b) rejections, however the new claim has introduced a new 112(b) rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 8-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments regarding modifying the non-transparent area from Luo have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that modifying the non-transparent area would not allow the intended purpose of Luo to be achieved, because separating the non-transparent area into two portions would introduce a gap, which would allow additional light beams to interfere with detection. This is not persuasive, as in the device from Zhang, there is a non-transparent material in between the two non-transparent areas when they have been separated, and therefore light cannot pass through the gap and the device of Luo is still capable of performing its intended functions (Zhang, Fig. 2; [0038]: “the light-blocking area 255 completely blocks light from passing through”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.K.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791