DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Priority
The instant application, filed 11/21/2023 is a Divisional of 16644902, filed 3/5/2020, now U.S. Patent 11859252 and having 1 RCE-type filing therein. 16644902 is a National Stage entry of PCT/US2018/050056, International Filing Date 9/7/2018. PCT/US2018/050056 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 62556277, filed 9/8/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 3/11/2024 and 8/16/2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atefi et al. “Combination of pan-RAF and MEK inhibitors in NRAS mutant melanoma,” Molecular Cancer (2015) 14:27; in view of Rodrıguez-Antona et al. “Pharmacogenomic biomarkers for personalized cancer treatment,” J Intern Med 2015; 277: 201–217.
Instant claim 1 is directed towards a method of treating an individual having a cancer, the method comprising:(a) screening a sample from the individual for an NRAS activating mutation, wherein the individual has been determined to have an NRAS activating mutation; and (b) administering a therapeutically effective amount of a pan-RAF dimer inhibitor and a MEK inhibitor to the individual based on the presence of an NRAS activating mutation determined in step (a).
Atefi teaches combining a pan-RAF inhibitor and a MEK inhibitor in treating NRAS mutant melanoma. Atefi teaches one of the mutations is cell line M244 NRAS Q61K heterozygous, this is an activating mutation, see Table 1. Atefi teaches pan-RAF inhibitor is Amgen Compound A. Atefi teaches the MEKi can be trametinib.
Therefore Atefi teaches the skilled artisan that one should treat melanoma with these mutations with a combination of a pan-RAF inhibitor and a MEK inhibitor and could expect to get better treatment and potentially synergistic results in killing these cancer cells.
Rodrıguez-Antona is brought in to show that one would need to then screen the patient for the mutation prior to treatment to get the best result. Rodrıguez-Antona discusses this in the area of using a targeted drug based on the relevant driver mutations. This is outlined in both Figure 2, and Table 1. This shows that certain drugs are known to interdict specific targets with specific mutations.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would know from Atefi that certain cancers, melanoma with NRAS mutations (including activating mutations) would be sensitive to the combination of a pan-RAF inhibitor and a MEK inhibitor. One would then look to treat patients with this knowledge by “screening a sample from the individual for an NRAS activating mutation” as required by instant claim 1 and 2 because Rodrıguez-Antona shows that there is a long-established track record of using this data/knowledge to improve patient outcomes by giving the appropriate drug for the specific cancer mutation profile.
Instant claim 3 states, “wherein screening comprises amplifying and sequencing all or a portion of the NRAS gene.” Atefi teaches, “Presence of mutations in the genes of interest was checked by OncoMap 3 or Iontrone, and was confirmed by PCR and Sanger sequencing.” Meeting this limitation.
Instant claims 4-5, and 9-10 are directed to a specific MEKi including trametinib. This compound is taught by Atefi as a MEKi.
Instant claims 7 and 12 require wherein the sample is a tissue sample, a cell sample, a whole blood sample, a plasma sample, a serum sample, or a combination thereof. Atefi teaches sampling the cancer sample, which is a cell.
Instant claims 7 and 13 require “a melanoma,” this is taught by Atefi.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-13 are found obvious based on the art above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atefi et al. “Combination of pan-RAF and MEK inhibitors in NRAS mutant melanoma,” Molecular Cancer (2015) 14:27; and Rodrıguez-Antona et al. “Pharmacogenomic biomarkers for personalized cancer treatment,” J Intern Med 2015; 277: 201–217; as applied to claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-13 in further view of Peng et al., “Inhibition of RAF Isoforms and Active Dimers by LY3009120 Leads to Anti-tumor Activities in RAS or BRAF Mutant Cancers,” 2015, Cancer Cell 28, 384–398.
This rejection is in regards to instant claims 6 and 11 which require wherein the pan-RAF dimer inhibitor is selected from the group consisting of HM95573, LY-3009120, AZ-628, LXH-254, MLN2480, BeiGene-283, RXDX-105, BAL3833, regorafenib, and sorafenib, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
Atefi teaches combining a pan-RAF inhibitor and a MEK inhibitor in treating NRAS mutant melanoma. Atefi teaches one of the mutations is cell line M244 NRAS Q61K heterozygous, this is an activating mutation, see Table 1. Atefi teaches pan-RAF inhibitor is Amgen Compound A. Atefi teaches the MEKi can be trametinib.
Therefore Atefi teaches the skilled artisan that one should treat melanoma with these mutations with a combination of a pan-RAF inhibitor and a MEK inhibitor and could expect to get better treatment and potentially synergistic results in killing these cancer cells.
Atefi teaches that the pathway is important and that while the specific compounds are used, Amgen Compound A and trametinib, the reference is teaching the pathway interdiction via the mechanism and that the compounds themselves are simply a tool that an be replaced with known equivalents in the art.
Rodrıguez-Antona is brought in to show that one would need to then screen the patient for the mutation prior to treatment to get the best result.
These 2 references do not teach the known inhibitors of pan-RAF inhibitor, as they only teach Amgen Compound A as the pan-RAF inhibitor.
Peng teaches LY3009120 as a known inhibitors of pan-RAF. Peng states ,” LY3009120 is a pan-RAF and RAF dimer inhibitor that inhibits all RAF isoforms and occupies both protomers in RAF dimers. Biochemical and cellular analyses revealed that LY3009120 inhibits ARAF, BRAF, and CRAF isoforms with similar affinity.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would know from Atefi that certain cancers, melanoma with NRAS mutations (including activating mutations) would be sensitive to the combination of a pan-RAF inhibitor and a MEK inhibitor. One would then look to treat patients with this knowledge by “screening a sample from the individual for an NRAS activating mutation” as required by instant claim 1 and 2 because Rodrıguez-Antona shows that there is a long-established track record of using this data/knowledge to improve patient outcomes by giving the appropriate drug for the specific cancer mutation profile. Lastly, one would know that a pan-RAF inhibitor includes both Amgen Compound A and LY3009120, and both or either one individually could be used to interdict the RAF pathway and be effective in combination with the MEK pathway in treating cancer. As such one could replace Amgen Compound A with LY3009120 because they have the same mechanism of action and would lead to a predictable outcome. Therefore the instant claims 1-13 are obvious at the time of filing.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 46-65 of copending Application No. 18554041 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘041 app is directed towards an anticipatory species to the instant claims by using belvarafenib (a pan RAFi) and cobimetinib (a MEKi) together to treat NRAS mutant cancers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/MICHAEL J SCHMITT/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629