DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2023-0061452, filed on May 12, 2023.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Hettrich (US20200168959A1).
As to claim 1 Hettrich discloses a battery system (see e.g. a battery system including one or more stacks of electrochemical cells in Par. 9), comprising:
a battery module including at least one battery cell (see e.g. one or more battery cells 212 in Par 66, in Fig. 2);
a load cell configured for measuring a surface pressure of the battery module (see e.g. a pressure sensor in Par. 66, in Fig. 2 and the term “pressure sensor” refers to a device for measuring the pressure or operating pressure of a gas or fluid in a vessel or container, of which includes a load cell in Par. 39);
and a pressurizing device (see e.g. a compressible element 210 in Par. 66, in Fig. 2 and the compressible element is configured to uniformly pressurize or uniformly depressurize the battery module in Par. 71) configured to adjust (see e.g. actuation is accomplished by increasing or decreasing pneumatic or hydraulic pressure using a pneumatic or hydraulic linear actuator in Par. 72) a pressurizing force applied to the battery module (see e.g. the compressible element applies an isostatic pressure to the solid-state separator electrolyte in the electrochemical cell in Par. 7) through an operation fluid (see e.g. compressible fluid maintains an isostatic pressure on the electrochemical cell in Par. 6) flowing through a fluid line based on the surface pressure of the battery module measured by the load cell (see e.g. the controller is programmed to actuate the compressible element based on a pressure input to the pressure sensor from the one or more battery cells in Par. 70).
As to claim 2 Hettrich discloses the battery system of claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1),
wherein the pressurizing device (see discussion of claim 1) is provided between a pair of battery modules (see e.g. the positioning of the compressible element plays a key role in the pressurization or depressurization of the battery system, for example, reasoned positioning of the compressible element includes between one or more individual electrochemical cells of the electrochemical stack in Par. 68),
wherein the load cell is provided on an internal wall of a battery pack tray in which the battery module is provided (see e.g. the pressure sensor is between the housing and a face of the one or more battery cells in Par. 69).
As to claim 3 Hettrich discloses the battery system of claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1), wherein the pressurizing device includes (see e.g. a compressible element 210, one or more battery cells 212, a fluid reservoir 204, and a pump 206 in Par. 66, in Fig. 2):
a pressurizing unit (see e.g. compressible element 210 discussed in claim 1) configured to provide the pressurizing force to the battery module by supplying of the operation fluid (see e.g. increasing or decreasing pneumatic or hydraulic pressure in Par. 72 and discussed in claim 1); and
a servo-injector (see e.g. fluid reservoir 204 and pump 206 in Par. 66, in Fig. 2) configured to supply the operation fluid to the pressurizing unit or recollect the operation fluid from the pressurizing unit (see e.g. when the compressible element is a combination of a fluid reservoir and a pump, actuation is accomplished, for example, by increasing or decreasing pneumatic or hydraulic pressure using a pneumatic or hydraulic linear actuator in Par. 72, at least one controller 202 may be connected to the pump 206 and the pressure sensor 208 in Par. 66, and the controller is configured to actuate the compressible element based on a pressure input to the pressure sensor from the one or more battery cells in Par. 70).
As to claim 17 Hettrich discloses the battery system of claim 1 (see discussion of claim 1), further including a battery management system (see e.g. a secondary battery pressure management in Par. 14) configured to control an operation of the pressurizing device (see e.g. sending a control signal to a dynamic compressible element for modifying a pressurization of the battery according to the at least one of the predicted performance requirements in Par. 14) based on the surface pressure of the battery module measured by the load cell (see e.g. the processor, microcontroller, controls the operation of the battery management computer system in Par. 142 and the controller is configured to actuate the compressible element based on a pressure input to the pressure sensor from the one or more battery cells in Par. 70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettrich (US20200168959A1) in view of Liu et al. (US20230420753A1).
As to claim 4 Hettrich discloses the battery system of claim 3 (see discussion of claim 3).
Hettrich discloses that compressible element may comprise a combination of a fluid reservoir and a pump, and actuation is accomplished by increasing or decreasing pneumatic or hydraulic pressure using a pneumatic or hydraulic linear actuator in Par. 72.
Hettrich does not disclose wherein the pressurizing unit includes:
a central body internally forming an operation fluid line through which the operation fluid flows; and
a side surface body movably provided on first and second sides of the central body.
Liu et al. discloses a compression device 36 that comprises a hydraulic cylinder 36-5 and a piston 66 arranged to apply compression forces to the battery array in Par. 77.
Liu et al. explicitly discloses in Fig. 9 that the piston is positioned to be movable towards the battery cells. The hydraulic cylinder can comprise a main body and a guide body. Fig. 9 inexplicitly discloses the compression device comprises a fluid line connecting to a pump by which the operation fluid flows into or out of the device. The fluid line is internally connected into the main body to form an operation fluid line, with one end portion of the operation fluid line blocked. The guide body extends towards the direction of compression, guiding the direction of the piston towards the battery cells. The operation fluid flows from the operation fluid line into a fluid recess in the main body for applying pressure on the piston. The piston comprises a fluid boss that fits within the fluid recess, that is acted upon in order to compress the battery cells. The fluid boss and the fluid recess together form a fluid chamber.
Instant application, Fig. 12
Liu et al., Fig. 9
Liu et al., Zoomed Fig. 9
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the compressible element in Hettrich to include a central body in which an operation fluid line is formed internally through which operation fluid flows, as well as a side surface body movable on a first and second side of the central body as taught by Liu et al. in order to vary compression force during charging of the batteries in Par. 15, and to mitigate the effect of swelling from gas generation, extending the cycle life of the batteries in Par. 50.
As to claim 5 Hettrich in view of Liu et al. discloses the battery system of claim 4 (see discussion of claim 4), wherein the central body includes:
a main body (see discussion of claim 4, Liu et al. discloses the hydraulic cylinder comprising a main body in Fig. 9) forming the operation fluid line therein (see discussion of claim 4, Liu et al. discloses the fluid line is internally connected into the main body to form an operation fluid line in Fig. 9); and
a guide body (see discussion of claim 4, Liu et al. discloses the hydraulic cylinder comprising a guide body in Fig. 9) extending from a circumference of the main body toward the side surface body (see discussion of claim 4, Liu et al. discloses the guide body extends towards the direction of compression, guiding the direction of the piston towards the battery cells in Fig. 9).
As to claim 6 Hettrich in view of Liu et al. discloses the battery system of claim 5 (see discussion of claim 5),
wherein the operation fluid line is formed to penetrate an interior of the main body along a predetermined direction (see discussion of claim 4 & 5, Liu et al. discloses the fluid line is internally connected into the main body to form an operation fluid line, with one end portion of the operation fluid line blocked in Fig. 9),
wherein a first end portion of the operation fluid line fluidically connected to the fluid line (see discussion of claim 4 & 5, Liu et al. discloses the fluid line is internally connected into the main body to form an operation fluid line, with one end portion of the operation fluid line blocked in Fig. 9), and
wherein a second end portion of the operation fluid line is blocked (see discussion of claim 4, Liu et al. discloses the fluid line is internally connected into the main body to form an operation fluid line, with one end portion of the operation fluid line blocked in Fig. 9).
As to claim 7 Hettrich in view of Liu et al. discloses the battery system of claim 6 (see discussion of claim 6),
wherein at least one fluid recess is formed in the main body facing the side surface body (see discussion of claim 4, Liu et al. discloses the operation fluid flows from the operation fluid line into a fluid recess in the main body for applying pressure on the piston in Fig. 9),
wherein at least one fluid boss is formed in the side surface body facing the main body (see discussion of claim 4, Liu et al. discloses the piston comprises a fluid boss that fits within the fluid recess in Fig. 9), and
wherein the at least one fluid boss is configured to be selectively inserted into the at least one fluid recess (see discussion of claim 4, Liu et al. discloses a fluid boss that fits within the fluid recess in Fig. 9).
As to claim 8 Hettrich in view of Liu et al. discloses the battery system of claim 7 (see discussion of claim 7),
wherein the at least one fluid recess (see discussion of claim 7) and the at least one fluid boss (see discussion of claim 7) cooperatively form a fluid chamber (see discussion of claim 4, the fluid boss and the fluid recess together form a fluid chamber in Fig, 9), and
wherein the fluid chamber is fluidically connected to the second end portion of the operation fluid line (see discussion of claim 4, Liu et al. discloses the operation fluid flows from the operation fluid line into a fluid recess in Fig. 9).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettrich (US20200168959A1) in view of Liu et al. (US20230420753A1), in further view of Richeson (US4974495A).
As to claim 9 Hettrich in view of Liu et al. discloses the battery system of claim 7 (see discussion of claim 7).
Hettrich in view of Liu et al. does not disclose a magnetic member provided in the at least one fluid recess, and a metal plate provided in the at least one fluid boss; or
A magnetic member provided in the at least one fluid boss, and a metal plate provided in the at least one fluid recess.
Richeson teaches a hydraulic valve actuator using magnetic latches consisting of permanent magnets 35 and 49, coils 37 and 47, pole pieces 39 and 45, and armature 43 in Col. 5, Lines 44-47. The armature is joined to the sleeve and responsive to magnetic fields to retain the control valve in either stable position in Col. 3, Lines 65-67. The latches are used to control the valve actuator by transferring the armature between the pole pieces via the permanent magnets and coils in Col. 5, Lines 47-49. Manipulation of the permanent magnets allows the armature, and the rest of the actuator, to shift between a closed and open position in Col. 5-6, Lines 61-68, 1-9.
Both Hettrich in view of Liu et al. and Richeson are analogous in the field of hydraulic actuators, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the hydraulic actuator in Hettrich in view of Liu et al. to include a magnetic member in the at least one fluid recess and a metal plate in the at least one fluid boss or a magnetic member in the at least one fluid boss and a metal plate in the at least one fluid recess as taught by Richeson in order to be fast acting, shifting states almost immediately as taught by Richeson in Col. 1, Lines 21-25.
Claims 10 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettrich (US20200168959A1) in view of Liu et al. (US20230420753A1), in further view of Kim et al. (US20180301676A1).
As to claim 10 Hettrich in view of Liu et al. discloses the battery system of claim 5 (see discussion of claim 5).
Hettrich in view of Liu et al. does not disclose a guide groove formed in the central body, and a guide pin formed in the side surface body; or
a guide pin formed in the central body, and a guide groove formed in the side surface body.
Kim et al. (‘1676) discloses support shafts configured to guide moving directions of the first and second moving plates in Par. 63. The support shafts are located on the support plate of the pressing device and the shafts pass through the pressing plates allowing the plates to move on one axis in Fig. 6. The support shafts act as guide pins positioned on the central body of a pressure applying apparatus to go through holes, acting as guide grooves, provided in the movable plates.
Hettrich in view of Liu et al. and Kim et al. (‘1676) are analogous in the field of battery systems comprising battery modules and battery pressure apparatus, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the central body and side surface body taught in Hettrich in view of Liu et al. to include a support shaft, acting as a guide pin, formed in the central body in the direction of the side surface body movably insertable within a corresponding guide groove formed in the side surface body as taught in Kim et al. (‘1676) in order to guide moving directions of the pressing portions as taught by Kim et al. (‘1676) in Par. 63.
As to claim 11 Hettrich in view of Liu et al., and in further view of Kim et al. (‘1676) discloses the battery system of claim 10 (see discussion of claim 10), wherein the guide pin is movably in the guide groove (see discussion of claim 10) according to movement of the side surface body (see discussion of claim 10 and Kim et al. (‘1676) discloses support shafts 123 and 124 configured to guide moving directions (e.g., paths) of the first pressing plate 121 and the second pressing plate 122 in Par. 63, in Fig. 6).
Claims 12 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettrich (US20200168959A1) in view of Liu et al. (US20230420753A1), in further view of Kim et al. (US20230143366A1).
As to claim 12 Hettrich in view of Liu et al. discloses the battery system of claim 5 (see discussion of claim 5).
Hettrich in view of Liu et al. does not disclose further including a limiter provided in the central body and the side surface body, and configured to limit a moving amount of the side surface body.
Kim et al. (‘3366) discloses an anti-separation stopper 250, that may include a stopper hook 252 and a stopper groove 254 in Par. 53. Kim et al. (‘3366) further discloses that the pair of stopper hooks 252 may be positioned at upper and lower sides of the sensing bus bar 230, respectively, to more effectively prevent the sensing bus bar 230 from being separated when the sensing bus bar 230 moves forward in Par. 57.
Both Hettrich in view of Liu et al. and Kim et al. (‘3366) are analogous in the field of battery systems comprising battery modules and battery pressure apparatus, it would be obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the secondary battery control system comprising a pressurizing system of Hettrich in view of Liu et al. to include the anti-separation stopper disclosed by Kim et al. (‘3366) as a limiter in the central body and the side surface body in order to limit movement over a predetermined distance as disclosed by Kim et al. (‘3366) in Par. 54.
As to claim 13 Hettrich in view of Liu et al., and in further view of Kim et al. (‘3366) discloses the battery system of claim 12 (see discussion of claim 12), wherein the limiter includes:
a hook groove (see discussion of claim 12); and
a hook protrusion (see discussion of claim 12).
Hettrich in view of Liu et al., and in further view of Kim et al. (‘3366) does not disclose the hook groove being formed in the guide body of the central body and the hook protrusion being formed in the side surface body. It would be obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the anti-separation stopper from Hettrich in view of Liu et al., and in further view of Kim et al. (‘3366) to have the hook groove formed in the guide body of the central body and the hook protrusion formed in the side surface body in order to more effectively prevent the side surface body from being separated when the side surface body moves in Par. 57.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettrich (US20200168959A1) in view of Liu et al. (US20230420753A1), in further view of Lim et al. (US20170210369A1).
As to claim 14 Hettrich in view of Liu et al. discloses the battery system of claim 3 (see discussion of claim 3).
Hettrich in view of Liu et al. does not disclose wherein the servo-injector includes:
a servo-motor configured to generate power by electrical energy;
a power converter engaged to the servo-motor and configured to convert rotation of the servo-motor to a linear movement; and
a piston rod, a first end of which is engaged to the power converter and a second end of which is movably inserted in the fluid line for the linear movement.
Lim et al. discloses a hydraulic pressure supply device 100 comprising a hydraulic pressure supply unit 110, a motor 120, and a power converter 130 in Par. 62. The hydraulic pressure supply unit 110 is configured to provide oil pressure and comprises a cylinder block 111 and a hydraulic piston 114 in Par. 64. The motor 120 is configured to generate rotational force in response to an electrical signal and the power converter is configured to convert a rotational movement of the motor 120 into a rectilinear movement in Par. 62. The power converter 130 may be configured with a screw which is integrally formed with the rotational shaft of the motor 120 or is connected to and rotated with the rotational shaft thereof in Par. 115. The hydraulic piston 114 is connected to the ball nut of the power converter 130 to pressurize the pressure chamber through the rectilinear movement of the ball nut in Par. 115. The motor corresponds with a servo-motor configured to generate power by electrical power, the power converter is engaged to the servo-motor and configured to convert the rotation of the servo-motor to rectilinear movement, and hydraulic piston acts as a piston rod, of which the first end is engaged with the power converter via ball nut and the second end connected to the fluid line for the linear movement.
Both Hettrich in view of Liu et al. and Lim et al. are analogous in the field of vehicle hydraulic pressure supply systems, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the servo-injector in Hettrich in view of Liu et al. to include the hydraulic pressure supply device comprising a hydraulic pressure unit, a motor configured to generate power by electrical energy, a power converter connected with the motor and configured to convert the rotation of the motor to a linear movement, a drive shaft connecting the motor to the power converter, and a hydraulic piston connected to the power converter and movably inserted in the fluid line for linear movement as taught in Lim et al. in order to supply hydraulic pressure as taught by Lim et al. in Par. 61,62.
As to claim 15 Hettrich in view of Liu et al., and in further view of Lim et al. discloses the battery system od claim 14 (see discussion of claim 14),
wherein a driveshaft of the servo-motor includes a thread (see e.g. Lim et al. discloses a screw which is integrally formed with the rotational shaft of the motor in Par. 115),
wherein the power converter includes a thread engaged to the thread of the driveshaft of the servo-motor (see e.g. Lim et al. discloses a ball nut which is screw-coupled to the screw in a state in which a rotation of the ball nut is restricted to perform a rectilinear movement according to a rotation of the screw in Par. 115), and
wherein the first end of the piston rod (see discussion of claim 14) is fixed to a side of the power converter (see e.g. Lim et al. discloses the hydraulic piston 114 is connected to the ball nut of the power converter 130 in Par. 115).
As to claim 16 Hettrich in view of Liu et al., and in further view of Lim et al. discloses the battery system of claim 14 (see discussion of claim 14),
wherein a driveshaft of the servo-motor is fixed to the power converter (see discussion of claim 15, Lim et al discloses a ball nut which is screw-coupled to the screw, of which is integrally formed with the rotational shaft of the motor in Par. 115),
wherein the power converter includes a thread (see discussion of claim 15, Lim et al. discloses the ball nut of the power converter 130 in Par. 115),
wherein the first end of the piston rod includes a thread engaged to the thread of the power converter (see e.g. Lim et al. discloses the hydraulic piston 114 is connected to the ball nut of the power converter 130 in Par. 115).
Claims 18 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettrich (US20200168959A1).
As to claim 18 Hettrich discloses the battery system of claim 17 (see discussion of claim 17).
Hettrich also discloses when the battery is discharged, the anode tends to contract upon the release of lithium ions into the electrolyte in Par. 79 and management of this process occurs by providing pressure or releasing pressure, as needed, depending on battery metrics in Par. 79.
Hettrich does not explicitly disclose wherein, in response that the surface pressure of the battery module measured by the load cell is smaller than a predetermined range, the battery management system is configured to increase the pressurizing force applied to the battery module through the pressurizing device.
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the battery system in Hettrich so that when the battery is discharged, the surface pressure will be measured as smaller than the predetermined range and that the system would manage this change by providing increased pressure to the battery as taught in Hettrich in order to manage the volume expansion of active materials in the battery in Par. 79.
As to claim 19 Hettrich discloses the battery system of claim 17 (see discussion of claim 17).
Hettrich also discloses when the battery is charging, the anode tends to expand upon intercalation of lithium ions in Par. 79.
Hettrich does not explicitly disclose wherein, in response that the surface pressure of the battery module measured by the load cell is greater than a predetermined range, the battery management system is configured to decrease the pressurizing force applied to the battery module through the pressurizing device.
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skills in the art to modify the battery system in Hettrich that when the battery is charging, the surface pressure will be measured as greater than the predetermined range and that the system would manage this change by reducing pressure to the battery as taught in Hettrich in order to manage the volume expansion of active materials in the battery in Par. 79.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
OSE (US20150134172A1) discloses the charging system has a charging section that charges an all-solid-state battery. A pressing section applies confining pressure to the all-solid-state battery. A pressure control section controls the confining pressure, and directs the pressing section so that the confining pressure during charging is higher than the confining pressure during discharging.
/COLIN MICHAEL ZORIJ/Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723