Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 21-32, in the reply filed on December 8, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8, 21, 23 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gross (US 2001/0016992).
Claim 1: Gross discloses a blow molding system (¶¶ 54-59, 88-89; figs. 1-7). The system includes an extrusion system including at least one extruder configured to extrude a parison having an interior cavity (fig. 6; ¶ 88); a blow pin (61) configured to extend into the interior cavity of the parison extruded from the extrusion system (¶¶ 88-89; figs. 6-7); and a mold assembly defining a mold chamber configured to receive the parison, the mold assembly including a plurality of mold cavities each facing the mold chamber and defining a profile of a sole component of an article of footwear (figs. 6-7; ¶¶ 46-47, 88-89).
Claim 6: Gross discloses the plurality of mold cavities includes a first mold cavity defining a profile of a first sole plate of an article of footwear and a second mold cavity defining a profile of a second sole plate of the article of footwear having a different configuration than the first sole plate (¶¶ 47, 101; fig. 34; left and right boots).
Claim 8: Gross discloses the mold cavities defines a profile for a sole plate including a full-length sole plate body and a plurality of traction elements (¶¶ 46-47; figs. 6-7).
Claim 21: Gross discloses the blow pin being configured to receive a pressurized fluid and inject the fluid into the interior cavity of the parison to expand the parison within the mold chamber (¶ 41).
Claim 23: Gross discloses a blow molding system (¶¶ 54-59; figs. 1-7). The system includes an extrusion system including at least one extruder configured to extrude a parison having an interior cavity (fig. 6; ¶ 88); a blow pin (61) configured to extend into the interior cavity of the parison extruded from the extrusion system (¶¶ 88-89; figs. 6-7); and a mold assembly defining a mold chamber configured to receive the parison, the mold assembly including a first ground-engaging structure of a first sole structure and a second mold cavity facing the mold chamber and defining a second ground-engaging structure of a second sole structure (figs. 6-7, 34; ¶¶ 46-47, 88-89, 101).
Claim 30: Gross discloses the first mold cavity opposing the second mold cavity (figs. 6-7, 34).
Claim 31: Gross discloses the parison extending between the first and second mold cavities (figs. 6-7).
Claim 32: Gross discloses the mold cavities defines a profile for a sole plate including a full-length sole plate body and a plurality of traction elements (¶¶ 46-47; figs. 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 22 and 24-29are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross (US 2001/0016992), as applied to claims 1 and 23 above, in view of Strum (EP 0321946).
Claims 2 and 24: Gross discloses the at least one extruder includes a first extruder configured to extrude a first layer of the parison, but is silent as to a second extruder configured to extrude a second layer of the parison concentric with the first layer. However, Strum discloses a blow molding system including an extrusion system including two extruders configured to extrude a parison having an interior cavity (fig. 1; ¶ 6). As taught by Strum, using multiple extruders allows for a multilayer parison to be formed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included multiple extruders in the system of Gross to allow multilayer parisons to be formed.
Claims 3-5 and 27-29: A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). Moreover, Gross discloses the use of polymers and recycled materials (claims 15 and 19). Likewise, Strum discloses the first and second different materials, including polypropylene and recycled materials (¶ 14).
Claims 22 and 25: Strum discloses the extruders being configured to intermittently extrude the second layer along a length of the parison such that the second layer is omitted in a first region of the parison (¶ 6).
Claim 26: Gross discloses the first region corresponds to a midfoot region of at least one of the first ground-engaging structure and the second ground-engaging structure (figs. 28, 34; ¶¶ 46-47, 101).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross (US 2001/0016992), as applied to claim 1 above in vew of Cargile (US 2002/0136794).
Claim 7: Gross is silent as to a plurality of first and second cavities. However, Cargile discloses a blow molding system including a plurality of first and second cavities (figs. 1-3). As taught by Cargile, including additional cavities increases the capacity of blow molding systems (¶ 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included additional cavities in the system of Gross to increase the capacity of the blow molding system. Moreover, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza 245 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
/LARRY W THROWER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754