DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, on page 8 third paragraph, that in Lee, if a first priority is present, the second priority is not present, and if the second priority is present, the first priority is not present, then the applicant concludes that Lee's plurality of priority values do not satisfy "first information indicating a plurality of first priorities respectively for each of a plurality of frequency bands and second information indicating a plurality of second priorities for each of the plurality of frequency bands, wherein the second priority is different from the first priority for each of the plurality of frequency bands". The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim requires acquiring the first information and the second information but does not require acquiring the two pieces of information simultaneously. In fact, the specification discloses acquiring the first information in [0024] and then changing the first priority to a second priority in [0025]-[0036] based on executing a function in the band. Lee teaches receiving first priorities information for frequency bands and changing the first priorities to a second priorities based on executing a function .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 2 recites “acquiring, from a base station apparatus, first information indicating a plurality of first priorities respectively for each of a plurality of frequency bands and second information indicating a plurality of second priorities for each of the plurality of frequency bands”. The underlined limitation is not supported in the original specification. Paragraph [0024] of the specification discloses the base station sending the first information. Subsequent paragraphs disclose the base station sends a second information indicating whether a function can be executed in a predetermined band and the terminal may change the band priority to a second priority. However, the specification does not disclose receiving the second priorities from the base station.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (AU2019312061 A1) .
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. teach A terminal apparatus (Electronic Device 101 in Fig. 1) that executes selection of a connection target cell ([058] an operation of selection a cell) from among a plurality of cells formed by one or more base station apparatuses ([230] FIG. 17 describes a cell reselection procedure, according to an embodiment. The number of cells or the shape of a cell may not be limited to the exemplification illustrated in FIG. 17), comprising:
one or more processors (processor 120 in Fig. 1); and
one or more memories (memory 130 in Fig. 1) that store a computer-readable instruction for causing, when executed by the one or more processors ([62] The memory 130 may store various data used by at least one component (e.g., the processor 120 or the sensor module 176) of the electronic device 101. The various data may include, for example, software (e.g., the program 140), the one or more processors to perform a method comprising:
acquiring, from a base station apparatus, first information indicating a plurality of first priorities respectively for each of a plurality of frequency bands ([235] the electronic device 101 receives priority information about frequencies used for a plurality of base stations (or cells), via the system information, Fig. 20 showing Cell on lower-priority frequency (2010) and cell on higher -priority frequency (2030), [266] When the channel QoS of a cell 2030 of a frequency with a high priority during channel measurement is higher than a specific third threshold value (e.g., ThreshXhigh) 2080, the electronic device 101 may reselect the cell of a frequency with a high priority as a serving cell) and second information indicating a plurality of second priorities for each of the plurality of frequency bands , wherein the second priority is different from the first priority for each of the plurality of frequency bands ([266] When the QoS channel of the cell 2010 of a frequency with a low priority is higher than the specific fourth threshold value (e.g., ThreshX-low) 2040 and the QoS of the serving cell 2020 is lower than the specific fifth threshold value (e.g., ThreshServing-low) 2050, the electronic device 101 may reselect the cell 2010 of a frequency with a low priority as a serving cell, [261] When the electronic device 101 prefers the URLLC service by user settings or network settings, the electronic device 101 may identify a providable network slice type based on the network slice information of neighboring cells and may change priority information such that the priority of the second cell is higher than the priority of the first cell Note: The second priority is interpreted as any priority different from the first priority. Therefore, any change to the first priority is a second priority . The frequency 2010 had a first low priority received from the base station and a second different high priority during selection in [266]. Also, a changed priority of the second cell is considered a second priority ), and acquiring, from the base station apparatus, third information indicating whether the base station apparatus can execute a predetermined function in one or more of predetermined frequency bands from among the plurality of frequency bands (Fig. 19 step 1905, [254]-[255] the electronic device 101 identifies network capability information. For example, the network capability information may be included in the SIB. The network capability information may further include information about a neighboring cell in addition to information described in FIG. 4a... The information about a neighboring cell may further include network slice information of the neighboring cell. For example, the network slice information of the information about a neighboring cell may indicate a service, which the neighboring cell is capable of providing, from among eMBB, URLLC, and mMTC service) ; and
executing selection of a connection destination cell , on the basis of the third information and the predetermined function that can be executed by the terminal apparatus ([260] the electronic device changes the priority information about the network service type or the priority information about a frequency (or cell), based on the network slice information) according to the first priority corresponding to the predetermined frequency band when the base station apparatus and the terminal apparatus can execute the predetermined function in the predetermined frequency band ([261] When the serving cell in which the electronic device 101 is positioned is capable of providing the URLLC service, the electronic device 101 may prefer a cell capable of providing the URLLC service ), and according to the second priority when the base station apparatus or the terminal apparatus cannot execute the predetermined function in the predetermined frequency band ([261] the first cell may provide the eMBB service and the second cell may provide the eMBB and URLLC services. When the electronic device 101 prefers the URLLC service by user settings or network settings, the electronic device 101 may identify a providable network slice type based on the network slice information of neighboring cells and may change priority information such that the priority of the second cell is higher than the priority of the first cell).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. teach The terminal apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the control method further comprises acquiring the third information from the one or more base station apparatuses ([255] the electronic device 101 receives priority information about frequencies used for a plurality of base stations).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. teach The terminal apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the predetermined function is a narrowband communication function ([137] The type of network service received by the electronic device 101 may include at least one of eMBB, URLLC, or mMTC, [255 the neighboring cell is capable of providing, from among eMBB, URLLC, and mMTC service).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. teach The terminal apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the predetermined function is an early measurement report function ([265] frequency priority information may affect the measurement of the specific frequency of the electronic device 101)..
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al. teach The terminal apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the predetermined function is a function for implementing a network slice ([0255] The information about a neighboring cell may further include network slice information of the neighboring cell)identified by Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) ([0143] The electronic device 101 may determine the network slice instance or the type of network service, based at least partly on network slice information (e.g., network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI))), Slice/Service type (SST), or Slice Differentiator (SD).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, each is rejected similar to claim 1
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAID M ELNOUBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2644