DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to Application No. 18/516,700 filed on 11/21/2023. Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Examiner notes that the fundamentals of the rejection are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Any reference to specific figures, column, line and paragraphs should not be considered limiting in any way, the entire cited reference, as well as any secondary teaching reference(s), are considered to provide relevant disclosure relating to the claimed invention. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “A battery management system for use with a vehicle having a first battery set and a second battery set for independently powering an electric motor to propel the vehicle, the battery management system, the battery management system comprising:”, with duplicate phrase “the battery management system”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “charging terminal configured for charging” in claim 15.
Upon reviewing Published Specification US20240181890 for corresponding structure, the Examiner finds that the Specification recites sufficient structure to perform the claimed function in at least [¶0054], “Charging terminal 1632 comprises a port, plug or other connection configured for being releasably connected to a remote or external power source 1633 (shown in broken lines). Charging terminal 1632 is selectively connectable to each and any of battery sets 1642 by controller 1640 and electric switching circuitry 1350 for individually charging the battery sets 1642. The remote power source 1633 may be provided at a geographically fixed charging station or may be provided by a portable charging vehicle or trailer.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “The system of claim 11, the controller is to notify an operator of the component for which power consumption is limited by the controller.”. The examiner cannot determine, due to the lack of a clear transitional phrase (e.g., "comprising") and from the structure of the claim, i) where the preamble ends and the body of the claim begins, in order to properly interpret the claim (see MPEP 2111.02), and ii) whether the claim is intended to be an open-ended claim or a closed claim (see MPEP 2111.03). Accordingly, the claim is considered to be indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 – 8, 10 – 12, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20100121511 Onnerud et al. (Onnerud hereafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Onnerud discloses A battery pack auto sensing and switching system (See at least Onnerud [Abstract], “A controller communicates with individual battery modules in the array and controls switching to connect the modules in drive and charging configurations. The module management electronics monitor conditions of each battery module, including the cells it contains, and communicates these conditions to the controller.) comprising: a vehicle (See at least Onnerud [¶0010], “the present invention provides an electric vehicle”) comprising;
an electric motor to propel the vehicle (See at least Onnerud [¶0010], “an electric drive”);
a battery pack comprising (See at least Onnerud [¶0010], “an array of battery modules to power the electric drive”):
a first battery set; and a second battery set (See at least Onnerud [¶0029], “The number of battery modules 115 is dependent on the type of system in which the modules 115 are employed. For example, a scooter may only require one battery module 115a, but a car may require ten battery modules 115.”);
a controller (See at least Onnerud [¶0030], “A controller 110 may be configured to receive module conditions from module management electronics of each battery module 115a-n.”) configured to:
concurrently electrically connect the first battery set and the second battery set to the electric motor (See at least Onnerud [¶0024], “The battery modules of the array may be controlled by the module management electronics and charged using low-voltage by a power adapter, all of which are connected to a high-voltage power bus. A network of switches allows those battery modules to be connected in series when discharging and to be isolated from one another when charging. Multiple sets of series-connected battery modules may be connected in parallel within the array for higher power output.”);
and to determine a fault condition with respect to the first battery set (See at least Onnerud [¶0031], “The maintenance of up-to-date condition information allows the controller 110 to monitor and detect faults in each battery module 115a-n, such as battery module imbalance, thermal fuse activation, non-optimal temperature, etc.”) and in response to the fault condition,
electrically disconnect the first battery set from the electric motor (See at least Onnerud [¶0031], “the module management electronics may place the battery module 115 in a permanent shutdown protective mode. [] If a battery module 115 is placed in permanent shutdown protective mode, the battery module 115 will no longer be allowed to operate.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the fault condition comprises a temperature value associated with the first battery set exceeding a predetermined temperature threshold (See at least Onnerud [¶0032], “If the module management electronics detect that the temperature of a battery module 115 is too high, the module management electronics may place the battery module 115 in a permanent shutdown protective mode. However, if the module management electronics detect that the temperature of the battery module 115 is too cold, the module management electronics may place the battery module 115 in a temporary shutdown protective mode”).
Regarding Claim 5, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the fault condition comprises a voltage value associated with the first battery set exceeding a predetermined maximum voltage threshold or falling below a predetermined minimum voltage threshold (See at least Onnerud [¶0037, 0055], “The independent overvoltage protection integrated circuit 302 may allow for monitoring of each cell of the battery module 115 by comparing each value to an internal reference voltage. By doing so, the independent overvoltage protection integrated circuit 302 may initiate a protection mechanism if cell voltages perform in an undesired manner”, “These parameters would include each individual cell voltage, the current in or out of the module, and the temperature of the thermistor inside the module at the time of failure, as well as the reason for the permanent failure (cell overvoltage, cell undervoltage, module overvoltage, module undervoltage, overcurrent during charging, overcurrent during discharging, overtemperature, cell imbalance, communication failure, etc.).”).
Regarding Claim 6, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 5, wherein the voltage value is a voltage value of an individual battery cell of the first battery set (See at least Onnerud [¶0038], “The independent overvoltage protection integrated circuit 302 may monitor each individual cell of the multiple storage cells 301 across the VC1, VC2, VC3, VC4, and VC5 terminals (which are ordered from the most positive cell to most negative cell, respectively). Additionally, the independent overvoltage protection integrated circuit 302 may allow the controller 110 to measure each cell of the multiple storage cells 301. The independent overvoltage protection integrated circuit 302 internal control circuit is powered by and monitors a regulated voltage (Vcc).”).
Regarding Claim 7, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 5, wherein the voltage value is an output voltage of the first battery set (See at least Onnerud [¶0027], “The battery modules 115a-n are connected in series to provide a high voltage required by the vehicle drive from the modules 115 having a nominal output voltage in the range of about 5V to about 17V, as used in PCs. Additional serial arrays may be coupled in parallel to increase the available power to the drive.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is part of a battery management system (See at least Onnerud [¶0030], “A controller 110 may be configured to receive module conditions from module management electronics of each battery module 115a-n. The controller 110 may also be configured to control the operation of each individual battery module 115a-n in the array 114, such as switching modules into and out of the array and additional control of the balancing of the battery modules during charging.”) and wherein the fault condition comprises an internal communications loss within the battery management system (See at least Onnerud [¶0055], “These parameters would include [] the reason for the permanent failure ([], communication failure, etc.)”).
Regarding Claim 10, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the fault condition is selected from a group of fault conditions consisting of: an electrical current associated with the first battery set failing to satisfy a predefined criterium; failure of a relay associated with the first battery set; and any fault that has a 100% power derating; a first battery set cell voltage sampling line break; and a first battery set cell temperature sampling line break (See at least Onnerud [¶0013, 0031. 0042-0045, 0051-0053], “the following module parameters would be available to the battery array controller: temperature, voltage of module, instantaneous current, average current, SOC, full charge capacity, charge cycle count, design charge capacity, date of module manufacture, SOH, safety status, permanent failure alert, permanent failure status, design energy capacity, lifetime maximum and minimum module temperatures, lifetime maximum and minimum cell voltages, lifetime maximum and minimum module voltages, lifetime maximum charging and discharging current level, lifetime maximum charging and discharging power, voltage of each cell, and charge of each cell.”, “By collecting condition data over time from each battery module 115, the controller 110 may maintain up-to-date condition information for each battery module”).
Regarding Claim 11, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to apply a limit to power consumption by a component of the vehicle in response to disconnection of the first battery set from the electrical motor (See at least Onnerud [¶0026, 0032], “The controller may also provide a real-time load power limit feedback signal to a vehicle drive controller in order prevent over-discharge and/or over-temperature conditions within the array. The load power limit feedback signal allows the vehicle drive controller to reduce the maximum vehicle drive load based on up-to-date temperature and SOC conditions of the array.”, “Whenever a module is shutdown, a backup module may be switched into the series circuit. If none is available, and if sets of battery modules 115a-n are connected in parallel, the controller 110 may also require that a parallel battery module be shut down to maintain equal voltage output from the parallel sets.”, i.e., power is limited whenever a module is shut down).
Regarding Claim 12, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 11, the controller is to notify an operator of the component for which power consumption is limited by the controller (See at least Onnerud [¶0026, 0032], “The controller may also notify the user (or operator) of the vehicle when a battery module (or a storage cell included therein) needs maintenance through a communications bus that is common to other systems within the vehicle. ”, “ if the module management electronics place a battery module 115 in temporary shutdown protective mode, the controller 110 may notify the operator of the vehicle that a battery module 115 has experienced a fault but the battery module 115 will not require immediate replacement.”, i.e., fault condition that results in power limit is communicated to the operator).
Regarding Claim 16, Onnerud discloses A battery pack auto sensing and switching system (See at least Onnerud [Abstract], “A controller communicates with individual battery modules in the array and controls switching to connect the modules in drive and charging configurations. The module management electronics monitor conditions of each battery module, including the cells it contains, and communicates these conditions to the controller.) comprising: a vehicle (See at least Onnerud [¶0010], “the present invention provides an electric vehicle”) comprising;
a charging terminal for connection to an external power source (See at least Onnerud [¶0024], “The battery modules of the array may be controlled by the module management electronics and charged using low-voltage by a power adapter, all of which are connected to a high-voltage power bus.”);
a battery pack comprising battery sets (See at least Onnerud [¶0010], “an array of battery modules to power the electric drive”);
a controller (See at least Onnerud [¶0030], “A controller 110 may be configured to receive module conditions from module management electronics of each battery module 115a-n.”) configured to:
concurrently electrically connect the battery sets to the charging terminal (See at least Onnerud [¶0024], “The battery modules of the array may be controlled by the module management electronics and charged using low-voltage by a power adapter, all of which are connected to a high-voltage power bus. A network of switches allows those battery modules to be connected in series when discharging and to be isolated from one another when charging. Multiple sets of series-connected battery modules may be connected in parallel within the array for higher power output.”); and
to determine a fault condition with respect to a particular battery set of the battery sets (See at least Onnerud [¶0031], “The maintenance of up-to-date condition information allows the controller 110 to monitor and detect faults in the each battery module 115a-n, such as battery module imbalance, thermal fuse activation, non-optimal temperature, etc.”) and in response to the fault condition, electrically disconnect the particular battery set from the charging terminal (See at least Onnerud [¶0031], “the module management electronics may place the battery module 115 in a permanent shutdown protective mode. [] If a battery module 115 is placed in permanent shutdown protective mode, the battery module 115 will no longer be allowed to operate.”).
Regarding Claim 18, Onnerud discloses The battery pack auto sensing and switching system of claim 16, wherein the controller is configured to monitor a voltage difference between individual battery sets (See at least Onnerud [¶0031], “the controller 110 may maintain up-to-date condition information for each battery module 115a-n, e.g., temperature, current, capacity, and voltage. The maintenance of up-to-date condition information allows the controller 110 to monitor and detect faults in the each battery module 115a-n, such as battery module imbalance”) and is configured to disconnect those battery sets from the charging terminal that have voltage levels differing from an average of voltage levels of remaining battery sets by an amount exceeding a predefined voltage difference threshold (See at least Onnerud [¶0031, 0053], “the module management electronics may place the battery module 115 in a permanent shutdown protective mode. [] If a battery module 115 is placed in permanent shutdown protective mode, the battery module 115 will no longer be allowed to operate.”, “when the SOH of any one battery module drops below a specific threshold relative to the SOH of any other battery module in the array, the host controller will alert the user that the battery array is in need of servicing (in a similar method to those mentioned above). For example, if the maximum difference threshold is set to 8% and a first module is at 95% SOH and a second module is at 88% SOH, this would cause the host controller to indicate to the user that the array is in need of servicing.”).
Regarding Claim 19, Onnerud discloses A battery management system (See at least Onnerud [¶0028], “Each battery module 115a-n may include several electric energy storage cells (not shown in FIG. 1) and module management electronics”) for use with a vehicle (See at least Onnerud [¶0010], “the present invention provides an electric vehicle”) having a first battery set and a second battery set for independently powering an electric motor to propel the vehicle (See at least Onnerud [¶0010], “an array of battery modules to power the electric drive”), the battery management system, the battery management system comprising:
a processing unit (See at least Onnerud [¶0048], “comprised of a plurality of cells and the electronics to control the charging and discharging of those cells, as well as the electronics to communicate certain parameters such as the SOC, voltage, current, temperature to a host processor”);
a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions configured to direct the processing unit (See at least Onnerud [¶0033, 0054], “A controller 110 may also be programmed with an algorithm”, “a service technician would be able to read the contents of the host controller's memory”, i.e., the controller has memory that can store a program or algorithm) to:
concurrently electrically connect the first battery set and the second battery set to the electric motor (See at least Onnerud [¶0024], “The battery modules of the array may be controlled by the module management electronics and charged using low-voltage by a power adapter, all of which are connected to a high-voltage power bus. A network of switches allows those battery modules to be connected in series when discharging and to be isolated from one another when charging. Multiple sets of series-connected battery modules may be connected in parallel within the array for higher power output.”); and
to determine a fault condition with respect to the first battery set (See at least Onnerud [¶0031], “The maintenance of up-to-date condition information allows the controller 110 to monitor and detect faults in the each battery module 115a-n, such as battery module imbalance, thermal fuse activation, non-optimal temperature, etc.”); and
in response to the fault condition, electrically disconnect the first battery set from the electric motor (See at least Onnerud [¶0031], “the module management electronics may place the battery module 115 in a permanent shutdown protective mode. [] If a battery module 115 is placed in permanent shutdown protective mode, the battery module 115 will no longer be allowed to operate.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100121511 Onnerud as applied to claims 1, 16, and 19 above, and further in view of WO 2017221569 AIZAWA (AIZAWA hereafter).
Regarding Claim 2, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is further configured to monitor presence of the fault condition and in response to the fault condition no longer being present, reconnect the first battery set to the electric motor.
However, AIZAWA is directed towards a Battery Pack and discloses the controller is further configured to monitor presence of the fault condition and in response to the fault condition no longer being present, reconnect the first battery set to the electric motor (see at least AIZAWA, English Translation [Page 6, Lines 4 – 13], “the control unit 3 electrically separates the abnormal battery module 2 from the other battery modules 2 by turning off the switch SW of the abnormal battery module 2 . Furthermore, when the voltage difference Vd between the voltage (closed circuit voltage) of the battery B of another battery module 2 (battery module 2 having a switch SW that is turned on) other than the battery module 2 that has returned to normal from an abnormality (battery module 2 in a reconnectable state) and the voltage (open circuit voltage) of the battery B of the battery module 2 that has returned to normal from an abnormality is equal to or less than the threshold value Vth, the control unit 3 turns on the switch SW of the battery module 2 that has returned to normal, thereby reconnecting the battery module 2 that has returned to normal to the other battery module 2.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered the teachings of AIZAWA to modify Onnerud, with a reasonable expectation of success, to use the technique of monitoring presence of the fault condition and in response to the fault condition no longer being present, reconnect the first battery set to the electric motor, for the purpose of improving the charging and power delivery of the electric vehicle by reconnecting batteries that have returned to normal operating conditions and balancing the operation of the battery array.
Regarding Claim 3, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: monitor presence of the fault condition (See at least Onnerud [¶0031], “The maintenance of up-to-date condition information allows the controller 110 to monitor and detect faults in the each battery module 115a-n, such as battery module imbalance, thermal fuse activation, non-optimal temperature, etc.”);
monitor a first voltage of the first battery set and a second voltage of the second battery set (See at least Onnerud [¶0038], “The independent overvoltage protection integrated circuit 302 may monitor each individual cell of the multiple storage cells 301 across the VC1, VC2, VC3, VC4, and VC5 terminals (which are ordered from the most positive cell to most negative cell, respectively). Additionally, the independent overvoltage protection integrated circuit 302 may allow the controller 110 to measure each cell of the multiple storage cells 301. The independent overvoltage protection integrated circuit 302 internal control circuit is powered by and monitors a regulated voltage (Vcc).”);
monitor a voltage difference between the first voltage and the second voltage (See at least Onnerud [¶0055], “These parameters would include each individual cell voltage, the current in or out of the module, and the temperature of the thermistor inside the module at the time of failure, as well as the reason for the permanent failure (cell overvoltage, cell undervoltage, module overvoltage, module undervoltage, overcurrent during charging, overcurrent during discharging, overtemperature, cell imbalance, communication failure, etc.).”);
Onnerud does not explicitly disclose reconnect the first battery set to the electric motor in response to the fault condition no longer being present and the
voltage difference being less than a predetermined voltage difference threshold ;
reconnect the first battery set to the electric motor and disconnect the second battery set from the electric motor in response to the fault condition no longer being present and the voltage difference being greater than the predetermined voltage difference threshold and the first voltage being greater than the second voltage; and
maintain connection of the second battery set to the electric motor and maintain disconnection of the first battery set from the electric motor in response to the fault condition no longer being present and the voltage difference being greater than the predetermined voltage difference threshold and the second voltage being greater than the first voltage.
However, AIZAWA discloses reconnect the first battery set to the electric motor in response to the fault condition no longer being present and the voltage difference being less than a predetermined voltage difference threshold (see at least AIZAWA, English Translation [Page 6, Lines 4 – 13], “the control unit 3 electrically separates the abnormal battery module 2 from the other battery modules 2 by turning off the switch SW of the abnormal battery module 2 . Furthermore, when the voltage difference Vd between the voltage (closed circuit voltage) of the battery B of another battery module 2 (battery module 2 having a switch SW that is turned on) other than the battery module 2 that has returned to normal from an abnormality (battery module 2 in a reconnectable state) and the voltage (open circuit voltage) of the battery B of the battery module 2 that has returned to normal from an abnormality is equal to or less than the threshold value Vth, the control unit 3 turns on the switch SW of the battery module 2 that has returned to normal, thereby reconnecting the battery module 2 that has returned to normal to the other battery module 2.”, the control unit monitors the parameters of the battery modules and controls the connection state of the individual battery modules based on predetermined thresholds.);
reconnect the first battery set to the electric motor and disconnect the second battery set from the electric motor in response to the fault condition no longer being present and the voltage difference being greater than the predetermined voltage difference threshold and the first voltage being greater than the second voltage (see at least AIZAWA, English Translation [Page 6, Lines 4 – 13], above, the control unit monitors the parameters of the battery modules and presence of the fault condition, and controls the connection state of the individual battery modules based on predetermined thresholds.) and
maintain connection of the second battery set to the electric motor and maintain disconnection of the first battery set from the electric motor in response to the fault condition no longer being present and the voltage difference being greater than the predetermined voltage difference threshold and the second voltage being greater than the first voltage (see at least AIZAWA, English Translation [Page 6, Lines 4 – 13], above, the control unit monitors the parameters of the battery modules and presence of the fault condition, and controls the connection state of the individual battery modules based on predetermined thresholds.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered the teachings of AIZAWA to modify Onnerud, with a reasonable expectation of success, to use the technique of monitoring the parameters of the battery modules and presence of the fault condition, and controlling the connection state of the individual battery modules based on predetermined thresholds, for the purpose of improving the charging and power delivery of the electric vehicle by reconnecting batteries that have returned to normal operating conditions and balancing the operation of the battery array.
Regarding Claim 15, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle further comprises a charging terminal configured for charging the first battery set and the second battery set (See at least Onnerud [¶0024], “The battery modules of the array may be controlled by the module management electronics and charged using low-voltage by a power adapter, all of which are connected to a high-voltage power bus.”) and wherein the controller is configured to:
monitor a first voltage of the first battery set and a second voltage of the second battery set (See at least Onnerud [¶0038], “The independent overvoltage protection integrated circuit 302 may monitor each individual cell of the multiple storage cells 301 across the VC1, VC2, VC3, VC4, and VC5 terminals (which are ordered from the most positive cell to most negative cell, respectively). Additionally, the independent overvoltage protection integrated circuit 302 may allow the controller 110 to measure each cell of the multiple storage cells 301. The independent overvoltage protection integrated circuit 302 internal control circuit is powered by and monitors a regulated voltage (Vcc).”);
monitor a voltage difference between the first voltage and the second voltage (See at least Onnerud [¶0055], “These parameters would include each individual cell voltage, the current in or out of the module, and the temperature of the thermistor inside the module at the time of failure, as well as the reason for the permanent failure (cell overvoltage, cell undervoltage, module overvoltage, module undervoltage, overcurrent during charging, overcurrent during discharging, overtemperature, cell imbalance, communication failure, etc.).”);
Onnerud does not explicitly disclose connect the first battery set and the second battery set to the charging terminal in response to the fault condition no longer being present and the voltage difference being less than a predetermined voltage difference threshold;
disconnect the first battery set from the charging terminal and connect the second battery set to the charging terminal in response to the fault condition no longer being present and the voltage difference being greater than the predetermined voltage difference threshold and the first voltage being greater than the second voltage; and
disconnect the second battery set from the charging terminal and connect the first battery set to the charging terminal in response to the fault condition no longer being present and the voltage difference being greater than the predetermined voltage difference threshold and the second voltage being greater than the first voltage.
However, AIZAWA discloses connect the first battery set and the second battery set to the charging terminal in response to the fault condition no longer being present and the voltage difference being less than a predetermined voltage difference threshold (see at least AIZAWA, English Translation [Page 6, Lines 4 – 13], “the control unit 3 electrically separates the abnormal battery module 2 from the other battery modules 2 by turning off the switch SW of the abnormal battery module 2 . Furthermore, when the voltage difference Vd between the voltage (closed circuit voltage) of the battery B of another battery module 2 (battery module 2 having a switch SW that is turned on) other than the battery module 2 that has returned to normal from an abnormality (battery module 2 in a reconnectable state) and the voltage (open circuit voltage) of the battery B of the battery module 2 that has returned to normal from an abnormality is equal to or less than the threshold value Vth, the control unit 3 turns on the switch SW of the battery module 2 that has returned to normal, thereby reconnecting the battery module 2 that has returned to normal to the other battery module 2.”, the control unit monitors the parameters of the battery modules and controls the connection state of the individual battery modules based on predetermined thresholds.);
disconnect the first battery set from the charging terminal and connect the second battery set to the charging terminal in response to the fault condition no longer being present and the voltage difference being greater than the predetermined voltage difference threshold and the first voltage being greater than the second voltage(see at least AIZAWA, English Translation [Page 6, Lines 4 – 13], above, the control unit monitors the parameters of the battery modules and presence of the fault condition, and controls the connection state of the individual battery modules based on predetermined thresholds.); and
disconnect the second battery set from the charging terminal and connect the first battery set to the charging terminal in response to the fault condition no longer being present and the voltage difference being greater than the predetermined voltage difference threshold and the second voltage being greater than the first voltage (see at least AIZAWA, English Translation [Page 6, Lines 4 – 13], above, the control unit monitors the parameters of the battery modules and presence of the fault condition, and controls the connection state of the individual battery modules based on predetermined thresholds.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered the teachings of AIZAWA to modify Onnerud, with a reasonable expectation of success, to use the technique of monitoring the parameters of the battery modules and presence of the fault condition, and controlling the connection state of the individual battery modules based on predetermined thresholds, for the purpose of improving the charging and power delivery of the electric vehicle by reconnecting batteries that have returned to normal operating conditions and balancing the operation of the battery array.
Regarding Claim 17, Onnerud discloses The battery pack auto sensing and switching system of claim 16, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to connect a currently disconnected battery set to the charging terminal in response to absence of the fault condition with respect to the disconnected battery and a difference between a voltage of the disconnected battery set and other individual battery sets being less than a predefined voltage difference threshold.
However, AIZAWA discloses wherein the controller is configured to connect a currently disconnected battery set to the charging terminal in response to absence of the fault condition with respect to the disconnected battery and a difference between a voltage of the disconnected battery set and other individual battery sets being less than a predefined voltage difference threshold (see at least AIZAWA, English Translation [Page 6, Lines 4 – 13], “the control unit 3 electrically separates the abnormal battery module 2 from the other battery modules 2 by turning off the switch SW of the abnormal battery module 2 . Furthermore, when the voltage difference Vd between the voltage (closed circuit voltage) of the battery B of another battery module 2 (battery module 2 having a switch SW that is turned on) other than the battery module 2 that has returned to normal from an abnormality (battery module 2 in a reconnectable state) and the voltage (open circuit voltage) of the battery B of the battery module 2 that has returned to normal from an abnormality is equal to or less than the threshold value Vth, the control unit 3 turns on the switch SW of the battery module 2 that has returned to normal, thereby reconnecting the battery module 2 that has returned to normal to the other battery module 2.”, the control unit monitors the parameters of the battery modules and controls the connection state of the individual battery modules based on predetermined thresholds.).
Regarding Claim 20, Onnerud discloses The battery management system of claim 19, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions are further configured to direct the processing unit to: monitor presence of the fault condition and in response to the fault condition no longer being present, reconnect the first battery set to the electric motor.
However, AIZAWA discloses wherein the instructions are further configured to direct the processing unit to: monitor presence of the fault condition and in response to the fault condition no longer being present, reconnect the first battery set to the electric motor (see at least AIZAWA, English Translation [Page 6, Lines 4 – 13], “the control unit 3 electrically separates the abnormal battery module 2 from the other battery modules 2 by turning off the switch SW of the abnormal battery module 2 . Furthermore, when the voltage difference Vd between the voltage (closed circuit voltage) of the battery B of another battery module 2 (battery module 2 having a switch SW that is turned on) other than the battery module 2 that has returned to normal from an abnormality (battery module 2 in a reconnectable state) and the voltage (open circuit voltage) of the battery B of the battery module 2 that has returned to normal from an abnormality is equal to or less than the threshold value Vth, the control unit 3 turns on the switch SW of the battery module 2 that has returned to normal, thereby reconnecting the battery module 2 that has returned to normal to the other battery module 2.”, the control unit monitors the parameters of the battery modules and controls the connection state of the individual battery modules based on predetermined thresholds.).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100121511 Onnerud as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 110843602 SHI (SHI hereafter).
Regarding Claim 9, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is part of a battery management system (See at least Onnerud [¶0030], “A controller 110 may be configured to receive module conditions from module management electronics of each battery module 115a-n. The controller 110 may also be configured to control the operation of each individual battery module 115a-n in the array 114, such as switching modules into and out of the array and additional control of the balancing of the battery modules during charging.”), wherein the vehicle comprises a vehicle control unit (See at least Onnerud [¶0030], “A controller 110 may also be used to [] deliver data detailing the condition of the array 114 of battery modules to a vehicle drive controller 107a of a motor vehicle”)
Onnerud does not explicitly disclose wherein the fault condition comprises a communications loss between the battery management system and the vehicle control unit .
However, SHI, directed towards an Electric vehicle low-voltage power supply management system and method, discloses the fault condition comprises a communications loss between the battery management system and the vehicle control unit (See at least SHI, English Translation, [¶0009, 0024, 0050], “The battery sensor IBS is connected to the battery and the VCU controller, and the VCU controller is connected to the DC/DC”, “Furthermore, if the VCU controller loses communication with the battery sensor IBS, ChrgnUReq=U<sub>Dft</sub>, where U<sub>Dft</sub> is the set voltage value.”, “In the embodiment of the present invention, if the VCU controller loses communication with the battery sensor IBS, ChrgnUReq = U<sub>Dft</sub>, U<sub>Dft</sub> is the set voltage value, which is generally 13.6V.”, i.e., the Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) performs actions based on fault condition of communication failure between the battery management system and the VCU).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered the teachings of SHI to modify Onnerud, with a reasonable expectation of success, to use the technique of identifying a fault condition that comprises a communications loss between the battery management system and the vehicle control unit, for the purpose of efficiently managing the operation of the battery array by identifying faults that may affect the operation and maintenance of the electric vehicle.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100121511 Onnerud as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of WO 2020193466 GRIFFITHS (GRIFFITHS hereafter).
Regarding Claims 13, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the component is selected from a group of components consisting of: a hydraulic pump electrically powered by the electric motor; and the electric motor.
However, GRIFFITHS is directed towards a power distribution and circuit protection for a mobile application having a high efficiency inverter and discloses the component is selected from a group of components consisting of: a hydraulic pump electrically powered by the electric motor; and the electric motor (see at least GRIFFITHS [¶00545, Fig. 92], “The example system 9200 of Fig. 92 further depicts a number of DC loads and sources. In the example of Fig. 92, a high voltage DC interface (650 V, in the example) couples to a high voltage battery 9212 and a main pump motor 9210 (e.g., supporting a hydraulic pump for an off-road vehicle having a large hydraulic system). The main pump motor 9210 and the high voltage battery 9212 are depicted as coupled to the same 650V circuit, although a large DC load (e.g., the main pump motor 9210) and a high voltage battery 9212 need not be at the same voltage on a particular system. In the example of Fig. 92, the main pump motor 9210 is also rated at 80 hp - which in the example allows for the motor/generator 9204 to fully support either traction loads or main pump loads, which may be a contemplated arrangement for a particular system or a contemplated system to support a class of applications.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have considered the teachings of GRIFFITHS to modify Onnerud, with a reasonable expectation of success, to use the technique of selecting a from a group of components consisting of: a hydraulic pump electrically powered by the electric motor; and the electric motor, which are high load components, for the purpose of limiting power consumption by a component of the vehicle in response to disconnection of the first battery set from the electrical motor.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100121511 Onnerud as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US 20110309681 KAMIJIMA (KAMIJIMA hereafter).
Regarding Claims 14, Onnerud discloses The system of claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to remove the limit in response to reconnection of the first battery set to the electric motor.
However, KAMIJIMA, directed towards a secondary battery controller and method for controlling, discloses the controller is configured to remove the limit in response to reconnection of the first battery set to the electric motor (see at least KAMIJIMA [¶0023, 0101], “The control portion connects the selected secondary battery to the load, and then switches the secondary battery connected to the load to another non-selected secondary battery in sequence when the first selected secondary battery reaches a predetermined threshold temperature, and further reconnects the first selected secondary battery to the load when the last selected secondary battery reaches the threshold temperature after all the secondary batteries have been selected.”, “the control portion 9 confirms whether the temperature TBa of the battery A (3A) is less than the first limit temperature T2. If the temperature TBa of the battery A (3A) is less than the first limit temperature T2 (i.e., in the case of "Yes"), then the control portion 9 gives instructions to the operating power control portion 12 to remove the power limitation and restore the power consumption to the power P0 (step S2