Status of the Claims
Claims 1-14 set forth in the amendment submitted 12/09/2025 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the Drawing, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 9/10/2025 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 12/09/2025.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 6-8, filed 12/09/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s)1-2, 4-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Saroj Kumar Mishra (Hereinafter, “Mishra” in the NPL-A Novel Method of Extending the Linearity Range of Linear Variable Differential Transformer Using Artificial Neural Network, Senior Member, IEEE, and Debi Prasad Das, IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT, VOL 59, NO. 4, APRIL 2010 and the rejection of Claim(s) 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT, VOL 59, NO. 4, APRIL 2010) in view of Munch et al. (Hereinafter, “Munch”) in the US Patent Number US 5210490 A have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 6-8, of the remarks, filed on 12/09/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s)1-2, 4-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Saroj Kumar Mishra (Hereinafter, “Mishra” in the NPL-A Novel Method of Extending the Linearity Range of Linear Variable Differential Transformer Using Artificial Neural Network, Senior Member, IEEE, and Debi Prasad Das, IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT, VOL 59, NO. 4, APRIL 2010 and the rejection of Claim(s) 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT, VOL 59, NO. 4, APRIL 2010) in view of Munch et al. (Hereinafter, “Munch”) in the US Patent Number US 5210490 A, that “In that regard, Mishra does not disclose or contemplate "a linear variable differential transformer including a core displaceable in a bore provided in a body and surrounded by a coil arrangement including a primary coil and secondary coils in a displacement range including a linear response range of the linear variable differential transformer, wherein the core is configured to travel beyond at least one of the bore or partly outside the body and wherein the control unit is configured to produce the output signals by or on the basis of evaluating an input dataset including a temperature of the variable differential transformer using a trained artificial intelligence module," as recited (emphasis added)…………….. Applicant respectfully submit that, in the Mishra reference, there is no disclosure of the core being configured to travel beyond at least one of the bore or partly outside the body. For at least these reasons, Mishra does not disclose or contemplate each and every feature of independent claim 1. Accordingly, a prima facie case of anticipation has not been established with respect to claim 1. Applicant therefore respectfully requests that the § 102 rejection of claim 1 be withdrawn (Remarks-Page 7).”
Amended independent claims 10 and 12 recite features similar to those recited in amended independent claim 1. As established above, Mishra does not disclose or contemplate all the recited features of amended independent claim 1. Thus, a prima facie case of anticipation has not been established with respect to claims 10 and 12. Accordingly, Applicant requests that the § 102 rejection of claims 10 and 12 be withdrawn.
…………………
Therefore, Mishra and Munch, even when combined, do not disclose or contemplate each and every of the recited features of independent claim 1, and therefore, claim 3 as well. Thus, a prima facie case of obviousness has not been established with respect to claim 3. Applicant requests that the § 103 rejection of claim 3 be withdrawn (Remarks-Page 8)”.
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 6-8, of the remarks, filed on 12/09/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s)1-2, 4-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Saroj Kumar Mishra (Hereinafter, “Mishra” in the NPL-A Novel Method of Extending the Linearity Range of Linear Variable Differential Transformer Using Artificial Neural Network, Senior Member, IEEE, and Debi Prasad Das, IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT, VOL 59, NO. 4, APRIL 2010 and the rejection of Claim(s) 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT, VOL 59, NO. 4, APRIL 2010) in view of Munch et al. (Hereinafter, “Munch”) in the US Patent Number US 5210490 A, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 9/10//2025 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of independent claim 1 has been withdrawn. However, applicant has amended the claim 1, and added the limitation, “wherein the core is configured to travel beyond at least one of the bore or partly outside the body and wherein the control unit is configured to produce the output signals by or on the basis of evaluating an input dataset including a temperature of the variable differential transformer using a trained artificial intelligence module” which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Therefore, the rejection of Claim(s)1-2, 4-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Saroj Kumar Mishra (Hereinafter, “Mishra” in the NPL-A Novel Method of Extending the Linearity Range of Linear Variable Differential Transformer Using Artificial Neural Network, Senior Member, IEEE, and Debi Prasad Das, IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT, VOL 59, NO. 4, APRIL 2010 and the rejection of Claim(s) 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra (IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT, VOL 59, NO. 4, APRIL 2010) in view of Munch et al. (Hereinafter, “Munch”) in the US Patent Number US 5210490 A, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 9/10//2025 has been withdrawn. Paige in the US Patent Number US 5422555 A is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of independent claim 1. Similar amendment for independent claims 10 and 12. Independent claims 1, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroj Kumar Mishra (Hereinafter, “Mishra” in the NPL-A Novel Method of Extending the Linearity Range of Linear Variable Differential Transformer Using Artificial Neural Network, Senior Member, IEEE, and Debi Prasad Das, IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT, VOL 59, NO. 4, APRIL 2010 in view of Paige in the US Patent Number US 5422555 A, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Dependent Claim(s) 2, 4-9, 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroj Kumar Mishra (Hereinafter, “Mishra” in the NPL-A Novel Method of Extending the Linearity Range of Linear Variable Differential Transformer Using Artificial Neural Network, Senior Member, IEEE, and Debi Prasad Das, IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT, VOL 59, NO. 4, APRIL 2010 in view of Paige in the US Patent Number US 5422555 A and dependent claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroj Kumar Mishra (Hereinafter, “Mishra” in the NPL-A Novel Method of Extending the Linearity Range of Linear Variable Differential Transformer Using Artificial Neural Network, Senior Member, IEEE, and Debi Prasad Das, IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT, VOL 59, NO. 4, APRIL 2010 in view of Paige ‘555 A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Munch et al. (Hereinafter, “Munch”) in the US Patent Number US 5210490 A, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroj Kumar Mishra (Hereinafter, “Mishra” in the NPL-A Novel Method of Extending the Linearity Range of Linear Variable Differential Transformer Using Artificial Neural Network, Senior Member, IEEE, and Debi Prasad Das, IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT, VOL 59, NO. 4, APRIL 2010 in view of Paige in the US Patent Number US 5422555 A.
Regarding claim 1, Mishra teaches an arrangement comprising a linear variable differential transformer (a novel adaptive method of extension of linearity characteristics of LVDTs is proposed; Column 2; Page 947 Line 27-29) including a core (armature in Figure 1) displaceable in a bore (gap between the coils) (Inside the coils, a ferromagnetic armature of length La and radius r, (neglecting the bobbin thickness) moves in an axial direction; Column 1 Page 948; II. LVDT Line 10-12) provided in a body (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Mishra below shows a bore provided in a body) and surrounded by a coil arrangement [m, b, m] (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Mishra below shows a bore provided in a body and surrounded by a coil arrangement b, m) including a primary coil [b] and secondary coils [m] in a displacement range including a linear response range of the linear variable differential transformer (The LVDT consists of a primary coil and two secondary coils. The two secondary coils are connected differentially for providing the output. The secondary coils are located on the two sides or the primary coil on the bobbin or sleeve, and these two output windings (secondary coils) are connected in opposition to produce zero output at the middle position of the armature. The lengths of primary and two identical halves of the secondary coils are b and m, respectively; Column 1 Page 948; II. LVDT Line 1-9),
Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Mishra
wherein the bore at least extends between a first position at a first end of the coil arrangement and a second end at a second end of the coil arrangement (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Mishra above shows the bore at least extends between a first position at a first end of the coil arrangement and a second end at a second end of the coil arrangement), and
wherein the arrangement comprises a control unit (Figure 3 shows a controller as the control unit) configured to produce output signals corresponding to a plurality of positions of the core in the bore (The experimental setup for the proposed FLANN model is shown in Figs. 3 and 4. In the practical setup, the displacement actuator, which is essentially a stepper-motor-controlled displacer, displaces the core of the LVDT in a controlled manner. The main controller gives an actuating signal to the displacement actuator, which displaces the core of the LVDT in one direction. The sleeper-motor-based linear actuator used for displacing the core of the LVDT is assembled in the laboratory, as shown in Fig. 5; Column 1 Page 949 Line 14-23) when an excitation current is supplied to the primary coil (With a primary sinusoidal excitation voltage VP and a current Ir (RMS) of frequency J, the RMS voltage v1 induced in the secondary coil S1; Column 1 Page 948 II. LVDT Line 15-20), characterized in that the displacement range [x] is larger than the linear response range [xm] (Figure 2 shows displacement range larger than linear response range), in that the plurality of positions include positions outside the linear response range (Figure 2 shows the plurality of positions include positions outside the linear response range xm), and in that the control unit (controller in Figure 3) is configured to produce the output signals as output signals indicating the plurality of positions of the core in the bore within and outside of the linear response range (Figure 2) (For a given primary sinusoidal excitation, the secondary output voltage v is nonlinear with respect to displacement x. This is shown in Fig. 2 in which the linear region of the plot is indicated as Xm- This limitation is inherent in all differential systems, and methods of extending the range have been proposed mainly by appropriate design and arrangement of the coils. Some of these are given as follows. 1) Balanced linear tapered secondary coils: improvement in linearity range is not significant. 2) Overwound linear tapered secondary coils: linearity is improved to a certain range. 3) Balanced overwound linear tapered secondary coils: the range specification is similar to 2). 4) Balanced profile secondary coils: helps in extending linearity range by proper profiling of the secondary coils. 5) Complementary tapered windings method: extends the linearity range as well, but the winding is quite complicated as sectionalized winding is done.; Page 948, Column 2 Line 14-28), and
wherein the control unit (Figure 3 shows a controller as the control unit) is configured to produce the output signals by or on the basis of evaluating an input dataset including a temperature of the variable differential transformer (The performance of the LVDT is highly influenced by transducer geometry, arrangement of primary and secondary windings, quality of core material, variations in excitation current and frequency, and changes in ambient and winding temperatures; Page 1 Column 2 Line 4-8) using a trained artificial intelligence module (It is reported in [7]-[9] that the artificial neural network (ANN)-based inverse model can effectively compensate for the nonlinearity effect of the sensors.; Page 1 Column 2 Line 13-15; A functional link artificial neural network has been successfully used in this paper for nonlinear compensation of the LVDT; Page 947; Column 1; Abstract Line 7-9).
Mishra teaches the movement of the core.
However, Mishra fails to teach that wherein the core is configured to travel beyond at least one of the bore or partly outside the body.
Paige teaches a process of creating a reference signal includes moving a magnetically permeable core from outside of a chamber of an LVDT to inside the chamber, creating an output signal from the voltages of the secondary windings of the LVDT (Abstract Line 15-19),
wherein the core [50] in Figure 2 is configured to travel beyond at least one of the bore or partly outside the body [40] (Chamber 40 as the body) (The LVDT 24 includes a hollow cylindrical casing 26 which rests upon a support structure 28. The cylindrical casing defines a chamber 40 which is open at both ends. One end 44 of the chamber 40 faces towards core 50 (hereinafter, the entry end). The longitudinal axis of chamber 40 is parallel with the longitudinal axis of slide support 13. The chamber 40 is of sufficient size to receive core 50, and the support structure 28 places the LVDT 24 at a height and position to allow the entry of core 50 into chamber 40. Windings 30, 33, and 39 are wrapped around the outer surface of casing 26; Column 3 Line 52-63; A system for creating a position reference signal includes a linear variable differential transformer (LVDT), a magnetically permeable core capable of entering and existing the chamber of the LVDT, a positioning means for moving the core in forward and backward directions through a home location in which the core is within said LVDT; Abstract; Figure 2 shows that the core enters inside the chamber). The purpose of doing so is to provide a high precision instruments which are capable of measuring distances within exacting tolerances, to measure and move within precise limits, to provide a measuring apparatus which can use inexpensive LVDT's in a highly precise measuring instrument.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Mishra in view of Paige, because Paige teaches to travel the core beyond at least one of the bore or partly outside the body provides a high precision instruments which are capable of measuring distances within exacting tolerances, measures and move within precise limits (Column 1 Line 8-11), provides a measuring apparatus which can use inexpensive LVDT's in a highly precise measuring instrument (Column 1 Line 36-38).
Regarding claim 2, Mishra teaches an arrangement,
wherein the input dataset further includes at least one of a voltage of the primary coil, one or more voltages of the secondary coils (The performance of the LVDT is highly influenced by transducer geometry, arrangement of primary and secondary windings, quality of core material, variations in excitation current and frequency, and changes in ambient and winding temperatures; Page 1 Column 2 Line 4-8; With a primary sinusoidal excitation voltage VP and a current Ir (RMS) of frequency J, the RMS voltage v1 induced in the
secondary coil S 1 is [l]
; Page 948, Column 1 Line 15-23).
Regarding claim 4, Mishra teaches an arrangement,
wherein the displacement range is larger than a range between the first end and the second end of the bore and wherein the plurality of positions include positions outside the range between the first end and the second end of the bore (For a given primary sinusoidal excitation, the secondary output voltage v is nonlinear with respect to displacement x. This is shown in Fig. 2 in which the linear region of the plot is indicated as Xm- This limitation is inherent in all differential systems, and methods of extending the range have been proposed mainly by appropriate design and arrangement of the coils. Some of these are given as follows. 1) Balanced linear tapered secondary coils: improvement in linearity range is not significant. 2) Overwound linear tapered secondary coils: linearity is improved to a certain range. 3) Balanced overwound linear tapered secondary coils: the range specification is similar to 2). 4) Balanced profile secondary coils: helps in extending linearity range by proper profiling of the secondary coils. 5) Complementary tapered windings method: extends the linearity range as well, but the winding is quite complicated as sectionalized winding is done.; Page 948, Column 2 Line 14-28; Figure 2 shows the displacement range is larger than a range between the first end and the second end of the bore and wherein the plurality of positions include positions outside the range between the first end and the second end of the bore).
Regarding claim 5, Mishra teaches an arrangement,
further comprising means limiting a movement of the core beyond the first and/or the second end by more than a predetermined fraction of a length of the core (The lengths of primary and two identical halves of the secondary coils are b and m, respectively. The coils have an inside radius Ti and an outside radius of r0 . The spacing between the coils is d. Inside the coils, a ferromagnetic armature of length La and radius r, (neglecting the bobbin thickness)
moves in an axial direction. The number of turns in the primary coil is np, and ns is the number of turns in each secondary coils. The cross-sectional view of LVDT is shown in Fig. 1; Page 948, Column 1; II. LVDT Line 7-12).
Regarding claim 6, Mishra teaches an arrangement,
wherein the artificial intelligence module is provided as an externally trained artificial intelligence module (This paper proposes a simple and novel method of designing and developing high-linearity linear variable differential transformer (LVDT)-based displacement sensing systems. The tedious job of pitch adjustment of windings of LVDTs can be overcome by using the proposed method. A functional link artificial neural network has been successfully used in this paper for nonlinear compensation of the LVDT: The effectiveness of the proposed method is demonstrated through computer simulation with the experimental data of two different LVDT; Page 947, Column 1 Abstract Line 1-11).
Regarding claim 7, Mishra teaches an arrangement,
wherein the artificial intelligence module (This paper proposes a simple and novel method of designing and developing high-linearity linear variable differential transformer (LVDT)-based displacement sensing systems. The tedious job of pitch adjustment of windings of LVDTs can be overcome by using the proposed method. A functional link artificial neural network has been successfully used in this paper for nonlinear compensation of the LVDT: The effectiveness of the proposed method is demonstrated through computer simulation with the experimental data of two different LVDT; Page 947, Column 1 Abstract Line 1-11) is trained using training data obtained for at least a subset of said plurality of positions (The proposed scheme can be implemented on a PC-based system where the linear displacement actuator can be connected to the PC to provide linear displacement to the LVDT. The PC can actuate the linear displacement actuator with a known displacement, which, in turn, can displace the core of the LVDT. The PC can collect the analog voltage of the LVDT after signal conditioning as displacement information. This displacement data can be sent to a neural network model, and the output of the neural network will be compared with the known displacement that the PC has sent lo the linear displacement actuator. The error so generated will be used to train the neural network. The process will be repeated until the error gets nullified. This way, we generate a neural model that can be used as a nonlinear compensator. This model can now be implemented on a digital signal processor, a microcontroller, or a f1eld-programmable gate array (FPGA); Page 952 Column 1, V. DISCUSSIONS ON PRACTICAL IMPLEMENTATION Line 1-16).
Regarding claim 8, Mishra teaches an arrangement,
wherein obtaining said training data includes positioning said core at a plurality of training positions and using response data at least in part corresponding to the input data (For a given primary sinusoidal excitation, the secondary output voltage v is nonlinear with respect to displacement x. This is shown in Fig. 2 in which the linear region of the plot is indicated as Xm- This limitation is inherent in all differential systems, and methods of extending the range have been proposed mainly by appropriate design and arrangement of the coils. Some of these are given as follows. 1) Balanced linear tapered secondary coils: improvement in linearity range is not significant. 2) Overwound linear tapered secondary coils: linearity is improved to a certain range. 3) Balanced overwound linear tapered secondary coils: the range specification is similar to 2). 4) Balanced profile secondary coils: helps in extending linearity range by proper profiling of the secondary coils. 5) Complementary tapered windings method: extends the linearity range as well, but the winding is quite complicated as sectionalized winding is done.; Page 948, Column 2 Line 14-28).
Regarding claim 9, Mishra teaches an arrangement,
wherein said training data are obtained for a plurality of operating conditions (To demonstrate the effectiveness of <he FLANN-based non-linear compensator, a computer simulation study has been undertaken using an experimental data set. The simulation is carried out in the MATLAB 7 .0 environment. The experimental data are collected from two different LVDTs having the specifications shown in Table L The data obtained by conducting experiments on the two LVDTs are given in Tables II and III. For developing the adaptive inverse models of the LVDTs, four; Page 950; Column 2; IV. COMPUTER SIMULATIONS; experiments are conducted. The observed simulation results are shown in various figures listed in Table TV. Various FLANN models of Table IV are simulated, and the responses of the models and the overall responses are obtained through simulation. These results, as indicated in Table IV, are shown in Figs. 8-11; Column 1 Page 951; Line 1-6).
Regarding claim 10, Mishra teaches a method of operating an arrangement comprising an open-core linear variable differential transformer (a novel adaptive method of extension of linearity characteristics of LVDTs is proposed; Column 2; Page 947 Line 27-29) including a core (armature in Figure 1) displaceable in a bore (gap between the coils) (Inside the coils, a ferromagnetic armature of length La and radius r, (neglecting the bobbin thickness) moves in an axial direction; Column 1 Page 948; II. LVDT Line 10-12) provided in a body (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Mishra above shows a bore provided in a body) and surrounded by a coil arrangement [m, b, m] (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Mishra above shows a bore provided in a body and surrounded by a coil arrangement b, m) surrounded by a coil arrangement including a primary coil [b] and secondary coils [m] in a displacement range including a linear response range of the linear variable differential transformer (The LVDT consists of a primary coil and two secondary coils. The two secondary coils are connected differentially for providing the output. The secondary coils are located on the two sides or the primary coil on the bobbin or sleeve, and these two output windings (secondary coils) are connected in opposition to produce zero output at the middle position of the armature. The lengths of primary and two identical halves of the secondary coils are b and m, respectively; Column 1 Page 948; II. LVDT Line 1-9),
wherein the bore at least extends between a first position at a first end of the coil arrangement and a second end at a second end of the coil arrangement (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Mishra above shows the bore at least extends between a first position at a first end of the coil arrangement and a second end at a second end of the coil arrangement), and
wherein a control unit (Figure 3 shows a controller as the control unit) configured to produce output signals corresponding to a plurality of positions of the core in the bore (The experimental setup for the proposed FLANN model is shown in Figs. 3 and 4. In the practical setup, the displacement actuator, which is essentially a stepper-motor-controlled displacer, displaces the core of the LVDT in a controlled manner. The main controller gives an actuating signal to the displacement actuator, which displaces the core of the LVDT in one direction. The sleeper-motor-based linear actuator used for displacing the core of the LVDT is assembled in the laboratory, as shown in Fig. 5; Column 1 Page 949 Line 14-23) when an excitation current is supplied to the primary coil (With a primary sinusoidal excitation voltage VP and a current Ir (RMS) of frequency J, the RMS voltage v1 induced in the secondary coil S1; Column 1 Page 948 II. LVDT Line 15-20), characterized in that the displacement range [x] is larger than the linear response range [xm] (Figure 2 shows displacement range larger than linear response range), in that the plurality of positions include positions outside the linear response range (Figure 2 shows the plurality of positions include positions outside the linear response range xm), and that using the control unit (controller in Figure 3) the output signals as output signals indicating the plurality of positions of the core in the bore within and outside of the linear response range (Figure 2) (For a given primary sinusoidal excitation, the secondary output voltage v is nonlinear with respect to displacement x. This is shown in Fig. 2 in which the linear region of the plot is indicated as Xm- This limitation is inherent in all differential systems, and methods of extending the range have been proposed mainly by appropriate design and arrangement of the coils. Some of these are given as follows. 1) Balanced linear tapered secondary coils: improvement in linearity range is not significant. 2) Overwound linear tapered secondary coils: linearity is improved to a certain range. 3) Balanced overwound linear tapered secondary coils: the range specification is similar to 2). 4) Balanced profile secondary coils: helps in extending linearity range by proper profiling of the secondary coils. 5) Complementary tapered windings method: extends the linearity range as well, but the winding is quite complicated as sectionalized winding is done.; Page 948, Column 2 Line 14-28);
wherein the control unit (Figure 3 shows a controller as the control unit) is configured to produce the output signals by or on the basis of evaluating an input dataset including a temperature of the variable differential transformer (The performance of the LVDT is highly influenced by transducer geometry, arrangement of primary and secondary windings, quality of core material, variations in excitation current and frequency, and changes in ambient and winding temperatures; Page 1 Column 2 Line 4-8) using a trained artificial intelligence module (It is reported in [7]-[9] that the artificial neural network (ANN)-based inverse model can effectively compensate for the nonlinearity effect of the sensors.; Page 1 Column 2 Line 13-15; A functional link artificial neural network has been successfully used in this paper for nonlinear compensation of the LVDT; Page 947; Column 1; Abstract Line 7-9).
Mishra teaches the movement of the core n the bore.
However, Mishra fails to teach that wherein the core is configured to travel beyond at least one of the bore or partly outside the body.
Paige teaches a process of creating a reference signal includes moving a magnetically permeable core from outside of a chamber of an LVDT to inside the chamber, creating an output signal from the voltages of the secondary windings of the LVDT (Abstract Line 15-19),
wherein the core [50] in Figure 2 is configured to travel beyond at least one of the bore or partly outside the body [40] (Chamber 40 as the body) (The LVDT 24 includes a hollow cylindrical casing 26 which rests upon a support structure 28. The cylindrical casing defines a chamber 40 which is open at both ends. One end 44 of the chamber 40 faces towards core 50 (hereinafter, the entry end). The longitudinal axis of chamber 40 is parallel with the longitudinal axis of slide support 13. The chamber 40 is of sufficient size to receive core 50, and the support structure 28 places the LVDT 24 at a height and position to allow the entry of core 50 into chamber 40. Windings 30, 33, and 39 are wrapped around the outer surface of casing 26; Column 3 Line 52-63; A system for creating a position reference signal includes a linear variable differential transformer (LVDT), a magnetically permeable core capable of entering and existing the chamber of the LVDT, a positioning means for moving the core in forward and backward directions through a home location in which the core is within said LVDT; Abstract; Figure 2 shows that the core enters inside the chamber). The purpose of doing so is to provide a high precision instruments which are capable of measuring distances within exacting tolerances, to measure and move within precise limits, to provide a measuring apparatus which can use inexpensive LVDT's in a highly precise measuring instrument.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Mishra in view of Paige, because Paige teaches to travel the core beyond at least one of the bore or partly outside the body provides a high precision instruments which are capable of measuring distances within exacting tolerances, measures and move within precise limits (Column 1 Line 8-11), provides a measuring apparatus which can use inexpensive LVDT's in a highly precise measuring instrument (Column 1 Line 36-38).
Regarding claim 11, Mishra teaches a method,
wherein the input dataset further includes at least one of a voltage of the primary coil, one or more voltages of the secondary coils (The performance of the LVDT is highly influenced by transducer geometry, arrangement of primary and secondary windings, quality of core material, variations in excitation current and frequency, and changes in ambient and winding temperatures; Page 1 Column 2 Line 4-8; With a primary sinusoidal excitation voltage VP and a current Ir (RMS) of frequency J, the RMS voltage v1 induced in the
secondary coil S 1 is [l]
; Page 948, Column 1 Line 15-23).
.
Regarding claim 12, Mishra teaches
a method of training an artificial intelligence module (This paper proposes a simple and novel method of designing and developing high-linearity linear variable differential transformer (LVDT)-based displacement sensing systems. The tedious job of pitch adjustment of windings of LVDTs can be overcome by using the proposed method. A functional link artificial neural network has been successfully used in this paper for nonlinear compensation of the LVDT: The effectiveness of the proposed method is demonstrated through computer simulation with the experimental data of two different LVDT; Page 947, Column 1 Abstract Line 1-11) for an input dataset including:
at least one of a voltage of a primary coil (The LVDT consists of a primary coil and two secondary coils. The two secondary coils are connected differentially for providing the output. The secondary coils are located on the two sides or the primary coil on the bobbin or sleeve, and these two output windings (secondary coils) are connected in opposition to produce zero output at the middle position of the armature. The lengths of primary and two identical halves of the secondary coils are b and m, respectively; Column 1 Page 948; II. LVDT Line 1-9), one or more voltages of secondary coils (The LVDT consists of a primary coil and two secondary coils. The two secondary coils are connected differentially for providing the output. The secondary coils are located on the two sides or the primary coil on the bobbin or sleeve, and these two output windings (secondary coils) are connected in opposition to produce zero output at the middle position of the armature. The lengths of primary and two identical halves of the secondary coils are b and m, respectively; Column 1 Page 948; II. LVDT Line 1-9), and a temperature of a variable differential transformer (a novel adaptive method of extension of linearity characteristics of LVDTs is proposed; Column 2; Page 947 Line 27-29; The performance of the LVDT is highly influenced by transducer geometry, arrangement of primary and secondary windings, quality of core material, variations in excitation current and frequency, and changes in ambient and winding temperatures; Page 1 Column 2 Line 4-8) to provide output signals corresponding to a plurality of positions of a core [armature] displaceable in a bore [gap] provided in a body (Figure 1: Modified Figure 1 of Mishra above shows a bore provided in a body) of the variable differential transformer (The experimental setup for the proposed FLANN model is shown in Figs. 3 and 4. In the practical setup, the displacement actuator, which is essentially a stepper-motor-controlled displacer, displaces the core of the LVDT in a controlled manner. The main controller gives an actuating signal to the displacement actuator, which displaces the core of the LVDT in one direction. The sleeper-motor-based linear actuator used for displacing the core of the LVDT is assembled in the laboratory, as shown in Fig. 5; Column 1 Page 949 Line 14-23), when an excitation current is supplied to the primary coil (With a primary sinusoidal excitation voltage VP and a current Ir (RMS) of frequency J, the RMS voltage v1 induced in the secondary coil S1; Column 1 Page 948 II. LVDT Line 15-20) said method:
including providing training data obtained for at least a subset of said plurality of positions (Figure 2) (For a given primary sinusoidal excitation, the secondary output voltage v is nonlinear with respect to displacement x. This is shown in Fig. 2 in which the linear region of the plot is indicated as Xm- This limitation is inherent in all differential systems, and methods of extending the range have been proposed mainly by appropriate design and arrangement of the coils. Some of these are given as follows. 1) Balanced linear tapered secondary coils: improvement in linearity range is not significant. 2) Overwound linear tapered secondary coils: linearity is improved to a certain range. 3) Balanced overwound linear tapered secondary coils: the range specification is similar to 2). 4) Balanced profile secondary coils: helps in extending linearity range by proper profiling of the secondary coils. 5) Complementary tapered windings method: extends the linearity range as well, but the winding is quite complicated as sectionalized winding is done.; Page 948, Column 2 Line 14-28).
Mishra teaches the movement of the core in the bore.
However, Mishra fails to teach that wherein the core is configured to travel beyond at least one of the bore or partly outside the body.
Paige teaches a process of creating a reference signal includes moving a magnetically permeable core from outside of a chamber of an LVDT to inside the chamber, creating an output signal from the voltages of the secondary windings of the LVDT (Abstract Line 15-19),
wherein the core [50] in Figure 2 is configured to travel beyond at least one of the bore or partly outside the body [40] (Chamber 40 as the body) (The LVDT 24 includes a hollow cylindrical casing 26 which rests upon a support structure 28. The cylindrical casing defines a chamber 40 which is open at both ends. One end 44 of the chamber 40 faces towards core 50 (hereinafter, the entry end). The longitudinal axis of chamber 40 is parallel with the longitudinal axis of slide support 13. The chamber 40 is of sufficient size to receive core 50, and the support structure 28 places the LVDT 24 at a height and position to allow the entry of core 50 into chamber 40. Windings 30, 33, and 39 are wrapped around the outer surface of casing 26; Column 3 Line 52-63; A system for creating a position reference signal includes a linear variable differential transformer (LVDT), a magnetically permeable core capable of entering and existing the chamber of the LVDT, a positioning means for moving the core in forward and backward directions through a home location in which the core is within said LVDT; Abstract; Figure 2 shows that the core enters inside the chamber). The purpose of doing so is to provide a high precision instruments which are capable of measuring distances within exacting tolerances, to measure and move within precise limits, to provide a measuring apparatus which can use inexpensive LVDT's in a highly precise measuring instrument.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, modify Mishra in view of Paige, because Paige teaches to travel the core beyond at least one of the bore or partly outside the body provides a high precision instruments which are capable of measuring distances within exacting tolerances, measures and move within precise limits (Column 1 Line 8-11), provides a measuring apparatus which can use inexpensive LVDT's in a highly precise measuring instrument (Column 1 Line 36-38).
Regarding claim 13, Mishra teaches a trained artificial intelligence module,
wherein the artificial intelligence module is trained by the method according to claim 11 (This paper proposes a simple and novel method of designing and developing high-linearity linear variable differential transformer (LVDT)-based displacement sensing systems. The tedious job of pitch adjustment of windings of LVDTs can be overcome by using the proposed method. A functional link artificial neural network has been successfully used in this paper for nonlinear compensation of the LVDT: The effectiveness of the proposed method is demonstrated through computer simulation with the experimental data of two different LVDT; Page 947, Column 1 Abstract Line 1-11).
Regarding claim 14, Mishra teaches
a computer program with program code for performing a method according to claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9) when the computer program is run on a processor (The proposed scheme can be implemented on a PC-based system where the linear displacement actuator can be connected to the PC to provide linear displacement to the LVDT. The PC can actuate the linear displacement actuator with a known displacement, which, in turn, can displace the core of the LVDT. The PC can collect the analog voltage of the LVDT after signal conditioning as displacement information. This displacement data can be sent to a neural network model, and the output of the neural network will be compared with the known displacement that the PC has sent lo the linear displacement actuator. The error so generated will be used to train the neural network. The process will be repeated until the error gets nullified. This way, we generate a neural model that can be used as a nonlinear compensator. This model can now be implemented on a digital signal processor, a microcontroller, or a f1eld-programmable gate array (FPGA); Page 952 Column 1, V. DISCUSSIONS ON PRACTICAL IMPLEMENTATION Line 1-16).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saroj Kumar Mishra (Hereinafter, “Mishra” in the NPL-A Novel Method of Extending the Linearity Range of Linear Variable Differential Transformer Using Artificial Neural Network, Senior Member, IEEE, and Debi Prasad Das, IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INSTRUMENTATION AND MEASUREMENT, VOL 59, NO. 4, APRIL 2010 in view of Paige ‘555 A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Munch et al. (Hereinafter, “Munch”) in the US Patent Number US 5210490 A.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Mishra and Paige fails to teach an arrangement, further including a current limiter configured to limit the excitation current, the current limiter being connected between one or more driver terminals of a current source configured to supply the excitation current and one or more connection terminals of the primary coil.
Munch teaches a position sensing device including two spaced conductive coils constituting a primary and secondary winding of a transformer. A coupling member is mounted to a moveable object such as an automobile steering mechanism and moves relative the primary and secondary windings (Abstract), wherein
a current limiter configured to limit the excitation current, the current limiter being connected between one or more driver terminals of a current source configured to supply the excitation current and one or more connection terminals of the primary coil (In the illustrated embodiment, the tubular conductor 43 in Figure 1-4 is a nonferrous metal, such as aluminum, which enhances transformer coupling between the primary and secondary windings 44, 46 through a looping current that is developed in the tubular conductor 43 as a result of excitation of the primary winding 44; Column 11 Line 40-45). The purpose of doing so is to minimize hysteresis effects, inefficiencies, size, and weight are the basis for a broad range of transformer applications (Column 1).
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Mishra and Paige in view of Munch, because Munch teaches to include a current limiter to minimize hysteresis effects, inefficiencies, size, and weight are the basis for a broad range of transformer applications (Column 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Riedel et al. (US 20070024274 A1) discloses, “Measurement Configuration- [0002] A measurement configuration having a movement distance sensor which operates on the principle of a differential transformer and has a primary coil as well as a first and a second secondary coil, and having a circuit configuration whose circuitry is connected to the first and second secondary coils in order to determine a movement distance. [0040] FIG. 1 shows the movement distance sensor 1 which operates on the principle of a differential transformer. The sensor may also be referred to as a displacement transducer or a variable displacement transducer. In this case, the movement distance sensor 1 comprises a primary coil 3 and two secondary coils 4 and 5. The primary coil 3 as well as the secondary coils 4 and 5 are wound with appropriate offsets on a cylindrical body which has a central hole. An actuating element 7 with a core composed of a ferromagnetic material can move freely in the interior of the central hole. Any linear movement of an object to be measured is transmitted by means of a connecting element 8 to the actuating element 7, in a corresponding manner to the arrows 10 that are shown. [0041] Any movement of the actuating element 7 corresponding to the arrows 10 changes the magnitude of the magnetic flux between the primary coil 3 and the secondary coils 4 and 5. If, for example, the actuating element 7 moves in the direction of the secondary coil 5, starting from the illustrated rest position, then the magnetic flux which is responsible for the magnetic coupling between the primary coil 3 and the secondary coil 5 is increased. A sinusoidal alternating voltage is used as the excitation voltage for the primary coil 3 for this purpose. [0042] In a movement distance sensor 1, the sum of the root mean square values of the voltages which are induced in the secondary coils 4 and 5 is constant irrespective of the position of the actuating element 7. The position of the actuating element 7, starting from its rest position, can be deduced from the difference between the absolute values of the induced voltages. The difference is in this case generally normalized with respect to the sum of the root mean square values, so that the position of the actuating element 7 is calculated as follows: Q = V 1 - V 2 V 1 , rms + V 2 , rms ##EQU3## where Q is the normalized movement distance, V.sub.1 and V.sub.2 respectively denote the absolute magnitude of the induced voltages, and V.sub.1,rms and V.sub.2,rms respectively denote the root mean square values of the two induced voltages-However Riedel does not disclose wherein the core is configured to travel beyond at least one of the bore or partly outside the body and wherein the control unit is configured to produce the output signals by or on the basis of evaluating an input dataset including a temperature of the variable differential transformer using a trained artificial intelligence module.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858