DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 11, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heist et al.
Heist et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0202051 A1) discloses:
Regarding claim 1, a stripe projection system (see device illustrated in Figure 1) for three-dimensionally capturing a surface (i.e. test body; page 3, paragraph 0033, lines 3) of a measurement object (Figure 1, element 1), the stripe projection system (see device illustrated in Figure 1) comprising: a projector (Figure 1, element 2) configured to project a stripe pattern (i.e. projects a sequence of different strip patterns; page 4, paragraph 0034, lines 1-3) onto the measurement object (Figure 1, element 1); and a digital camera (Figure 1, element 3) configured to capture the stripe pattern (i.e. the camera [Figure 1, element 3] takes a picture of the surface during the projection of the strip patterns; page 4, paragraph 0034, lines 20-22), wherein the projector (Figure 2, element 2) includes a binary amplitude mask (Figure 2, element 13) having transparent and opaque regions (i.e. sequence of strip patterns; page 4, paragraph 0040, lines 5-7), wherein the amplitude mask (Figure 2, element 13) has first stripe regions (Figure 5, element A1) which extend in a first direction (i.e. direction parallel to the strip direction) and in which a proportion of the opaque and of transparent area (i.e. sequence of strip patterns) proportions varies depending on a position in a second direction (i.e. direction perpendicular to the strip direction), wherein the proportion of the opaque and of transparent area (i.e. sequence of strip patterns) proportions increases or decreases continuously over an extension of the respective first region (Figure 5, element A1) in the second direction (i.e. direction perpendicular to the strip direction) taking into account a resolution of the projection and camera optical units (i.e. spatial resolution is greater than the picture resolution; page 4, paragraph 0036, lines 22-23), and wherein the first stripe regions (Figure 5, element A1) each form a transition region (Figure 5, element A1’) between continuous opaque or transparent stripes (i.e. sequence of strip patterns) extending in the first direction (i.e. direction parallel to the strip direction) and alternate with these stripes in the second direction (i.e. direction perpendicular to the strip direction).
Regarding claim 8, the transition regions (Figure 5, elements A1’-A5’) are formed by the position of boundary lines between the continuous opaque and transparent stripes (i.e. sequence of strip patterns) varying in the second direction (i.e. direction perpendicular to the strip direction) in the region of the first stripe regions (Figure 5, element A1) depending on the position in the first direction (i.e. direction parallel to the strip direction), wherein a variation of the position corresponds to a width of the first stripe regions (Figure 5, element A1), and wherein the boundary lines between the continuous opaque and transparent stripes (i.e. sequence of strip patterns) in the region of the first stripe regions have a wave shape (clearly illustrated in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 11, the binary amplitude mask (Figure 2, element 13) is quasi-periodic (i.e. aperiodic strip patterns; page 4, paragraph 0034, lines 10-11) and the alignment and/or period length varies over a grating and is thereby adapted to a respective projection geometry (page 4, paragraph 0036, lines 14-17).
Regarding claim 12, an evaluation unit (Figure 1, element 5) configured to evaluate the stripe pattern captured by the digital camera (Figure 1, element 3), and determine the three-dimensional shape of the measurement object (Figure 1, element 1) therefrom, and wherein the evaluation is effected by a spatial phase shift (page 4, paragraph 0034, lines 13-16).
Regarding claim 14, a method for producing an amplitude mask for a stripe projection system; the method comprising (page 2, paragraph 0018, lines 1-4): producing the amplitude mask (Figure 2, element 13) with a lithographic process or with a photolithographic process (page 4, paragraph 0040, lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 15, a method (page 1, paragraph 0006, lines 1-4) for operating a stripe projection system (see device illustrated in Figure 1), the method comprising: projecting a stripe pattern (elements A1-A19; page 5, paragraph 0043, lines 26-28) onto a measurement object (Figure 1, element 1); capturing the stripe pattern (i.e. the camera [Figure 1, element 3] takes a picture of the surface during the projection of the strip patterns; page 4, paragraph 0034, lines 20-22); and evaluating the captured stripe pattern (page 4, paragraph 0034, lines 1-3), wherein the stripe projection system (see device illustrated in Figure 1) is guided along the surface of the measurement object (Figure 1, element 1) which is to be measured (page 3, paragraph 0033, lines 3-5), to measure said measurement object (Figure 1, element 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heist et al. in view of Voigt.
Heist et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0202051 A1) teaches the salient features of the present invention as explained above except a movement unit configured to guide the stripe projection system along that surface of the measurement object which is to be measured, and wherein the movement unit includes a robotic arm.
Voigt (DE 10 2016 113 228 A1) discloses a movement unit (i.e. actuator: Figure 3, element 53) configured to guide the stripe projection system (Figure 3, element 70) along that surface of the measurement object (i.e. object; see translation, paragraph 0078, lines 3-4) which is to be measured (see translation, paragraph 0002, lines 5-7 and paragraph 003, lines 1-2), and wherein the movement unit (i.e. actuator: Figure 3, element 53) includes a robotic arm (Figure 3, elements 51 and 55).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a movement unit configured to guide the stripe projection system along that surface of the measurement object which is to be measured, and wherein the movement unit includes a robotic arm as shown by Voigt in combination with Heist et al.’s invention for the purpose of moving the object relative to the camera (see translation, paragraph 0089, lines 7-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 and 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Heist et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0202051 A1) discloses a stripe projection system (see device illustrated in Figure 1) for three-dimensionally capturing a surface (i.e. test body; page 3, paragraph 0033, lines 3) of a measurement object (Figure 1, element 1). However, Heist et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests a stripe projection system wherein a width of the continuous opaque or transparent stripes in the second direction in an image captured by the digital camera substantially corresponds to the width of a pixel of the digital camera, and/or wherein the width of the continuous opaque or transparent stripes in the second direction is approximately 1/m of a period length of the stripe pattern, and wherein m is a number of pixels of the digital camera which capture a period of a projected intensity pattern in the second direction.
Regarding claim 4, Heist et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0202051 A1) discloses a stripe projection system (see device illustrated in Figure 1) for three-dimensionally capturing a surface (i.e. test body; page 3, paragraph 0033, lines 3) of a measurement object (Figure 1, element 1). However, Heist et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests a stripe projection system wherein as a result of a division of the stripe pattern into continuous opaque and transparent stripes and intervening transition regions together with a sampling rate of the digital camera and a resolution capability of the projection and camera optical units, locally a desired periodic intensity distribution is generated on a camera image with the maximum possible contrast.
Regarding claim 6, Heist et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0202051 A1) discloses a stripe projection system (see device illustrated in Figure 1) for three-dimensionally capturing a surface (i.e. test body; page 3, paragraph 0033, lines 3) of a measurement object (Figure 1, element 1). However, Heist et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests a stripe projection system wherein the binary amplitude mask is structured periodically or quasi-periodically in the first and the second direction by juxtaposition of basic cells, wherein the structure period in the first direction along the stripes of the stripe pattern is smaller than the resolution of the projection and camera optical units, wherein the basic cells are partly opaque and partly transparent over their height in the first direction in the first stripe region, and wherein the respective proportion varies depending on the position in the second direction.
Regarding claim 9, Heist et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0202051 A1) discloses a stripe projection system (see device illustrated in Figure 1) for three-dimensionally capturing a surface (i.e. test body; page 3, paragraph 0033, lines 3) of a measurement object (Figure 1, element 1). However, Heist et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests a stripe projection system wherein the transition regions are formed by a pattern of discrete opaque or transparent elements being provided between the continuous opaque and transparent stripes, and wherein typically the area proportion of the opaque or transparent elements decreases or increases continuously in the second direction taking into account the resolution of the projection and camera optical units.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 7 and 10, the claims are allowable based on their dependence from claims 2, 4, 6 and 9 (respectively).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Winkelbach et al. (US Pub. No. US 2018/0112975 A1) discloses a fringe projection method for determining the topography of a body comprising the steps: projecting a series of sets of patterns onto a surface of the body, wherein each set has at least two patterns and wherein each pattern has S fringes; for each pattern, recording an image of the surface having the projected pattern, so that a sequence of recordings is formed; and calculating the topography from the images, wherein such patterns are projected in which each fringe has an intensity distribution perpendicular to the fringe longitudinal direction and each intensity distribution can be expressed by a function which has a spatial phase position. According to the invention, the phase position changes as a function of a code of the ordinal number of the fringe.
Bloom et al. (US Pub. 2015/0281671 A1) teaches a compact 3D depth capture systems are based on a 3D system driver/interface, a 3D system camera, and a 3D system projector. The systems are compatible with integration in to mobile electronic devices such as smart phones and tablet computers.
Lu et al. ("Practical 3-D Shape Measurement Using Optimal Intensity-Modulated Projection and Intensity-Phase Analysis Techniques," 18th International Conference on Pattern Recognition (ICPR'06), Hong Kong, China, 2006, pp. 870-873, doi: 10.1109/ICPR.2006.940) shows in the field of 3-D image measurement, a technique based on stripe pattern projection and observation image intensity analysis is expected to be able to detect several stripes by a single projection. It is necessary to increase the stripe number of the projection pattern in order to improve the measurement accuracy of depth distance. However, when the stripe number is increased, the difference of the intensity between stripes will be reduced and stripe detection will become difficult. In order to improve the detection accuracy of the stripe order and shorten the 3-D measurement time, we use the Optimal Intensity-Modulation Projection (OIMP) technique, and in order to improve the depth distance measurement accuracy, we propose an Intensity-Phase Analysis (IPA) technique. In the proposed IPA technique, the observation pattern be segmented by the intensity of the intensity-modulated stripe, and in every segmentation the depth distance of all pixels are obtained by phase analysis.
Dresel (DE 19855324 A1) discloses a binary amplitude mask that is structured so that each period can be decomposed into a sufficiently larger number of rectangles, the width of which corresponds to the period and the height of which lies within the decomposition border of the projection system. The mathematical graph of the intensity profile to be generated is characterized inside each rectangle and is made to be transparent or opaque after each application. Only determined harmonic components of the periodical arrangement of the rectangles in the height direction of the optical projection system are transferred.
/MAGDA CRUZ/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2882
12/11/2025