Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “toward an opposite side from a wheel rotation direction side during vehicle forward movement” as set forth in Claim 3; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
3. The drawings are objected to because:
· The reference numeral “20H” in Figs. 1 and 3 is not clearly placed adjacent to the corresponding structure and overlaps with the reference numeral identifying the spoke “27”, thereby rendering the identification unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3 are indefinite due to the fact that it is unclear what is actually being claimed by the term “configured”. Namely, no physical structure is present in these claims to define this term.
Claim 3 is indefinite due to the fact that phrase “toward an opposite side from a wheel rotation direction side during vehicle forward movement” fails to provide a clear reference for determining the claimed direction. The term “wheel rotation direction side” does not identify a definite structural reference, and the term “opposite” is a relative term that lacks a clearly defined point of comparison. Additionally, defining the orientation “during vehicle forward movement” introduces further ambiguity as the claim does not specify how the direction is determined relative to different operating conditions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chiba et al (JP2004196005A).
Regarding claim 1, Chiba et al discloses a vehicle wheel (1 “vehicle wheel”; Fig. 1), comprising: a rim part (2 “rim”; Fig. 1) at which a tire is mounted (Please refer to the yellow-highlighted portion on page 3 of the attached translated document of Chiba et al); a hub part disposed at an inner side of the rim part, attached to an axle hub, and coupled to a disc rotor of a disc brake (Please refer to the yellow-highlighted portion on page 3 of the attached translated document of Chiba et al; The hub is explicitly shown in the Fig. 1 in dotted lines, although it is not expressly labeled; 5 “brake disc” from Fig. 1); and a side connection part configured to connect a vehicle outer side part of the rim part with the hub part (Fig. 1 discloses a side connection portion, wherein a spoke is depicted connecting to a hub in dotted lines), wherein: in an axle direction view, between the rim part and the hub part, a plurality of through holes penetrating in the axle direction are formed and are aligned in a circumferential direction (Although the reference does not explicitly label “through holes”, the presence of spokes (3) shown by dotted lines from Fig. 1 necessarily results in spaces between adjacent spokes that penetrate in the axle direction and are circumferentially arranged around the wheel. Such spaces are an inherent structural consequence of the disclosed spoke configuration), and a plurality of fins (4 “fin”; Fig. 1) are formed at an inner peripheral surface (Fig. 2) of the rim part (2), in series, in a row in a circumferential direction thereof (Fig. 2), each of the fins being configured at an incline from an outer side in a wheel axis direction to an inner side in the wheel axis direction toward one side in the circumferential direction of the rim part (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, Chiba et al discloses the vehicle wheel (1) of claim 1, wherein a position of each of the fins (4; Fig. 1) in the wheel axis direction overlaps with a position in a width direction of a pressed part of the disc rotor (Although Chiba et al does not explicitly label a “pressed part”, the brake disc (5) shown in Fig. 1 necessarily includes a portion of the disc rotor for receiving a pressing force during braking, which is inherent in the disclosed brake disc structure) that is configured to be pressed by a brake pad (This merely describes an intended use or functional capability of the disc rotor portion and does not impose additional structural limitations of the claimed disc rotor portion), and a width of each of the fins in the wheel axis direction is wider than a width of the pressed part of the disc rotor (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Chiba et al discloses the vehicle wheel (1) of claim 1, wherein each of the fins (4) is configured at an incline from the outer side in the wheel axis direction to the inner side in the wheel axis direction (Figs. 1 and 3) toward an opposite side from a wheel rotation direction side during vehicle forward movement (Figs. 1 and 3 disclose fins that are best understood as the claimed fins, the fins indicating an inclination opposite to a circumferential direction of wheel rotation), in the circumferential direction of the rim part (Figs. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiba et al and further in view of Johnson et al (US4135764A).
Regarding claim 4, Chiba et al fails to disclose the fins are disposed at positions in the wheel circumferential direction of the inner peripheral surface of the rim part corresponding to the plurality of through holes.
Johnson et al, however, teaches fins (40 “vane”; Fig. 2) are disposed at positions in the wheel circumferential direction of the inner peripheral surface of the rim part (22 “rim”; Figs. 1 and 2) corresponding to the plurality of through holes (16 “air openings”; Figs. 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the vehicle wheel of Chiba et al by aligning the fins of Chiba et al with the air openings in the wheel disk, such as taught by Johnson et al, to facilitate airflow and improve heat dissipation during rotation.
Conclusion
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/JASON R BELLINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615