CTFR 18/516,796 CTFR 101619 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “an outer end of each of the fins, in the wheel axis direction, is located inward in the wheel axis direction to an outer surface, on an outer side in the wheel axis direction, of a coupled portion of the disc rotor, the coupled portion being coupled to the hub part” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The drawing, Fig. 2, does not clearly show this feature. 06-22 Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA 3. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-31-01 4. Claim 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. · The limitation, “an outer end of each of the fins, in the wheel axis direction, is located inward in the wheel axis direction to an outer surface, on an outer side in the wheel axis direction, of a coupled portion of the disc rotor, the coupled portion being coupled to the hub part” , as recited in claim 1, is not described by the specification. 07-30-02 AIA 5. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 6. Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. · Claim 1 is indefinite because the claim includes multiple recitations of the same element without clarity as to whether the recited elements refer to the same element previously set forth in the claims or to an additional element. Please not the following: “ an outer side ” in line 15 Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-103 AIA 7. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-21-aia AIA 8. Claim s 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailleux (FR2794201A1) in view of Chiba et al (JP2004196005A; hereinafter “Chiba”) . Regarding claim 1 , Bailleux discloses a vehicle wheel (Abstract), comprising: a rim part 1 (Fig. 3) at which a tire is mounted; a hub part 2 (Fig. 3) disposed at an inner side of the rim part, attached to an axle hub 4 (Fig. 3), and coupled to a disc rotor (Refer to the disc rotor in the below annotated Fig. 3) of a disc brake 6 (Fig. 3); and a side connection part (Refer to the side connection in the below annotated Fig. 3) that connects a vehicle outer side part (Refer to the vehicle outer side part of the rim in the below annotated Fig. 3) of the rim part 1 with the hub part 2 ; and an outer end of each of the fins (Refer to the outer end of fin in the below annotated Fig. 3), in the wheel axis direction (Refer to the wheel axis in the bellow annotated Fig. 3), is located inward in the wheel axis direction relative to an outer surface, on an outer side in the wheel axis direction, of a coupled portion (Refer to the outer surface of a coupled portion in the below annotated Fig. 3) of the disc rotor, the coupled portion being coupled to the hub part 2 , but the embodiment of Fig. 3 fails to disclose wherein: in an axle direction view, between the rim part and the hub part, a plurality of through holes penetrating in the axle direction are formed and are aligned in a circumferential direction. PNG media_image1.png 751 897 media_image1.png Greyscale Examiner’s annotated Fig. 3 of Bailleux The embodiment of Fig. 4, however, teaches wherein: in an axle direction view (Refer to the axle direction in the below annotated Fig. 3), between the rim part 1 and the hub part 1 , a plurality of through holes 1c penetrating in the axle direction (Refer to the axle direction in the below annotated Fig. 4) are formed and are aligned in a circumferential direction (Bailleux discloses a plurality of through holes 1c in the axle direction as shown in the below annotated Fig. 4. Further, the through holes in the below annotated Fig. 4 are positioned at different angular locations about the wheel axis, thereby being aligned/arranged in the circumferential direction. Accordingly, the limitation is met). PNG media_image2.png 727 738 media_image2.png Greyscale Examiner’s annotated Fig. 4 of Bailleux It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the embodiment of Fig. 3 by including the through holes as taught by the embodiment of Fig. 4 with the motivation to increase the amount of airflow for cooling the brake components. The embodiment of Fig. 3 further discloses a plurality of fins are formed at an inner peripheral surface of the rim part, but fails to explicitly disclose the plurality of fins are formed in series, in a row in a circumferential direction thereof, each of the fins being inclined from an outer side in a wheel axis direction to an inner side in the wheel axis direction toward one side in the circumferential direction of the rim part. Chiba, however, teaches a plurality of fins 4 are formed at an inner peripheral surface of the rim part 2 (Fig. 2), in series, in a row in a circumferential direction thereof (Fig. 2), each of the fins 4 being inclined from an outer side in a wheel axis direction to an inner side in the wheel axis direction toward one side in the circumferential of the rim part 2 (Figs. 1-3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the fins 10 of Bailleux to have an inclined arrangement in a circumferential direction as taught by Chiba, with the motivation to improve airflow and heat dissipation around the rim structure. Regarding claim 2 , Bailleux further disclose a position of each of the fins 10 in the wheel axis direction overlaps (Figs. 1 and 3; The outer end of each of the fins 10 as shown in Figs. 1 and 3 overlaps with a position in a width direction of the brake disc 6 ) with a position in a width direction of a pressed part of the disc rotor (Although Bailleux does not explicitly label the pressed part, the brake disc 6 shown in Figs. 1 and 3 necessarily includes a portion of the disc rotor for receiving a pressing force during braking, which is inherent in the disclosed brake disc structure) that is configured to be pressed by a brake pad (This merely describes an intended use or functional capability of the disc rotor portion and does not impose additional structural limitations of the claimed disc rotor portion), and a width of each of the fins 10 in the wheel axis direction (Refer to the wheel axis as discussed above with respect to claim 1) is wider than a width of the pressed part of the disc rotor (Refer to the disc rotor as discussed above with respect to claim 1; Figs. 1-3 discloses that the width of fins 10 in the wheel axis direction is wider than the width the pressed part of the disc rotor) . 07-22-aia AIA 9. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailleux, as modified by Chiba , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Johnson et al (US4135764A) . Regarding claim 4 , Bailleux, as modified by Chiba, fails to disclose the fins are disposed at positions in the wheel circumferential direction of the inner peripheral surface of the rim part corresponding to the plurality of through holes. Johnson et al, however, teaches fins (40 “vane”; Fig. 2) are disposed at positions in the wheel circumferential direction of the inner peripheral surface of the rim part (22 “rim”; Figs. 1 and 2) corresponding to the plurality of through holes (16 “air openings”; Figs. 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the vehicle wheel of Bailleux, as modified by Chiba, by aligning the fins with the air openings in the wheel disk, as taught by Johnson et al, to facilitate airflow and improve heat dissipation during rotation . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection. Conclusion 07-40 AIA 10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. 07-96 AIA 11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references disclose a cooling system for a vehicle wheel brake . 12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TAEKWON (TAE) CHOI whose telephone number is (571) 272-5805. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 9 am to 5 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Samuel (Joe) Morano, can be reached at telephone number (571) 272-6684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Patent Center to authorized users only. Should you have questions about access to the USPTO patent electronic filing system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via a variety of formats. See MPEP § 713.01. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/InterviewPractice. /TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615 /S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615 Application/Control Number: 18/516,796 Page 2 Art Unit: 3615 Application/Control Number: 18/516,796 Page 3 Art Unit: 3615 Application/Control Number: 18/516,796 Page 4 Art Unit: 3615 Application/Control Number: 18/516,796 Page 5 Art Unit: 3615 Application/Control Number: 18/516,796 Page 6 Art Unit: 3615 Application/Control Number: 18/516,796 Page 7 Art Unit: 3615 Application/Control Number: 18/516,796 Page 8 Art Unit: 3615 Application/Control Number: 18/516,796 Page 9 Art Unit: 3615