DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 4/14/2026.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 4/14/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any
patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US patent 10,551,598, or 11,822,061 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendment to claim 29 overcomes rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 and the rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-24, 26, 29-30, 33 and 35-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Udo (DE102013102910).
Regarding claim 21, Udo teaches a method for improving an optical quality of an image in a camera lens system (Udo, figs.1-2, paragraph [0009], Anamorphic optical imaging systems, so-called anamorphic lenses, are characterized by different image scales in the two dimensions of the resulting image; paragraph [0016] The object of the present invention is to improve the known lens attachment in such a way that the change in the image scale during distance adjustment on the one hand and the image errors on the other hand are reduced) comprising:
passing an image (paragraph [0003], an image of an object; paragraph [0037] photographic lens 100 is a taking lens, the anamorphic attachment 200 is arranged on the object side of the lens 100) through an anamorphic lens group (fig. 2, the anamorphic lenses 10+20+30) to compress the image (fig. 2, paragraph [0009] compression and stretching can be achieved by using corresponding anamorphic lenses 200);
passing the compressed image (Udo, paragraph [0009] During recording, the resulting image is therefore horizontally compressed) from the anamorphic lens group (the anamorphic lens 10+20+30) to a corrective lens group (Udo, the lenses 40+50+60); and
passing the image from the corrective lens group to a digital image sensor (Udo, an electronic detector; paragraph [0009] During recording, the horizontal dimension is reduced more than the vertical dimension when imaging an object onto the detector plane, for example, film material or an electronic detector, the resulting image is therefore horizontally compress--- all digital image sensors are electronic detectors), wherein the corrective lens group (lenses 40+50+60) is configured to improve an optical quality of the image as produced (paragraph [0010] corrected photographic lens - be it a recording) by the digital image sensor (onto the detector plane; see paragraph [0027], due to the corrective lenses, in particular the final lens 60, the cemented elements 40-50 can be equipped with a lower overall refractive power, which is advantageous with regard to resulting imaging errors; also, the claim recites “passing the image from the corrective lens group to a digital image sensor”, not “passing the image from a digital image sensor to the corrective lens group”; therefore, logically, Udo teaches the same function to improve an optical quality of the image, thus, Udo teaches wherein the corrective lens group is configured to improve an optical quality of the image as produced by the digital image sensor).
Regarding claim 22, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 21 and further teaches wherein during the step of passing an image through the anamorphic lens group (paragraph [0009], compression can be achieved by using corresponding anamorphic lenses during recording and/or photography), the anamorphic lens group compresses the image in a horizontal or vertical dimension (paragraph [0009], During recording, the horizontal dimension is reduced more than the vertical dimension when imaging an object onto the detector plane).
Regarding claim 23, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 21 and further teaches wherein during the step of passing the compressed image, the corrective lens group is configured to share the same optical axis (fig. 2, axis 300) as the anamorphic lens group (Udo, fig. 2, paragraph [0037], an anamorphic attachment 200, which is placed in front of the lens 100 on the side with the larger focal length on the same optical axis 300).
Regarding claim 24, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 21 and further teaches wherein the corrective lens group reduces blurring of the image produced by the digital image sensor (see Udo, fig. 4, paragraph [0035] The distortion of the system shown in Fig. 4 can also be described as extremely low and is limited to less than 5% even for the outermost marginal rays).
Regarding claim 26, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 21 and further teaches wherein comprising passing the compressed image to a powered lens group (fig. 2, lenses 20+30; paragraph [0039] the first cemented element 20+30 has a positive refractive power) before passing the compressed image to the corrective lens group (fig.2, lens 40+50+60, paragraph [0039]the second cemented element has a negative refractive power).
Regarding claim 29, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 21 and further teaches wherein a camera lens system comprising the anamorphic lens group, the corrective lens group, and the digital image sensor that is configured to improve an optical quality of an image according to claim 21 (see claim 21, described in claim 21).
Regarding claim 30, Udo teaches a method of improving an optical quality of an image (figs. 1-2, paragraph [0003], an image of an object; paragraph [0037] photographic lens 100 is a taking lens, the anamorphic attachment 200 is arranged on the object side of the lens 100) in a camera lens system (Udo, figs. 1-2, paragraph [0009], Anamorphic optical imaging systems, so-called anamorphic lenses, are characterized by different image scales in the two dimensions of the resulting image; paragraph [0016] The object of the present invention is to improve the known lens attachment in such a way that the change in the image scale during distance adjustment on the one hand and the image errors on the other hand are reduced) comprising an anamorphic lens group (fig. 2, the anamorphic lenses 10+20+30), a corrective lens group (Udo, the lenses 40+50+60), and a digital image sensor (Udo, an electronic detector; paragraph [0009] During recording, the horizontal dimension is reduced more than the vertical dimension when imaging an object onto the detector plane, for example, film material or an electronic detector, the resulting image is therefore horizontally compress--- all digital image sensors are electronic detectors) , the method comprising:
passing an image (paragraph [0003], an image of an object;) captured through an object side of the anamorphic lens system (fig. 2, the object side of the anamorphic lens system; paragraph [0037] photographic lens 100 is a taking lens, the anamorphic attachment 200 is arranged on the object side of the lens 100) through the anamorphic lens system to produce a compressed image (Udo, paragraph [0009] During recording, the horizontal dimension is reduced more than the vertical dimension when imaging an object onto the detector plane, for example, film material or an electronic detector, the resulting image is therefore horizontally compressed);
passing the compressed image (paragraph [0009] , the resulting image is therefore horizontally compressed) from the anamorphic lens group (Udo, the lenses 10+20+30) to the corrective lens group (the lenses 40+50+60) to produce a corrected image therefrom (paragraph [0027], due to the corrective lenses which is advantageous with regard to resulting imaging errors); and
passing the corrected image (paragraph [0027], due to the corrective lenses which is advantageous with regard to resulting imaging errors) to the digital image sensor (Udo, paragraph [0009] During recording, the horizontal dimension is reduced more than the vertical dimension when imaging an object onto the detector plane, for example, film material or an electronic detector), wherein the corrected image received by the digital image sensor addresses a blurring of the compressed image (see Udo, fig. 4, paragraph [0035] The distortion of the system shown in Fig. 4 can also be described as extremely low and is limited to less than 5% even for the outermost marginal rays) that is produced (paragraph [0010] corrected photographic lens - be it a recording) by the digital image sensor (the detector plane; also, the claim recites “passing the corrected image to the digital image sensor”, not “passing the digital image sensor to the corrected image”; therefore, logically, Udo teaches the same function to improve an optical quality of the image, thus, Udo teaches wherein the corrected image received by the digital image sensor addresses a blurring of the compressed image that is produced by the digital image sensor).
Regarding claim 33, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 30 and Udo further teaches wherein the anamorphic lens group compresses the image in a horizontal or vertical dimension (paragraph [0009], During recording, the horizontal dimension is reduced more than the vertical dimension when imaging an object onto the detector plane), and wherein the corrective lens group is configured to produce a corrected image that addresses blurring of the compressed image in the direction of compression (see Udo, fig.4, paragraph [0035] The distortion of the system shown in Fig. 4 can also be described as extremely low and is limited to less than 5% even for the outermost marginal rays).
Regarding claim 35, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 30 and further teaches wherein the anamorphic lens group, corrective lens group, and digital image are configured to share the same optical axis ((Udo, fig. 2, the optical axis 300 ;paragraph [0037], an anamorphic attachment 200, which is placed in front of the lens 100 on the side with the larger focal length on the same optical axis 300).
Regarding claim 36, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 30 and further teaches wherein the camera lens system comprises a powered lens group ((fig. 2, lenses 20+30; paragraph [0039] the first cemented element 20+30 has a positive refractive power), and comprises passing the compressed image (described in claim 30) from the anamorphic lens group (the lens 10) to the powered lens group (the lenses 20+30) before the step of passing the compressed image to the corrective lens group (fig. 2, lens 40+50+60, paragraph [0039]the second cemented element has a negative refractive power).
Regarding claim 37, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 30 and further teaches wherein the anamorphic lens group is configured to produce an image having a reduced aspect ratio (Udo, paragraph [0009] During recording, the horizontal dimension is reduced more than the vertical dimension when imaging an object onto the detector plane).
Regarding claim 38, Udo teaches a camera lens system (Udo, figs. 1-2, paragraph [0009], Anamorphic optical imaging systems, so-called anamorphic lenses,) comprising:
a front an anamorphic lens group (fig. 2, the lens 10) configured to produce a compressed image ((fig. 2, paragraph [0009] compression and stretching can be achieved by using corresponding anamorphic lenses 200) in at least one of a horizontal or vertical dimension (paragraph [0009], During recording, the horizontal dimension is reduced more than the vertical dimension when imaging an object onto the detector plane);
a corrective lens group (fig.2, the lenses 40+50+60) configured to receive the compressed image (Udo, paragraph [0009] During recording, the resulting image is therefore horizontally compressed) and produce a corrected image (paragraph [0027], due to the corrective lenses, in particular the final lens 60, the cemented elements 40-50 can be equipped with a lower overall refractive power, which is advantageous with regard to resulting imaging errors); and
a digital image sensor (Udo, an electronic detector; paragraph [0009] During recording, the horizontal dimension is reduced more than the vertical dimension when imaging an object onto the detector plane, for example, film material or an electronic detector, the resulting image is therefore horizontally compress--- all digital image sensors are electronic detectors) configured to receive the corrected image (paragraph [0027], due to the corrective lenses, in particular the final lens 60, the cemented elements 40-50 can be equipped with a lower overall refractive power, which is advantageous with regard to resulting imaging errors), wherein the corrected image is configured to address image distortion (Udo, paragraph [0007] that means to address the imaging errors, especially distortion and field curvature) produced (paragraph [0010] corrected photographic lens - be it a recording) by the digital image sensor (the detector plane; also, the claim recites “a digital image sensor configured to receive the corrected image”, not “the corrected image configured to receive a digital image sensor”; therefore, logically, Udo teaches the same function to improve an optical quality of the image, thus, Udo teaches wherein the corrected image is configured to address image distortion produced by the digital image sensor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 34 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udo (DE102013102910), and further in view of Neil (US20060050403).
Regarding claim 25, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 21 and Udo further teaches wherein comprising passing the image received by the anamorphic lens group through the corrective lens group (the Lense 40+50+60), but does not explicitly teaches that is configured comprising at least one of a toroidal lens element or a birefringent material.
However, Neil teaches the analogous anamorphic lenses (Neil, paragraph [0003] The present invention relates, generally, to anamorphic lenses that provides high image quality), and further teaches wherein comprising at least one of a toroidal lens element or a birefringent material (Neil, paragraph [0109], Toroidal surfaces are compound surfaces that have the combined effect of a cylindrically surfaced element oriented in both the X and Y directions).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anamorphic lens group through the corrective lens group of Udo that configured comprising at least one of a toroidal lens element as taught by Neil for the purpose of toroidal surfaces may reduce the number of lens elements required, which can be very beneficial in applications where a small size is needed such as cellular telephones and point-and-shoot cameras (Neil, paragraph [0109]).
Regarding claim 34, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 30 and further teaches wherein the corrective lens group (the Lense 40+50+60), but does not explicitly teaches wherein comprises at least one of a toroidal lens element or a birefringent material.
However, Neil teaches the analogous anamorphic lenses (Neil, paragraph [0003] The present invention relates, generally, to anamorphic lenses that provides high image quality), and further teaches wherein comprising at least one of a toroidal lens element or a birefringent material (Neil, paragraph [0109], Toroidal surfaces are compound surfaces that have the combined effect of a cylindrically surfaced element oriented in both the X and Y directions).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anamorphic lens group through the corrective lens group of Udo that configured comprising at least one of a toroidal lens element as taught by Neil for the purpose of toroidal surfaces may reduce the number of lens elements required, which can be very beneficial in applications where a small size is needed such as cellular telephones and point-and-shoot cameras (Neil, paragraph [0109]).
Regarding claim 39, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 38 and further teaches wherein the corrective lens group (the Lense 40+50+60), but does not explicitly teaches wherein comprises at least one of a toroidal lens element or a birefringent material.
However, Neil teaches the analogous anamorphic lenses (Neil, paragraph [0003] The present invention relates, generally, to anamorphic lenses that provides high image quality), and further teaches wherein comprising at least one of a toroidal lens element or a birefringent material (Neil, paragraph [0109], Toroidal surfaces are compound surfaces that have the combined effect of a cylindrically surfaced element oriented in both the X and Y directions).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anamorphic lens group through the corrective lens group of Udo that configured comprising at least one of a toroidal lens element as taught by Neil for the purpose of toroidal surfaces may reduce the number of lens elements required, which can be very beneficial in applications where a small size is needed such as cellular telephones and point-and-shoot cameras (Neil, paragraph [0109]).
Claims 27-28, 31-32 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udo (DE102013102910), and further in view of Kweon et al. (US20090052050).
Regarding claim 27, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 21 and further teaches wherein during the step of passing the image to the digital image sensor (Udo, paragraph [0009] During recording, the horizontal dimension is reduced more than the vertical dimension when imaging an object onto the detector plane, for example, film material or an electronic detector, the resulting image is therefore horizontally compressed--- all digital image sensors are electronic detectors), but Udo does not explicitly teaches wherein the image is passed through an optical low-pass filter.
However, Kweon teaches the image is passed through an optical low-pass filter (see Kweon, Fig. 9, the digital image sensor 932 includes an optical low-pass filter F; paragraph [0173], The optical low pass filter serves to remove a moire effect from the image.).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image sensor of Udo to have optical low-pass filter as taught by Kweon for the purpose to remove a moire effect from the image (Kweon, paragraph [0173]).
Regarding claim 28, combination Udo–Kweon discloses the invention as described in Claim 27 and Kweon further teaches wherein the corrective lens group reduces blurring of the image (Kweon, paragraph [0181], a desired characteristic of a lens, i.e., an image without distortion) produced (paragraph [0230] reproduced on the image sensor plane with the correct horizontal-to-vertical ratio preserved) by the optical low-pass filter (see Kweon, Fig. 9, the digital image sensor 932 includes an optical low-pass filter F; paragraph [0173], The optical low pass filter serves to remove a moire effect from the image).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the corrective lens group of Udo to reduce blurring of the image as taught by Kweon for the purpose to remove a moire effect from the image (Kweon, paragraph [0173]).
Regarding claim 31, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 30, Udo does not explicitly teach wherein the digital image sensor comprises an optical low-pass filter.
However, Kweon teaches the image is passed through an optical low-pass filter (see Kweon, Fig. 9, the digital image sensor 932 includes an optical low-pass filter F; paragraph [0173], The optical low pass filter serves to remove a moire effect from the image).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image sensor of Udo to have optical low-pass filter as taught by Kweon for the purpose to remove a moire effect from the image (Kweon, paragraph [0173]).
Regarding claim 32, combination Udo–Kweon discloses the invention as described in Claim 31 and Kweon further teaches wherein the blurring of the image (paragraph [0181], a desired characteristic of a lens, i.e., an image without distortion) is produced by the optical low-pass filter (see Kweon, Fig. 9, the digital image sensor 932 includes an optical low-pass filter F; paragraph [0173], The optical low pass filter serves to remove a moire effect from the image).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add optical low-pass filter of Udo to reduce blurring of the image as taught by Kweon for the purpose to remove a moire effect from the image (Kweon, paragraph [0173]).
Regarding claim 40, Udo discloses the invention as described in Claim 38, Udo does not explicitly teach wherein the digital image sensor comprises an optical low-pass filter, and therein the image distortion is produced by the optical low-pass filter.
However, Kweon teaches wherein the digital image sensor comprises an optical low-pass filter (see Kweon, Fig. 9, the digital image sensor 932 includes an optical low-pass filter F; paragraph [0173], The optical low pass filter serves to remove a moire effect from the image), and therein the image distortion (Kweon, paragraph [0183], the distortion can be calculated) is produced by the optical low-pass filter (see Kweon, Fig. 9, the digital image sensor 932 includes an optical low-pass filter F; paragraph [0173], The optical low pass filter serves to remove a moire effect from the image).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image sensor of Udo to have optical low-pass filter as taught by Kweon for the purpose to remove a moire effect from the image (Kweon, paragraph [0173]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered, see Remarks Page. 5-7 with respect to the 35 U.S.C.& 102 rejection have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues that:
Claims 21 to 24, 26, 29, 30, 33, and 35 to 38 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a) as being allegedly anticipated by Udo (DE 102013102910). Applicant submits that a feature of its invention as recited in independent claims 21, 30, and 38 is that the corrective lens group is specially configured to improve an optical quality, e.g., distortion, of the image as produced by the digital image sensor (i.e., the distortion is caused by the digital image sensor). In contrast, Udo is directed to and discloses an anamorphic lens attachment designed to optimize the optical squeeze of light before it reaches a camera. In other words, any optical corrections disclosed in Udo are directed to aberrations inherent in the lens elements themselves. While Udo generically discloses an electronic detector, such electronic detector is a passive recipient of light. Udo fails to disclose or remotely suggest lenses that are specially configured to address distortion produced by the digital image sensor. Simply put, Udo discloses correcting for a lens flaw versus Applicant's claimed invention that is configured to correct for a digital sampling filter flaw.
In response to applicant's argument(s) of 1
In this case, as recited in independent claims 21, 30, and 38 didn’t recited “ configured to correct for a digital sampling filter flaw”. Also, as described in claim 21, Udo teaches passing the image from the corrective lens group to a digital image sensor (Udo, an electronic detector; paragraph [0009] During recording, the horizontal dimension is reduced more than the vertical dimension when imaging an object onto the detector plane, for example, film material or an electronic detector, the resulting image is therefore horizontally compress---is known all digital image sensors are electronic detectors), wherein the corrective lens group (lenses 40+50+60) is configured to improve an optical quality of the image as produced (paragraph [0010] corrected photographic lens - be it a recording) by the digital image sensor (onto the detector plane; furthermore, the claim recites “passing the image from the corrective lens group to a digital image sensor”, not “passing the image from a digital image sensor to the corrective lens group”; therefore, logically, Udo teaches the same function to improve an optical quality of the image; thus, Udo teaches wherein the corrective lens group is configured to improve an optical quality of the image as produced by the digital image sensor).
Examiner's Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872