DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans et al. (US Patent Number 11,343,207, hereinafter “Evans”) in view of Na et al. (US Publication Number 2006/0023724, hereinafter “Na”).
5. As per claims 1, 8, and 15, Evans teaches a system, device and method, comprising: a shared buffer (shared buffer 254, figure 2), including a plurality of buffer portions (partitioned buffer 254, figure 2, column 4, line 7); and a plurality of ports (ports 252, figure 2).
Evans does not appear to explicitly disclose a forwarding database that dynamically binds a first port of the plurality of ports with at least one buffer portion of the plurality of buffer portions based on a location of a target port associated with the first port.
However, Na discloses a forwarding database (FDB 100, figure 1) that dynamically binds (FDB dynamically binds/learn and remove, paragraphs 26 and 27, and 32) a first port of the plurality of ports with at least one buffer portion of the plurality of buffer portions (figures 3 and 5 mapping the port tree for FDB entry to identify host location connected to port, paragraph 3, ) based on a location of a target port (target port 130, figure 1) associated with the first port (figure 7, target port location based association, returning egress port number in light of figures and claim 1 of Na).
Evans and Na are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of network switch management.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Evans and Na before him or her, to modify the buffer allocation of Evans to include the FDB of Na because they are known elements in network switch design architecture.
One of ordinary skill would be motivated to make such modification in order to enhance efficiency of switch performance (paragraphs 2 – 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Na with Evans to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claims.
6. Evans modified by the teachings of Na as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 2, 9, and 16, Evans teaches a system, device and method, wherein the at least one buffer portion is a closest available buffer portion to the target port (traffic optimization for packet to port transmission, column 4, lines 10 – 31).
7. Evans modified by the teachings of Na as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 3, 10, and 17, Evans teaches a system, device and method, wherein the plurality of buffer portions are distributed among different physical locations within a device (tiered shared buffer memory structure of a network, figure 3).
8. Evans modified by the teachings of Na as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 4, 13, and 18, Evans teaches a system, device and method, wherein the device comprises a network switch (network switch 200, figure 2).
9. Evans modified by the teachings of Na as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 5, 11, and 19, Evans teaches a system, device and method, wherein each forwarding database is determined, at least in part, based on reducing latency and maintaining minimum requirements of the shared buffer (minimizing packet loss or minimize packet loss rate while handling traffic optimization, column 4, lines 3 – 31).
10. Evans modified by the teachings of Na as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 6, 12, and 20, Evans teaches a system, device and method, wherein the first port corresponds to an ingress port of a network switch and the target port corresponds to an egress port of the network switch (ingress/egress ports 252, figure 2, column 4, line 5).
11. Evans modified by the teachings of Na as seen in claim 1 above, as per claims 7 and 14, Evans teaches a system and device, wherein the plurality of ports correspond to ingress ports of a network switch and the target port corresponds to an egress port of the network switch (ingress/egress ports 252, figure 2, column 4, line 5).
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection in view of Na does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Amemiya/Beier/Schroder/Turgeman has teachings of forwarding database with dynamic buffer and port management.
AH
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184