DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is in response to the filing of the application on 11/21/2023. Since the initial
filing, no claims have been amended, canceled, or added. Thus, claims 1-20 are pending in the
application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Step 1:
Claims 11-19 are directed to a method and fall into the statutory categories.
Regarding Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 11 recites:
obtaining a measured atmospheric pressure through a pressure sensor of the electronic mask
identifying an event among the plurality of preset events based on the measured atmospheric pressure
performing an operation corresponding to the identified event
Steps (b) and (c) are mental processes (i.e., evaluation or judgement) that can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using pen and paper.
Regarding Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 11 recites additional elements, i.e. step (a), a pressure sensor of the electronic mask. However, step (a) is insignificant extra-solution activity, further, a pressure sensor is recited at a high level of generality. Thus, the claims as a whole do not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Regarding Step 2B:
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al. (US 20230014547 A1) discloses a mask apparatus with a pressure sensor to measure the pressure of the breathing space (abs.), wherein it states a pressure sensor is a well-known technology in the field (para. 181, pressure sensor 220 is a well-known technology, para. 179, the pressure sensor 220 functions to sense or measure an internal pressure of the mask).
Therefore, using a pressure sensor for “obtaining a measured atmospheric pressure in the electronic mask” (claim 11, ln. 1-2), is nothing more than Well Understood Routine conventional (“WURC”) activity.
The additional elements, including step (a), considering them both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Regarding dependent Claims 12-19, do not introduce anything more than insignificant extra solution activity, which can be performed either in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper.
Regarding dependent claim 20, claim limitation “receiving a user input to change setting information of the electronic mask from a terminal device through a communication interface” (claim 20, ln. 2-3). Recites additional elements in “terminal device” (claim 20, ln. 2-3) and “communication interface” (claim 20, ln. 3) which are enough to overcome rejection and are found to be eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 10-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 20220016449 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses an electronic mask (abs.) comprising: a memory configured to store default atmospheric pressure information corresponding to a user and a plurality of preset events corresponding to the default atmospheric pressure information (para. 228, memory 190 can store the information sensed by the pressure sensor 14. Particularly, the memory 190 can store a pressure value sensed by the pressure sensor 14, an inhalation time, an exhalation time, a tidal volume, a breathing cycle, and a next breathing cycle, which are analyzed through the pressure value, para. 18, the controller is configured to store information of the tidal volume in a non-transitory memory, update the information of the tidal volume, and control the rotation speed of the fan module based on the updated information of the tidal volume. In some examples, the controller is configured to, based on the difference value being greater than the second reference value, determine that the breathing state is an exercise state); a pressure sensor configured to measure atmospheric pressure inside the electronic mask (para. 220, pressure sensor 14 is mounted on a sensor mounting portion 109 to sense an internal pressure of the mask apparatus 1); a fan module configured to introduce outside air to inside of the electronic mask or discharge inside air to outside of the electronic mask (para. 157, The fan modules 16 and 17 can include a fan, a fan motor, and a fan housing accommodating the fan and the fan motor. The fan housing can include a suction hole through which the external air is introduced into the fan, and a discharge hole through which the air forcedly flowing by the fan is discharged); and at least one processor configured to: obtain the measured atmospheric pressure through the pressure sensor, identify an event among the plurality of preset events based on the measured atmospheric pressure, and control the fan module to perform an operation corresponding to the identified event (para. 13, a controller coupled to the mask body and configured to control a rotation speed of the fan module based on pressure values measured by the pressure sensor. The controller is configured to determine breathing information including a maximum pressure value and a minimum pressure value among the pressure values, a maximum time point corresponding to the maximum pressure value, and a minimum time point corresponding to the minimum pressure value. The controller is configured to determine a breathing state of a user based on the breathing information, determine whether the breathing state is a steady state, determine a tidal volume of the user based on the breathing information, where the tidal volume represents a volume of air that the user breathes in and out in the steady state, and control the rotation speed of the fan module based on the tidal volume).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses an electronic mask, wherein: the default atmospheric pressure information comprises a default minimum atmospheric pressure and a default maximum atmospheric pressure corresponding to the user, and the at least one processor is configured to: obtain a first event atmospheric pressure less than the default minimum atmospheric pressure, obtain a second event atmospheric pressure greater than the default maximum atmospheric pressure, and identify the event by comparing the measured atmospheric pressure with at least one of the first event atmospheric pressure and the second event atmospheric pressure (para. 236, particularly, the breathing state determination portion 220 can calculate a difference value between the maximum pressure value and the minimum pressure value, which are sensed by the pressure sensor 14, and compare the difference value with a reference value to determine the type of breathing state, para. 237, when the difference value is less than the first reference value, the breathing state determination portion 220 can determine that the mask is not worn, para. 238, If the difference value is greater than the first reference value and less than a second reference value, the breathing state determination portion 220 can determine that the breathing is in a stable state, para. 239, In some implementations, when the difference value is greater than the second reference value, the breathing state determination portion 220 can determine that the breathing is in an exercise state).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses an electronic mask, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: in response to an intensity of the fan module changing, change the default minimum atmospheric pressure, the default maximum atmospheric pressure, or at least one of the first event atmospheric pressure and the second event atmospheric pressure based on the changed intensity of the fan module (para. 18, controller is configured to, based on the difference value being greater than the second reference value, determine that the breathing state is an exercise state, and, based on determining that the breathing state is the exercise state, reset the measured pressure values and control the rotation speed of the fan module based on tidal volume data stored before the breathing state is the exercise state).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses an electronic mask, wherein the at least one processor is configured to, based on the measured atmospheric pressure being less than or equal to the first event atmospheric pressure, identify an inhalation event among the plurality of preset events (para. 14, the controller can be configured to determine a difference value between the maximum pressure value and the minimum pressure value, compare the difference value to a reference value, and determine the breathing state based on comparing the difference value to the reference value. In some examples, the reference value can include a first reference value, and a second reference value greater than the first reference value, where wherein the controller is configured to determine that the breathing state is the steady state based on the difference value being greater than the first reference value and less than the second reference value).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses an electronic mask, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: obtain a first event time at which the measured atmospheric pressure is less than or equal to the first event atmospheric pressure, based on the first event time being less than a threshold time, identify the inhalation event as a first type, and based on the first event time being greater than or equal to the threshold time, identify the inhalation event as a second type (para. 15, the controller is configured to determine a time difference between the maximum time point and the minimum time point, compare the time difference to a reference time, and determine the breathing state based on comparing the time difference to the reference time, para. 30, the method can include, based on the time difference being greater than the second reference duration, determining that the user is in a deep breathing state, and, based on determining that the user is in the deep breathing state, resetting the measured pressure values and controlling the rotation speed of the fan module based on tidal volume data stored before the user is in the deep breathing state, para. 31, the method can include, based on the time difference being less than the first reference duration, determining that the user is in an abnormal breathing state or that the mask apparatus is in a malfunction state, and, based on determining that the user is in the abnormal breathing state or that the mask apparatus is in the malfunction state, resetting the measured pressure values and stopping operation of the fan module).
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses an electronic mask, wherein the at least one processor is configured to, based on the measured atmospheric pressure being greater than or equal to the second atmospheric pressure, identify an exhalation event among the plurality of preset events (para. 14, the controller can be configured to determine a difference value between the maximum pressure value and the minimum pressure value, compare the difference value to a reference value, and determine the breathing state based on comparing the difference value to the reference value. In some examples, the reference value can include a first reference value, and a second reference value greater than the first reference value, where wherein the controller is configured to determine that the breathing state is the steady state based on the difference value being greater than the first reference value and less than the second reference value).
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses an electronic mask, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: obtain a second event time at which the measured atmospheric pressure is greater than or equal to the second event atmospheric pressure, based on the second event time being less than a threshold time, identify the exhalation event as a first type, and based on the second event time being greater than or equal to the threshold time, identify the exhalation event as a second type (para. 14, the controller can be configured to determine a difference value between the maximum pressure value and the minimum pressure value, compare the difference value to a reference value, and determine the breathing state based on comparing the difference value to the reference value. In some examples, the reference value can include a first reference value, and a second reference value greater than the first reference value, where wherein the controller is configured to determine that the breathing state is the steady state based on the difference value being greater than the first reference value and less than the second reference value).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses an electronic mask, wherein: the default atmospheric pressure information comprises a default breathing time, and the at least one processor is configured to: based on an inhalation event being identified, obtain a breathing time of the user based on a first time interval corresponding to an extreme minimum point, based on an exhalation event being identified, obtain the breathing time of the user based on a second time interval corresponding to an extreme maximum point, and identify the event based on comparing the default breathing time and the breathing time (para. 209, the mask device 1 measures and stores the first time Tmax corresponding to the maximum pressure value Pmax and the second time Tmin corresponding to the minimum pressure value Pmin, para. 213, the reason for determining whether the time difference Tavg between the time Tmax corresponding to the maximum pressure value and the time Tmin corresponding to the minimum pressure value is greater than the first reference time and smaller than the second reference time is, to determine whether the user's breathing cycle has a stable breathing cycle).
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses a method of controlling an electronic mask (abs.) storing default atmospheric pressure information corresponding to a user and a plurality of preset events corresponding to the default atmospheric pressure information (para. 228, memory 190 can store the information sensed by the pressure sensor 14. Particularly, the memory 190 can store a pressure value sensed by the pressure sensor 14, an inhalation time, an exhalation time, a tidal volume, a breathing cycle, and a next breathing cycle, which are analyzed through the pressure value, para. 18, the controller is configured to store information of the tidal volume in a non-transitory memory, update the information of the tidal volume, and control the rotation speed of the fan module based on the updated information of the tidal volume. In some examples, the controller is configured to, based on the difference value being greater than the second reference value, determine that the breathing state is an exercise state), the method comprising: obtaining a measured atmospheric pressure through a pressure sensor of the electronic mask (para. 220, pressure sensor 14 is mounted on a sensor mounting portion 109 to sense an internal pressure of the mask apparatus 1), identifying an event among the plurality of preset events based on the measured atmospheric pressure; and performing an operation corresponding to the identified even (para. 13, a controller coupled to the mask body and configured to control a rotation speed of the fan module based on pressure values measured by the pressure sensor. The controller is configured to determine breathing information including a maximum pressure value and a minimum pressure value among the pressure values, a maximum time point corresponding to the maximum pressure value, and a minimum time point corresponding to the minimum pressure value. The controller is configured to determine a breathing state of a user based on the breathing information, determine whether the breathing state is a steady state, determine a tidal volume of the user based on the breathing information, where the tidal volume represents a volume of air that the user breathes in and out in the steady state, and control the rotation speed of the fan module based on the tidal volume).
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses a method of controlling an electronic mask (abs.), wherein: the default atmospheric pressure information comprises a default minimum atmospheric pressure and a default maximum atmospheric pressure corresponding to the user, wherein identifying the event comprises: obtaining a first event atmospheric pressure less than the default minimum atmospheric pressure, obtaining a second event atmospheric pressure greater than the default maximum atmospheric pressure, and identifying the event by comparing the measured atmospheric pressure with at least one of the first event atmospheric pressure and the second event atmospheric pressure (para. 236, particularly, the breathing state determination portion 220 can calculate a difference value between the maximum pressure value and the minimum pressure value, which are sensed by the pressure sensor 14, and compare the difference value with a reference value to determine the type of breathing state, para. 237, when the difference value is less than the first reference value, the breathing state determination portion 220 can determine that the mask is not worn, para. 238, If the difference value is greater than the first reference value and less than a second reference value, the breathing state determination portion 220 can determine that the breathing is in a stable state, para. 239, In some implementations, when the difference value is greater than the second reference value, the breathing state determination portion 220 can determine that the breathing is in an exercise state).
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses a method of controlling an electronic mask (abs.), further comprising: in response to an intensity of a fan module changing, changing the default minimum atmospheric pressure, the default maximum atmospheric pressure, or at least one of the first event atmospheric pressure and the second event atmospheric pressure based on the changed intensity of the fan module (para. 18, controller is configured to, based on the difference value being greater than the second reference value, determine that the breathing state is an exercise state, and, based on determining that the breathing state is the exercise state, reset the measured pressure values and control the rotation speed of the fan module based on tidal volume data stored before the breathing state is the exercise state).
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses a method of controlling an electronic mask (abs.), wherein the identifying the event comprises, based on the measured atmospheric pressure being less than or equal to the first event atmospheric pressure, identifying an inhalation event among the plurality of preset events (para. 14, the controller can be configured to determine a difference value between the maximum pressure value and the minimum pressure value, compare the difference value to a reference value, and determine the breathing state based on comparing the difference value to the reference value. In some examples, the reference value can include a first reference value, and a second reference value greater than the first reference value, where wherein the controller is configured to determine that the breathing state is the steady state based on the difference value being greater than the first reference value and less than the second reference value).
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses a method of controlling an electronic mask (abs.), wherein the identifying the event comprises: obtaining a first event time at which the measured atmospheric pressure is less than or equal to the first event atmospheric pressure, based on the first event time being less than a threshold time, identifying the inhalation event as a first type, and based on the first event time being greater than or equal to the threshold time, identifying the inhalation event as a second type (para. 15, the controller is configured to determine a time difference between the maximum time point and the minimum time point, compare the time difference to a reference time, and determine the breathing state based on comparing the time difference to the reference time, para. 30, the method can include, based on the time difference being greater than the second reference duration, determining that the user is in a deep breathing state, and, based on determining that the user is in the deep breathing state, resetting the measured pressure values and controlling the rotation speed of the fan module based on tidal volume data stored before the user is in the deep breathing state, para. 31, the method can include, based on the time difference being less than the first reference duration, determining that the user is in an abnormal breathing state or that the mask apparatus is in a malfunction state, and, based on determining that the user is in the abnormal breathing state or that the mask apparatus is in the malfunction state, resetting the measured pressure values and stopping operation of the fan module).
Regarding claim 16, Choi discloses a method of controlling an electronic mask (abs.), further comprising: based on the measured atmospheric pressure being greater than or equal to the second atmospheric pressure, identifying an exhalation event among the plurality of preset events (para. 14, the controller can be configured to determine a difference value between the maximum pressure value and the minimum pressure value, compare the difference value to a reference value, and determine the breathing state based on comparing the difference value to the reference value. In some examples, the reference value can include a first reference value, and a second reference value greater than the first reference value, where wherein the controller is configured to determine that the breathing state is the steady state based on the difference value being greater than the first reference value and less than the second reference value).
Regarding claim 17, Choi discloses a method of controlling an electronic mask (abs.), further comprising: obtaining a second event time at which the measured atmospheric pressure is greater than or equal to the second event atmospheric pressure, based on the second event time being less than a threshold time, identifying the exhalation event as a first type, and based on the second event time being greater than or equal to the threshold time, identifying the exhalation event as a second type (para. 14, the controller can be configured to determine a difference value between the maximum pressure value and the minimum pressure value, compare the difference value to a reference value, and determine the breathing state based on comparing the difference value to the reference value. In some examples, the reference value can include a first reference value, and a second reference value greater than the first reference value, where wherein the controller is configured to determine that the breathing state is the steady state based on the difference value being greater than the first reference value and less than the second reference value).
Regarding claim 19, Choi discloses a method of controlling an electronic mask (abs.), wherein: the default atmospheric pressure information comprises a default breathing time, and the method further comprises: based on an inhalation event being identified, obtaining a breathing time of the user based on a first time interval corresponding to an extreme minimum point, based on an exhalation event being identified, obtaining the breathing time of the user based on a second time interval corresponding to an extreme maximum point, and identifying the event based on comparing the default breathing time and the breathing time (para. 209, the mask device 1 measures and stores the first time Tmax corresponding to the maximum pressure value Pmax and the second time Tmin corresponding to the minimum pressure value Pmin, para. 213, the reason for determining whether the time difference Tavg between the time Tmax corresponding to the maximum pressure value and the time Tmin corresponding to the minimum pressure value is greater than the first reference time and smaller than the second reference time is, to determine whether the user's breathing cycle has a stable breathing cycle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20220016449 A1) in light of Park (KR102287025B1).
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses an electronic mask (abs.), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: various events (para. 13, The controller is configured to determine a breathing state of a user based on the breathing information), but is silent on the at least one processor is configured to: identify a number of events based on an amount the event is identified during a preset time, and identify the event based on the number of events.
However, Park teaches an electronic mask with pressure sensors and a control module to increase internal mask pressure through fan operation (para. 17), including at least one processor configured to: identify a number of events based on an amount the event is identified during a preset time, and identify the event based on the number of events (para. 74, control module (170) determines that the wearer is a patient with hyperventilation based on the wearer's disease information collected through the disease information collection module (120), it can continuously analyze the wearer's inhalation and exhalation detected through the breathing measurement sensor (131) to monitor whether the wearer is exhibiting symptoms of hyperventilation, that is, whether the wearer is performing breathing actions more than a certain number of times for a predetermined period of time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing system of Choi to include the counting system of Park to give the device the ability to analyze even more types of user breathing events and add another variable for increased accuracy at identifying already included breathing events.
Regarding claim 18, Choi discloses a method of controlling an electronic mask (abs.), further comprising: identifying various events (para. 13, The controller is configured to determine a breathing state of a user based on the breathing information), but is silent on the method further comprising: identifying a number of events based on an amount the event is identified during a preset time, and identifying the event based on the number of events.
However, Park teaches a method of controlling an electronic mask with pressure sensors and a control module to increase internal mask pressure through fan operation (para. 17), including: identifying a number of events based on an amount the event is identified during a preset time, and identify the event based on the number of events (para. 74, control module (170) determines that the wearer is a patient with hyperventilation based on the wearer's disease information collected through the disease information collection module (120), it can continuously analyze the wearer's inhalation and exhalation detected through the breathing measurement sensor (131) to monitor whether the wearer is exhibiting symptoms of hyperventilation, that is, whether the wearer is performing breathing actions more than a certain number of times for a predetermined period of time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing system of Choi to include the counting system of Park to give the device the ability to analyze even more types of user breathing events and add another variable for increased accuracy at identifying already included breathing events.
8. Claim(s) 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20220016449 A1) in light of Fabian et al. (US2018078798A1)
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses an electronic mask, which includes a communication interface (para. 162, control module 18 can include a communication module to transmit and receive various types of information), but is silent on the at least one processor being configured to: receive a user input to change setting information of the electronic mask from a terminal device through the communication interface, and change setting information of the electronic mask based on the received user input.
However, Fabian teaches a self-contained respiratory mask with pressure sensors and a controller to control the fan unit (para. 12, para. 23), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a user input to change setting information of the electronic mask from a terminal device through the communication interface, and change setting information of the electronic mask based on the received user input (para. 143, each user of a user-wearable device 100 can connect a respective wearable device 100 in communication with an associated user host device 502. The connection can be a wireless connection, such as Bluetooth or WiFi. The data can be stored by the user-wearable device and forwarded to or retrieved from the host device 502 periodically or upon connection, para. 145, Configurations properties of the device 100 can include date/time setup, sensors setup, data sampling duration or frequency, display content, user information, and frequency of upload to the host device 502. Further, in some embodiments control data may be transmitted from the host device to the respiratory mask device, Fig. 5, shows device communication interface connections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication/control system of Choi to include the external user device control and access taught by Fabian to improve a user’s ability to control various mask settings and features.
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses a method of controlling an electronic mask (abs.), including using a communication interface (para. 162, control module 18 can include a communication module to transmit and receive various types of information), but is silent on receiving a user input to change setting information of the electronic mask from a terminal device through a communication interface of the electronic mask, and changing setting information of the electronic mask based on the received user input.
However, Fabian teaches a method of controlling a self-contained respiratory mask with pressure sensors and a controller to control the fan unit (para. 12, para. 23), wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive a user input to change setting information of the electronic mask from a terminal device through the communication interface, and change setting information of the electronic mask based on the received user input (para. 143, each user of a user-wearable device 100 can connect a respective wearable device 100 in communication with an associated user host device 502. The connection can be a wireless connection, such as Bluetooth or WiFi. The data can be stored by the user-wearable device and forwarded to or retrieved from the host device 502 periodically or upon connection, para. 145, Configurations properties of the device 100 can include date/time setup, sensors setup, data sampling duration or frequency, display content, user information, and frequency of upload to the host device 502. Further, in some embodiments control data may be transmitted from the host device to the respiratory mask device, Fig. 5, shows device communication interface connections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication/control system of Choi to include the external user device control and access taught by Fabian to improve a user’s ability to control various mask settings and features.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure these are various masks with fan components and pressure sensors in communication Bowden et al. (US 20220339470 A1) and Callaghan et al. (US 11446463 B2).
/A.R.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785