DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foreign Publication CN114497836A (supplied by applicant, used attached machine translation, hereafter Hu.
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses a plastic component ([0063], Figs 2, 3 lower plastic 2), comprising a body having a first side surface and a second side surface facing away from the first side surface (Figs 2, 3), the first side surface having a buffer recess (28) recessed towards the second side surface (Fig 3, [0110] fourth recess 28), the buffer recess (28) having at least one flow guide hole (281) penetrating the body in a thickness direction of the body (Fig 3, [0110] fourth recess 28 with pressure relief hole 281), the second side surface having at least one connection piece recess (21) recessed towards the first side surface (Fig 2 [0093] upwardly recessed first groove 21), a connection piece (3) being at least partially installed and positioned in the connection piece recess (21) (Fig 2, [0130] first connecting piece 3 inserted into first recessed groove 21), and each of the at least one connection piece recess (21) having a pole through hole penetrating the body in the thickness direction of the body (Fig 3, [0083] first through hole 211).
Regarding claim 2, Hu discloses wherein a projection region of the connection piece recess (21) on the body and a projection region of the buffer recess (28) on the body are offset from each other (Figs 2 and 3, fourth recess 28 offset from first groove 21).
Regarding claim 4, Hu discloses wherein the second side surface has two connection piece recesses (21, 22) located at two ends of the buffer recess (28), respectively (Figs 2, 3, fourth recess 28 between first and second grooves 21 and 22).
Regarding claim 12, Hu discloses wherein the pole through hole (211) is located at a center of the body in a width direction of the body (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 13, Hu discloses wherein the connection piece recess (21) has a first side wall close to the buffer recess (28) and a second side wall away from the buffer recess (28), a distance between the pole through hole (211) and the second side wall being greater than a distance between the pole through hole and the first side wall (Fig 2, through hole closer to outer edge of first groove 21 than inner edge towards fourth recess 28).
Regarding claim 14, Hu discloses a battery ([0006] battery), comprising the plastic component according to claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, Hu discloses a cover plate (Fig 2 [0064] top cover plate 1) located at a side of the first side surface of the plastic component (2) and having a liquid injection hole (64) (Fig 2), a projection of the liquid injection hole (64) on the first side surface being located at the buffer recess (28) (Figs 2-3, downwardly projecting liquid injection port 64 located over matching projecting hole in fourth recess 28), and the flow guide hole being (281) offset from the liquid injection hole (64) (Fig 3, pressure relief holes 281 separate from injection port).
Regarding claim 16, Hu discloses the connection piece (3) and a pole (51), the pole passing through the pole through hole (211) (Figs 2, 3, [0052] negative terminal post 51 inserted into first through hole 211), the connection piece (3) being located at a side of the second side surface of the plastic component (2) (Fig 2, [0130] first connecting piece 3 inserted into first recessed groove 21) and comprising a pole connection segment (31) and a tab connection segment (33) connected to the pole connection segment (31) (Fig 2 first assembly part 31; Fig 2, [0106] first pins 33), the pole connection segment (31) being located at the connection piece recess (21) and fixedly connected to the pole (51) (Fig 1), the tab connection segment (33) extending away from the plastic component (2) (Fig 2), and an angle between the tab connection segment (33) and the pole connection segment (31) being greater than 70° and smaller than 110° (Fig 2, appears to be 90° angle).
Regarding claim 17, Hu discloses at least one bare cell (Fig 7, [0106] cell 200) arranged at a side of the pole connection segment (31) facing away from the plastic component (2), a longitudinal extending direction of the bare cell (200) being consistent with a length direction of the body, and a longitudinal end of the bare cell (200) being a tab connected to the tab connection segment (Fig 8, [0106] pole connected to first pin 33).
Regarding claim 18, Hu discloses wherein the bare cell (200) has a protrusion protruding towards the plastic component (2), the protrusion comprising a proximal portion close to the plastic component and a distal portion away from the plastic component (2), a distance between the distal portion and the plastic component (2) being greater than a distance between the proximal portion and the plastic component (2) (see annotated Fig 8), and the flow guide hole (281) being offset from the protrusion (Figs 3, 7, largest flow guide hole 281 arranged in center of lower plastic, between two bare cells 200).
Regarding claim 19, Hu discloses wherein the buffer recess (28) internally has a plurality of flow guide holes (281) penetrating the body in a thickness direction of the body and being formed at two sides of the proximal portion (Fig 3 multiple pressure relief holes 281).
Regarding claim 20, Hu discloses wherein the at least one bare cell comprises a plurality of bare cells (200), a flow guide hole (281) being located at a center line between two adjacent bare cells (200) (Figs 3, 7, largest flow guide hole 281 arranged in center of lower plastic, between two bare cells 200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreign Publication CN114497836A (supplied by applicant, used attached machine translation, hereafter Hu as stated above for claim 1, and further in view of Published Application US20210119287A1 (supplied by applicant), hereafter Shi.
Regarding claim 3, modified Hu is silent on wherein an offset between the projection region of the connection piece recess on the body and the projection region of the buffer recess on the body is greater than 0.7 mm and smaller than 1 mm.
In the analogous art of plastic battery insulation members, Shi discloses a thickness of the top cover plate to be 1 mm to 3 mm, which is of a similar order of size relationships to the claimed greater than 0.7 mm and smaller than 1 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Hu to select a dimension of greater than 0.7 mm and smaller than 1 mm for an offset between the projection region of the connection piece recess on the body and the projection region of the buffer recess on the body, as an obvious change in size and proportion, as where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (A)).
Regarding claim 5, Hu discloses wherein the first side surface is connected to the second side surface through an outer peripheral surface (see annotated Fig 3, perimeter surface of lower plastic 2).
Hu is silent on wherein the second side surface has a thinned recess having an outer peripheral recess wall and a recess bottom wall, the outer peripheral recess wall being apart from the outer peripheral surface, and the connection piece recess being formed at the recess bottom wall.
In the analogous art of plastic battery insulation members, Shi discloses wherein the second side surface has a thinned recess having an outer peripheral recess wall and a recess bottom wall, the outer peripheral recess wall being apart from the outer peripheral surface, and the connection piece recess being formed at the recess bottom wall (see annotated Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Hu with the additional thinned recess, outer peripheral recess wall, and recess bottom wall as disclosed by Shi in order to lengthen the contact surface to strengthen the mating connection between the top cover and the battery case.
Regarding claim 6, modified Hu is silent on wherein a distance between the outer peripheral recess wall and the outer peripheral surface is smaller than or equal to 10 mm.
Shi discloses a thickness of the top cover plate to be 1 mm to 3 mm, which is of a similar order of size relationships to the claimed 10 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Hu to select a dimension of smaller than or equal to a 10 mm distance between the outer peripheral recess wall and the outer peripheral surface, as an obvious change in size and proportion, as where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (A)).
Regarding claim 7, Hu is silent on wherein the connection piece recess is provided with a positioning protruding post protruding away from the first side surface, the positioning protruding post having an end surface flush with the recess bottom wall of the thinned recess.
However, Hu discloses positioning block (14a) is provided on the top cover (1) to align with a corresponding groove on the lower plastic (2) in order to doubly guarantee positioning and assembly of the top cover (1) and the lower plastic (2) ([0075]). Hu further discloses that either the first recessed platform or the first recessed groove is provided with the first positioning block ([0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to further modify the invention of Hu to switch the locations of the positioning block (14a) and the corresponding groove on the lower plastic (2) as an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04 (VI) (C)), and since Hu suggests the possibility of the positioning block to be located in the first recessed groove ([0009]).
Regarding claim 8, Hu discloses wherein the body (2) is of a flat plate-like structure (Figs 2, 3).
Modified Hu is silent on wherein the body has a length greater than or equal to 300 mm, a width greater than or equal to 107 mm, and a thickness greater than or equal to 4 mm, wherein the thickness of the body is smaller than or equal to 30 mm.
In the analogous art of plastic battery insulation members, Shi discloses a width of the main body region (P3) to be 30 mm to 60 mm, which is of a similar order of size relationships to the claimed a length greater than or equal to 300 mm, a width greater than or equal to 107 mm, and a thickness greater than or equal to 4 mm, wherein the thickness of the body is smaller than or equal to 30 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Hu to select dimensions of a length greater than or equal to 300 mm, a width greater than or equal to 107 mm, and a thickness greater than or equal to 4 mm, wherein the thickness of the body is smaller than or equal to 30 mm, as an obvious change in size and proportion, as where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (A)).
Regarding claim 9, Hu is silent on wherein the buffer recess (11) has a length greater than or equal to 285mm, a width greater than or equal to 100 mm, and a depth greater than or equal to 2.5 mm.
In the analogous art of plastic battery insulation members, Shi discloses a width of the main body region (P3) to be 30 mm to 60 mm, which is of a similar order of size relationships to the claimed a length greater than or equal to 285mm, a width greater than or equal to 100 mm, and a depth greater than or equal to 2.5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Hu to select dimensions of a length greater than or equal to 285mm, a width greater than or equal to 100 mm, and a depth greater than or equal to 2.5 mm, as an obvious change in size and proportion, as where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (A)).
Regarding claim 10, Hu is silent on wherein: a dimension of the connection piece recess in a length direction of the body is greater than or equal to 50mm; a dimension of the connection piece recess in a width direction of the body is greater than or equal to 86 mm; and a depth of the connection piece recess is greater than or equal to 2.5 mm.
In the analogous art of plastic battery insulation members, Shi discloses a width of the main body region (P3) to be 30 mm to 60 mm, which is of a similar order of size relationships to the claimed a dimension of the connection piece recess in a length direction of the body is greater than or equal to 50mm; a dimension of the connection piece recess in a width direction of the body is greater than or equal to 86 mm; and a depth of the connection piece recess is greater than or equal to 2.5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Hu to select a dimension of the connection piece recess in a length direction of the body is greater than or equal to 50mm; a dimension of the connection piece recess in a width direction of the body is greater than or equal to 86 mm; and a depth of the connection piece recess is greater than or equal to 2.5 mm, as an obvious change in size and proportion, as where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (A)).
Regarding claim 11, Hu is silent on wherein the connection piece recess has a rounded corner arranged at a side of the connection piece recess close to the buffer recess, a fillet radius of the rounded corner being greater than 5mm and smaller than 20 mm.
In the analogous art of plastic battery insulation members, Shi discloses wherein the connection piece recess has a rounded corner arranged at a side of the connection piece recess close to the buffer recess (Fig 5 rounded corners of second recess 326).
The examiner notes further that one skilled in the art would understand that an increasing fillet radius would logically lead to a smoother transition between the adjacent sides of the recess, thus increasing the structural stability, at the cost of the amount of available space inside the recess itself.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Hu to use rounded corners of the recess as disclosed by Shi in order to provide improved structural stability to the corners of the recess.
As the structural stability of the rounded corner and available space of the recess is/are variable(s) that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the fillet radius of the rounded corner of the recess, with the structural stability of the rounded corner increasing and available recess space decreasing as the fillet radius of the rounded corner is increased, the fillet radius of the rounded corner would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed fillet radius of the rounded corner cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the fillet radius of the rounded corner in the invention of modified Hu to obtain the desired balance between structural stability of the rounded corner of the recess and available space within the recess (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754