DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leng [US 6,525,283].
In regard to claim 1, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] an operating device of a human-powered vehicle, the operating device comprising: a base structure [11] mountable to a handlebar [1] of the human-powered vehicle; a circuit board [41] including a first surface and a second surface provided on a reverse side of the first surface; a first operating member [annotated below] movably coupled to the base structure [11]; a second operating member [annotated below] movably coupled to the base structure [11]; a third operating member [annotated below] movably coupled to the base structure [11]; a first electric switch [annotated below] configured to be activated in response to a movement of the first operating member; a second electric switch [annotated below] configured to be activated in response to a movement of the second operating member; a third electric switch [annotated below] configured to be activated in response to a movement of the third operating member; and the first electric switch, the second electric switch, and the third electric switch being provided on the circuit board [41].
In regard to claim 2, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] the operating device according to claim 1, wherein the first electric switch, the second electric switch, and the third electric switch are provided on the first surface.
In regard to claims 3 and 4, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] the operating device according to claim 1, wherein the first operating member is pivotally coupled to the base structure [11] about a first pivot axis, and the second operating member is pivotally coupled to the base structure [11] about a second pivot axis, wherein the second pivot axis is provided between the first electric switch and the second electric switch as viewed in a first direction perpendicular to the first surface.
In regard to claim 5, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] an operating device of a human-powered vehicle, the operating device comprising: a base structure [11] mountable to a handlebar of the human-powered vehicle; a circuit board [41] including a first surface and a second surface provided on a reverse side of the first surface; a first operating member [annotated above] movably coupled to the base structure [11]; a second operating member [annotated above] movably coupled to the base structure [11]; a third operating member [annotated above] movably coupled to the base structure [11]; a first electric switch [annotated above] configured to be activated in response to a movement of the first operating member; a second electric switch [annotated above] configured to be activated in response to a movement of the second operating member; a third electric switch [annotated above] configured to be activated in response to a movement of the third operating member; and the first operating member is pivotally coupled to the base structure [11] about a first pivot axis, the second operating member is pivotally coupled to the base structure [11] about a second pivot axis, and the second pivot axis is provided between the first electric switch and the second electric switch as viewed in a first direction perpendicular to the first surface.
In regard to claim 6, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] the operating device according to claim 3, wherein the second pivot axis is provided between the second electric switch and the third electric switch as viewed in a first direction perpendicular to the first surface.
In regard to claim 9, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] the operating device according to claim 3, wherein the first pivot axis is spaced apart from the second pivot axis as viewed in a first direction perpendicular to the first surface.
In regard to claim 10, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] the operating device according to claim 1, wherein a first minimum distance is defined between the first electric switch and the third electric switch, a second minimum distance is defined between the second electric switch and the third electric switch, and the first minimum distance is different from the second minimum distance.
In regard to claim 11, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] an operating device of a human-powered vehicle, the operating device comprising: a base structure [11] mountable to a handlebar of the human-powered vehicle; a circuit board [41] including a first surface and a second surface provided on a reverse side of the first surface; a first operating member [annotated above] movably coupled to the base structure [11]; a second operating member [annotated above] movably coupled to the base structure [11]; a third operating member [annotated above] movably coupled to the base structure [11]; a first electric switch [annotated above] configured to be activated in response to a movement of the first operating member; a second electric switch [annotated above] configured to be activated in response to a movement of the second operating member; a third electric switch [annotated above] configured to be activated in response to a movement of the third operating member; and a first minimum distance is defined between the first electric switch and the third electric switch, a second minimum distance is defined between the second electric switch and the third electric switch, and the first minimum distance is different from the second minimum distance.
In regard to claim 12, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] the operating device according to claim 10, wherein the first minimum distance is shorter than the second minimum distance.
In regard to claim 13, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] the operating device according to claim 1, further comprising a circuit board support [14], wherein the circuit board [41] is fastened to the circuit board support [14], and the circuit board support [14] is a separate member from the base structure [11].
In regard to claim 14, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] the operating device according to claim 13, wherein the circuit board support [14] at least partially overlaps the circuit board [41] as viewed in a first direction perpendicular to the first surface.
In regard to claim 15, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] the operating device according to claim 13, wherein the circuit board support [14] is fastened to the second surface of the circuit board [41].
In regard to claims 16 and 17, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] the operating device according to claim 13, further comprising a support fastener [16] configured to fasten the circuit board [41] to the circuit board support [14], wherein the circuit board support [14] includes a support fastener hole [under 15], and the support fastener is at least partially provided in the support fastener hole [wall portion surrounding 16].
In regard to claim 22, Leng discloses [in Figs. 4 and 5] the operating device according to claim 1, wherein the base structure [11] includes an opening [opening under 11 which connects 11 to 6 via 18’,19] through which the handlebar [1] is to extend.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8 and 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 19, in combination with other limitations, a power source holder configured to hold an electric power source, wherein the circuit board support is coupled to the power source holder is neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regard to claims 1, 5 and 11, Applicant argues that “Leng does not disclose a base structure mountable to a handlebar of the human-powered vehicle.” The Examiner disagrees. A handlebar is defined as “the curved steering bar of a bicycle, motorcycle, etc., placed in front of the rider and gripped by the hands” [https://www.dictionary.com/browse/handlebar]. Based on this definition of handlebar, Leng does disclose a handlebar as recited in claims 1, 5 and 11, as detailed in the rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LHEIREN MAE A CAROC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831