DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 03/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 14-20 under USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fujishiro et al. (US 2024/0080940 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujishiro et al. (US 2024/0080940 A1) (Fujishiro herein after).
Re Claim 1, Fujishiro discloses a service paging method, comprising:
sending a first message to a terminal device (early paging notification signal is a signal that is transmitted from the gNB 200 to a group consisting of a plurality of the UEs 100 [0088]), wherein the first message comprises a first paging identifier used for identifying a first service, the first message is used to perform first paging on the terminal device (upon receiving the early paging notification signal addressed to the group to which the UE 100 belongs, the UE 100 considers that a paging message addressed to the UE 100 may be transmitted from the gNB 200 and monitors for a paging message to be transmitted from the gNB 200 [0093]);
receiving a third message sent by a core network device, wherein the third message comprises a third paging identifier identifying the first service (gNB 200 may also transmit a second paging message in response to a paging request from the AMF 300 [0118]);
determining a second paging identifier based on the third paging identifier (gNB 200 may also transmit a second paging message in response to a paging request from the AMF 300 [0118]); and
sending a second message to the terminal device (gNB 200 transmits a second paging message including a multicast session identifier of the target multicast session in response to the target multicast session being activated in the network [0118]), wherein the second message comprises a second paging identifier, the second paging identifier is used to replace, during second paging, the first paging identifier to identify the first service, and the second paging is next paging of the first paging (UE 100 may incorporate information indicating a connection request for the multicast session or information indicating a connection request due to receiving a group notification for the multicast session into an RRC setup request message or an RRC resume request message that is transmitted to the gNB 200 in the random access procedure [0119]).
Re Claim 2, Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second message is a radio resource control (RRC) message or a non-access stratum (NAS) message (RRC [0053] NAS [0054]; configuration may also be performed for the UE 100 through dedicated signaling (an RRC release message or an RRC reconfiguration message) [0116]).
Re Claim 4, Fujishiro discloses the method of claim1, wherein the third message is a core network paging message, and the core network paging message indicates to perform the second paging on the terminal device (gNB 200 may also transmit a second paging message in response to a paging request from the AMF 300 [0118]).
Re Claim 5, Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the third message is a session indication message indicating to suspend, stop, activate, or release a session of the first service (gNB 200 transmits a second paging message including a multicast session identifier of the target multicast session in response to the target multicast session being activated in the network [0118]).
Re Claim 6, Fujishiro discloses the method of claim1, wherein the third paging identifier is a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) session identifier, a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI), or an internet protocol (IP) multicast address (gNB 200 transmits a second paging message including a multicast session identifier of the target multicast session in response to the target multicast session being activated in the network [0118]).
Re Claim 7, Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 1, the method further comprising: sending a fourth message to the terminal device, wherein the fourth message comprises the second paging identifier, and the fourth message is used to perform the second paging on the terminal device (UE 100 receives multicast data of the target multicast session from the gNB 200 in an RRC connected state. The UE 100 may be configured to receive the target multicast session from the gNB 200 before receiving the multicast data. The configuration is, for example, an RRC reconfiguration message including a multicast radio bearer (MRB) configuration [0121]).
Re Claim 8, Fujishiro discloses a service paging method, comprising:
receiving a first message sent by an access network device (early paging notification signal is a signal that is transmitted from the gNB 200 to a group consisting of a plurality of the UEs 100 [0088]), wherein the first message is used to perform first paging on a target terminal device and comprises a first paging identifier used to identify a first service (upon receiving the early paging notification signal addressed to the group to which the UE 100 belongs, the UE 100 considers that a paging message addressed to the UE 100 may be transmitted from the gNB 200 and monitors for a paging message to be transmitted from the gNB 200 [0093]), and the first paging identifier is a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) session identifier, a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI), or an internet protocol (IP) multicast address (paging message further includes a multicast session identifier (MBS-session-ID) of an activated multicast session as a group notification (MBS-group-notification) [0102]); and
receiving a second message sent by the access network device (gNB 200 transmits a second paging message including a multicast session identifier of the target multicast session in response to the target multicast session being activated in the network [0118]), wherein the second message comprises a second paging identifier, the second paging identifier is used to replace, during second paging, the first paging identifier to identify the first service, and the second paging is next paging of the first paging (UE 100 may incorporate information indicating a connection request for the multicast session or information indicating a connection request due to receiving a group notification for the multicast session into an RRC setup request message or an RRC resume request message that is transmitted to the gNB 200 in the random access procedure [0119]).
Re Claim 9, Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the second message is a radio resource control (RRC) message or a non-access stratum (NAS) message (RRC [0053] NAS [0054]; configuration may also be performed for the UE 100 through dedicated signaling (an RRC release message or an RRC reconfiguration message) [0116]).
Re Claim 10, Fujishiro discloses the method of claim 8, the method further comprising: receiving a fourth message sent by the access network device, wherein the fourth message comprises the second paging identifier, and the fourth message is used to perform the second paging on a terminal device (UE 100 receives multicast data of the target multicast session from the gNB 200 in an RRC connected state. The UE 100 may be configured to receive the target multicast session from the gNB 200 before receiving the multicast data. The configuration is, for example, an RRC reconfiguration message including a multicast radio bearer (MRB) configuration [0121]).
Re Claim 11, Fujishiro discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a non-transitory memory configured to store program instructions; and one or more processors (memory and processor [0042]) configured to execute the program instructions to cause the apparatus to:
send a first message to a terminal device (early paging notification signal is a signal that is transmitted from the gNB 200 to a group consisting of a plurality of the UEs 100 [0088]), wherein the first message comprises a first paging identifier used to identify a first service, the first message is used to perform first paging on the terminal device(upon receiving the early paging notification signal addressed to the group to which the UE 100 belongs, the UE 100 considers that a paging message addressed to the UE 100 may be transmitted from the gNB 200 and monitors for a paging message to be transmitted from the gNB 200 [0093]);
receive a third message sent by a core network device, wherein the third message comprises a third paging identifier identifying the first service (gNB 200 may also transmit a second paging message in response to a paging request from the AMF 300 [0118]); and
determine the second paging identifier based on the third paging identifier (gNB 200 may also transmit a second paging message in response to a paging request from the AMF 300 [0118]); and
send a second message to the terminal device, wherein the second message comprises a second paging identifier (gNB 200 transmits a second paging message including a multicast session identifier of the target multicast session in response to the target multicast session being activated in the network [0118]), the second paging identifier is used to replace, during second paging, the first paging identifier to identify the first service, and the second paging is next paging of the first paging (UE 100 may incorporate information indicating a connection request for the multicast session or information indicating a connection request due to receiving a group notification for the multicast session into an RRC setup request message or an RRC resume request message that is transmitted to the gNB 200 in the random access procedure [0119]).
Re Claim 12, Fujishiro discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the second message is a radio resource control (RRC) message or a non-access stratum (NAS) message (RRC [0053] NAS [0054]; configuration may also be performed for the UE 100 through dedicated signaling (an RRC release message or an RRC reconfiguration message) [0116]).
Re Claim 14, Fujishiro discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the third message is a core network paging message, and the core network paging message indicates the access network device to perform the second paging on the terminal device (gNB 200 may also transmit a second paging message in response to a paging request from the AMF 300 [0118]).
Re Claim 15, Fujishiro discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the third message is a session indication message indicating the access network device to suspend, stop, activate, or release a session of the first service (gNB 200 transmits a second paging message including a multicast session identifier of the target multicast session in response to the target multicast session being activated in the network [0118]).
Re Claim 16, Fujishiro discloses the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the third paging identifier is a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) session identifier, a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI), or an internet protocol (IP) multicast address (gNB 200 transmits a second paging message including a multicast session identifier of the target multicast session in response to the target multicast session being activated in the network [0118]).
Re Claim 17, Fujishiro discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to: send a fourth message to the terminal device, wherein the fourth message comprises the second paging identifier, and the fourth message is used to perform the second paging on the terminal device (UE 100 receives multicast data of the target multicast session from the gNB 200 in an RRC connected state. The UE 100 may be configured to receive the target multicast session from the gNB 200 before receiving the multicast data. The configuration is, for example, an RRC reconfiguration message including a multicast radio bearer (MRB) configuration [0121]).
Re Claim 18, Fujishiro discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a non-transitory memory configured to store program instructions; and one or more processors (memory and processor [0037]) configured to execute the program instructions to cause the apparatus to:
receive a first message sent by an access network device (early paging notification signal is a signal that is transmitted from the gNB 200 to a group consisting of a plurality of the UEs 100 [0088]), wherein the first message is used to perform first paging on the target terminal device and comprises a first paging identifier used to identify a first service (upon receiving the early paging notification signal addressed to the group to which the UE 100 belongs, the UE 100 considers that a paging message addressed to the UE 100 may be transmitted from the gNB 200 and monitors for a paging message to be transmitted from the gNB 200 [0093]), and the first paging identifier is a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) session identifier, a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI), or an internet protocol (IP) multicast address (paging message further includes a multicast session identifier (MBS-session-ID) of an activated multicast session as a group notification (MBS-group-notification) [0102]); and
receive a second message sent by the access network device (gNB 200 transmits a second paging message including a multicast session identifier of the target multicast session in response to the target multicast session being activated in the network [0118]), wherein the second message comprises a second paging identifier, the second paging identifier is used to replace, during second paging, the first paging identifier to identify the first service, and the second paging is next paging of the first paging (UE 100 may incorporate information indicating a connection request for the multicast session or information indicating a connection request due to receiving a group notification for the multicast session into an RRC setup request message or an RRC resume request message that is transmitted to the gNB 200 in the random access procedure [0119]).
Re Claim 19, Fujishiro discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the second message is a radio resourcecontrol (RRC) message or a non-access stratum (NAS) message (RRC [0053] NAS [0054]; configuration may also be performed for the UE 100 through dedicated signaling (an RRC release message or an RRC reconfiguration message) [0116]).
Re Claim 20, Fujishiro discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors is further configured to: receive a fourth message sent by the access network device, wherein the fourth message comprises the second paging identifier, and the fourth message is used to perform the second paging on the terminal device (UE 100 receives multicast data of the target multicast session from the gNB 200 in an RRC connected state. The UE 100 may be configured to receive the target multicast session from the gNB 200 before receiving the multicast data. The configuration is, for example, an RRC reconfiguration message including a multicast radio bearer (MRB) configuration [0121]).
Conclusion
/KENNETH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631