DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 8, 11- 18 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5 – 8, 11, 13, 15 – 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Persson et al. (U.S. PG Pub # 20170179702).
Regarding Claim 1, Persson discloses a grommet (200, fig 4) for securely engaging a component (cable), the grommet comprising: a resilient single-piece, monolithic structure ( Para 0020 - rubber material of 202) arranged along a longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of 202), having an external surface defined by a grommet perimeter in a grommet front view ( external surface of 202 with the perimeter of 202 in the front view); a groove (groove on the external surface of 202) arranged on the external surface (external surface of 202) and configured to accept a portion of the component therein to facilitate retention of the grommet on the component (202 configured to accept a portion of the cable therein to facilitate retention of the grommet 202 on the cable).
a plurality of slits (216) configured to fragment at least a part of the external surface via extending, in a grommet side view, into the groove (slit fragments part of the surface 202 into the groove of 202), thereby facilitating bending of the resilient structure at each respective slit to aid installation of the grommet into and/or removal from the component and minimize risk of unintentional grommet push-out (slit 216 facilitating bending of the resilient structure at each respective slit to aid installation of the grommet into and/or removal from the component and minimize risk of unintentional grommet push-out).
Regarding Claim 3, Persson discloses the grommet, wherein the groove extends around at least a part of the perimeter of the grommet (Persson – groove of 202 extends around the perimeter of grommet ).
Regarding Claim 5, Persson discloses the grommet, wherein the external surface includes a first surface, an opposing second surface (Persson - radially inner and outer surfaces of 202), and a third surface defining a grommet wall arranged between the first and second surfaces, and wherein the groove is arranged on the third surface (Persson – groove of 202 on the third surface between the first and second radial surfaces of 202).
Regarding Claim 6, Persson discloses the grommet, wherein each slit extends across the third surface, from the first surface to the second surface (Persson – plurality of slits across the third surface of 202).
Regarding Claim 7, Persson discloses the grommet.
Persson does not disclose wherein the resilient structure is a molded element (202) and each slit (216) is molded into the resilient structure (202).
This recitation of the process step of the claimed invention does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Since either process step(s) will result in the same product, the reference therefore is capable of meeting the claim limitations regarding the process step(s) rendering them unobvious and not patentably distinct.
Regarding Claim 8, Persson discloses the grommet, wherein the resilient structure is a molded element (202) and each slit is cut into the resilient structure subsequent to molding thereof (216 cut into 202).
This recitation of the process step of molding of the claimed invention does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Since either process step(s) will result in the same product, the reference therefore is capable of meeting the claim limitations regarding the process step(s) rendering them unobvious and not patentably distinct.
Regarding Claim 11, Persson discloses a component assembly (fig 4) comprising: a component (cable) defining an interfacing aperture (aperture of 202 at 220); and a grommet (202) configured to securely engage the component at the interfacing aperture (202 configured to securely engage the component at the interfacing aperture of 202 at 220), the grommet including: a resilient single-piece, monolithic structure (Para 0020 - rubber material of 202) arranged along a longitudinal axis (axis of 202), having an external surface defined by a grommet perimeter in a grommet front view (external surface of 202 with its perimeter in the front view); a groove (groove of 202 on the external surface) arranged on the external surface and configured to accept a portion of the component therein to facilitate retention of the grommet on the component (groove of 202 accepts portion of cable).
a plurality of slits (216) configured to fragment at least a part of the external surface via extending, in a grommet side view, into the groove (slit fragments part of the surface into the groove of 202), thereby facilitating bending of the resilient structure at each respective slit to aid installation of the grommet into and/or removal from the component and minimize risk of unintentional grommet push-out (slit 216 facilitating bending of the resilient structure at each respective slit to aid installation of the grommet into and/or removal from the component and minimize risk of unintentional grommet push-out).
Regarding Claim 13, Persson discloses the component assembly, wherein the groove extends around at least a part of the perimeter of the grommet (Persson – groove of 202 extends around the perimeter of 202).
Regarding Claim 15, Persson discloses the component assembly, wherein the external surface includes a first surface, an opposing second surface, and a third surface defining a grommet wall arranged between the first and second surfaces (Persson - inner and outer radial surfaces of 202), and wherein the groove is arranged on the third surface (Persson – groove of 202on the third surface between the inner and outer radial surfaces of 202).
Regarding Claim 16, Persson discloses the component assembly wherein each slit extends across the third surface, from the first surface to the second surface (Persson Para 0034 – plurality of slits 216 along the entire axial extension of the body of 202).
Regarding Claim 17, Persson discloses the component assembly.
Persson does not disclose wherein the resilient structure is a molded element (202) and each slit (216) is molded into the resilient structure (202).
This recitation of the process step of molding of the claimed invention does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Since either process step(s) will result in the same product, the reference therefore is capable of meeting the claim limitations regarding the process step(s) rendering them unobvious and not patentably distinct.
Regarding Claim 18, Persson discloses the component assembly.
Persson does not disclose wherein the resilient structure (202) is a molded element and each slit (216) is cut into the resilient structure subsequent to molding thereof.
This recitation of the process step of molding of the claimed invention does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Since either process step(s) will result in the same product, the reference therefore is capable of meeting the claim limitations regarding the process step(s) rendering them unobvious and not patentably distinct.
Regarding Claim 20, Persson discloses a motor vehicle component subassembly (fig 4) comprising: a motor vehicle component (cable) defining an interfacing aperture (aperture of 202 at 220); and a grommet (202) configured to securely engage the motor vehicle component (cable) at the interfacing aperture (aperture of 202 at 220), the grommet including: a resilient structure arranged along a longitudinal axis (Para 0020 - rubber material of 202), having an external surface defined by a grommet perimeter in a grommet front view (external surface of 202 with its perimeter in the front view); a groove (groove of 202 on the external surface) arranged on the external surface (fig 4) and configured to accept a portion of the motor vehicle component therein to facilitate retention of the grommet on the motor vehicle component (groove of 202 configured to accept a portion of the motor vehicle cable therein to facilitate retention of the grommet 202 on the motor vehicle cable).
a plurality of slits (216) configured to fragment at least a part of the external surface via extending, in a grommet side view , into the groove (slit fragments part of the surface into the groove of 202), thereby facilitating bending of the resilient structure at each respective slit to aid installation of the grommet into and/or removal from the motor vehicle component and minimize risk of unintentional grommet push-out; wherein:
the resilient structure is a molded element and each slit is cut into the resilient structure subsequent to molding thereof (202 is a molded element, slit 216 in 202)
each slit ends within the resilient structure in a rounded section; the rounded section is one of pre-molded and pierced after molding; the external surface includes a first surface, an opposing second surface, and a third surface defining a resilient structure wall arranged between the first and second surfaces; and the groove is arranged on the third surface (slit 216 facilitating bending of the resilient structure at each respective slit to aid installation of the grommet into and/or removal from the component and minimize risk of unintentional grommet push-out).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Persson in view of Milton (U.S. PG Pub # 20090130891).
Regarding Claim 2, Persson discloses the grommet.
Persson does not disclose wherein the resilient structure is constructed from an ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) rubber.
However, Milton teaches wherein the resilient structure is constructed from an ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) rubber (Para 0018 – EPDM rubber material of 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the resilient structure of Persson with that of Milton with a reasonable expectation of success so that the flexible material gives a tight seal and an appropriate holding effect on the cable (Milton Para 0018).
Regarding Claim 12, Persson discloses the component assembly.
Persson does not disclose wherein the resilient structure is constructed from an ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) rubber.
However, Milton teaches wherein the resilient structure is constructed from an ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) rubber (Para 0018 – EPDM rubber material of 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of the resilient structure of Persson with that of Milton with a reasonable expectation of success so that the flexible material gives a tight seal and an appropriate holding effect on the cable (Milton Para 0018).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Persson in view of Pimentel (U.S. PG Pub # 20130233615).
Regarding Claim 4, Persson discloses the grommet.
Persson does not disclose further comprising a lubricant arranged in the groove.
However, Pimentel teaches further comprising a lubricant arranged in the groove (Para 0029 – grease in the groove of the groove).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the groove of the grommet of Persson with a lubricant of Pimentel with a reasonable expectation of success so that the lubricant provides water blocking properties (Pimentel Para 0029).
Regarding Claim 14, Persson discloses the component assembly, further comprising a lubricant arranged in the groove.
Persson does not disclose further comprising a lubricant arranged in the groove.
However, Pimentel teaches further comprising a lubricant arranged in the groove (Para 0029 – grease in the groove of the groove).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the groove of the grommet of Persson with a lubricant of Pimentel with a reasonable expectation of success so that the lubricant provides water blocking properties (Pimentel Para 0029).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not disclose or fairly suggest the grommet as claimed in independent claims of the application. The examiner can find no motivation to combine or modify the reference without the use of impermissible hindsight.
Regarding Claim 9, Persson discloses the grommet.
The prior art does not disclose wherein each slit ends within the resilient structure in a rounded section.
Regarding Claim 19, Persson discloses the component assembly.
The prior art does not disclose wherein each slit ends within the resilient structure in a rounded section, and wherein the rounded section is one of pre-molded and pierced after molding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/L. SUSMITHA KONERU/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675