DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, corresponding to Claims 1-18, in the reply filed on February 10, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sworen et al. (US 2023/0332348).
With regard to claim 1, Sworen et al. (hereinafter “Sworen”) discloses a fabric [0034], comprising:
a fibrous substrate including a first outermost surface and a second outermost surface and (ii) a non-fluorinated barrier coating (NFBC) and/or a fluorinated barrier coating (FBC) located on at least a portion of both a first and second outermost surface of the fabric, at least a portion of a second outermost surface of the fabric as set forth in [0023] where Sworen discloses that the coating composition may comprise a mixture of both hydrophobic non-fluorinated (meth)acrylic polymers and fluorinated phosphates. [0037-0038] describe processes that would allow the coating to be applied to all surfaces of the fabric.
As to claim 2, Sworen discloses a fabric wherein the fabric includes the FBC, and wherein the FBC comprises at least one fluorochemical comprising at least one C4 fluorochemical, a C6 fluorochemical, a C8 fluorochemical, a C10 fluorochemical, or any combination thereof as set forth in [0027-0028].
Regarding claim 4, see the rejection of claim 1 where Sworen discloses that the fabric includes a mixture of first and second NFBC and a process for coating all surfaces of the fabric with the mixture.
With regard to claims 5-6, Sworen discloses that the silicone polyether polymer can comprise a silicone acrylate [0011-0017] that can be cured using UV radiation as set forth in [0039].
With regard to claim 8, the epoxy oligomers or polymers are optional to claim 6, and Sworen satisfies the limitation by disclosure of the silicone acrylate polymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sworen et al. (US 2023/0332348) and further in view of von Blucher et al. (US 2012/0084905).
With reference to claim 3, Sworen teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Sworen discloses a sprayed composition as set forth in [0034].
The difference between Sworen and claim 3 is the provision that the composition comprises a plasma cured composition.
Von Blucher et al. (hereinafter “von Blucher”) teaches an analogous fabric including a plasma cured FBC composition in [0050-0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide Sworen with a plasma cured composition as taught by von Blucher because the plasma treatment provides a way of specifically adjusting the surface properties, such as surface constitution (for example roughness) and surface reactivities (for example hydrophilicity or hydrophobicity on the one hand or oleophilicity or oleophobicity on the other) to optimize the particular application requirements as taught by von Blucher through the incorporation of Bohringer et al. in [0053] where Bohringer et al. explicitly recites the benefits in [0010-0011].
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sworen et al. (US 2023/0332348) and further in view of Crosetto (US 2022/0178078).
With regard to claims 9-10, Sworen teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Sworen does not disclose the coating contain a wax having an acid value from 10 mg to 220 mg and a retention aid comprising a nitrogen-containing polymer of formula (III).
Crosetto teaches an analogous treated article that include fibers (abstract).
Crosetto discloses that fibers can be treated with a wax having an acid value from 10 mg to 220 mg and a retention aid comprising the nitrogen-containing polymer of formula (III) as set forth in [0011-0018]. Additionally, Crosetto teaches that materials can be used to improve barrier properties of a coating as set forth in 0047.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to incorporate a wax having an acid value from 10 mg to 220 mg and a retention aid comprising the nitrogen-containing polymer of formula (III) into the coating composition disclosed by Sworen in order to improve the barrier properties of the coating, as shown to be known in the art by Crosetto.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sworen et al. (US 2023/0332348) and further in in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2009/0042468).
With regard to claim 11, Sworen teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Sworen and claim 11 is the provision that the NFBC has a specific weight on a dry basis of the fabric.
Suzuki et al. (hereinafter “Suzuki”) teaches analogous liquid barrier coatings for use on a fibrous substrate as set forth throughout the document.
Suzuki teaches that, for a composite fabric having a basis weight in the range of 20 gsm to 100 gsm, paragraphs as set forth in [0173] and [0178] and that a suitable coating amount is 1 to 10 gsm as set forth in [0186].
Suzuki also discloses that the solid content of the coating is about 20% to 50% as set forth in [0425], [0441], [0453], and [0490].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide a dry coating amount in the range of 0.05 to 10% by weight of the fabric in the barrier fabric disclosed by Sworen because Suzuki teaches that such an amount is suitable for providing a barrier to liquid while not significantly interfering with the lightweighted nature of the fabric, itself.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sworen et al. (US 2023/0332348) and further in view of Isaac (US 2021/0085536).
With regard to claims 12-15, Sworen teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Isaac teaches an analogous fibrous substrate including a repellent treatment [0037] on a recited (cl. 12) fabric [0029] and including a binder (cl. 13) as set forth in [0031].
As required by claims 14-15, Isaac also provides an absorbent article, including a diaper (cl. 15) as set forth in [0003] wherein the fabric is provided as a backsheet [0037] with an absorbent core (204) located between the fabric and a topsheet as set forth in [0006].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide Sworen with a spunbond fabric and a binder as taught by Isaac for the benefits known in the art provided by spunbond fabric and binders which include improved breathability and tensile strength as taught by Isaac in [0029].
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sworen et al. (US 2023/0332348) and further in view of Isele et al. (US 2011/0196325).
With regard to claims 16-18, Sworen teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Isele et al. (hereinafter “Isele”) teaches an analogous fibrous substrate including a fluorinated coating [0128] that may be applied to at least one barrier leg cuff [0081] of a diaper [0004] wherein the at least one barrier leg cuff incudes a free distal edge (64) and a contractible (63) cuff disposed adjacent to a longitudinal edge of the diaper (cl. 17) what is attached to the crotch region as shown in figure 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the fabric as taught by Sworen in combination with a diaper having leg cuffs as suggested by Isele in order to provide improved container of fluids and other bodily exudates and increase low surface tension fluid strikethrough time while not significantly decreasing air permeability as taught by Isele in [0097] and [0126].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102/103
Claim 7 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sworen.
With regard to Claim 7, Sworen discloses that the silicone polyester polymer can comprise a repeating unit of formula (I):
which satisfies the parameters of Applicant’s claimed formula (I) because X in Sworen is a C1-C4 alkylene group, R1 is a C1-C4 alkyl group, and because c and d in Sworen can both be equal to 0. Paragraph [0009]. As such, the scope of Applicant’s claimed formula (I) is readily envisaged by the disclosure of Sworen. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to selected c and d to both be 0 in the invention according to Sworen because Sworen discloses that such a structure is suitable for use in their invention, and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (CCPA 1960).
The burden is upon the Applicant to show otherwise. The Patent and Trademark Office can require applicants to prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics of claimed products where claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes; burden of proof is on applicants where rejection based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or on prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, and Patent and Trademark Office’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products evidences fairness of this rejection. In re Best, Bolton, and Shaw, 195 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1977).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/517,043 (“the ‘043 Application”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘043 Application also claims a fabric comprising a fibrous substrate having an outermost surface coated with a non-fluorinated barrier coating. The subject matter of the dependent claims also overlaps with the claimed silicone acrylate structures, epoxy silicone structures, and additional ingredients recited.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/610,740 (“the ‘740 Application”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘740 Application also claims a fabric comprising a fibrous substrate having an outermost surface coated with a non-fluorinated barrier coating. The subject matter of the dependent claims also overlaps with the claimed silicone acrylate materials, epoxy silicone materials, and additional layers recited.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 19/085,021 (“the ‘021 Application”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘021 Application also claims a fabric comprising a fibrous substrate having an outermost surface coated with a non-fluorinated barrier coating. The subject matter of the dependent claims also overlaps with the claimed silicone acrylate materials, epoxy silicone materials, and additional layers recited.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/243,179 (“the ‘179 Application”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘179 Application also claims a fabric comprising a fibrous substrate having an outermost surface coated with a non-fluorinated coating that would function as a barrier material. The subject matter of the dependent claims also overlaps with the claimed silicone acrylate materials, epoxy silicone materials, and additional layers recited.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/MICHELE KIDWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781