DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 21-29 and 31-41 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Francher (U.S. 2019/0313881).
With respect to claim 21, Francher teaches a handle of a medical scope, the handle comprising:
a handle body (105) having a wall (perimeter wall) that includes:
a first side (right side FIG. 5) defining a first surface interior to the handle body and facing a first direction, the first surface defining at least part of a first chamber;
a second side (left side FIG. 5), opposite the first side, and defining a second surface interior to the handle and facing a second direction, opposite the first direction, the second surface defining at least a part of a second chamber, wherein the first surface and the second surface are on opposite sides of a portion of the wall shared by the first chamber and the second chamber; and
an exterior surface configured for contact by a user of the handle (FIG. 5);
wherein the handle body is a one-piece component (FIG. 5)
a first cover (214) enclosing the first chamber, wherein the first cover is configured for contact by the user: and
a second cover (308) enclosing the second chamber, wherein the first cover is configured for contact by the user.
With respect to claim 22, Francher teaches the first surface is on a first side of a longitudinal axis of the handle body, and the second surface is on a second side of the longitudinal axis (FIG. 5).
With respect to claim 23, Francher teaches the first side includes an indentation configured to secure a port to the handle body (via 104, FIG. 3).
With respect to claim 24, Francher teaches the first cover includes a mating portion, wherein the mating portion is shaped complementarily to the port (FIG. 7).
With respect to claim 25, Francher teaches an interior surface of the first cover includes at least one protrusion configured to secure at least one component disposed within the first chamber of the handle (FIG. 7B)
With respect to claim 26, Francher teaches the first cover is configured to be secured to the handle body by at least one fastener (170).
With respect to claim 27, Francher teaches the second chamber includes a slot configured to receive a button (cutout for buttons of 190, see FIG. 4 vs FIG. 5).
With respect to claim 28, Francher teaches the first chamber includes a first recess (150) configured to receive a first steering component (para [0087]).
With respect to claim 29, Francher teaches the first recess includes a second recess (160), wherein the second recess includes a straightened edge and a rounded edge (FIG. 4),
and wherein the second recess is configured to constrain rotational movement of a second steering component (320), wherein the second recess further includes at least one hole configured to secure the second steering component within the second recess (FIG. 4 for example).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 35-41 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA L NEWTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799