DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of “wherein the side wall extends at least partially concavely in the embossing direction” is withdrawn in view of further consideration of the Staats reference. Please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Staats et al. (hereafter “Staats”) (US Patent 4,585,293).
With regards to claim 1, Staats discloses an embossing die (104) for a punching tool, comprising:
a recess (114) into which a component (112) can be introduced for embossing, the recess has a side wall (Fig. 1 , at location of 106) that extends at least partially concavely in an embossing direction [See Fig. 1, Embossing direction is the up/down direction and side walls have a slope such that they also have an up/down direction – paragraph 0015 “portions of the upper die surface 106 and the lower die surface 110 may be concave, convex or have other complex geometries” – it is further noted that just as the side wall of Figure 1 extends in the embossing direction, a concave surface of the side wall (106) would also extend in the embossing direction]; and
an embossing bead (116) protruding into the recess and contacting the component, a curved bottom of a base of the recess separates the side wall from the embossing bead, as seen in Figure 1 and paragraph 0015.
With regards to claim 2, Staats discloses wherein the side wall is curved, as seen in Figure 1
With regards to claim 3, Staats discloses wherein the side wall has a circular shape, as seen in Figure 1.
With regards to claim 4, Staats discloses wherein the recess has a cross-section that is w-shaped or ω-shaped, as seen in Figure 1.
With regards to claim 5, Staats discloses wherein the embossing bead is formed on a base of the recess, as seen in Figure 1
With regards to claim 6, Staats discloses wherein the recess (114) extends through an entirety of the embossing die, as seen in Figures 1 and 3.
With regards to claim 11, Staats discloses wherein an end of the embossing bead has a non- flat shape, as described in paragraph 0015.
With regards to claim 12, Staats discloses wherein the non-flat shape of the end of the embossing bead is a semi-circular shape, as described in paragraph 0015.
With regards to claim 7, Staats discloses an embossing processing station, comprising:
an embossing die (104) including a recess (114) into which a component can be introduced for embossing and an embossing bead (116) protruding into the recess and contacting the component, the recess has a side wall that extends at least partially conically in an embossing direction, a curved bottom of a base of the recess separates the side wall from the embossing bead, as seen in Figure 1 and paragraph 0015; and
a holding-down device (108) pressed onto the embossing die (104) to emboss the component.
With regards to claim 14, Staats discloses wherein a portion of the holding- down device contacts a portion of the component that is not embossed [left portion of workpiece 112, as seen in Figure 1].
With regards to claim 15, Staats discloses wherein a surface of the holding- down device contacting the component is planar [left portion of workpiece 112, as seen in Figure 1].
With regards to claim 16, Staats discloses wherein the holding-down device has a rectangular shape, as seen in Figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staats in view of Binder (US 2012/0318032).
With regards to claim 8, Staats discloses a method for producing a blade contact element, comprising:
providing an embossing die (104) including a recess (114) and an embossing bead (116) protruding into the recess, the recess has a side wall that extends at least partially conically or concavely in an embossing direction;
inserting the component into the recess of the embossing die; and
embossing the component, the embossing bead re-shapes the component during the embossing.
With regards to claim 9, Staats discloses wherein the embossing die is a part of an embossing processing station that includes a holding-down device (108).
With regards to claim 10, Staats discloses wherein the embossing step including pressing the holding-down device in a direction of the embossing die to press the component into the recess [ at least paragraph 0014].
Staats discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for punching a component in a punching tool prior to embossing. Binder discloses a method of forming a workpiece including punching a component in a punching tool prior to embossing and then embossing the component in an embossing die [at least claim 1 and Paragraphs 169-172]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Staats’ method with a punching step prior to embossing, as taught by Binder, since Binder teaches that its commonly known that embossing methods includes prior punching steps.
Conclusion
/TERESA M EKIERT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725