DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/27/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kawasaki (US 2017/0280488).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-8, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASAHARA et al. U.S. Patent Application No. 2022/0066712 (hereinafter ASAHARA) in view of KAWASAKI U.S. Patent Application No. (2017/0280488) (hereinafter KAWASAKI).
Regarding claim 1, ASAHARA discloses an information processing apparatus (Information processing apparatus 200, Figures 1-2) capable of communicating with a communication apparatus (Electronic apparatus 100, Figures 1-2) and comprising at least one memory (The information processing apparatus 200 may include a storage section; paragraph 35) and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit which function (Processing section 220 controls the storage section; paragraph 36) to:
execute first wireless setup processing in order to establish connection between the communication apparatus and an access point (By using the first wireless communication via an access point 300, electronic apparatus 100 and the information processing apparatus 200 are connected; paragraphs 24, 40, Figure 2);
display, on a display unit of the information processing apparatus (Display section 240 of the information processing apparatus 200 to display an initial setting item screen 400; paragraph 43, Figures 2, 6-7) , information for establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point based on the obtained information indicating whether the display unit of the communication apparatus can be operated in a case where the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point is not established by the first wireless setup processing (A process for establishing a second wireless communication connection between the wireless communication section 210 in the information processing apparatus 200 and the wireless communication section 110 in the electronic apparatus 100 is performed, wherein the access point is not communicated; paragraphs 41-42, Figures 2, 5 , and also Figure 6 indicating the display section 240 of the information processing apparatus 200 to display an initial setting information, and paragraph 77, Figure 14 indicating a process of displaying the icon 710 on the display section 140. An example of the first wireless communication state icon 710 indicates that the wireless communication connection is not established).
ASAHARA does not explicitly disclose obtaining, from the communication apparatus, information indicating whether a display unit of the communication apparatus can be operated during the first wireless setup processing.
However, KAWASAKI working in the same field teaches obtaining, from the communication apparatus, information indicating whether a display unit of the communication apparatus can be operated during the first wireless setup processing (A portable terminal 100 and a printing apparatus 300 which displays a QR code (Infrastructure Connection/ AP) including information for allowing the portable terminal 100 to wirelessly (Infrastructure Connection) connect to the printing apparatus 300 for connecting to an access point; paragraphs 22, Figure 4B illustrating a screen displayed by the printing apparatus, and see the rest of reference). Such an arrangement provides user convenience. Therefore, user-friendliness is improved.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to have combined the system of ASAHARA as taught by Kawasaki, since doing so would have predictably and advantageously provided user convenience. Therefore, user-friendliness is improved.
Regarding claim 2, ASAHARA discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein (In the optional setting information transmission process (step S140), by using the first wireless communication, optional setting information is transmitted from the information processing apparatus 200 to the electronic apparatus 100; paragraph 57, Figure 7 illustrating the optional setting item screen 500 and other items may be selected on a screen), the first information indicating an operation to be performed on the display unit of the communication apparatus to establish the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point (Processing section 220 determines whether the electronic apparatus 100 is connected to the information processing apparatus 200 via the access point; paragraphs 56, 66, Figure 7 displaying the optional setting item screen 500 may be selected on a screen, and see the rest of reference).
Regarding claim 3, ASAHARA discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, from the communication apparatus, the information indicating whether the display unit of the communication apparatus can be operated is obtained in a case where direct connection between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus is established in a process of executing the first wireless setup processing (When the first wireless communication connection is established (YES in step S320), the processing section 120 performs a process of displaying that the first wireless communication connection is established; paragraph 77, Figure 14 and see the rest of reference).
Regarding claim 4, ASAHARA discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the case where the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point is not established by the first wireless setup processing (A process for establishing a second wireless communication connection, wherein the access point is not operated; paragraphs 41-
42, Figures 2, 5), second information for executing second wireless setup processing for establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point is displayed on the display unit of the information processing apparatus based on the obtained information indicating whether the display unit of the communication apparatus can be operated, information indicating a situation in which the communication apparatus is not provided with a display unit or a situation in which the display unit of the communication apparatus cannot be operated (paragraph 77, Figure 14 and see the rest of reference).
Regarding claim 5, ASAHARA discloses the information processing
apparatus according to claim 1, wherein second wireless setup processing for establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point is executed based on the obtained information indicating whether the display unit of the communication apparatus can be operated (When the electronic apparatus 100 is a printer, the processing section 120 performs, a process of switching a printer ready icon 700 to an indication that the printer is ready for use and displaying the icon 700 on the display section 140; paragraph 76, Figure 14), information indicating a situation in which the communication apparatus is not provided with a display unit or a situation in which the display unit of the communication apparatus is not usable in the case where the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point is not established by the first wireless setup processing (An indication that the first wireless communication connection is established or an indication that the first wireless communication connection is not established and a process of displaying the icon 710 on the display section 140; paragraph 77, Figure 14 and see the rest of reference)
.
Regarding claim 6, ASAHARA discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the situation in which the display unit of the communication apparatus cannot be operated is any of a state in which the communication apparatus is working on initial installation and a state in which the communication apparatus is executing specific processing (Displaying content that indicates an initial setting failure on the display section 240 of the information processing apparatus 200. That is, when the initial setting information registration is not complete, the setup of the electronic apparatus 100 fails, and the electronic apparatus 100 cannot be used; paragraphs 55, 65).
Regarding claim 7, ASAHARA discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first wireless setup processing is processing for establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point by establishing connection to the communication apparatus by using an SSID of the communication apparatus and transmitting (Access point 300 periodically transmits a radio wave for wireless communication such as a beacon to provide information to enable identification (SSID) of the access point 300; paragraph 24, Figure 2), from the information processing apparatus to the communication apparatus (Information processing apparatuses 200, Figure 2) to the communication apparatus (electronic apparatus 100, Figure 2), connection information on the access point outside the communication apparatus (i.e., external access point 300, paragraph 53, Figure 2 and see the rest of reference).
Regarding claim 8, ASAHARA discloses the information processing apparatus
according to claim 5, wherein the second wireless setup processing is processing for establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point by establishing direct connection between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus (Electronic apparatus 100 according to the embodiment connects to the information processing apparatus 200 for communication by using the second wireless communication to receive the initial setting information for setting a state for enabling job processing and to receive the connection setting information for connecting to the external access point 300 by using the first wireless communication; paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 13, ASAHARA discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the case where the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point is not established by the first wireless setup processing is a case where any of an authentication method and a frequency band of the access point is not supported by the communication apparatus (a connection with the electronic apparatus 100 by using the second wireless communication by performing pairing processing with the electronic apparatus 100. When the information processing apparatus 200 is reconnected to the same electronic apparatus 100 by using the second wireless communication, the information processing apparatus 200 can be automatically reconnected to the electronic apparatus 100 without the user having to enter a password; paragraphs 25, 77 and see the rest of reference).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium, and recites identical features as claim 1. Thus, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is the method claim of device claim 1. Therefore, method claim 15 is rejected for the reason given in device claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, ASAHARA discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 1,
ASAHARA does not explicitly disclose wherein in a case where the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point fails to be established as a result of executing the first wireless setup processing, the display control unit performs control to display, on the display unit of the information processing apparatus, the information for establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point based on the information indicating whether the display unit of the communication apparatus can be operated as obtained by the obtaining unit.
However, Kawasaki teaches wherein in a case where the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point fails to be established as a result of executing the first wireless setup processing (A message 821 indicating that the connection to the target device has failed; paragraph 64, Figure 8C),
the display control unit performs control to display, on the display unit of the information processing apparatus, the information for establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point based on the information indicating whether the display unit of the communication apparatus can be operated as obtained by the obtaining unit (Connection is established between the portable terminal 100 and the printing apparatus 300, the operation panel 104 of the portable terminal 100 displays an application screen 810. The application screen 810 is provided by the print application 202 and displays a message 811 indicating that the connection to the target device; paragraph 63, Figure 8B).
6. Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASAHARA and Kawasaki, and further in view of TSUJI U.S. Patent Application No. (2021/00306430) (hereinafter TSUJI).
Regarding claim 9, ASAHARA discloses the information processing apparatus
according to claim 8.
The combination of ASAHARA and Kawasaki does not explicitly disclose the second wireless setup processing is processing for displaying a screen provided by the communication apparatus which functions as a web server by using a web browser of the information processing apparatus, and establishing the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point based on an operation of the screen.
However, TSUJI working in the same field of endeavor (Information indicating that the Wi-Fi connection has been established between the printer 10 and the AP 8; paragraph 57, Figure 1) teaches wherein the second wireless setup processing is processing for displaying a screen provided by the communication apparatus which functions as a web server by using a web browser of the information processing apparatus (Terminal 200 generates a URL1 which is used to access the web server of
the printer 10; paragraphs 35, 58, 79, 82), and establishing the connection between the
communication apparatus and the access point based on an operation of the screen (Terminal 200 further sends to the printer 10 information for establishing a Wi-Fi connection between the printer 10 and the AP 8; paragraphs 19, 96-97, and
paragraph 40, Figures 3-6 indicating that PC 100A displays a setting screen SC1 represented by the setting screen data in T44. The setting screen SC1 includes a message that prompts the user of the PC 100A to input an MA and an IP address). Such an arrangement provides enhanced usability.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant's invention to have combined the system of ASAHARA as taught by TSUJI, since doing so would have predictably and advantageously provided enhanced
usability.
Regarding claim 10, ASAHARA discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 8.
The combination of ASAHARA and Kawasaki does not explicitly disclose wherein the direct connection is a state of connection between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus by any of wireless connection using a constant connection SSID or a temporary connection SSID of the communication apparatus, connection through wired LAN, and connection through USB.
However, TSUJI teaches wherein the direct connection is a state of connection between the information processing apparatus and the communication apparatus by any of wireless connection using a constant connection SSID or a temporary connection SSID of the communication apparatus (Terminal 200 uses the SSID and the password for WFD to establish a Wi-Fi connection according to the WFD scheme with the printer 10. Then, the terminal 200 sends an SSID and a password for AP for establishing a Wi- Fi connection with the AP 8 to the printer 10 by using the Wi-Fi connection; at least paragraph 97), connection through wired LAN, and connection through USB (Terminal 200 may send an SSID and a password for Soft-AP to the printer 10 through the USB cable; paragraph 98, Figure 1). Such an arrangement provides enhanced usability.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant's invention to have combined the system of ASAHARA as taught by TSUJI, since doing so would have predictably and advantageously provided enhanced
usability.
Regarding claim 11, ASAHARA discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 10.
The combination of ASAHARA and Kawasaki does not explicitly disclose wherein the information processing apparatus uses the constant connection SSID and a password obtained in advance by the first wireless setup processing in a case of establishing the wireless connection to the constant connection SSID in the direct connection.
However, TSUJI teaches wherein the information processing apparatus uses the
constant connection SSID and a password obtained in advance by the first wireless setup processing in a case of establishing the wireless connection to the constant connection SSID in the direct connection (Establishing a Wi-Fi connection between the printer 10 and the AP 8, the terminal 200 can send the CO for printer to the printer 10
(T132) by using the public key "PPK" (T130). The office worker does not have to
manually input an SSID and a password of the wireless LAN 4 formed by the AP 8 to
the printer 10; paragraphs 52, 97-98, Figure 4). As such, convenience for the office
worker would be improved.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant's invention to have combined the system of ASAHARA and Kawasaki as taught by TSUJI, since doing so would have predictably and advantageously provided improved usability.
7. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASAHARA and Kawasaki, and further in view of OKUNO U.S. Patent Application No. (2022/0317939) (hereinafter OKUNO).
Regarding claim 12, ASAHARA discloses the information processing apparatus
according to claim 8.
The combination of ASAHARA and Kawasaki does not explicitly disclose wherein in a case where the direct connection between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus is established in a process of executing the first wireless setup processing, the control unit transmits information to the communication apparatus, the information giving an instruction to activate a state in which the communication apparatus functions as an access point of a temporary connection SSID in the case where the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point is not established by the first wireless setup processing, and the second wireless setup processing includes processing for searching for the temporary connection SSID of the communication apparatus and establishing temporary connection to the communication apparatus by using the temporary connection SSID.
However, OKUNO teaches wherein in a case where the direct connection between the communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus is established in a process of executing the first wireless setup processing, the control unit transmits information to the communication apparatus, the information giving an instruction to activate a state in which the communication apparatus functions as an access point of a temporary connection SSID in the case where the connection between the communication apparatus and the access point is not established by the first wireless setup processing (Portable terminal device 10 as the WFD authentication information, the printer 20 starts up the WFD application software (S23) and cause the external communication IF 22 of the printer 20 itself to function as the access point; paragraphs 78-80), and the second wireless setup processing includes processing for searching for the temporary connection SSID of the communication apparatus and establishing temporary connection to the communication apparatus by using the temporary connection SSID (Portable terminal device 10 may be configured to perform an operation to connect the printer 20 to the router 2 only via the NFC communication. Further, the portable terminal device 10 may be configure to obtain the WFD authentication information, transmit the connection information such as the SSID of the
router; paragraph 85).
Note: It should be noted that the portable terminal device 10 may be configured such that the NFC communication function is not automatically activated (temporary), but kept deactivated until receiving the user operation for activation (paragraph 72). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant's invention to have combined the system of ASAHARA as taught by OKUNO, since doing so would have predictably and advantageously provided user convenience.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683