DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 13, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Bellantoni does not disclose configuring a depth guide to partially enclose a distal region of the plurality of scalpets for variable selection of an insertion depth of the plurality of scalpets as claimed in claim 108, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive in view of the rejection set forth below addressing the limitations. Bellantoni’s depth guide (33, 51, 52, 74, 76, 79) partially encloses a distal region the plurality of scalpets for variable selection of an insertion depth of the plurality of scalpets (C:2, L:35-54; C:3, L:32-45), as shown in the annotated image below. The limitation ‘a distal region’ is sufficiently broad to encompass the region identified in the annotated feature. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 108-121 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bellantoni, deceased et al (US 3867942) in view of Bridges (US 6027512).
Regarding claim 108, Bellantoni discloses a method comprising: configuring a scalpet assembly to include a plurality of scalpets (figure 1); configuring a substrate (24, 65, 43) to maintain a position of the plurality of scalpets (C:4, L:31-45) ; configuring a drive system (26, motor, C:6, L:19) to couple a rotational force to the scalpet assembly; configuring a depth guide (33, 51, 52, 74, 76, 79) to partially enclose a distal region of (33 and 51 partially encloses a distal region as shown in annotated image below, the limitation ‘distal region’ is sufficiently broad to encompass the region shown below) the plurality of scalpets for variable selection of an insertion depth of the plurality of scalpets (C:2, L:35-54; C:3, L:32-45), the plurality of scalpets (31, 32) to incise and pass skin plugs (C:4,L:5-30). Bellantoni does not specifically disclose configuring the scalpet assembly to include a vacuum component to evacuate the incised skin plugs via the plurality of scalpets. However, Bridges teaches a hair follicle harvesting device comprising a vacuum component (flow of saline solution through a venturi or tube constriction) configured to evacuate the incised skin plugs via a scalpet (reduce pressure, abstract) to facilitate removal of the loosened hairs and hair follicles into a saline stream. Therefore, it would have been within the level of one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a vacuum component to generate a vacuum on the device of Bellantoni, such as the one taught by Bridges, in order for hair follicles to be continually and selectively removed by vacuum from a segment of scalp by the removal device.
Regarding claim 109, Bellantoni in view of Bridges teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 108, comprising configuring the drive system to include a geared drive system (29a-f, figures 3-4, C:3, L:54-67; C:4, L:1-15).
Regarding claim 110, Bellantoni in view of Bridges teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 109, comprising configuring the drive system to cause each scalpet to rotate around a central axis of the respective scalpet (C:7, L:31-56).
Regarding claim 111, Bellantoni in view of Bridges teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 109, comprising configuring the drive system to rotate the plurality of scalpets in unison (C:7, L:31-56).
Regarding claim 112, Bellantoni in view of Bridges teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 109, comprising configuring each scalpet of the plurality of scalpets to couple to a gear of the geared drive system (29a-f, figure 3).
Regarding claim 113, Bellantoni in view of Bridges teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 112, comprising configuring the gear to attach to a proximal region of each scalpet (figure 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 114, Bellantoni in view of Bridges teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 112, comprising configuring the drive system to include a drive shaft (26) coupled to the geared drive system.
Regarding claim 115, Bellantoni in view of Bridges teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 108, comprising configuring a proximal end and a lumen of each scalpet to pass the incised skin plugs received at a distal end of each scalpet (scalpet 32 is configured to come off of 31’ ( C:4, L:15-30) where the lumen of each scalpet can pass the incised skin plug received at the distal end.
Regarding claim 116, Bellantoni in view of Bridges teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 108, comprising configuring a depth of insertion of the plurality of scalpets to be adjustable relative to a distal end of a housing including the scalpet assembly (C:4, L:56-67).
Regarding claim 117, Bellantoni in view of Bridges teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 116, comprising configuring the housing (24) to include the scalpet assembly and the drive system, and to removably couple to a handpiece (20, retained by screws which can be unscrewed to remove)
Regarding claim 118, Bellantoni in view of Bridges teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 116, wherein Bridges teaches configuring the vacuum component (13) to couple to the housing (2) of the device and a vacuum (15).
Regarding claim 119, Bellantoni in view of Bridges teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 118, wherein Bridges teaches configuring the housing to couple the vacuum to the plurality of scalpets to evacuate the incised skin plugs (figure 1).
Regarding claim 120, Bellantoni in view of Bridges teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 108, comprising configuring the substrate (24) to include a plurality of guide plates (65, 43) to maintain a position of the plurality of scalpets (figures 5, 9).
Regarding claim 121, Bellantoni in view of Bridges teaches all of the limitations set forth in claim 120, comprising configuring the substrate to couple to a plurality of spacers (76, 74) to control and maintain a depth of insertion (C:5, L:5-55).
Double Patenting
Claims 108-110, 112, 116, 118 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 40, 41 of U.S. Patent No. 10695546.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 9, 40, 41 of Patent 10695546 recites a method of configuring the claimed scalpet assembly, substrate (carrier), drive system (motor), and vacuum component. Therefore, patent claims 1, 9, 40, 41 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claims 108-110, 112, 116, 118 is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim 108-110, 112, 116, 118 are anticipated by patent claims 1, 9, 40, 41, it is not patentably distinct from patent claim 1, 9, 40, 41.
18358580
108
109
110
112
116
118
10695546
1
40
39
40
9
41
Claims 108-110, 114-119 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11, 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11844546.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11, 12 of Patent 10695546 recites the claimed cannula assembly plurality of cannulas, lumen, vacuum source) and a depth guide slidably coupled to the housing for variable selection of an insertion depth. Therefore, patent claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11, 12 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claims 108-110, 114-119 are “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim 108-110, 114-119 are anticipated by patent claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 11, 12, it is not patentably distinct from patent claim 1, 2, 4, 8, 11, 12.
18358580
108
109
110
114
115
119
11844546
1, 11
4
1
2
8
12
Conclusion
/ANH T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771