DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Priority
2. Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Acknowledgement is made to the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/22/2023. The information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-10, 13, 14, & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wimalasena et al. (US 2022/0070640 A1), hereinafter Wimalasena.
Regarding claim 1, Wimalasena discloses a method for operating a system comprising a plurality of code reading units (102 – barcode reader) with a code reader and a wireless communication module (118 – wireless radio) as well as a main device (104 – host device) having a display (128 - display) and a wireless communication module (138 – wireless radio), wherein the method comprises the following steps:
- generating a first code (103 - barcode) readable by the code reading units, the first code having encoded a first identifier (UIC - unique identification code) therein [0004, 0022, & 0025],
- displaying the first code on the display by the main device and searching for a code reading unit broadcasting the first identifier by the main device using the wireless communication module [0004, 0027, & 0030],
- reading the first code and decoding the first code by a first code reading unit of the plurality of code reading units obtaining the first identifier [0004, 0028, & 0029],
- broadcasting the first identifier by the first code reading unit using the wireless communication module [0004, 0028, & 0029], and
- establishing a wireless connection between the main device and the first code reading unit based on the first identifier [0004, 0030, & 0031],
wherein the wireless connection between the main device and the first code reading unit is established by the following steps:
- detecting by, the main device using the wireless communication module, the first code reading unit broadcasting the first identifier [0004 & 0030],
- sending, by the main device using the wireless communication module, a connection request to the first code reading unit [0030-0032], and
- receiving, by the main device using the wireless communication module, a connection response as a response to the connection request from the first code reading unit [0030-0032],
wherein at least one of the following: the connection response does not contain the first identifier; or the main device refrains from caching the first code reading unit with the first identifier [0030-0032].
Regarding claim 2, Wimalasena discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the code having encoded therein a setting for the wireless communication module of the code reading unit to not include the first identifier in the connection response, wherein the code reading unit adopts the setting after reading the respective code [0022 & 0025].
Regarding claim 3, Wimalasena discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein once the wireless connection between the first code reading unit and the main device has been established, one or more of the following steps are carried out by the main device:- searching for a code reading unit other than the first code reading unit broadcasting the first identifier using the wireless communication module; - displaying a code on the display, the code being the first code or a second code, the second code having encoded therein a second identifier; - searching for a code reading unit other than the first code reading unit broadcasting the second identifier using the wireless communication module [0022, 0024, 0025, 0032 & 0033].
Regarding claim 4, Wimalasena discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the code is at least one of displayed automatically or displayed even if the wireless connection between the main device and the first code reading unit is still active [0026-0028].
Regarding claim 5, Wimalasena discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein once the main device detects a second code reading unit of the plurality of code reading units broadcasting the first identifier or the second identifier, respectively, the main device terminates the connection to the first code reading unit and establishes a connection with the second code reading unit [0023, 0024, & 0028-0031].
Regarding claim 6, Wimalasena discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the wireless communication module of at least one of the code reading units or of the main device is set to refrain from attempts to reconnect to the main device or to a previous connected code reading unit, respectively, once the established wireless connection between the first code reading unit and the main device has been terminated [0030-0032].
Regarding claim 7, Wimalasena discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the code having encoded therein a setting for the wireless communication module of the code reading unit to refrain from attempts to reconnect to the main device, wherein the code reading unit adopts the setting after reading the respective code [0025 & 0028-0032].
Regarding claim 8, Wimalasena discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the first and second identifiers are at least one of advertising names or different from one another [0022 & 0025-0028].
Regarding claim 9, Wimalasena discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the wireless connection is a Bluetooth connection or a WLAN connection [0020].
Regarding claim 10, Wimalasena discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the codes having encoded therein a unique identifier of the main device [0022].
Regarding claim 13, Wimalasena discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the main device is a smart device [0018].
Regarding claim 14, Wimalasena discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the main device is a smartphone, a tablet or a laptop [0018].
Regarding claim 18, Wimalasena discloses a system comprising a plurality of code reading units (102 – barcode reader) with a code reader and a wireless communication module (118 – wireless radio), and a main device (104 – host device) having a display (128 - display) and a wireless communication module (138 – wireless radio), wherein the code reading unit and the main device are configured to carry out a method comprising the following steps:
- generating a first code (103 - barcode) readable by the code reading units, the first code having encoded a first identifier (UIC - unique identification code) therein [0004, 0022, & 0025],
- displaying the first code on the display by the main device and searching for a code reading unit broadcasting the first identifier by the main device using the wireless communication module [0004, 0027, & 0030],
- reading the first code and decoding the first code by a first code reading unit of the plurality of code reading units obtaining the first identifier [0004, 0028, & 0029],
- broadcasting the first identifier by the first code reading unit using the wireless communication module [0004, 0028, & 0029], and
- establishing a wireless connection between the main device and the first code reading unit based on the first identifier [0004, 0030, & 0031],
wherein the wireless connection between the main device and the first code reading unit is established by the following steps:
- detecting by, the main device using the wireless communication module, the first code reading unit broadcasting the first identifier [0004 & 0030],
- sending, by the main device using the wireless communication module, a connection request to the first code reading unit [0030-0032], and
- receiving, by the main device using the wireless communication module, a connection response as a response to the connection request from the first code reading unit [0030-0032],
wherein at least one of the following: the connection response does not contain the first identifier; or the main device refrains from caching the first code reading unit with the first identifier [0030-0032].
Regarding claim 19, Wimalasena discloses a code reading unit (102 – barcode reader) with a code reader and a wireless communication module (118 – wireless radio), wherein the code reading unit is configured to:
- read a first code displayed by a main device (104 – host device) and decode the first code obtaining a first identifier [0004, 0028, & 0029],
- broadcast the first identifier using the wireless communication module [0004, 0028, & 0029],
- establish a wireless connection with the main device based on the first identifier by sending a connection response in reaction to a connection request from the main device, wherein the connection response does not contain the first identifier [0004, 0030, & 0031].
Regarding claim 20, Wimalasena discloses the code reading unit according to claim 19, wherein the code reading unit is configured to refrain from attempts to reconnect to the main device [0030-0033].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 11 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wimalasena and Kunzig et al. (US 2012/0126000 A1), hereinafter Kunzig.
With respect to claim 11, the teachings of Wimalasena have been discussed above.
Wimalasena is silent with respect to disclosing wherein the system comprises an automated vehicle, the vehicle comprising the main device, as recited in claim 11.
Kunzig teaches, regarding claim 11, wherein the system comprises an automated vehicle, the vehicle comprising the main device [0145 - disclosing an automated conveying vehicle used with barcode scanners and label scanners].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further employ the vehicle features of Kunzig within the system of Wimalasena for at least the benefit of providing for improved efficiency & productivity, reduced errors & disruptions, and greater driver safety by having automated vehicles perform the scanning and retrieval operations [0009-0012].
Regarding claim 12, Kunzig, as modified above, discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the automated vehicle is an autonomous vehicle [0145].
6. Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wimalasena and Lee (US 2012/0187192 A1).
With respect to claim 15, the teachings of Wimalasena have been discussed above.
Wimalasena is silent with respect to disclosing wherein the system comprises an article of clothing, which is designed to attach the code reading unit to a body of a user.
Lee teaches, regarding claim 15, wherein the system comprises an article of clothing, which is designed to attach the code reading unit to a body of a user [0020].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further employ the body mounting features of Lee within the system of Wimalasena for at least the benefit of providing for a natural and ergo-dynamic solution that reduces cost, complexity, and injury that is also more efficient and power saving [0011].
Regarding claim 16, Lee, as modified above, discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the article of clothing has an actuating element which is connected to the code reading unit such that it can actuate the code reading unit [0020].
Regarding claim 17, Lee, as modified above, discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the article of clothing is a glove [0020].
Conclusion
/PAULTEP SAVUSDIPHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876