DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 04/07/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11 and 13 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-9, 11 and 13 and filed 04/07/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
The applicant respectfully argues that YIN does not disclose the newly amended claim (Remarks Page 11 - the current rejection treats Yin's non-detection of that same detection sequence at paragraph [0101] as corresponding to the claimed out-of-synchronization detection sequence, while also treating Yin's detection of that same detection sequence at paragraph [0099] as corresponding to the separately recited synchronization detection sequence, the rejection still rests on detection and non-detection of one Yin sequence, not on two distinct recited sequences and a detection result including respective results for both. The Office Action itself confirms that this is the theory of the rejection).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim language regarding the “the detection result... includes both (i) a result of detecting... the out-of-synchronization detection sequence and (ii) a result of detecting... the synchronization detection sequence” recited in claim 1 does not explicitly disclose that the detection result, including both (i) and (ii) results, is required to be sent in a single transmission. Therefore, results (i) and (ii) can be obtained at different time intervals and be considered to provide the detection result with the obtained results (i) and (ii).
Furthermore, The BRI of “the second device” recited in claim 1 includes multiple devices integrated into one second device in order to in order to implement the method(s) and process(es) in the claimed invention (see Claim Interpretation. Therefore, a second base station and a third base station of YIN can be integrated into one “second device” and discloses the claimed invention.
Thus, YIN discloses:
receiving, by the first network device (Fig. 5 – first network device), a detection result (Fig. 5; [0103] Step 503. Each of the M base stations sends the detection result to the first network device) from the third network device (base station 1), wherein the detection result includes ([0014] the base station detects the detection sequence at the first time point at which the neighboring station sends the detection sequence... and the base station sends a detection result; [0093] the indication information may further indicate a second time point at which the base station sends a detection sequence (hence the result includes multiple time points); [0121] When the M base stations and the first network device periodically perform the foregoing steps 502 to 504) both (i) a result of detecting, by the third network device (base station 1), the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2 (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2) and (ii) a result of detecting, by the third network device (base station 1), the synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2).
Regarding independent claims 6, 11 and 13, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claim 1. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claim 1. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for their dependent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on was 06/02/2026 filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of “detection of an out-of-synchronization detection sequence” recited in claim 1 includes a detection of any sequence other than a synchronization detection (according to specification [0018] In a possible implementation, the first indication information further indicates to send a synchronization detection sequence, and the synchronization detection sequence is used for detecting whether two network devices are synchronized). Therefore, a non-detection of the detection sequence (YIN - [0101] base station 2 does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 1 (hence they are determined to be out of synchronization see - [0110] two neighboring base stations are relatively synchronized with each other, if one base station can receive a detection sequence from the other base station, and/or the other base station can receive a detection sequence from the base station)), which means that there is a detection other than the synchronization detection, is considered an out-of-synchronization detection sequence.
The BRI of “the second device” recited in claim 1 includes multiple devices integrated into one second device in order to implement the method(s) and process(es) in the claimed invention (according to specification [0133] In the several embodiments provided, it should be understood that the system, apparatus, and method may be implemented in another manner... For example, a plurality of units or components may be combined or integrated into another system; [0134] The units described as separate parts may or may not be physically separate... or may be distributed on a plurality of network units. Some or all of the units may be selected based on actual requirements to achieve the objectives of the solutions of embodiments; [0135] In addition, functional units in embodiments may be integrated into one processing unit, each of the units may exist alone physically, or two or more units are integrated into one unit. The integrated unit may be implemented in a form of hardware, or may be implemented in a form of a software functional unit). Therefore, a second base station and a third base station can be integrated into one “second device” (YIN – Fig. 5 - Base station 2, 3; [0076] the network device may communicate with the base station 1, the base station 2, the base station 3, the base station 4, ..., or the base station M through the network) and implement the method(s) and process(s) of the claimed invention.
Similarly, the examiner applies the same BRIs to the subsequent claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 “and further indicates the second network device” should read “and the first indication information further indicates the second network device” in order to avoid indefiniteness
Claim 13 “and further indicates the third network device” should read “and the second indication information further indicates the third network device” in order to avoid indefiniteness
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “the second network device and the third network device are determined to be out of synchronization... when the third network device does not detect the out-of-synchronization detection sequence, the second network device and the third network device are determined to be synchronized when the third network device does not detect the out-of-synchronization detection sequence, the second network device and the third network device are determined to be synchronized” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “detecting whether the second network device and a third network device are synchronized” or “wherein when a third network device detects the out-of-synchronization detection sequence” is the one being referred to “the third network device”. For the purpose of examination, “the third network device” will be interpreted as “wherein when a third network device detects the out-of-synchronization detection sequence”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by YIN et al. (WO2020024992A1, which has a European publication, the passages cited refer to EP3823339A1 for ease of reference. Hereinafter, YIN).
Regarding claim 1, YIN discloses:
A communication method (Fig. 1; Abstract - This application provides a clock state detection method and apparatus, applied to the field of communications technologies, to detect clock states of M base stations), comprising:
sending, by a first network device (Fig. 5 – first network device), a first indication information and a second indication information (Fig. 5 – Step 501; [0086] For example, the first network device sends indication information 1 to the base station 1, sends indication information 2 to the base station 2, ..., and sends indication information M to the base station M), wherein the first indication information indicates a second network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 2, 3) to send an out-of-synchronization detection sequence (Fig. 5 – Step 501; [0080] Each piece of indication information may indicate a time point at which one base station sends a detection sequence and a time point at which each of N neighboring stations of the base station sends a detection sequence; [0088] a time point at which the base station 2 sends the detection sequence is T2, and a time point at which the base station 3 sends the detection sequence is T3 (the detection sequence is used to determine the neighboring base stations are in synchronization or out of synchronization – see [0110] and Fig. 5 step 504)) on a downlink traffic channel ([0062] FIG. 1. The communications system includes M base stations. Data may be transmitted between the M base stations through an air interface; [0079] the M base stations each may send and receive a detection sequence over an air interface),
the second indication information indicates a third network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 1; [0099] the base station 1 separately detects the detection sequences at T2 and T3 that are indicated by the indication information 1) to detect the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2 (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2),
the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is used for detecting whether two network devices are out of synchronization (Fig. 5 step 504; [0105] The first network device determines the clock states (e.g., synchronization state or out-of-synchronization state) of the M base stations based on the detection results of the M base stations; [0116] the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state; [0118] if the clock state is determined to be not the synchronization state, a possible cause is... that the base station and the neighboring station cannot receive a detection sequence (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), from each other due to relatively poor channel quality),
the third network device (base station 1) is a neighboring station of the second network device (base station 2, 3), and there are a plurality of third network devices ([0084] FIG. 5 is a schematic flowchart of an embodiment of a clock state detection method according to this application…The M base stations are the base station 1, the base station 2, the base station 3, the base station 4, ..., and the base station M. The base station 1 and the base station 2 are neighboring stations of each other, the base station 1 and the base station 3 are neighboring stations of each other, and the base station 3 and the base station 4 are neighboring stations of each other);
the first indication information further indicates the second network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 2, 3) to send a synchronization detection sequence ([0093] the indication information may further indicate a second time point at which the base station sends a detection sequence),
the second indication information further indicates the third network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 1; [0099] the base station 1 separately detects the detection sequences at T2 and T3 that are indicated by the indication information) to detect the synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2), and the synchronization detection sequence is used for detecting whether the second network device (base station 2, 3) and the third network device (base station 1) are synchronized ([0100] The detection result of each base station is used to indicate whether the base station receives the detection sequence sent by each of the N neighboring stations of the base station; [0082] it is determined, based on the detection results of the M base stations, whether the M base stations meet the synchronization condition, the out-of-synchronization condition; [0110] two neighboring base stations are relatively synchronized with each other, if one base station can receive a detection sequence from the other base station, and/or the other base station can receive a detection sequence from the base station);
receiving, by the first network device (Fig. 5 – first network device), a detection result (Fig. 5; [0103] Step 503. Each of the M base stations sends the detection result to the first network device) from the third network device (base station 1), wherein the detection result includes ([0014] the base station detects the detection sequence at the first time point at which the neighboring station sends the detection sequence... and the base station sends a detection result; [0093] the indication information may further indicate a second time point at which the base station sends a detection sequence (hence the result includes multiple time points); [0121] When the M base stations and the first network device periodically perform the foregoing steps 502 to 504) both (i) a result of detecting, by the third network device (base station 1), the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2 (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2) and (ii) a result of detecting, by the third network device (base station 1), the synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2); and
determining, by the first network device, a faulty network device ([0013] one or more base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state can be detected, to locate a faulty base station and a faulty clock source) based on the detection result (Fig. 5 Step 504; [0105] The first network device determines the clock states of the M base stations based on the detection results of the M base stations; [0106] There are one or more of the following cases for determining the clock states of the M base stations… (2) Base stations whose clock states are an out-of-synchronization state in the M base stations are determined; [0116] the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state; [0117] If the base station meets the out-of-synchronization condition, a clock state of the base station is the out-of-synchronization state, and the group is an out-of-synchronization group),
wherein when the third network device (base station 1) detects the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2 (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2), the second network device (base station 2, 3) and the third network device (base station 1) are determined to be out of synchronization ([0116] the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state; [0118] if the clock state is determined to be not the synchronization state, a possible cause is... that the base station and the neighboring station cannot receive a detection sequence (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), from each other due to relatively poor channel quality), and
when the third network device (base station 1) does not detect the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3 (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is not detected). Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2), the second network device (base station 2, 3) and the third network device (base station 1) are determined to be synchronized ([0116] the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state; [0110] two neighboring base stations are relatively synchronized with each other, if one base station can receive a detection sequence from the other base station, and/or the other base station can receive a detection sequence from the base station).
Regarding claim 2, YIN discloses the limitations of claim 1, as shown in the rejection above.
YIN further discloses:
The communication method further comprising:
obtaining, by the first network device, a fault event ([0116] The first network device may determine, based on an out-of-synchronization condition; [0117] for a group (the group may include one base station, or the group may include more than two base stations) other than the synchronization group in the at least one group, it may be determined whether one base station in the group meets the out -of -synchronization condition... The out-of-synchronization condition includes but is not limited to one or more of the following conditions:), wherein the fault event is reported ([0117] If the one base station launches a clock alarm, it indicates that the clock system of the base station is faulty, and the clock state of the base station may be the out-of-synchronization state) by the second network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 2, 3) and the third network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 1; [0115] it may be determined that the group 1 is a synchronization group, and the clock states of the base station 1, the base station 2, and the base station 3 are the synchronization state; [0116] whether an out-of-synchronization group other... where a clock state of each base station in the out-of-synchronization group is the out-of-synchronization state (hence both second and third network devices launched a clock alarm to indicate the base station is faulty)); and
determining, by the first network device ([0116] The first network device may determine, based on an out-of-synchronization condition, whether an out-of-synchronization group other than the synchronization group exists in the at least one group, where a clock state of each base station in the out-of-synchronization group is the out-of-synchronization state), the second network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 2, 3) based on the fault event (Fig. 5 Step 504; [0117] If the one base station launches a clock alarm, it indicates that the clock system of the base station is faulty, and the clock state of the base station may be the out-of-synchronization state).
Regarding claim 3, YIN discloses the limitations of claim 1, as shown in the rejection above.
YIN further discloses:
The communication method, wherein the third network device (base station 1) is determined based on the second network (base station 2, 3) device with reference to a selection condition, the selection condition comprising a plurality of items, the plurality of items including a geographical location (Fig. 9), a clock topology ([0005] According to the method provided in this application, the clock states of the M base stations across an entire network can be analyzed), a routing topology (Fig. 1), and a neighbor relationship ([0084] FIG. 5 is a schematic flowchart of an embodiment of a clock state detection method according to this application…The M base stations are the base station 1, the base station 2, the base station 3, the base station 4, ..., and the base station M. The base station 1 and the base station 2 are neighboring stations of each other, the base station 1 and the base station 3 are neighboring stations of each other, and the base station 3 and the base station 4 are neighboring stations of each other).
Regarding claim 4, YIN discloses the limitations of claim 1, as shown in the rejection above.
YIN further discloses:
The communication method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the first network device, the faulty (e.g., out-of-synchronization state) network device based on the detection result (Fig. 5 Step 504; [0105] The first network device determines the clock states of the M base stations based on the detection results of the M base stations; [0117] If the base station meets the out-of-synchronization condition, a clock state of the base station is the out-of-synchronization state, and the group is an out-of-synchronization group) comprises:
dividing, by the first network device (Fig. 5 Step 504), the second network device (base station 2, 3) and the third network devices ([0084] FIG. 5... The base station 1 and the base station 2 are neighboring stations of each other, the base station 1 and the base station 3 are neighboring stations of each other. and the base station 3 and the base station 4 are neighboring stations of each other) into a plurality of synchronization groups based on the detection result ([0106] (1) Base stations whose clock states are a synchronization state in the M base stations are determined. (2) Base stations whose clock states are an out-of-synchronization state in the M base stations are determined; [0108] Optionally, the first network device may first group the M base stations into at least one group based on the detection results of the M base stations; [0113] a group 1 and a group 2. The group 1 includes at least the base station 1, the base station 3, and the base station 4. The base station 1 can receive the detection sequence from the base station 3, and the base station 3 can receive the detection sequence from the base station 1. The base station 3 can receive the detection sequence from the base station 4, and the base station 4 can receive the detection sequence from the base station 3. The group 2 includes the base station 2. The base station 2 cannot receive the detection sequence from the base station 1, and the detection sequence sent by the base station 2 cannot be received by the base station 1), wherein each synchronization group comprises a second network device and a third network device that are clock-synchronized ([0110] In this embodiment of this application, two neighboring base stations are relatively synchronized with each other, if one base station can receive a detection sequence from the other base station, and/or the other base station can receive a detection sequence from the base station; [0112] The first network device groups the four base stations into at least one group, for example, a group 1 and a group 2. The group 1 includes at least the base station 1, the base station 3, and the base station 4. The base station 1 can receive the detection sequence from the base station 3, and the base station 3 can receive the detection sequence from the base station 1; [0114] After obtaining the at least one group, the first network device may determine... determine a group, in the at least one group, including a largest quantity of base stations as the synchronization group, where a clock state of each base station in the synchronization group is the synchronization state);
determining, by the first network device, a reference group based on preset weights (e.g., >= 100 base stations in a group) and a quantity that are of network devices in each of the plurality of synchronization groups according to a preset condition ([0114] After obtaining the at least one group, the first network device may determine, according to a majority vote rule, a group, in the at least one group, including base stations whose quantity is greater than or equal to a preset threshold as a synchronization group, or when a quantity of base stations included in each of the at least one group is less than the threshold, determine a group, in the at least one group, including a largest quantity of base stations as the synchronization group, where a clock state of each base station in the synchronization group is the synchronization state; [0142] For example, if the threshold is 100, a quantity of base stations in the group 1 and a quantity of base stations in the group 2 are both less than 100, and the quantity of base stations in the group 1 is greater than the quantity of base stations in the group 2, it may be determined that the group 1 is a synchronization group, and the clock states of the base station 1, the base station 2, and the base station 3 are the synchronization state); and
determining, by the first network device, a faulty group from the plurality of synchronization groups based on the reference group ([0113] a group 1 and a group 2... The group 2 includes the base station 2. The base station 2 cannot receive the detection sequence from the base station 1, and the detection sequence sent by the base station 2 cannot be received by the base station 1), wherein a network device in the faulty group is the faulty network device ([0116] The following describes how to determine, by the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state. The first network device may determine, based on an out-of-synchronization condition, whether an out-of-synchronization group (faulty group) other than the synchronization group (reference group) exists in the at least one group, where a clock state of each base station in the out-of-synchronization group is the out-of-synchronization state; [0117] The out-of-synchronization condition includes but is not limited to one or more of the following conditions:… When the clock system of the base station is faulty, the base station launches the clock alarm. If the one base station launches a clock alarm, it indicates that the clock system of the base station is faulty, and the clock state of the base station may be the out-of-synchronization state... The neighboring station of the base station 2 is the base station 1. If out-of-synchronization interference exists in the base station 1 (that is, an uplink of the base station 1 is interfered with by a downlink of a base station), and the out-of-synchronization interference is greater than the preset interference threshold, it indicates that the base station 1 is relatively out of synchronization with the neighboring station of the base station 1... A possible cause is that the clock state of the base station 2 is the out-of-synchronization state; [0121] It may be understood that, because base stations in a same group are all relatively synchronized, when a clock state of a base station is the out-of-synchronization state, clock states of base stations that are relatively synchronized with the base station are all the out-of-synchronization state. Therefore, for any group other than the synchronization group in the at least one group, if a clock state of any base station in the group is determined as the out-of-synchronization state based on the foregoing out-of-synchronization condition, clock states of all base stations in the group are all the out-of-synchronization state).
Regarding claim 6, YIN discloses:
A first network device (Fig. 3 - a schematic structural diagram of a network device; Fig. 5 – First network device), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 3 – processor 301); and
one or more memories (Fig. 3 – memory 302) including computer instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first network device to perform operations ([0074] The memory 302 may be configured to store program code for executing the technical solutions in the embodiments of this application, and the program code is executed by the processor 301, to implement the functions of the network device in the embodiments of this application) comprising:
sending a first indication information and a second indication information (Fig. 5 – step 501; A first network device sends one piece of indication information to each of the M base stations), wherein the first indication information indicates a second network device (Fig. 5 – Step 501, Base station 2, 3) to send an out-of-synchronization detection sequence (Fig. 5 – Step 501; [0080] Each piece of indication information may indicate a time point at which one base station sends a detection sequence and a time point at which each of N neighboring stations of the base station sends a detection sequence; [0088] a time point at which the base station 2 sends the detection sequence is T2, and a time point at which the base station 3 sends the detection sequence is T3 (the detection sequence is used to determine the neighboring base stations are in synchronization or out of synchronization – see [0110] and Fig. 5 step 504)) on a downlink traffic channel ([0062] FIG. 1. The communications system includes M base stations. Data may be transmitted between the M base stations through an air interface; [0079] the M base stations each may send and receive a detection sequence over an air interface),
the second indication information indicates a third network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 1; [0099] the base station 1 separately detects the detection sequences at T2 and T3 that are indicated by the indication information 1) to detect the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2 (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2), the out-of-synchronization detection sequence detection sequence is used for detecting whether two network devices are out of synchronization (Fig. 5 step 504; [0105] The first network device determines the clock states (e.g., synchronization state or out-of-synchronization state) of the M base stations based on the detection results of the M base stations; [0116] the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state; [0118] if the clock state is determined to be not the synchronization state, a possible cause is... that the base station and the neighboring station cannot receive a detection sequence (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), from each other due to relatively poor channel quality),
the third network device (base station 1) is a neighboring station of the second network device (base station 2, 3), and there are a plurality of third network devices ([0084] FIG. 5 is a schematic flowchart of an embodiment of a clock state detection method according to this application…The M base stations are the base station 1, the base station 2, the base station 3, the base station 4, ..., and the base station M. The base station 1 and the base station 2 are neighboring stations of each other, the base station 1 and the base station 3 are neighboring stations of each other, and the base station 3 and the base station 4 are neighboring stations of each other);
the first indication information further indicates the second network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 2, 3) to send a synchronization detection sequence ([0093] the indication information may further indicate a second time point at which the base station sends a detection sequence),
the second indication information further indicates the third network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 1; [0099] the base station 1 separately detects the detection sequences at T2 and T3 that are indicated by the indication information) to detect the synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2), and the synchronization detection sequence is used for detecting whether the second network device (base station 2, 3) and the third network device (base station 1) are synchronized ([0100] The detection result of each base station is used to indicate whether the base station receives the detection sequence sent by each of the N neighboring stations of the base station; [0082] it is determined, based on the detection results of the M base stations, whether the M base stations meet the synchronization condition, the out-of-synchronization condition; [0110] two neighboring base stations are relatively synchronized with each other, if one base station can receive a detection sequence from the other base station, and/or the other base station can receive a detection sequence from the base station);
receiving a detection result (Fig. 5; [0103] Step 503. Each of the M base stations sends the detection result to the first network device) from the third network device (base station 1), wherein the detection result includes ([0014] the base station detects the detection sequence at the first time point at which the neighboring station sends the detection sequence... and the base station sends a detection result; [0093] the indication information may further indicate a second time point at which the base station sends a detection sequence (hence the result includes multiple time points); [0121] When the M base stations and the first network device periodically perform the foregoing steps 502 to 504) both (i) a result of detecting, by the third network device (base station 1), the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2) and (ii) a result of detecting, by the third network device (base station 1), the synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2); and
determining a faulty network device ([0013] one or more base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state can be detected, to locate a faulty base station and a faulty clock source) based on the detection result (Fig. 5; [0105] Step 504, The first network device determines the clock states of the M base stations based on the detection results of the M base stations; [0106] There are one or more of the following cases for determining the clock states of the M base stations… (2) Base stations whose clock states are an out-of-synchronization state in the M base stations are determined; [0116] the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state; [0117] If the base station meets the out-of-synchronization condition, a clock state of the base station is the out-of-synchronization state, and the group is an out-of-synchronization group),
wherein when the third network device (base station 1) detects the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2 (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2), the second network device (base station 2, 3) and the third network device (base station 1) are determined to be out of synchronization ([0116] the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state; [0118] if the clock state is determined to be not the synchronization state, a possible cause is... that the base station and the neighboring station cannot receive a detection sequence (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), from each other due to relatively poor channel quality), and
when the third network device (base station 1) does not detect the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3 (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is not detected). Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2), the second network device (base station 2, 3) and the third network device (base station 1) are determined to be synchronized ([0116] the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state; [0110] two neighboring base stations are relatively synchronized with each other, if one base station can receive a detection sequence from the other base station, and/or the other base station can receive a detection sequence from the base station).
Regarding claim 7, YIN discloses the limitations of claim 6, as shown in the rejection above.
YIN further discloses:
The first network device (Fig. 5 – First network device), wherein the operations further comprise:
obtaining a fault event ([0116] The first network device may determine, based on an out-of-synchronization condition; [0117] for a group (the group may include one base station, or the group may include more than two base stations) other than the synchronization group in the at least one group, it may be determined whether one base station in the group meets the out -of -synchronization condition... The out-of-synchronization condition includes but is not limited to one or more of the following conditions:), wherein the fault event is reported ([0117] If the one base station launches a clock alarm, it indicates that the clock system of the base station is faulty, and the clock state of the base station may be the out-of-synchronization state) by the second network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 2, 3) and the third network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 1; [0115] it may be determined that the group 1 is a synchronization group, and the clock states of the base station 1, the base station 2, and the base station 3 are the synchronization state; [0116] whether an out-of-synchronization group other... where a clock state of each base station in the out-of-synchronization group is the out-of-synchronization state (hence both second and third network devices launched a clock alarm to indicate the base station is faulty)); and
determining ([0116] The first network device may determine, based on an out-of-synchronization condition, whether an out-of-synchronization group other than the synchronization group exists in the at least one group, where a clock state of each base station in the out-of-synchronization group is the out-of-synchronization state) the second network device Fig. 5 - Base station 2, 3) based on the fault event (Fig. 5 Step 504; [0117] If the one base station launches a clock alarm, it indicates that the clock system of the base station is faulty, and the clock state of the base station may be the out-of-synchronization state).
Regarding claim 8, YIN discloses the limitations of claim 6, as shown in the rejection above.
YIN further discloses:
The first network device, wherein the third network (base station 1) device is determined based on the second network device (base station 2, 3) with reference to a selection condition, and the selection condition comprising a plurality of items, the plurality of items including a geographical location (Fig. 9), a clock topology ([0005] According to the method provided in this application, the clock states of the M base stations across an entire network can be analyzed), a routing topology (Fig. 1), and a neighbor relationship ([0084] FIG. 5 is a schematic flowchart of an embodiment of a clock state detection method according to this application…The M base stations are the base station 1, the base station 2, the base station 3, the base station 4, ..., and the base station M. The base station 1 and the base station 2 are neighboring stations of each other, the base station 1 and the base station 3 are neighboring stations of each other, and the base station 3 and the base station 4 are neighboring stations of each other).
Regarding claim 9, YIN discloses the limitations of claim 6, as shown in the rejection above.
YIN further discloses:
The first network device (Fig. 5 Step 504), wherein the determining the faulty (e.g., out-of-synchronization state) network device comprises ([0127] Step 504. The first network device determines the clock states of the M base stations based on the detection results of the M base stations):
dividing the second network device (base station 2, 3) and the third network devices ([0084] FIG. 5... The base station 1 and the base station 2 are neighboring stations of each other, the base station 1 and the base station 3 are neighboring stations of each other. and the base station 3 and the base station 4 are neighboring stations of each other) into a plurality of synchronization groups based on the detection result ([0106] (1) Base stations whose clock states are a synchronization state in the M base stations are determined. (2) Base stations whose clock states are an out-of-synchronization state in the M base stations are determined; [0108] Optionally, the first network device may first group the M base stations into at least one group based on the detection results of the M base stations; [0113] a group 1 and a group 2. The group 1 includes at least the base station 1, the base station 3, and the base station 4. The base station 1 can receive the detection sequence from the base station 3, and the base station 3 can receive the detection sequence from the base station 1. The base station 3 can receive the detection sequence from the base station 4, and the base station 4 can receive the detection sequence from the base station 3. The group 2 includes the base station 2. The base station 2 cannot receive the detection sequence from the base station 1, and the detection sequence sent by the base station 2 cannot be received by the base station 1), wherein each synchronization group comprises a second network device and a third network device that are clock-synchronized ([0110] In this embodiment of this application, two neighboring base stations are relatively synchronized with each other, if one base station can receive a detection sequence from the other base station, and/or the other base station can receive a detection sequence from the base station; [0112] The first network device groups the four base stations into at least one group, for example, a group 1 and a group 2. The group 1 includes at least the base station 1, the base station 3, and the base station 4. The base station 1 can receive the detection sequence from the base station 3, and the base station 3 can receive the detection sequence from the base station 1; [0114] After obtaining the at least one group, the first network device may determine... determine a group, in the at least one group, including a largest quantity of base stations as the synchronization group, where a clock state of each base station in the synchronization group is the synchronization state);
determining a reference group based on preset weights (e.g., >= 100 base stations in a group) and a quantity that are of network devices in each of the plurality of synchronization groups according to a preset condition ([0114] After obtaining the at least one group, the first network device may determine, according to a majority vote rule, a group, in the at least one group, including base stations whose quantity is greater than or equal to a preset threshold as a synchronization group, or when a quantity of base stations included in each of the at least one group is less than the threshold, determine a group, in the at least one group, including a largest quantity of base stations as the synchronization group, where a clock state of each base station in the synchronization group is the synchronization state; [0142] For example, if the threshold is 100, a quantity of base stations in the group 1 and a quantity of base stations in the group 2 are both less than 100, and the quantity of base stations in the group 1 is greater than the quantity of base stations in the group 2, it may be determined that the group 1 is a synchronization group, and the clock states of the base station 1, the base station 2, and the base station 3 are the synchronization state); and
determining a faulty group from the plurality of synchronization groups based on the reference group ([0113] a group 1 and a group 2... The group 2 includes the base station 2. The base station 2 cannot receive the detection sequence from the base station 1, and the detection sequence sent by the base station 2 cannot be received by the base station 1), wherein a network device in the faulty group is the faulty network device ([0116] The following describes how to determine, by the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state. The first network device may determine, based on an out-of-synchronization condition, whether an out-of-synchronization group (faulty group) other than the synchronization group (reference group) exists in the at least one group, where a clock state of each base station in the out-of-synchronization group is the out-of-synchronization state; [0117] The out-of-synchronization condition includes but is not limited to one or more of the following conditions:… When the clock system of the base station is faulty, the base station launches the clock alarm. If the one base station launches a clock alarm, it indicates that the clock system of the base station is faulty, and the clock state of the base station may be the out-of-synchronization state... The neighboring station of the base station 2 is the base station 1. If out-of-synchronization interference exists in the base station 1 (that is, an uplink of the base station 1 is interfered with by a downlink of a base station), and the out-of-synchronization interference is greater than the preset interference threshold, it indicates that the base station 1 is relatively out of synchronization with the neighboring station of the base station 1... A possible cause is that the clock state of the base station 2 is the out-of-synchronization state; [0121] It may be understood that, because base stations in a same group are all relatively synchronized, when a clock state of a base station is the out-of-synchronization state, clock states of base stations that are relatively synchronized with the base station are all the out-of-synchronization state. Therefore, for any group other than the synchronization group in the at least one group, if a clock state of any base station in the group is determined as the out-of-synchronization state based on the foregoing out-of-synchronization condition, clock states of all base stations in the group are all the out-of-synchronization state).
Regarding claim 11, YIN discloses:
A second network device (FIG. 2 is a schematic structural diagram of a base station; Fig. 5 – Base station 2, 3), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 2 – processor 201); and
one or more memories (Fig. 2 – memory 202) including computer instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second network device to perform operations ([0070] For example, the processor 201 is configured to execute the computer program code stored in the memory 202, to implement the technical solutions in the embodiments of this application) comprising:
obtaining a first indication information (Fig 5 – Step 501), wherein the first indication information indicates the second network device ([0086] For example, the first network device sends indication information 1 to the base station 1, sends indication information 2 to the base station 2, ..., and sends indication information M to the base station M) to send an out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0080] Each piece of indication information may indicate a time point at which one base station sends a detection sequence and a time point at which each of N neighboring stations of the base station sends a detection sequence; [0088] a time point at which the base station 2 sends the detection sequence is T2, and a time point at which the base station 3 sends the detection sequence is T3 (the detection sequence is used to determine the neighboring base stations are in synchronization or out of synchronization – see [0110] and Fig. 5 step 504);), and
further indicates the second network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 2, 3) to send a synchronization detection sequence ([0093] the indication information may further indicate a second time point at which the base station sends a detection sequence), the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0096] Step 502. Each of the M base stations detects the detection sequences at the N first time points indicated by the indication information received by the base station; [0101] The base station 2 does not detect the detection sequence at T1. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 2 is that the base station 2 does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 1) is used for detecting whether two network devices are out of synchronization ([0110] two neighboring base stations are relatively synchronized with each other, if one base station can receive a detection sequence from the other base station, and/or the other base station can receive a detection sequence from the base station), and
the synchronization detection sequence is used for detecting whether the second network device (base station 2, 3) and a third network device (base station 1) are synchronized ([0100] The detection result of each base station is used to indicate whether the base station receives the detection sequence sent by each of the N neighboring stations of the base station; [0082] it is determined, based on the detection results of the M base stations, whether the M base stations meet the synchronization condition, the out-of-synchronization condition; [0110] two neighboring base stations are relatively synchronized with each other, if one base station can receive a detection sequence from the other base station, and/or the other base station can receive a detection sequence from the base station); and
sending the out-of-synchronization detection sequence (Fig. 5 – Step 501; [0080] Each piece of indication information may indicate a time point at which one base station sends a detection sequence and a time point at which each of N neighboring stations of the base station sends a detection sequence; [0088] a time point at which the base station 2 sends the detection sequence is T2, and a time point at which the base station 3 sends the detection sequence is T3 (the detection sequence is used to determine the neighboring base stations are in synchronization or out of synchronization – see [0110] and Fig. 5 step 504)) on a downlink traffic channel ([0062] FIG. 1. The communications system includes M base stations. Data may be transmitted between the M base stations through an air interface; [0079] the M base stations each may send and receive a detection sequence over an air interface) based on the first indication information (Fig. 5 – Step 501; [0088] if a time point at which the base station 1 sends the detection sequence is T1, a time point at which the base station 2 sends the detection sequence is T2, and a time point at which the base station 3 sends the detection sequence is T3, N1=2, and the N1 first time points indicated by the indication information 1 are T2 and T3; and N2=2, and the N2 first time points indicated by the indication information 2 are T1), and
sending the synchronization detection sequence based on the first indication information ([0088] if a time point at which the base station 1 sends the detection sequence is T1, a time point at which the base station 2 sends the detection sequence is T2, and a time point at which the base station 3 sends the detection sequence is T3, N1=2, and the N1 first time points indicated by the indication information 1 are T2 and T3; and N2=2, and the N2 first time points indicated by the indication information 2 are T1),
wherein when a third network device (base station 1) detects the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2 (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2), the second network device (base station 2, 3) and the third network device (base station 1) are determined to be out of synchronization ([0116] the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state; [0118] if the clock state is determined to be not the synchronization state, a possible cause is... that the base station and the neighboring station cannot receive a detection sequence (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), from each other due to relatively poor channel quality), and
when the third network device (base station 1) does not detect the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3 (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is not detected). Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2), the second network device (base station 2, 3) and the third network device (base station 1) are determined to be synchronized ([0116] the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out -of -synchronization state; [0110] two neighboring base stations are relatively synchronized with each other, if one base station can receive a detection sequence from the other base station, and/or the other base station can receive a detection sequence from the base station).
Regarding claim 13, YIN discloses:
A third network device (FIG. 2 is a schematic structural diagram of a base station; Fig. 5 – Base station 1), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 2 – processor 201); and
one or more memories (Fig. 2 – memory 202) including computer instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the third network device to perform operations ([0070] For example, the processor 201 is configured to execute the computer program code stored in the memory 202, to implement the technical solutions in the embodiments of this application) comprising:
obtaining a second indication information (Fig 5 – Step 501), wherein the second indication information indicates (Fig. 5 – Step 501; [0086] For example, the first network device sends indication information 1 to the base station 1, sends indication information 2 to the base station 2, ..., and sends indication information M to the base station M; [0092] the first time points indicated by the indication information 1 are T2 and T3) the third network device (base station 1) to detect an out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0014] the base station detects the detection sequence at the first time point at which the neighboring station sends the detection sequence; [0080] Each piece of indication information may indicate a time point at which one base station sends a detection sequence and a time point at which each of N neighboring stations of the base station sends a detection sequence; [0099] the base station 1 separately detects the detection sequences at T2 and T3 that are indicated by the indication information 1), and further indicates the third network device (base station 1) to detect a synchronization detection sequence ([0093] the indication information may further indicate a second time point at which the base station sends a detection sequence; [0099] the base station 1 separately detects the detection sequences at T2 and T3 that are indicated by the indication information 1; [0121] When the M base stations and the first network device periodically perform the foregoing steps 502 to 504; (hence the third network device further detect a synchronization detection sequence)),
the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is used for detecting whether two network devices are out of synchronization (Fig. 5 step 504; [0105] The first network device determines the clock states (e.g., synchronization state or out-of-synchronization state) of the M base stations based on the detection results of the M base stations; [0116] the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state; [0118] if the clock state is determined to be not the synchronization state, a possible cause is... that the base station and the neighboring station cannot receive a detection sequence (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), from each other due to relatively poor channel quality), and is sent by a second network device (Fig. 5 - Base station 2, 3; [0086] For example, the first network device sends indication information 1 to the base station 1, sends indication information 2 to the base station 2, ..., and sends indication information M to the base station M), and the synchronization detection sequence ([0088] if a time point at which the base station 1 sends the detection sequence is T1, a time point at which the base station 2 sends the detection sequence is T2, and a time point at which the base station 3 sends the detection sequence is T3) is sent by the second network device (base station 2, 3) and is used for detecting whether the second network device and the third network (base station 1) device are synchronized ([0100] The detection result of each base station is used to indicate whether the base station receives the detection sequence sent by each of the N neighboring stations of the base station; [0082] it is determined, based on the detection results of the M base stations, whether the M base stations meet the synchronization condition, the out-of-synchronization condition; [0110] two neighboring base stations are relatively synchronized with each other, if one base station can receive a detection sequence from the other base station, and/or the other base station can receive a detection sequence from the base station);
detecting the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2 (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2) and the synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3 (hence the synchronization detection sequence is detected), but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2) based on the second indication information ([0092] the first time points indicated by the indication information 1 are T2 and T3; [0088] if a time point at which the base station 1 sends the detection sequence is T1, a time point at which the base station 2 sends the detection sequence is T2, and a time point at which the base station 3 sends the detection sequence is T3, N1=2, and the N1 first time points indicated by the indication information 1 are T2 and T3; and N2=2, and the N2 first time points indicated by the indication information 2 are T1) and obtaining a detection result ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2),
wherein the detection result includes ([0014] the base station detects the detection sequence at the first time point at which the neighboring station sends the detection sequence... and the base station sends a detection result; [0093] the indication information may further indicate a second time point at which the base station sends a detection sequence (hence the result includes multiple time points); [0121] When the M base stations and the first network device periodically perform the foregoing steps 502 to 504) both (i) a result of detecting, by the third network device (base station 1), the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is sent by a second network device(base station 2, 3) ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2) and (ii) a result of detecting, by the third network device (base station 1), the synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2); and
sending the detection result to a first network device (Fig. 5 – step 504; The base station 1, the base station 2, the base station 3, and the base station 4 may send the detection results thereof to the first network device by the end of the periodicity T),
wherein when the third network device (base station 1) detects the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2 (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), but detects the detection sequence at T3. Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2), the second network device (base station 2, 3) and the third network device (base station 1) are determined to be out of synchronization ([0116] the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state; [0118] if the clock state is determined to be not the synchronization state, a possible cause is... that the base station and the neighboring station cannot receive a detection sequence (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is detected), from each other due to relatively poor channel quality), and
when the third network device (base station 1) does not detect the out-of-synchronization detection sequence ([0101] the base station 1 does not detect the detection sequence at T2, but detects the detection sequence at T3 (hence the out-of-synchronization detection sequence is not detected). Therefore, a detection result obtained by the base station 1 is that the base station 1 receives the detection sequence sent by the base station 3, but does not receive the detection sequence sent by the base station 2), the second network device (base station 2, 3) and the third network device (base station 1) are determined to be synchronized ([0116] the first network device after determining the base stations whose clock states are the synchronization state in the M base stations, the base stations whose clock states are the out-of-synchronization state; [0110] two neighboring base stations are relatively synchronized with each other, if one base station can receive a detection sequence from the other base station, and/or the other base station can receive a detection sequence from the base station).
Conclusion
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418