DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Examiner notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention. The claims & only the claims form the metes & bounds of the invention. Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. Unclaimed limitations appearing in the specification are not read into the claim. Prior art was referenced using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. Examiner's Notes are provided with the cited references to assist the applicant to better understand how the examiner interprets the applied prior art. Such comments are entirely consistent with the intent & spirit of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, and 7 - 9 contain the trademarks Unity3DTM and Maya3DTM. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to describe 3D software and, accordingly, the description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yinghao et al., CN 112396912 A (Yinghao) in further view of Zhen et al., CN 110364054 A (Zhen)
Claim 1.
Yinghao teaches A vehicle simulation model modeling method, comprising the following steps: S1: obtaining actual parameters of an exam vehicle, and modeling, based on the actual parameters of the exam vehicle, to obtain a vehicle model; (Yinghao Pg. 5 S1-4) “s1: acquiring environmental data of an actual examination item; s2: acquiring actual examination vehicle data; s3: performing three-dimensional modeling according to the actual examination item environment data to obtain an examination item environment three-dimensional model; s4: carrying out three-dimensional modeling”
S2: importing the vehicle model into a Unity3DTM project and adding vehicle assemblies to the vehicle model; (Yinghao Pg. 5 S5) “s5: importing the three-dimensional test item environment model and the three-dimensional test vehicle model into a Unity3d engine;”
Yinghao does not explicitly teach, but Zhen teaches S3: setting vehicle start parameters, gear parameters, powertrain parameters, vehicle status parameters, engine parameters, and input coefficients for the vehicle model added with the vehicle assemblies; and (Zhen Pg. 9) “Starting input subsystem for whether input before real-time detection vehicle launch the corresponding Boolean variable of safety belt and Start the corresponding variable of engine, and the corresponding Boolean variable of the safety belt of input variable corresponding with starting engine is sent to vapour Drive subsystem in vehicle dynamical simulation equipment, to carry out starting input to vehicle.” (Pg. 6) “Wherein, automobile gears include neutral gear, reverse gear, one grade and two grades, when automobile is in different stalls, linear scale factor It is different.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: Variables governing vehicle/engine starting (vehicle start parameters)}
S4: obtaining an exam vehicle simulation model by setting a speed calculation method for the vehicle model according to the vehicle start parameters, the gear parameters, the powertrain parameters, the vehicle status parameters, the engine parameters, and the input coefficients obtained in step S3. (Zhen Pg. 6) “according to the feedback return value that user inputs, and passes through return value and calculates vehicle motion parameters.” (Pg. 9) “and judge whether current gear is neutral gear, automobile cannot be driven if in neutral gear, if being in Nonneutral gear selects driving method according to current gear.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: connects input, start/gear status and engine behavior to vehicle motion.}
are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor of
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yinghao and Zhen before him or her, to modify the vehicle simulation method of Yinghao with the vehicle parameters of Zhen to improve the users experience as suggested in Zhen.
Claim 3.
Modified Yinghao with Zhen teaches The vehicle simulation model modeling method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the vehicle start parameters comprise a power off status, a power on status, and a starting vehicle status; and/or the gear parameters comprise manual gear parameters and automatic gear parameters; wherein the manual gear parameters comprise a neutral gear, a first gear, a second gear, a third gear, a fourth gear, a fifth gear, and a reverse gear, the automatic gear parameters comprise a parking gear, a forward gear, and a reverse gear; and/or the powertrain parameters comprise a maximum wheel offset angle, a transmission efficiency, a brake pedal torque, and a braking curve; and/or the vehicle status parameters comprise a gear ratio of each gear, a wheel torque of each gear, a minimum speed and a maximum speed of each gear, an idle speed of each gear and a foot brake torque of each gear; and/or the engine parameters comprise a maximum engine speed, a minimum engine speed, a relationship curve between an engine speed and an output power, a curve speed ratio, a torque value of the idle speed, a speed increase limit, a speed decrease limit, a downshift deceleration acceleration, a conversion coefficient from an engine to wheel torques; and/or the input coefficients comprise a steering wheel input, a clutch input, a brake input, a throttle input, and a handbrake switch. From the above list of alternatives, the Examiner is selecting "or the input coefficients comprise a steering wheel input, a clutch input, a brake input, a throttle input, and a handbrake switch". (Zhen Pg. 6) “steering wheel, clutch pedal, brake pedal, gas pedal, parking brake, lever etc., the analog machine Input include key-press input and axle key input, wherein key-press input be Boolean type input.”
Claims 2, 4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yinghao et al., CN 112396912 A (Yinghao) in further view of Zhen et al., CN 110364054 A (Zhen) in further view of HWliiu (github account), “Easy Driving” Available at: https://hithub.com/Hwliiu/EasyDriving/tree/978be5602294d94b45c4ad09db22f250aca894b8 (Easy Drive)
Claim 2.
Modified Yinghao teaches and setting mass parameters based on the actual parameters of the exam vehicle; (Yinghao Abstract “performing three-dimensional modeling according to the actual examination item environment data to obtain an examination item environment three-dimensional model;”
Modified Yinghao, with Zen does not explicitly teach but Easy Drive teaches The vehicle simulation model modeling method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the vehicle assemblies in step S2 comprise wheel colliders, ordinary colliders, and rigid body components; wherein the step of adding the wheel colliders comprises: adding the wheel colliders to wheels of the vehicle model in the Unity3DTM project; wherein the step of adding the ordinary colliders comprises: adding four spherical colliders for a front of the vehicle model, (Easy Drive Pg. 4) See Wheel colliders under Axle tab.
a rear of the vehicle model, a left of the vehicle model, and a right of the vehicle model in the Unity3DTM project, (Easy Drive Pg. 4 See Car body tab)
as well as adding a square collider to a body of the vehicle model in the Unity3DTM project; (Easy Drive Pg. 4 See Chassis tab)
and wherein the step of adding the rigid body components comprises: adding the rigid body components to the vehicle model in the Unity3DTM project, (Easy Drive Pg. 5) See vehicle controller and carbody tabs for various rigidbody components of the car.
choosing an option of a use gravity of the rigid body components. (Easy Drive /Assets/Prefabs/Vehicles/sedan.prefab (Pg. 8) See Use gravity option.
are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor of
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yinghao, Zhen and Easy Drive before him or her, to modify the vehicle simulation method of Yinghao with the vehicle parameters of Zhen and the vehicle simulation model colliders of Easy Drive to give a more accurate rendition of users movements.
Claim 4.
Modified Yinghao with Easy Drive teaches The vehicle simulation model modeling method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the speed calculation method for the vehicle model comprises an apply drive method; (Easy Drive Pg. 4) See Vehicle Controller tab.
wherein a current gear is one of the gear parameters; (Easy Drive Pg. 4) See Transmission tab.)
a step of applying the applydrive method comprises: when a current vehicle speed is less than a minimum speed in the current gear, calculating a current torque value of the vehicle model, evenly distributing the current torque value of the vehicle model to driving wheels to obtain current forward torque values of the driving wheels, and (Zhen Pg. 10) “W4, judge whether the corresponding Boolean variable of current throttle is true, and judge whether present speed is less than preset pine Threshold speed is closed, then automobile is driven with one grade;”
then calculating a vehicle rigid speed based on the current forward torque values; (Easy Drive Pg. 4) See engine tab.
wherein the driving wheels are that actually drive a real vehicle forward; and the vehicle rigid speed is a theoretical speed of the vehicle model. (Easy Drive Pg. 5) See WheelStateDetector.
Claim 7.
Modified Yinghao with Zhen and Easy Drive teaches A vehicle simulation exam judgment method, comprising the following steps: A1: establishing an initial exam scenario model based on a real exam scenario and importing the initial exam scenario model into the Unity3DTM project; (Yinghao Abtrsact) “acquiring environmental data of an actual examination item.”
A2: establishing the exam vehicle simulation model based on the actual parameters of the exam vehicle by using the vehicle simulation model modeling method as claimed in claim 1; (Yinghao Abstract) “acquiring actual examination vehicle data;”
A3: setting rules for exam items based on different exam rules; (Easy Drive Pg. 6) See Game Manager tab
A4: setting rule triggers and determination rules for the initial exam scenario model based on the exam rules of the exam items, and generating a simulated exam scenario model; (Easy Drive Pg. 6) See Game Manager tab and MobileInputManager tab.
A5: importing the simulated exam scenario model with the rule triggers and the determination rules and the exam vehicle simulation model into a system of an external vehicle simulation device, (Zhen Pg. 3 Paragraph 5) “A kind of Driving Test simulation system based on physical engine, including automobile power emulator, virtual Driving Test scene device With Driving Test analog machine.”
and matching the exam vehicle simulation model with an operation device of the vehicle simulation device, (Zhen Pg. 6 Paragraph 6) “Drive subsystem includes that user inputs acquiring unit and gear unit, and user inputs acquiring unit and is used for automobile mould Standby progress user's input is proposed, according to the feedback return value that user inputs, and passes through return value and calculates vehicle motion parameters, automobile Analog machine includes keyboard, steering wheel, clutch pedal, brake pedal, gas pedal, parking brake, lever etc., the analog machine Input include key-press input and axle key input, wherein key-press input be Boolean type input, whether key is judged by return value It presses, using GetKeyUp () method”
establishing conversion rules for operation datum of the operation device and the simulation datum of the exam vehicle simulation model; (Zhen Pg. 6 paragraph 7) “Motor racing can be obtained multiplied by the maximum value of the corresponding related coefficient of equipment by return value in drive subsystem Parameter, such as steering wheel maximum angle are set as 30 degree, then current vehicle turning angle can be obtained multiplied by 30 degree in return value.”
A6: inputting operation datum through the operation device by a terminal user, and converting the operation datum into simulation datum of the exam vehicle simulation model according to the conversion rules by the vehicle simulation device; (Zhen Pg. 6 Paragraph 6) “and is obtained by GetAxis () function, and return value is Float type, and the degree inputted in (- 1,1) section by the size of return value and positive negative judgement user and direction.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: input to simulation conversion mechanism.}
A7: driving the exam vehicle simulation model to run in the simulated exam scenario model based on the simulation datum, (Easy Drive Pg. 4) See Vehicle Controller tab.
and judging a score based on the rule triggers and the determination rules by the vehicle simulation device. (Yinghao Pg. 7 Last paragraph) “In the embodiment of the application, when the students are scored and judged according to the on-line simulated driving test subject deduction rule and the control simulation action, all the control simulation actions of the students are firstly obtained, and then all detection items and corresponding deduction scores in the on-line simulated driving test subject deduction rule are obtained; and then comparing all the control simulation actions with all the detection items one by one, and calculating the score of the student according to the comparison condition and the score deduction value.”
Claim 8.
Modified Yinghao with Zhen and Easy Drive teaches The vehicle simulation exam judgment method as claimed in claim 7, wherein the step of establishing an initial exam scenario model based on a real exam scenario comprises: sampling the real exam scenario through an aerial modeling or oblique photography techniques to obtain sampling results, (Yinghao Pg. 7) “the first acquisition module 10 is used for acquiring the environmental data of the actual examination item;”
and processing and optimizing the sampling results using (Yinghao Pg. 15 Paragraph 1) “the system comprises an actual examination item environment data acquisition module, a data acquisition module and a data processing module, wherein the actual examination item environment data acquisition module is used for acquiring actual examination item environment data;” {EXAMINERS NOTE: While not explicitly using Maya3DTM, Maya is a trademark that can not be claimed in a application. Yinghao use a similar 3d software.}
Claims 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yinghao et al., CN 112396912 A (Yinghao) in further view of Zhen et al., CN 110364054 A (Zhen) in further view of HWliiu (github account), “Easy Driving” Available at: https://hithub.com/Hwliiu/EasyDriving/tree/978be5602294d94b45c4ad09db22f250aca894b8 (Easy Drive) in further view of Joly et al., US 20170220225 A 1 (Joly).
Claim 9.
Modified Yinghao with Zhen teaches A42: adding collider members to the cube models; (Zhen Pg. 9 ) “The crimping detection subsystem is detected using collision, carries out simulated implementation.”
A44: marking locations required to be judged by rules in the initial exam scenario model as trigger points; (Yinghao Pg. 14) “setting the detection items with the same number in the Unity3d engine according to the number of the actual driving test subject deduction items;”
and A46: setting parameters and rules for each target trigger based on the rules of the exam items and the initial exam scenario model, (Zhen Pg. 9) “judge whether the object tags of vehicle collision are solid line of the examination hall ground in project”
thereby forming the rule triggers. (Yinghao Pg. 14) “and correspondingly assigning each deduction score to the corresponding detection item”
Modified Yinghao with Zhen and Easy Drive does not explicitly teach, but Joly teaches The vehicle simulation exam judgment method as claimed in claim 7, wherein the step of setting the rule triggers comprises: A41: using a cube plug-in component to build cube models in the Unity3DTM project; (Joly 0116) “To create a GazedObject, a Unity prefab is created.” (0130) “The distance is defined by a collider (invisible cube).”
A43: setting attributes of the cube models as triggers in the Unity3DTM project to make the cube models form a plurality of target triggers; (Joly 0121) “A collision between two GameObject (Collider object in Unity).”
A45: setting the plurality of the target triggers at each trigger point through steps A41-A43; (Joly 0120) “Each child is a trigger itself.”
are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor of
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Yinghao, Zhen, Easy Drive, and Joly before him or her, to modify the vehicle simulation method of Yinghao with the vehicle parameters of Zhen and the vehicle simulation model colliders of Easy Drive with the cube models of Joly to “providing interactivity within virtual environments.” As Joly suggests. (0010)
Claim 10.
Modified Yinghao with Zhen, Easy Drive and Joly teach The plurality of the target triggers comprises: setting the target triggers at a start location, a process location, and an end location of rule determinations at each trigger point; and setting one of the target triggers at each of the start location and the end location, and setting one or more of the target triggers at the process location. (Joly 0120) “Each child is a trigger itself.” (0124) “The description of each script follows: The 'Trigger Activator' is a script that specifies the time when the trigger child GameObject will be active, and its potential dependencies with other triggers. It displays the following graphical fields to the user to set those different values.” {EXAMINERS NOTE: The child being a trigger under BRI could be at various locations.}
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5 and 6
When reading the claims in light of the specification, none of the references alone or in combination disclose or suggest the combination of limitations specified in claim 5. Specifically, Yinghao teaches simulated driving and related equipment, and Zhen teaches a driving test simulation, and Easy Drive teaches a simulation of driving. Yinghao modified by Zhen, and Easy Drive however does not anticipate or render obvious, either alone or in combination “The vehicle simulation model modeling method as claimed in claim 4, wherein the step of calculating the current torque value of the vehicle model comprises an equation as follows: the current torque value of the vehicle model = a current torque value of an idle speed in a current gear × a current gear ratio in the current gear × the transmission efficiency × the clutch input + a current torque value of a current engine speed in the current gear × the throttle input × the clutch input × the transmission efficiency; wherein the current torque value of the current engine speed is obtained based on engine parameters of the real vehicle. Therefore, claim 5 is allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Dependent claims 6 would also be allowable due to its dependency on potentially allowable dependent claim 5.
Conclusion
/JOHN DAVID HAGLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2189
/REHANA PERVEEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2189