Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) [ 1-20 ] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being [ anticipated ] by [ Tsai US 20240107546 A1 ] .
The applied reference has a common [ Assignee ] with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regrading claim 1 and 16, Tsai in the reference teaches a method of wireless communication of a base station, [0091] In a second scheme, the PDCCH 1142 transmitted by the base station 1102 indicates control information associated only with the first PDSCH 1146-1 transmitted on the first time-frequency resources (f, t).sub.1 comprising: determining N sets of data signals to be transmitted to a user equipment (UE) via N repeaters, [0061] FIG. 7 is a diagram 700 illustrating a distributed downlink MIMO transmission. A base station 702 and a UE 704 communicate with each other via one or more repeaters 706, 708 . . . 710. The repeaters may be wireless devices such as mobile phones, fixed CPEs, and wireless routers. In this example, there are K repeaters (K is an integer and K≥1). The UE 704 and the K repeaters 706, 708, . . . 710 are connected together to form a high-rank MIMO transmitter/receiver network to expand the channel rank, wherein each set of the N sets of data signals is associated with each of the N repeaters and carries data of a plurality of layers, N being an integer greater than 1; [0063] Using (f, t) to denote the time-frequency resources: (f, t).sub.1 denotes the time-frequency resource used by the base station for transmitting and receiving RF signals. (f, t).sub.2,k denotes the resources used by a particular repeater MT.sub.k (k is an integer and 1≤k≤K) to transmit RF signals to the UE, transmitting first control information to the N repeaters [0092] In a third scheme, the base station 1102 transmits the first PDCCH 1142 on the first time-frequency resources (f, t).sub.1 to the repeater 1106 and a second PDCCH 1144 to the UE 1104. The first PDCCH 1142 contains control information for the first PDSCH 1146-1 transmitted by the base station 1102 indicating a first resource allocation for data reception at each repeater on a first time-frequency resource; [0090] In a first scheme, the base station 1102 may transmit a PDCCH 1142 to a repeater 1106 and a UE 1104 in the time-frequency resource (f, t).sub.1. The PDCCH 1142 indicates resources for the PDSCH 1146-1 in the time-frequency resources (f, t).sub.1 and also indicates resources for the PDSCHs 1148-1, 1148-2, 1148-3 and 1148-4 in the time-frequency resources (f, t).sub.2, transmitting N resource mapping rules to the N repeaters indicating each mapping from the first resource allocation to a second resource allocation for forwarding each of the N sets of data signals,[0066] The mapping rule translates the resource allocation of the first time-frequency resource (f, t).sub.1 used by the PDSCH 946 to the resource allocation of the second time-frequency resource (f, t).sub.2 used by the PDSCH 948, received at each repeater on the first time-frequency resource, on a second time-frequency resource, wherein the second resource allocations for the N repeater are non-overlapping in at least one of time domain, frequency domain, and spatial domain; [0067] Three examples of the mapping rule are: [0068] 1) Mapping in frequency domain: The index x.sub.2 of the mapped PRB 990 in PDSCH 948 is determined as x.sub.2=g(x.sub.1), where g(x.sub.1) is a mapping function from x.sub.1 to x.sub.2. [0069] 2) Mapping in time domain: The time t.sub.2 of the mapped PRB 990 in PDSCH 948 is determined as t.sub.2=g(t.sub.1), where g(t.sub.1) is a mapping function from t.sub.1 to t.sub.2, and transmitting, to the N repeater, the N sets of data signals on the first time-frequency resource according to the first resource allocation. [0072] FIG. 10 is a diagram 1000 illustrating a mapping rule that maps data transmission in a first PDSCH to data transmission in a second PDSCH. In this example, the base station 902 transmits a PDSCH 946 carrying a transport block (TB) 1080 to the repeater 906 in a slot 1010-0 on f.sub.1, wireless communication, the apparatus being a base station, comprising: [0027] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example of a wireless communications system and an access network 100. The wireless communications system (also referred to as a wireless wide area network (WWAN)) includes base stations 102, UEs 104, an Evolved Packet Core (EPC) 160, and another core network 190 a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory [0045] The controller/processor 275 can be associated with a memory 276 that stores program codes and data. The memory 276 may be referred to as a computer-readable medium.
Regrading claim 2 and 17, Tsai in the reference teaches wherein the N resource mapping rules are transmitted via a control channel shared by the N repeaters or via configuring before the transmission of the N sets of data signals. [0097] In certain configurations, the first PDCCH further indicates control information associated with the second PDSCH. The control information may indicate configuration for generating the reference signals, the mapping rule, resource allocation of the second PDSCH, number of spatial layers, and/or modulation and code rate.
Regrading claim 3 and 18, Tsai in the reference teaches wherein the first control information is transmitted to the N repeaters [0090] In a first scheme, the base station 1102 may transmit a PDCCH 1142 to a repeater 1106 and a UE 1104 in the time-frequency resource (f, t).sub.1. The PDCCH 1142 indicates resources for the PDSCH 1146-1 in the time-frequency resources (f, t).sub.1 via a control channel shared by the N repeaters or via individual control channels of the N repeaters. [0092] In a third scheme, the base station 1102 transmits the first PDCCH 1142 on the first time-frequency resources (f, t).sub.1 to the repeater 1106 and a second PDCCH 1144 to the UE 1104. The first PDCCH 1142 contains control information for the first PDSCH 1146-1 transmitted by the base station 1102.
Regrading claim 4 and 19, Tsai in the reference teaches transmitting second control information to the UE indicating information used for decoding the N sets of data signals transmitted by the base-station and forwarded by the N repeaters [0089] The repeater receives the data in the PDSCH 1146-1 and re-transmits the data in PDSCHs 1148-1, 1148-2, 1148-3 and 1148-4 on the time-frequency resources (f, t).sub.2. More specifically, according to the mapping rule described supra, the PDSCH 1146-1 in a slot 1110-1 is mapped to the PDSCH 1148-1 in a slot 1111-1, the PDSCH 1148-2 in a slot 1111-2, the PDSCH 1148-3 in a slot 1111-3 and the PDSCH 1148-4 in a slot 1111-4.
Regrading claim 5 and 20, Tsai in the reference teaches wherein the N resource mapping rules are based on a predefined mapping rule. [0082] The mapping rule is pre-defined so that the encoding of the second PDSCH can start right after knowing coding and layer-mapping information of the first PDSCH.
Regrading claim 6, Tsai in the reference teaches wherein the first time-frequency resource is in FR1 and the second time-frequency resource is FR2 [0092] In certain configurations, the first PDCCH 1142 and second PDCCH 1144 may be transmitted one different frequency bands, for example the first PDCCH 1142 in FR1 and second PDCCH 1144 in FR2, if the channel conditions permit. In particular, the PDCCH 1144 may be transmitted on (f, t).sub.2.
Regrading claim 7, Tsai in the reference teaches wherein a subcarrier spacing on the first time-frequency resource is smaller than a subcarrier spacing on the second time-frequency resource [0064] the first time-frequency resource (f, t).sub.1 is within a band in FR1 and is associated with SCS.sub.1=30 kHz, the second time-frequency resource (f, t).sub.2 is within a band in FR2 and is associated with SCS.sub.2=120 kHz
Regrading claim 8, Tsai in the reference teaches wherein a transmission time interval duration on the first time-frequency resource is larger than a transmission time interval duration on the second time-frequency resource [0064] the first time-frequency resource (f, t).sub.1 is within a band in FR1 and is associated with SCS.sub.1=30 kHz, the second time-frequency resource (f, t).sub.2 is within a band in FR2 and is associated with SCS.sub.2=120 kHz. In this example, TTI length with SCSI is four times TTI length with SCS.sub.2.
Regrading claim 9, Tsai in the reference teaches wherein the plurality of layers comprises more layers [0074] The repeater may transmit TB 1090-1 (containing first 2 spatial layers of data) in PDSCH 948-1 in slot 1030-0, TB 1090-2 (containing next 2 spatial layers of data) in PDSCH 948-2 in slot 1030-1, and so on until all 8 spatial layers have been transmitted over 4 slots, than that the UE is capable of decoding in one transmission time interval (TTI) in the second time-frequency resource. [0064] FIG. 8 is a diagram 800 illustrating downlink MIMO transmission from a base station to a UE via one repeater. In this example, a base station 802 has 8 antennas 810-1, 810-2, . . . 810-8, and a UE 804 has 2 reception antennas 814-1, 814-2. Further, a repeater 806 is placed between the base station 802 and the UE 804. The repeaters 806 has 8 reception antennas 822-1, 822-2, . . . , 822-8 and 8 transmission antennas 824-1, 824-2, . . . , 824-8.
Regrading claim 10, Tsai in the reference teaches wherein each of the N repeaters spreads a corresponding set of layers [0072] The PDSCH 946 is transmitted using 8 transmission antennas of the base station 902. The TB 1080 contains data corresponding to 8 spatial layers. The slot 1010-0 has a duration of TTI.sub.1 (e.g. 0.5 ms) based on a first subcarrier spacing SCS.sub.1 (e.g. 30 kHz), over multiple TTIs for transmission on the second time-frequency resource based on a number of layers that the UE is capable of decoding per TTI on the second time-frequency resource. [0073] The repeater 906 receives the PDSCH 946 using 8 reception antennas on f.sub.1. The repeater 906 decodes the modulated symbols to obtain the information bits carried in TB 1080. It then re-encodes the information bits to generate 4 TBs 1090-1, 1090-2, 1090-3 and 1090-4, each containing 2 spatial layers of data from the original 8 spatial layers.
Regrading claim 11, Tsai in the reference teaches receiving control information for decoding N sets of data signals transmitted by N repeaters, [0061] FIG. 7 is a diagram 700 illustrating a distributed downlink MIMO transmission. A base station 702 and a UE 704 communicate with each other via one or more repeaters 706, 708 . . . 710, wherein each set of the N sets of data signals is associated with a respective one of the N repeaters, N being an integer greater than 1; [0063] (f, t).sub.2,k denotes the resources used by a particular repeater MT.sub.k (k is an integer and 1≤k≤K) to transmit RF signals to the UE. As such, (f, t).sub.2,1 indicates the resources used by the UE 704 to receive RF signals from the repeater 706 (i.e., MT.sub.1); (f, t).sub.2,2 indicates the resources used by the UE 704 to receive RF signals from the repeater 708 (i.e., MT.sub.2), and so on receiving RF signals transmitted from the N repeaters on N second time-frequency resources; [0103] In operation 1344, the UE receives, from the wireless device, the second PDSCH on the second time-frequency resource according to the resource allocation. In operation 1346, the UE decodes the data carried in the second PDSCH, and decoding the N sets of data signals from the RF signals based on the control information [0041] The RX processor 256 may perform spatial processing on the information to recover any spatial streams destined for the UE 250. If multiple spatial streams are destined for the UE 250, they may be combined by the RX processor 256 into a single OFDM symbol stream. The RX processor 256 then converts the OFDM symbol stream from the time-domain to the frequency domain using a Fast Fourier Transform (FFT).
Regrading claim 12, Tsai in the reference teaches wherein the N sets of data signals are originated from a base-station [0072] FIG. 10 is a diagram 1000 illustrating a mapping rule that maps data transmission in a first PDSCH to data transmission in a second PDSCH. In this example, the base station 902 transmits a PDSCH 946 carrying a transport block (TB) 1080 to the repeater 906 in a slot 1010-0 on f.sub.1 and are transmitted by the base-station simultaneously on a first time- frequency resource [0063] Using (f, t) to denote the time-frequency resources: (f, t).sub.1 denotes the time-frequency resource used by the base station for transmitting and receiving RF signals. (f, t).sub.2,k denotes the resources used by a particular repeater MT.sub.k, wherein each of the N repeaters receives a respective set of data signals on the first time-frequency resource, decodes the respective set of data signals, [0062] As described infra, a repeater receives RF signals on a first frequency band f.sub.1 through a first PDSCH, decodes modulated symbols of the first PCSCH to obtain information bits carried by the first PDSCH, re-encodes the information bits and shifts the RF carrier of the RF signals to a second frequency band f.sub.2 generates and transmits RF signals carrying the respective set of data signals to the UE on a respective one of the N second time-frequency resources. [0063] (f, t).sub.2,k denotes the resources used by a particular repeater MT.sub.k (k is an integer and 1≤k≤K) to transmit RF signals to the UE. As such, (f, t).sub.2,1 indicates the resources used by the UE 704 to receive RF signals from the repeater 706 (i.e., MT.sub.1).
Regrading claim 13, Tsai in the reference teaches wherein the N second time-frequency resources are non-overlapping in time, frequency, or spatial domain.[0063] In certain configurations, (f, t).sub.1, (f, t).sub.2,1, (f, t).sub.2,2, . . . and (f, t).sub.2,K are orthogonal. In particular, they do not overlap in frequency domain. In certain configurations, (f, t).sub.1 may be the same as one (f, t).sub.2,k (k∈1, . . . K), while the rest are orthogonal to each other. Further, (f, t).sub.1 and (f, t).sub.2,k (1≤k≤K) can be non-overlapped component carriers.
Regrading claim 15, Tsai in the reference teaches wherein the control information used for decoding the N sets of data signals includes: an indication of the first time-frequency resource; [0090] In a first scheme, the base station 1102 may transmit a PDCCH 1142 to a repeater 1106 and a UE 1104 in the time-frequency resource (f, t).sub.1. The PDCCH 1142 indicates resources for the PDSCH 1146-1 in the time-frequency resources (f, t).sub.1 and mapping rules mapping the first time-frequency resources to the N second time- frequency resources. [0097] In certain configurations, the first PDCCH further indicates control information associated with the second PDSCH. The control information may indicate configuration for generating the reference signals, the mapping rule, resource allocation of the second PDSCH, number of spatial layers, and/or modulation and code rate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [14] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Navid (US 20220400457 A1).
In regards to claim 14, Tsai teaches the limitations of the parent claims.
Tsai does not teach wherein the control information used for decoding the N sets of data signals includes at least one of an indication of the N second time- frequency resources and quasi-co-location (QCL) information on the N second time- frequency resources.
However, Navid does teach wherein the control information used for decoding the N sets of data signals includes at least one of an indication of the N second time- frequency resources [0125] In some examples, the resource component 635 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for determining, based on the indication, one or more of a respective symbol location for each respective symbol of the first subset of symbols of the set of symbols associated with the phase discontinuity or a respective symbol duration for each respective symbol of the first subset of symbols of the set of symbols associated with the phase discontinuity and quasi-co-location (QCL) information on the N second time- frequency resources. [0128] In some examples, the port component 655 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for determining, based on the indication, QCL information associated with the wireless communication. In some examples, the resource component 635 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving the wireless communication during the second subset of symbols of the set of symbols based on determining the QCL information associated with the wireless communication.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Tsai and Navid before him or her, to modify the method of Perl to include the control information as taught by Navid.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved communication reliability (0050 by Navid).
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466