DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to: Amendment filed 15 Apr. 2026
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-14 and 16-20 are pending in this case. Claims 1, 12 and 18 are independent claims
Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s Response dated 15 Apr. 2026, Applicant amended claims 1, 5, 12-14 and 16-18; cancelled claims 4, 6 and 15; argued against all rejections previously set forth in the Office Action dated 15 Apr. 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-14, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qian et al. (Pub. No.: US 2009/0210214 A1; Filed: Feb. 19, 2008)(hereinafter “Qian”).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 12, Qian disclose a method for transforming a captured content item, the method comprising:
receiving a capture request to capture a content item (0003; 0005);
upon receiving the capture request, capturing the content item and providing the content item in a first user interface element of a content management tool (0003; 0005);
receiving a user selection of a generative transformation function from a list of predefined generative transformation functions (0034; 0038);
applying the generative transformation function to the content item to generate a transformed content item (0026; 0034-0040);
writing the transformed content item in a second user interface element of the content management tool (0004; 0034-0040);
receiving a paste request to paste the transformed content item at a requested location (0003); and
in response to receiving the paste request, providing the transformed content item at the requested location (0003).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Qian disclose the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the capture request to capture the content item comprises receiving a capture request to capture a content item in a first application (0004; 0028; 0036; 0042), and
wherein the requested location is in a second application that is different from the first application (0004; 0028; 0036; 0037; 0042).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Qian disclose the method of claim 1, wherein applying the generative transformation function to the content item comprises:
automatically applying a previously selected generative transformation function to the content item (0035; 0038).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Qian disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the user selection is an indication of the generative transformation function in a third user interface element of the content management tool (0034; 0041).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Qian disclose the method of claim 1, wherein applying the generative transformation function to the content item to generate the transformed content item comprises applying the generative transformation function to the content item using at least one of: a generative large language model (LLM), a transformer model, a diffusion model, or a multi-modal model (0004-0006; 0018; 0020).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Qian disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the content item is at least one of text, image, or audio, and the transformed content item is at least one of text, image, or audio (0006; 0013; 0040).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Qian disclose the computing device of claim 12, wherein to receive the capture request to capture the content item comprises to receive a capture request to capture a content item in a first application, and wherein the requested location is in a second application that is different from the first application (0003-0005; 0028; 0036; 0037; 0042).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Qian disclose the computing device of claim 12, wherein to apply the generative transformation function to the content item comprises to automatically apply a previously selected generative transformation function to the content item (0035; 0038).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Qian disclose the computing device of claim 12, wherein the user selection is an indication of the generative transformation function in a third user interface element of the content management tool (0034; 0038; 0041).
Regarding independent claim 18, Qian disclose a method for transforming a captured content item, the method comprising:
receiving a capture request to capture a content item in a first application (0003; 0005);
in response to receiving the capture request, capturing the content item from the first application into a content management tool (0003; 0005);
applying a generative transformation function to the content item to generate a transformed content item (0026; 0034-0040);
receiving a paste request to paste the transformed content item into a second application (0003); and
in response to receiving the paste request, providing the transformed content item to the second application (0003).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Qian disclose the method of claim 18, wherein applying the generative transformation function to the content item comprises to:
automatically applying a previously selected generative transformation function to the content item (0035; 0038); or
receiving a user input indicating the generative transformation function to be applied to the content item (0034; 0038).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian in view of Radhakrishna et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0116149 A1; Filed: Oct. 9, 2021)(hereinafter “Radhakrishna”)
Regarding dependent claim 7, Qian does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the generative transformation function is a natural language prompt describing one or more tasks to be performed on the content item to generate the transformed content item.
Radhakrishna teach wherein the generative transformation function is a natural language prompt describing one or more tasks to be performed on the content item to generate the transformed content item (0071; 0074).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Radhakrishna with Qian for the benefit of providing improvements in the field of tools for editing source code or other documents that contain text.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Qian in view of Radhakrishna disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
prior to receiving a copy request, receiving an edit request to edit the transformed content item (0005; 0020-0022).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Qian does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a copy request to copy the transformed content item; and
in response to receiving the copy request, storing the transformed content item to a database
Radhakrishna teach receiving a copy request to copy the transformed content item; and
in response to receiving the copy request, storing the transformed content item to a database (0020-0022).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Radhakrishna with Qian for the benefit of providing improvements in the field of tools for editing source code or other documents that contain text.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Qian does not expressly disclose the computing device of claim 12, wherein the generative transformation function is a natural language prompt describing one or more tasks to be performed on the content item to generate the transformed content item.
Radhakrishna teach wherein the generative transformation function is a natural language prompt describing one or more tasks to be performed on the content item to generate the transformed content item (0071; 0074).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Radhakrishna with Qian for the benefit of providing improvements in the field of tools for editing source code or other documents that contain text.
Regarding dependent claim 19, Qian does not expressly disclose the method of claim 18, wherein the generative transformation function 1s a natural language prompt describing one or more tasks to be performed on the content item to generate the transformed content item.
Radhakrishna teach wherein the generative transformation function 1s a natural language prompt describing one or more tasks to be performed on the content item to generate the transformed content item (0071; 0074).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Radhakrishna with Qian for the benefit of providing improvements in the field of tools for editing source code or other documents that contain text.
NOTE
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited prior art fails to disclose or suggest “receiving a user selection of a generative transformation function from a list of predefined generative transformation functions”.
The Examiner disagrees.
Qian teaches a user selecting one or more language model (generative transformation function) which performs a translation function of translating a first language into a second language (0005; 0034; 0038).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James J Debrow/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2174
571-272-5768