DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, i) the feature of Claim 6, “the first switch, the second switch and the control means are provided by a dual power switch” (three elements, the first switch, the second switch and the control means being provided by a single element “a dual power switch”) and ii) the feature of Claim 18, “the dual power switch is an Automatic Transfer Switch (ATS) having a switch body operating as the first switch and the second switch” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, a second switch “different from the first switch” connected in series between a standby power supply and load, in lines 4-5. It is indefinite what is referred as being different . Please notes that Figures shows same type of switches, Claim 18 depending from Claim 1 limits the switches as an ATS switch body acting as the first switch and the second switch. For examination purposes, any switch/switch body/switch contact/switch terminal for making contacts in series connected in series between a standby power supply and load, is considered.
Claims 6, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 recites the first switch, and the second switch limited as being different from the first switch in the parent claim 1, and the control means provided by a dual power switch, rather than further limiting the first switch or the second switch different from the first switch. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 8,14-15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weinstein (US 5,939,799).
Regarding Claim 1, Weinstein (US 5,939,799) discloses a residual current circuit breaker (Figure 1), comprising:
a first switch (comprising fixed contacts 105 in AC path conductor 103 and 105A in the AC path conductor 103A of power supply 101 and respective movable contacts 110 and 110A, Figure 1), connected in series between a power supply of the residual current circuit breaker and a load (105/105A connected between power supply Input 101 and LOAD, Figure 1);
a second switch different from the first switch (comprising fixed contacts 106 in AC path conductor 104 and 106A in the AC path conductor 104A of standby power supply 102 and respective movable contacts 110 and 110A Figure 1), connected in series between a standby power supply and the load (106/10A connected between a standby power supply 102 and LOAD, Figure 1); and
a control means (comprising 120, 111, Figure 1), configured to control to open the first switch and close the second switch based on detecting residual current of a main loop of the residual current circuit breaker exceeding a predetermined threshold (current detection signal 123 from the main current path 125 to low voltage detector 121, output signal 116 from 121 to switch actuator 111 to output 112 signal to the switches, Figure 1),
wherein a voltage of the standby power supply is higher than a lowest value of a voltage required for the load to operate and lower than a highest value of a safe voltage (standby power supply 102 and the power supply 101 are providing power for the safe operation of the same load and having the same voltage characteristics, Figure 1), and
wherein the first switch and the second switch are mutually exclusive (switches are part of automatic transfer switch 115, to connect to the power supply or the standby power supply at a time, Figure 1, Column 2, lines 47-61).
Regarding Claim 2, Weinstein discloses the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 1, wherein the standby power supply is located outside the residual current circuit breaker (102 outside of 115, 120, Figure 1), and the residual current circuit breaker further comprises:
an external interface for connecting to the standby power supply (comprising 104, 104A, Figure 1), and wherein the second switch is connected between the external interface and the load (106/106A and 110/110A connected between 104/104A and LOAD, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Weinstein discloses the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 1, wherein, the first switch, the second switch and the control means are provided by a dual power switch (110/110A, 105/105A, 106/106A part of ATS 115, Figure 1, Column 2, lines 47-61).
Regarding Claim 8, Weinstein discloses a system for residual current protection (Figure 1), comprising: a power supply (comprising 101, 102, Figure 1); a load (comprising LOAD, Figure 1); and the residual current circuit breaker according to claim 1 (as discussed in the rejection of Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 14, Weinstein discloses the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 1, wherein the power supply flows into a terminal of the residual current circuit breaker via a bus (power supply flows via bus 103/103A, 104/104A from 101, 102 to 115, Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Weinstein discloses the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 1, wherein the load includes a power-consumption device having a wide voltage power supply (Column 4, lines 1-7, “….If the load requires a DC current, the DC current is extended over path 136 to the load. If the load requires an AC current, the DC current is extended from path 136 over path 170 to DC to AC converter 175 which is grounded by terminal 133. The load receives an AC current from DC to AC converter 175 over path 177. Terminal 133 grounds the load”).
Regarding Claim 18, Weinstein discloses the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 6, wherein the dual power switch is an Automatic Transfer Switch (ATS) having a switch body operating as the first switch and the second switch (110/110A, 105/105A, 106/106A part of ATS 115, Figure 1, Column 2, lines 47-61).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstein (US 5,939,799) in view of Kelly (EP 3 065 280).
Regarding Claim 3, Weinstein does not specifically disclose the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 1, wherein, the standby power supply is located inside the residual current circuit breaker as a part of the residual current circuit breaker.
Kelly discloses a circuit breaker (3, 1, Figures 1-2) comprising a power supply (2, Figures 1-2) and standby power supply (comprising 6, 7, 10, Figures 1-2) providing power to a load (comprising 8, Figures 1-2), wherein, the standby power supply is located inside the circuit breaker as a part of the circuit breaker (6, 7 inside 3, Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the standby power supply in the residual current circuit breaker of Weinstein, inside the residual current circuit breaker as taught by Mori, such that the output power from the power supply can be used to charge the standby power supply and all the circuitry of the standby power supply can be in securely and safely placed in one location.
Regarding Claim 4, combination of Weinstein and Kelly discloses the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 3, wherein, the standby power supply is provided by a voltage converter (part of 6, 10, Figure 1, Paragraph 84, “…The battery charging circuit 6 may comprise an AC/DC converter or a DC/DC converter”, Paragraph 75), and an input terminal of the voltage converter is connected to an incoming terminal of the residual current circuit breaker to convert a voltage of the power supply into a voltage higher than the lowest value of the voltage required for the load to operate and lower than the highest value of the safe voltage, and the second switch is connected between an output terminal of the voltage converter and the load (Figure 1, Paragraph 75, “….the emergency driver is configured such that it can be selectively operated as a buck converter or as a boost converter, depending on relative magnitudes of an output voltage of the at least one battery and an operating voltage of the light emitting means”).
Regarding Claim 5, combination of Weinstein and Kelly discloses the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 4, wherein, the voltage converter performs conversion based on a trigger signal for triggering the voltage converter to perform the conversion (trigger signal received upon connection/switching on of the power supply 2, voltage converter 6, 11 in Figure 1 of Kelly performs conversion in the combination).
Regarding Claim 20, combination of Weinstein and Kelly discloses the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 4, wherein the voltage converter performs conversion upon being powered on (upon connection/switching on of the power supply 2, voltage converter 6, 11 in Figure 1 of Kelly performs conversion in the combination).
Claims 7, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstein (US 5,939,799) in view of Mori (US 2023/0411991).
Regarding Claim 7, Weinstein does not specifically disclose the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 1, wherein, the first switch and the second switch are solid-state switches.
Mori discloses a current circuit breaker (Figures 1-6C), comprising:
a first switch (comprising 151, Figure 1), connected in series between a power supply of the residual current circuit breaker and a load (151 connected between power supply 300 and load comprising 410-460, Figure 1);
a second switch (comprising 152, Figure 1), connected in series between a standby power supply and the load (152 connected between a standby power supply 120, 110 and load comprising 410-460, Figure 1); and a control means (comprising 140, Figures 1-3C, 240, Figures 4-6C), configured to control to open the first switch and close the second switch (Figures 3B, 3C, 6B, 6C), wherein at least one of the first switch and the second switch is non-contact switch (Paragraph 29, “…the relays 151 to 156, an exciting mechanical relay, a semiconductor relay using a field-effect transistor (MOSFET), or the like can be used”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the residual current circuit breaker of Weinstein, non-contact/solid state switches as the first switch and second switch as taught by Mori, as non-contact/solid state switches have the advantages such as high reliability, a reduction in size, high-speed switching, low power consumption, a noise reduction, a long lifetime over a mechanical relay.
Regarding Claim 19, combination of Weinstein and Mori discloses the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 7, wherein the non-contact switch is a solid-state switch (Mori, Paragraph 29, “…the relays 151 to 156, an exciting mechanical relay, a semiconductor relay using a field-effect transistor (MOSFET), or the like can be used”).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstein (US 5,939,799) in view of Tikkanen et al. (US 2017/0359874).
Regarding Claim 9, Weinstein does not specifically disclose the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 8, wherein, the load includes a plurality of illuminating devices and a plurality of drivers for driving each of the plurality of illuminating devices, respectively.
Tikkanen discloses a system (Figure 3) comprising a power supply (comprising 42, 60, Figure 3), a load (comprising 52, 56, Figure 3); wherein, the load includes a plurality of illuminating devices and a plurality of drivers for driving each of the plurality of illuminating devices, respectively (plurality of OLED/LED load 56 and plurality of output current driver 52 to drive the plurality of illuminating devices 56, Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Weinstein, a plurality of illuminating devices as load and a plurality of drivers as taught by Tikkanen, such as plurality of lighting devices/light emitting devices can be safely and efficiently operated by the drivers, in the system of Weinstein having standby power supply for uninterrupted operation.
Regarding Claim 10, combination of Weinstein and Tikkanen discloses the system according to Claim 9, wherein, each of the plurality of drivers provides the corresponding illuminating device with a driving power enabling the illuminating device to illuminate with a lowest illuminance, when detecting that a voltage supplied to it is lower than a predetermined voltage threshold, and the predetermined voltage threshold is a highest value of the voltage of the standby power supply (each of OLED/LED load 56 having corresponding driver 52 providing driving power, Figure 3 of Tikkanen in the combination).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstein (US 5,939,799) in view of Coley et al. (US 3,959,693).
Regarding Claim 11, Weinstein discloses the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 1, wherein the control means is further configured to measure a phase current (current sensor comprising 123, 121, Figure 1). Weinstein does not specifically disclose the control means configured to measure a neutral current also.
Coley discloses a residual current circuit breaker (20, Figure 1) comprising a control means (comprising 16, 10, 30, Figure 1) configured to control a switch (18, Figure 1) based on a residual current of a main loop exceeding a predetermined threshold (16 trip the switch 18 based on residual current detected by 10 exceeding a threshold, Figure 1, Column 3, lines 26-48), wherein the control means comprises: a sensor configured to measure a phase current and a neutral current (10 having phase line L and neutral line N as primary windings, Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the current sensor in the system of Weinstein, as a current transformer as taught by Coley, as the current transformers have the advantage of high accuracy, sensitivity and reliability.
Regarding Claim 12, combination of Weinstein and Coley discloses the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 11, wherein the control means detects the residual current based on a vector sum of the phase current and the neutral current being equal to zero (Column 3, lines 26-48, 58-63).
Regarding Claim 13, combination of Weinstein and Coley discloses the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 11, wherein the control means detects the residual current based on a magnitude difference between the phase current and the neutral current exceeding the predetermined threshold (10 is a differential transformer, Figure 1, Abstract, Column 3, lines 26-48).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weinstein (US 5,939,799) in view of Matsumoto (US 2024/0326598).
Regarding Claim 16, Weinstein does not specifically disclose the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 1, wherein the control means is further configured to store information related to at least one of the residual current being detected or a switching of one of the first switch or the second switch; and transmit the stored information.
Matsumoto discloses a residual current circuit breaker (Figures 1-11) comprising: control means (comprising 3, Figure 1-4) configured to store information (comprising 31, Figures 1-4, Paragraph 40) related to at least one of the residual current being detected or a switching information (output voltage sensor 51 in main current path 110 and 52 in standby power current path to controller 31, Figures 1-4, Paragraphs 47); and transmit the information stored (two-way communication means between 3 and external device 100, Figures 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the control means in the system of Weinstein, a storage means and a communications means to transmit information to an external device as taught by Matsumoto such that diagnostic information can be stored when a failure occur and transmit the diagnostic information to notify the user (see Matsumoto, Paragraph 47).
Regarding Claim 17, combination of Weinstein and Matsumoto discloses the residual current circuit breaker according to Claim 16, wherein the stored information is used to analyze a cause of the residual current exceeding the predetermined threshold (user who maintains control of the autonomous driving vehicle upon failure/ground fault in the main power supply, on the power supply control device 1 is mounted, Paragraph 69, Paragraph 27).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or rendered moot in view of current rejection addressing new/amended limitations.
The Applicant argues, on Page 7 of the Remarks that Weinstein does not disclose detecting a residual current of the main loop of the residual current circuit breaker exceeding a predetermined threshold and that the reference discloses a low voltage detector 121.
In response, examiner respectfully notes that instant application does not show any details of detecting a leakage current exceeding a predetermined threshold in any of the figures, and the control means 101 is shown to send a control to the switches, but no input signal is received by 101. Weinstein discloses detecting current in the main loop by current sensing path 123 to the low voltage detector 121 to indicate an undervoltage. Please note that undervoltage leads to/results in leakage current and the current sensed by 123 and used in the determination of undervoltage by the undervoltage detector 121 meets the claimed residual current in the main loop.
The Applicant argues, on 7 of the Remarks that Weinstein merely discloses a switch having two different positions, not "a first switch" and "a second switch different from the first switch."
In response, examiner further respectfully notes that the first switch (comprising fixed contacts 105 in AC path conductor 103 and 105A in the AC path conductor 103A of power supply 101 and respective movable contacts 110 and 110A, Figure 1) of Weinstein is connected between the power supply and load and second switch (comprising fixed contacts 106 in AC path conductor 104 and 106A in the AC path conductor 104A of standby power supply 102 and respective movable contacts 110 and 110A Figure 1) is connected between the standby power supply and the load. It is further respectfully noted that Weinstein shows the details of the switch connections (in each the line and return/neutral conductors) including the type and/or configuration of the switches, and the Claimed switches not limited by the type or configuration, does not overcome the prior art. The instant application Figures 1(a)-(b) shows power supply 11 connected to a first/positive/line load terminal and the standby power supply 102 connected to second/ground/neutral terminal of the load, without showing how a complete/closed circuit is being formed between the power supply/standby power supply line and return conductors and load line and return conductors. Please see the 112 rejection regarding the argued upon limitation as discussed above.
Regarding the argued upon limitation of the second switch different from the first switch, examiner respectfully notes that the claimed first switch and the second switch are claimed in dependent claim 18 as an ATS switch body acting as the first switch and the second switch, and Weinstein discloses the first and the second switch in a transfer switch 115.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on Pages 7-8 of the Remarks toward the limitation of a voltage of the standby power supply is higher than a lowest value of a voltage required for the load to operate and lower than a highest value of a safe voltage and the Weinstein reference, examiner respectfully notes that the claim does not limit the highest value of a safe voltage by any specific value to overcome the prior art.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on Pages 8-9 of the Remarks toward secondary reference Kelly and combination of Weinstein and Kelly, examiner respectfully notes that Kelly is relied upon for the teaching of a standby power supply located inside of a circuit breaker as part of the circuit breaker to reject Claims 3 and Claims 5, 20 depending from Claim 3, not for Claim 1 limitations which is disclosed by primary reference Weinstein. Examiner further respectfully notes that Kelly discloses in Figure 1, standby power supply 7 inside circuit breaker 3 and discloses the standby power supply 7 outside the circuit breaker 3.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that Kelly discloses an operating device 3, examiner respectfully notes 3 includes plurality of controllable switches and control circuit to generate control signal to control the switches (see Kelly, Paragraph 12).
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on Page 10 of the Remarks toward secondary reference Mori and the combination of Weinstein and Mori, examiner respectfully notes that the Mori is relied upon for the rejection of Claims 7, 19, for the teaching of non-contact/solid-state switches in a circuit breaker, not for the argued upon limitations of Claim 1 that are met by primary reference Weinstein as discussed above.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on Pages 10-11 of the Remarks, toward secondary reference Tikkanen and the combination of Weinstein and Tikkanen, examiner respectfully notes that the reference is relied upon for the teaching of Claims 9-10 limitations, including a plurality of illuminating devices and a plurality of drivers for driving each of the plurality of illuminating devices as load in a system, not for argued upon limitations of Claim 1, that are met by primary reference Weinstein as discussed above.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on Pages 11-12 of the Remarks, toward secondary reference Cooley and the combination of Weinstein and Cooley, examiner respectfully notes that Cooley is relied upon for the teaching of a control means configured to control a switch based on a residual current of a main loop exceeding a predetermined threshold (16 trip the switch 18 based on residual current detected by 10 exceeding a threshold, Figure 1, Column 3, lines 26-48), not for argued upon limitations of Claim 1, that are met by primary reference Weinstein as discussed above.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on Page 12 of the Remarks, toward secondary reference Matsumoto and the combination of Weinstein and Matsumoto, examiner respectfully notes that Matsumoto is relied upon for the teaching limitations of Claim 16-17, a control means configured to store information (control means 3 comprising storage 31, Figures 1-4, Paragraph 40) related to at least one of the residual current being detected or a switching information and transmit the information stored (output voltage sensor 51 in main current path 110 and 52 in standby power current path to controller 31, two-way communication means between 3 and external device 100, Figures 1-4, Paragraphs 47), not for argued upon limitations of Claim 1, that are met by primary reference Weinstein as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shibachi (US 2017/0297433) discloses a residual current circuit breaker, comprising: a first switch (comprising SW1), connected in series between a power supply of the residual current circuit breaker and a load (SW1 connected between power supply comprising 3,6 and load 4); a second switch (comprising SW2), connected in series between a standby power supply and the load (SW2 connected between a standby power supply comprising 5,6 and load 4); and a control means (comprising 13, 15), configured to control to open the first switch and close the second switch in response to residual current of a main loop of the residual current circuit breaker exceeding a predetermined threshold (SW1 open, SW2 closed); Lontka (US 8,159,361) discloses a residual current circuit breaker (Figures 1-5), comprising: a first switch (comprising 506, Figure 5), connected in series between a power supply of the residual current circuit breaker and a load (506 connected between power supply 502 and load 512, Figure 5); a second switch (comprising 508, Figure 5), connected in series between a standby power supply and the load (508 connected between a standby power supply 504 and load 512); and a control means (comprising circuitry providing control signal 506, 508, Figure 5); Ross et al. (US 9,081,568) discloses a system (Figure 3 for example) comprising dual power source (primary power 106, secondary power 108) and ATS switch (comprising 210), and leakage current detection (part of 238, Column 11, 44-54).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUCY M THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 2838, 7/1/2026
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838