DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 11/13/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0138163 to Berry.
Regarding claims 1-5, Berry teaches a solar cell (Fig. 1) comprising
A glass substrate 110 (¶0034)
A first electrode 140 disposed on the glass substrate 110 (¶0037)
An electron transport layer 150 disposed on the first electrode 140 (¶0038)
A perovskite layer 160 disposed on the electron transport layer 150 (¶0039)
An organic-inorganic hole transport bilayer 180 comprising an organic layer 320 (“second sublayer”, Fig. 4, ¶0058, 0062, 0064) which is disposed on the perovskite layer 160 and an inorganic layer 310 (“first sublayer”, ¶0065) which is disposed on the organic layer, and a second electrode 190 disposed on the inorganic layer (¶0045, 0046).
Per claims 2-5, Berry teaches the limitations of claim 1. The inorganic layer 320 of the organic-inorganic hole transport layer bilayer 180 comprises Poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene)-poly(styrenesulfonate) or a polythiophene (¶0066, 0084, 0086).
The inorganic layer 310 of the organic-inorganic hole transport bilayer 180 comprises NiOx, which reads on the claimed MxOy (M=Ni) and nickel oxide layer, or CuI, which reads on the claimed CuX (X=I) (¶0065, 0086).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berry as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of “Synthesis and characterization of nickel oxide nanoparticles using CTAB as capping agent” to Yadav.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Berry teaches the limitations of claim 5. Berry further teaches that the inorganic nickel oxide layer may be formed as a nanoparticle layer (¶0086, 0087). Yadav teaches that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form a nickel oxide nanoparticle layer as a nickel oxide-cetyltrimethylammonium bromide nanoparticle layer so that such a layer will have a smooth surface (whole document, especially see Abstract, 1. Introduction, and 5. Conclusion).
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berry and Yadav as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of “Effects of guanidinium addition to CH3NH3PbI3-xClx perovskite photovoltaic devices” to Kishimoto.
Regarding claims 8-11, modified-Berry teaches the limitations of claim 7. Berry teaches that the perovskite layer comprises FA, MA, and PbI-3 (¶0003, 0040, 0041, 0071, 0089). While Berry does not teach a particular stoichiometry or doping of the perovskite layer, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to add FA in order to expand the range of light absorption (right side of p. 491 of Kishimoto) and to add guanidinium chloride to improve conversion efficiency of the cell (Abstract, Fig. 3, 4. Conclusions).
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Per claim 10, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the electron transport layer as a SnO-2 layer because it would have merely required the choice of a known material for its art-recognized purpose (¶0038 of Berry).
Per claim 11, the substrate is a glass substrate in an embodiment (¶0034 of Berry).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berry, Yadav, and Kishimoto as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 2020/0343053 to Lunt.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, modified-Berry teaches the limitations of claim 10. Berry does not specifically teach that the substrate is a plastic polymeric substrate. However, it would have obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the substrate as a plastic polymeric substrate, because if is a known alternative to a glass substrate (¶0134 of Lunt). The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Per claim 13, modified-Berry teaches the limitations of claim 12. In an embodiment, the first electrode 140 is an indium tin oxide electrode in an embodiment (¶0037 of Berry).
Conclusion
Ryan S. Cannon
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/RYAN S CANNON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726