DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 is/are independent.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged. The prior-filed application is U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/533,515 (filed on 8/18/2023).
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 1/23/2025, 1/23/2025, 5/20/2025, 12/10/2025 and 6/5/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
More specifically,
Claim(s) 9 recite(s) “wherein the return of the first coolant is a higher temperature than cooled second coolant,” where claim 8, on which claim 9 depends recites “cooling a second coolant with a return of the first coolant.” This term seems to be vague or unclear or incomplete and its meaning or metes and bounds is not understandable. This is because it is unclear how the return of the first coolant can cool the second coolant and then be at a higher temperature than the cooled second coolant. At most, after cooling the second coolant, the return of the first coolant will be at the same temperature as the cooled second coolant. For examining purposes, claim 9 is being interpreted to mean that the return of the first coolant is at a lower temperature than the second coolant (before the second coolant is cooled). Applicant may amend in a manner consistent with Applicant’s disclosure; or by providing an explanation regarding the intent of claim 9 and, if needed, amending it accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0025167) (hereinafter “Gao”).
Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches a method of cooling a computing device, (Para. 21 - - computing device is cooled)
comprising: cooling a first coolant with a first facility cooling device; (Fig. 1 - - first cooling system is a first facility cooling device; Para. 22 - - first coolant is used to cool)
flowing the cooled first coolant to a first cooling structure of a cold plate assembly; (Para. 22 - - cooled first coolant is flowed to single phase cooling plates, i.e. first cooling structure of cold plate assembly)
cooling a second coolant with a second facility cooling device; (Fig. 1 - - second cooling system is a second facility cooling device; Para. 22 - - second coolant is used to cool)
and flowing the cooled second coolant to a second cooling structure of the cold plate assembly connected to the first cooling structure. (Para. 22 - - cooled second coolant is flowed to unified cooling plate, i.e. second cooling structure of cold plate assembly, and the unified plate, i.e. second cooling structure, is connected to the single phase plate, i.e. first cooling structure)
Regarding claim 2, Gao teaches wherein cooling the second coolant includes cooling the second coolant to a lower temperature than the first coolant is cooled. (Fig. 1, Para. 76-77 - - temperatures for first and second cooling systems are controlled by optimization, where temperatures of devices/processors are also monitored; Fig. 3B - - first coolant, i.e. coolant for plates 200, cool higher heat generating devices, while second coolant, i.e. coolant for plate 220, cools lower heat generating devices; thus, optimization would require that second coolant be at a lower temperature, for the lower heat devices, than the first coolant, which is for the higher heat devices)
Regarding claim 3, Gao teaches wherein flowing the first coolant includes flowing the first coolant at a higher flow rate than the second coolant. (Fig. 1, Para. 77 - - controller optimizes flow rates of multiple cooling systems, where each cooling system is independent of the other, thus having different flow rates)
Regarding claim 4, Gao teaches cooling a first temperature section of the computing device with the first cooling structure based on flowing the cooled first coolant to the first cooling structure. (Fig. 1, 3B - - cooling plates 200 cool first temperature section 112 of computing device with first cooling system 120)
Regarding claim 5, Gao teaches cooling a second temperature section of the computing device with the second cooling structure based on flowing the cooled second coolant to the second cooling structure. (Fig. 1, 3B - - cooling plates 220 cools second temperature section 114 of computing device with second cooling system 130)
Regarding claim 6, Gao teaches flowing the first cooled coolant in parallel to a plurality of first cooling structures of a plurality of cold plate assemblies. (Fig. 3B - - first coolant flows in parallel to a plurality of first cooling plates 200, i.e. a plurality of first cooling structures)
Regarding claim 7, Gao teaches wherein flowing the cooled second coolant includes flowing the second cooled coolant in parallel to a plurality of second cooling structures of a plurality of cold plate assemblies. (Fig. 3D - - second coolant flows in parallel to a plurality of second cooling plates 220, i.e. a plurality of second cooling structures)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Campbell et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0060470 ) (hereinafter “Campbell”).
Regarding claim 8, Gao teaches a method of cooling a computing device, (Para. 21 - - computing device is cooled)
comprising: cooling a first coolant loop with a facility cooling device; (Fig. 1 - - first cooling system is a first facility cooling device; Para. 22 - - first coolant is used to cool)
flowing the cooled first coolant to a first cooling structure of a cold plate assembly; (Para. 22 - - cooled first coolant is flowed to single phase cooling plates, i.e. first cooling structure of cold plate assembly)
…and flowing the cooled second coolant to a second cooling structure of the cold plate assembly connected to the first cooling structure. (Para. 22 - - cooled second coolant is flowed to unified cooling plate, i.e. second cooling structure of cold plate assembly, and the unified plate, i.e. second cooling structure, is connected to the single phase plate, i.e. first cooling structure)
But Gao does not explicitly teach cooling a second coolant with a return of the first coolant;
However, Campbell teaches cooling a second coolant with a return of the first coolant; (Fig. 2 - - return loop is used for cooling)
Gao and Campbell are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain control of cooling electronic equipment using coolants.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Gao, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Campbell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to allow for controlling amount of fluid, as suggested by Campbell (Para. 63).
Regarding claim 9. The method of claim 8, wherein the return of the first coolant is a higher temperature than cooled second coolant. (Fig. 1, Para. 76-77 - - temperatures for first and second cooling systems are controlled by optimization, where temperatures of devices/processors are also monitored; Fig. 3B - - first coolant, i.e. coolant for plates 200, cool higher heat generating devices, while second coolant, i.e. coolant for plate 220, cools lower heat generating devices; thus, optimization would require that second coolant be at a lower temperature, for the lower heat devices, than the first coolant, which is for the higher heat devices; also see related 112 rejection above regarding claim interpretation of this claim)
Regarding claim 10, Gao further teaches wherein cooling the second coolant includes rejecting heat from the second coolant to the return of the first coolant with a heat pump. (Fig. 6C-6D - - second coolant in second loop 602 is cooled using condenser/compressor 544, i.e. heat pump, where return of first coolant of claim 8 has been taught above)
Regarding claim 11, Gao teaches cooling a first temperature section of the computing device with the first cooling structure based on flowing the cooled first coolant to the first cooling structure. (Fig. 1, 3B - - cooling plates 200 cool first temperature section 112 of computing device with first cooling system 120)
Regarding claim 12, Gao teaches cooling a second temperature section of the computing device with the second cooling structure based on flowing the cooled second coolant to the second cooling structure. (Fig. 1, 3B - - cooling plates 220 cools second temperature section 114 of computing device with second cooling system 130)
Regarding claim 13, Gao teaches flowing the first cooled coolant in parallel to a plurality of first cooling structures of a plurality of cold plate assemblies. (Fig. 3B - - first coolant flows in parallel to a plurality of first cooling plates 200, i.e. a plurality of first cooling structures)
Regarding claim 14, Gao teaches wherein flowing the cooled second coolant includes flowing the second cooled coolant in parallel to a plurality of second cooling structures of a plurality of cold plate assemblies. (Fig. 3D - - second coolant flows in parallel to a plurality of second cooling plates 220, i.e. a plurality of second cooling structures)
Regarding claim 15, Gao teaches a method of cooling a computing device, (Para. 21 - - computing device is cooled)
comprising: cooling a supply coolant with a facility cooling device; (Fig. 1 - - first cooling system is a first facility cooling device; Para. 22 - - first coolant is used to cool)
flowing the cooled supply coolant to a cold inlet of a cold cooling structure of a cold plate assembly; (Para. 22 - - cooled first coolant is flowed to single phase cooling plates, i.e. first cooling structure of cold plate assembly)
…and flowing a return coolant from a warm outlet of the warm cooling structure to the facility cooling device. (Fig. 6A-6D - - used coolant is returned from warm outlet of cooling structure to cooling unit of cooling system 120/130)
But Gao does not explicitly teach flowing an intermediate coolant from a cold outlet of the cold cooling structure to a warm inlet of a warm cooling structure of the cold plate assembly connected to the cold cooling structure;
However, Campbell teaches flowing an intermediate coolant from a cold outlet of the cold cooling structure to a warm inlet of a warm cooling structure of the cold plate assembly connected to the cold cooling structure; (Para. 63 - - immediate coolant is flown through system from cold outlets to warm inlets, where Gao has already taught the cold plate assembly)
Gao and Campbell are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain control of cooling electronic equipment using coolants.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Gao, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Campbell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to allow for controlling amount of fluid, as suggested by Campbell (Para. 63).
Regarding claim 16, Campbell teaches mixing a portion of the return coolant with the intermediate coolant with a mixing valve to cool the intermediate coolant to a supply temperature of the warm cooling structure. (Para. 63 - - mixing valve allows for proportional control to mix different fluids, i.e. coolants)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to allow for controlling amount of fluid, as suggested by Campbell (Para. 63).
Regarding claim 17, Gao further teaches wherein the supply temperature of the warm cooling structure is less than a return temperature of the cold cooling structure. (Fig. 1, Para. 76-77 - - temperatures for first and second cooling systems are controlled by optimization, where temperatures of devices/processors are also monitored; Fig. 3B - - first coolant, i.e. coolant for plates 200, cool higher heat generating devices, while second coolant, i.e. coolant for plate 220, cools lower heat generating devices; thus, optimization would require that second coolant be at a lower temperature, for the lower heat devices, than the first coolant, which is for the higher heat devices)
Regarding claim 18, Campbell teaches flowing a portion of the return coolant to the mixing valve and flowing a portion of the return coolant to the facility cooling device. (Para. 63 - - mixing valve allows for proportional control to mix different fluids, i.e. coolants)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to allow for controlling amount of fluid, as suggested by Campbell (Para. 63).
Regarding claim 19, Gao teaches cooling a cold temperature section of the computing device with the cold cooling structure based on flowing the cooled supply coolant to the cold cooling structure. (Fig. 3B - - cooling plates 220 cools lower heat, i.e. cold, temperature section 114 of computing device with cooled supply coolant)
Regarding claim 20, Gao teaches cooling a warm temperature section of the computing device with the warm cooling structure based on flowing the intermediate coolant to the warm cooling structure. (Fig. 3B - - cooling plates 200 cool high heat, i.e. warm, temperature section 112 of computing device with different, i.e. intermediate, coolant)
Regarding claim 21, Gao teaches wherein flowing the cooled supply coolant includes flowing the cooled supply coolant in parallel to a plurality of cold cooling structures of a plurality of cold plate assemblies. (Fig. 3B - - first coolant flows in parallel to a plurality of cooling plates 200, i.e. a plurality of first cooling structures)
Regarding claim 22, Gao teaches wherein flowing the return coolant includes flowing the return coolant in parallel from a plurality of warm cooling structures of a plurality of cold plate assemblies. (Fig. 3D - - second coolant flows in parallel to a plurality of cooling plates 220, i.e. a plurality of warm cooling structures, where cooling plates 220 are warm cooling structures because they do not need to cool as much as cooling plates 200 which are in direct contact with heat generating devices; Fig. 1, Para. 76-77 - - temperatures for first and second cooling systems are controlled by optimization, where temperatures of devices/processors are also monitored)
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/SAAD M KABIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/ZIAUL KARIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119