DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “CRPS/MCRPS” without spelling out the acronym.
Claim 10 now depends from claim 8, and repeats “the shelf casing comprises a rear wall disposed in a back side thereof”, which is already recited in parent claim 8.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite “wherein the filling component module … has uniform density”, which constitutes new matter, because it is not supported in the originally filed disclosure. Applicant has suggested that Fig. 5 provides support for the claimed feature, but Fig. 5 depicts the filling component modules only schematically. The specification describes materials, e.g., “the filling component module 6 comprises a waterproof foam, a plastic injection molding or a metal structure” (par. 0033), and does not comment on the uniformity or density of the modules, which raises doubt that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujiwara (US 20190281727 A1).
As to claim 1, Fujiwara discloses: An electronic device (Fig. 1-9), comprising:
a shelf casing 20 comprising a plurality of side walls disposed around in sequence; and
a filling component module 17, 30 disposed on the exterior of the shelf casing and adjacent to at least one of the plurality of side walls, wherein the filling component module adjacent to at least one of the plurality of side walls has uniform density (fixed portions 17 are depicted as uniform blocks, par. 0043; block 30 is formed of resin and will have a uniform density throughout the material of the block; par. 0030).
As to claim 8, Fujiwara discloses: wherein the filling component module 30 comprises a filling component 30, the shelf casing comprises a rear wall (bottom wall in Fig. 2-3) disposed in a back side thereof (bottom side in Fig. 2-3), the filling component 30 is disposed on the rear wall of the shelf casing (see Fig. 4), and the filling component comprises a first installation hole (see four corner holes, see also coolant holes 35).
As to claim 10, Fujiwara discloses: wherein the filling component 30 comprises a first liquid channel 35, the shelf casing comprises a rear wall disposed in a back side (bottom wall, bottom side in Fig. 2-3) thereof, the rear wall of the shelf casing comprises a second liquid channel (between inlet 23 and outlet 24; par. 0044), the second liquid channel of the rear wall is in communication with the first liquid channel of the filling component, so that a liquid passes through the first liquid channel and the second liquid channel (see Fig. 2, 6, 7, and 9).
As to claim 12, Fujiwara discloses: A power system(Fig. 1-9), comprising:
a cooling slot (within 10) comprising a cooling liquid 40; and
a plurality of electronic devices (at least two; par. 0040) immersed in the cooling liquid and arranged in sequence, wherein each of the plurality of electronic devices comprises:
a shelf casing 20 comprising a plurality of side walls disposed around in sequence; and
a filling component module 17, 30 disposed on the exterior of the shelf casing and adjacent to at least one of the plurality of side walls for limiting a flowing direction of the cooling liquid, wherein the filling component module adjacent to at least one of the plurality of side walls has uniform density (fixed portions 17 are depicted as uniform blocks, par. 0043; block 30 is formed of resin and will have a uniform density throughout the material of the block; par. 0030).
As to claim 14, Fujiwara discloses: wherein the power system comprises at least one system filling component 13, 15 (Fig. 2) disposed between any one of the plurality of electronic devices and a side wall of the cooling slot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara (US 20190281727 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hashimoto (US 20230042343 A1).
As to claim 2, Fujiwara does not disclose:
wherein the electronic device is an industrial electronic device, wherein the industrial electronic device is a CRPS/MCRPS power device, an industrial power device, a server power device, a server or a networking device.
However, Hashimoto discloses:
wherein the electronic device 32 is an industrial electronic device, wherein the industrial electronic device is a networking device (LAN switch; par. 0045);
in order to provide cooling for a LAN switch or in order to provide cooling for a smaller electronic device (par. 0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujiwara as suggested by Hashimoto, e.g., providing:
wherein the electronic device is an industrial electronic device, wherein the industrial electronic device is a networking device;
in order to provide cooling for a LAN switch or in order to provide cooling for a smaller electronic device.
As to claim 3, Fujiwara discloses:
the plurality of side walls of the shelf casing comprises a first side wall and a second side wall opposite to each other (front and rear or left and right in Fig. 3).
Fujiwara does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the electronic device comprises a first side frame module and a second side frame module, the first side frame module is disposed on the exterior of the shelf casing and attached on the first side wall of the shelf casing, the first side frame module comprises an accommodation space, the second side frame module is disposed on the exterior of the shelf casing and attached on the second side wall of the shelf casing, and the second side frame module comprises an accommodation space.
However, Hashimoto discloses:
wherein the electronic device (Fig. 4) comprises a first side frame module 90A and a second side frame module 90B, the first side frame module is disposed on the exterior of the shelf casing (of 32) and attached on the first side wall (left) of the shelf casing, the first side frame module comprises an accommodation space (between rails 94), the second side frame module is disposed on the exterior of the shelf casing and attached on the second side wall (right) of the shelf casing, and the second side frame module comprises an accommodation space (between rails 94; par. 0056);
in order to house the electronic devices 32 in their respective slots 30 (par. 0057) and fix them in position (via 100; par. 0058, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujiwara as suggested by Hashimoto, e.g., providing:
wherein the electronic device comprises a first side frame module and a second side frame module, the first side frame module is disposed on the exterior of the shelf casing and attached on the first side wall of the shelf casing, the first side frame module comprises an accommodation space, the second side frame module is disposed on the exterior of the shelf casing and attached on the second side wall of the shelf casing, and the second side frame module comprises an accommodation space;
in order to house the electronic devices in their respective slots and fix them in position.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara (US 20190281727 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Keehn (US 20230217626 A1).
As to claim 11, Fujiwara does not disclose:
wherein the filling component module comprises a waterproof foam, a plastic injection molding or a metal structure.
However, Keehn discloses:
wherein the filling component module comprises a plastic injection molding (par. 0039);
in order to provide a lightweight/low density filling component (par. 0039); or
a metal structure (par. 0039);
in order to provide a heavyweight/high density filling component (par. 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujiwara as suggested by Keehn, e.g., providing:
wherein the filling component module comprises a plastic injection molding or a metal structure;
in order to provide a lightweight/low density filling component or a heavyweight/high density filling component.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 13, Fujiwara does not disclose:
wherein the power system comprises at least one system filling component disposed between any two adjacent electronic devices of the plurality of electronic devices.
However, Keehn discloses:
wherein the power system comprises at least one system filling component (see gaps/liquid channels between fluid replacement structures 308 of respective electronic devices 306, which are filled by coolant; annotated Fig. below; Keehn) disposed between any two adjacent electronic devices of the plurality of electronic devices;
in order to cool a plurality of electronic devices that are submerged in the cooling liquid (par. 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Fujiwara as suggested by Keehn, e.g., providing:
wherein the power system comprises at least one system filling component disposed between any two adjacent electronic devices of the plurality of electronic devices;
in order to cool a plurality of electronic devices that are submerged in the cooling liquid.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 15, Fujiwara in view of Keehn discloses:
wherein the at least one system filling component comprises a liquid channel for allowing the cooling liquid to pass therethrough (liquid will fill the gap, flow by convection as in Keehn or by pump as in Fujiwara).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB R CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835