DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on 11/22/2023.
Currently, claims 1-18 are pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature of “in a direction from a side edge of the fan-out routing area to a middle of the fan-out routing area, an inclination angle of the first fan-out segment increases“ (see claims 4 and 13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The Examiner notes that it in Fig. 3, it appears that the inclination angle β is constant and the angle itself appears to not be increasing. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 17 are objected to because of the following informality:
In claims 9 and 17, “second connection segment” should read “second connecting segment”.
In claims 9 and 17, “third connection segment” should read “third connecting segment”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by OH et al. (US Pub. No. 20210265450).
Regarding independent claim 1, Oh teaches a display panel (Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1, 100, ¶ [0060]), having a display area (Fig. 1, DA, ¶ [0061]) and a fan-out routing area (Fig. 1, portion of 100 below display area DA corresponding to the area of fan-out wiring FL) located on one side of the display area;
a plurality of data lines (Fig. 1, DL, ¶ [0062]) , positioned in the display area;
a plurality of wiring groups (Figs. 1 & 3, ¶ [0097] teaches repeated fan-out wiring groups of FL1, FL2, FL3, and FL4 ), positioned in the fan-out routing area, wherein the wiring group comprises a first fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL1, ¶ [0098]), a second fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL2, ¶ [0098]), and a third fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL3, ¶ [0098]) positioned in different layers (Figs. 5-7, each of FL1, FL2, and FL3 are positioned in different layers), and one of the data lines (Fig. 1, ¶ [0063] teaches that the data lines DL receives a signal from a corresponding fan-out wiring FL) is connected to one of the fan-out wire, the second fan-out wire, and the third fan-out wire;
wherein in an orthographic projection direction of the substrate, the first fan-out wire and the second fan-out wire partially overlap, and the second fan-out wire and the third fan-out wire partially overlap (Figs. 3 & 4, FL1 at least partially overlaps with FL2, and FL2 at least partially overlaps with FL3).
Regarding claim 2, Oh teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Oh teaches that the first fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL1, ¶ [0098]) comprises a first fan-out segment (Fig. 3, diagonal portion of FL1), the second fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL2, ¶ [0098]) comprises a second fan-out segment (Fig. 3, diagonal portion of FL2), the third fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL3, ¶ [0098]) comprises a third fan-out segment (Fig. 3, diagonal portion of FL3); an extension direction of the first fan-out segment, the second fan-out segment and the third fan-out segment all intersect (Fig. 1, data lines DL are connected to and would therefore intersect with at least a portion of the diagonal portions of fan-out wiring FL) with an extension direction of the data line (Fig. 1, DL, ¶ [0062]);
in a pattern of the orthographic projection direction of the substrate, the first fan-out segment is located on one side of the second fan-out segment (Fig. 4, FL1a, corresponding to the diagonal portion of FL1 in Fig. 3, is on the right side of FL2a, which corresponds to the diagonal portion of FL2 in Fig. 3), the third fan-out segment is located on another side of the second fan-out segment (Fig. 4, FL3A, corresponding to the diagonal portion of FL3 in Fig. 3, is on the left side of FL2a), a portion of the second fan-out segment is partially overlapped with a portion of the first fan-out segment, and a portion of the second fan-out segment is partially overlapped with a portion of the third fan-out segment (Fig. 4, FL2a partially overlaps with both FL1a and FL3a).
Regarding claim 3, Oh teaches the display panel of claim 2, and Oh teaches that in one of the wiring groups (Figs. 1 & 3, ¶ [0097] teaches repeated fan-out wiring groups of FL1, FL2, FL3, and FL4), extension directions of the first fan-out segment (Fig. 3, diagonal portion of FL1), the second fan-out segment (Fig. 3, diagonal portion of FL2), and the third fan-out segment (Fig. 3, diagonal portion of FL3) are parallel (see Fig. 3, ¶ [0097]).
Regarding claim 4, Oh teaches the display panel of claim 3, and Oh teaches that in a direction from a side edge of the fan-out routing area to a middle of the fan-out routing area, an inclination angle (Fig. 3, top bending portion of FL1 is diagonally inclining, and therefore has an increasing inclination angle from the top of PA1 to a middle of the routing area of Fig. 3) of the first fan-out segment (Fig. 3, diagonal portion of FL1, ¶ [0098]) increases.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, 8, 11-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over OH et al. (US Pub. No. 20210265450) in view of RAN et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0380550).
Regarding claim 5, Oh teaches the display panel of claim 3.
However, Oh does not explicitly teach that in a direction from a side edge of the fan-out routing area to a middle of the fan-out routing area, lengths of the first fan-out segment, the second fan-out segment, and the third fan-out segment in a same wiring group sequentially decreases.
However, Ran is a pertinent art that teaches that in a direction from a side edge of the fan-out routing area to a middle of the fan-out routing area (From top to a middle of the space occupied by fan-out line 102 in Fig. 6), lengths of the first fan-out segment (Fig. 6, diagonal portion of right 102, ¶ [0062]), the second fan-out segment (Fig. 6, diagonal portion of middle 102), and the third fan-out segment (Fig. 6, diagonal portion of left 102, ¶ [0062]) in a same wiring group sequentially decreases (the Examiner notes that it would be obvious that the length of diagonal portions of fan-out lines can vary depending on the relative position of the desired signal recipients such as the pixel electrodes P in Ran Fig.6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh’s diagonal fan-out line portions to have a sequentially decreasing length according to the teaching of Ran (Fig. 6) in order to reduce a width of a bezel (Ran ¶ [0062]).
Regarding claim 7, Oh teaches the display panel of claim 1.
However, Oh does not explicitly teach that one of the first fan-out wire, the second fan-out wire, and the third fan-out wire is provided on a same layer as the data lines.
However, Ran is a pertinent art that teaches that one of the first fan-out wire, the second fan-out wire, and the third fan-out wire is provided on a same layer as the data lines (¶ [0029] teaches that data lines can be arranged on a same layer as the corresponding fan-out line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh’s device to have at least one of their fan-out line and data line be on a same layer according to the teaching of Ran (¶ [0029]) in order to simplify manufacturing.
Regarding claim 8, Oh modified by Ran teaches the display panel of claim 7, and Ran teaches that the first fan-out wire (Fig. 6, right 102, ¶ [0062]) further comprises a first connection segment (Fig. 6, upper portion of right 102 above the diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) connected to one end of the first fan-out segment (Fig. 6, diagonal portion of right 102, ¶ [0062]) and a first binding segment (Fig. 6, lower portion of right 102 below diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) connected to another end of the first fan-out segment; and extension directions of the first connection segment and the first binding segment both intersect the extension direction of the first fan-out segment (Fig. 6);
wherein the second fan-out wire (Fig. 6, middle 102, ¶ [0062]) further comprises a second connecting segment (Fig. 6, upper portion of middle 102 above the diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) connected to one end of the second fan-out segment (Fig. 6, diagonal portion of middle 102, ¶ [0062]) and a second binding segment (Fig. 6, lower portion of middle 102 below diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) connected to another end of the second fan-out segment; and extension directions of the second connecting segment and the second binding segment both intersect the extension direction of the second fan-out segment (Fig. 6);
wherein the third fan-out wire (Fig. 6,left 102, ¶ [0062]) further comprises a third connecting segment (Fig. 6, upper portion of left 102 above the diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) connected to one end of the third fan-out segment (Fig. 6, diagonal portion of left 102, ¶ [0062]) and a third binding segment (Fig. 6, lower portion of left 102 below diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) connected to the other end of the third fan-out segment; and extension directions of the third connecting segment 15 and the third bound segment both intersect the extension direction of the third fan-out segment (Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of Oh’s fan-out lines according to the teaching of Ran (Fig. 6) in order to reduce a width of a bezel (Ran ¶ [0062]).
Regarding independent claim 11, Oh teaches a display panel (Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1, 100, ¶ [0060]), having a display area (Fig. 1, DA, ¶ [0061]) and a fan-out routing area (Fig. 1, portion of 100 below display area DA corresponding to the area of fan-out wiring FL) located on one side of the display area;
a plurality of data lines (Fig. 1, DL, ¶ [0062]), positioned in the display area;
a plurality of wiring groups (Figs. 1 & 3, ¶ [0097] teaches repeated fan-out wiring groups of FL1, FL2, FL3, and FL4 ), positioned in the fan-out routing area, wherein the wiring group comprises a first fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL1, ¶ [0098]) having a first fan-out segment (Fig. 3, diagonal portion of FL1), a second fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL2, ¶ [0098]) having a second fan-out segment (Fig. 3, diagonal portion of FL2), and a third fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL3, ¶ [0098]) having a third fan-out segment (Fig. 3, diagonal portion of FL3); the first fan-out wire, second fan-out wire, and third fan-out wire are positioned in different layers (Figs. 5-7, each of FL1, FL2, and FL3 are positioned in different layers); one of the data lines (Fig. 1, ¶ [0063] teaches that the data lines DL receives a signal from a corresponding fan-out wiring FL) is connected to one of the fan-out wire, the second fan-out wire, and the third fan-out wire; an extension direction of the first fan-out segment, the second fan-out segment and the third fan-out segment all intersect (Fig. 1, data lines DL are connected to and would therefore intersect with at least a portion of the diagonal portions of fan-out wiring FL) with an extension direction of the data line;
wherein in an orthographic projection direction of the substrate, the first fan-out segment is located on one side of the second fan-out segment (Fig. 4, FL1a, corresponding to the diagonal portion of FL1 in Fig. 3, is on the right side of FL2a, which corresponds to the diagonal portion of FL2 in Fig. 3), the third fan-out segment is located on another side of the second fan-out segment (Fig. 4, FL3A, corresponding to the diagonal portion of FL3 in Fig. 3, is on the left side of FL2a), a portion of the second fan-out segment is partially overlapped with a portion of the first fan-out segment, and a portion of the second fan-out segment is partially overlapped with a portion of the third fan-out segment (Fig. 4, FL2a partially overlaps with both FL1a and FL3a).
However, Oh does not explicitly teach that one of the first fan-out wire, the second fan-out wire, and the third fan-out wire is provided on a same layer as the data lines.
However, Ran is a pertinent art that teaches that one of the first fan-out wire, the second fan-out wire, and the third fan-out wire is provided on a same layer as the data lines (¶ [0029] teaches that data lines can be arranged on a same layer as the corresponding fan-out line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh’s device to have at least one of their fan-out line and data line be on a same layer according to the teaching of Ran (¶ [0029]) in order to simplify manufacturing.
Regarding claim 12, Oh modified by Ran teaches the display panel of claim 11, and Oh teaches that in one of the wiring groups (Figs. 1 & 3, ¶ [0097] teaches repeated fan-out wiring groups of FL1, FL2, FL3, and FL4), extension directions of the first fan-out segment (Fig. 3, diagonal portion of FL1), the second fan-out segment (Fig. 3, diagonal portion of FL2), and the third fan-out segment.
Regarding claim 13, Oh modified by Ran teaches the display panel of claim 13, and Oh teaches that in a direction from a side edge of the fan-out routing area to a middle of the fan-out routing area, an inclination angle (Fig. 3, top bending portion of FL1 is diagonally inclining, and therefore has an increasing inclination angle from the top of PA1 to a middle of the routing area of Fig. 3) of the first fan-out segment (Fig. 3, diagonal portion of FL1, ¶ [0098]) increases.
Regarding claim 14, Oh modified by Ran teaches the display panel of claim 12.
However, Oh does not explicitly teach that in a direction from a side edge of the fan-out routing area to a middle of the fan-out routing area, lengths of the first fan-out segment, the second fan-out segment, and the third fan-out segment in a same wiring group sequentially decreases.
However, Ran teaches that in a direction from a side edge of the fan-out routing area to a middle of the fan-out routing area (From top to a middle of the space occupied by fan-out line 102 in Fig. 6), lengths of the first fan-out segment (Fig. 6, diagonal portion of right 102, ¶ [0062]), the second fan-out segment (Fig. 6, diagonal portion of middle 102), and the third fan-out segment (Fig. 6, diagonal portion of left 102, ¶ [0062]) in a same wiring group sequentially decreases (the Examiner notes that it would be obvious that the length of diagonal portions of fan-out lines can vary depending on the relative position of the desired signal recipients such as the pixel electrodes P in Ran Fig.6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh’s diagonal fan-out line portions to have a sequentially decreasing length according to the teaching of Ran (Fig. 6) in order to reduce a width of a bezel (Ran ¶ [0062]).
Regarding claim 16, Oh modified by Ran teaches the display panel of claim 11, and Ran teaches that the first fan-out wire (Fig. 6, right 102, ¶ [0062]) further comprises a first connection segment (Fig. 6, upper portion of right 102 above the diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) connected to one end of the first fan-out segment (Fig. 6, diagonal portion of right 102, ¶ [0062]) and a first binding segment (Fig. 6, lower portion of right 102 below diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) connected to another end of the first fan-out segment; and extension directions of the first connection segment and the first binding segment both intersect the extension direction of the first fan-out segment (Fig. 6);
wherein the second fan-out wire (Fig. 6, middle 102, ¶ [0062]) further comprises a second connecting segment (Fig. 6, upper portion of middle 102 above the diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) connected to one end of the second fan-out segment (Fig. 6, diagonal portion of middle 102, ¶ [0062]) and a second binding segment (Fig. 6, lower portion of middle 102 below diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) connected to another end of the second fan-out segment; and extension directions of the second connecting segment and the second binding segment both intersect the extension direction of the second fan-out segment (Fig. 6);
wherein the third fan-out wire (Fig. 6,left 102, ¶ [0062]) further comprises a third connecting segment (Fig. 6, upper portion of left 102 above the diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) connected to one end of the third fan-out segment (Fig. 6, diagonal portion of left 102, ¶ [0062]) and a third binding segment (Fig. 6, lower portion of left 102 below diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) connected to the other end of the third fan-out segment; and extension directions of the third connecting segment 15 and the third bound segment both intersect the extension direction of the third fan-out segment (Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of Oh’s fan-out lines according to the teaching of Ran (Fig. 6) in order to reduce a width of a bezel (Ran ¶ [0062]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over OH et al. (US Pub. No. 20210265450) in view of JIANG et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0344449).
Regarding claim 6, Oh teaches the display panel of claim 3.
However, Oh does not explicitly teach that in a direction from a side edge of the fan-out routing area to a middle of the fan-out routing area, lengths of the first fan-out segments in the plurality of wiring groups sequentially decreases.
However, Jiang is a pertinent art that teaches that in a direction from a side edge of the fan-out routing area to a middle of the fan-out routing area (From right edge of fan-out part FP to a middle in Fig. 6), lengths of the first fan-out segments (Fig. 6, diagonal portions of the rightmost fan-out line FL in regions H, G, F, and E sequentially decreases from the right edge of FP to a middle of Fig. 6, ¶ [0086]) in the plurality of wiring groups sequentially decreases.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh’s diagonal portions of their fan-out lines to sequentially decrease from an outer edge of their fan-out region to a middle according to the teaching of Jiang (Fig. 6) in order to avoid a sudden resistance change in the corresponding data lines (Jiang ¶ [0086]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over OH et al. (US Pub. No. 20210265450) in view of RAN et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0380550) and further in view of JIANG et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0344449).
Regarding claim 15, Oh modified by Ran teaches the display panel of claim 12.
However, Oh modified by Ran does not explicitly teach that in a direction from a side edge of the fan-out routing area to a middle of the fan-out routing area, lengths of the first fan-out segments in the plurality of wiring groups sequentially decreases.
However, Jiang is a pertinent art that teaches that in a direction from a side edge of the fan-out routing area to a middle of the fan-out routing area (From right edge of fan-out part FP to a middle in Fig. 6), lengths of the first fan-out segments (Fig. 6, diagonal portions of the rightmost fan-out line FL in regions H, G, F, and E sequentially decreases from the right edge of FP to a middle of Fig. 6, ¶ [0086]) in the plurality of wiring groups sequentially decreases.
Claims 9, 10, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over OH et al. (US Pub. No. 20210265450) in view of RAN et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0380550) and further in view of SONG et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0103455) and further in view of KIM et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0130856)
Regarding claim 9, Oh modified by Ran teaches the display panel of claim 8, and Oh modified by Ran teaches that the plurality of data lines include a first data line, a second data line and a third data line (Oh Fig. 1, DL, ¶ [0062] teaches that Oh’s fan-out lines each have a corresponding data line), the second fan-out wire is provided in a same layer as the data lines (Ran ¶ [0029] teaches that data lines can be arranged on a same layer as the corresponding fan-out line. Therefore, Oh modified by Ran’s fan-out lines and corresponding data lines would be on a same layer) the first fan-out wire (Oh Fig. 3, FL1, ¶ [0098]) is located below the second fan-out wire (Oh Fig. 3, FL2, ¶ [0098]), and the third fan-out wire (Oh Fig. 3, FL1, ¶ [0098]) is located above the second fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL1 is below FL2 and FL3 is above FL2 from the direction right to left in the view of Fig. 3. The Examiner notes that this claim does not explicitly require that the first fan-out wire to be below the second fan-out wire and the third fan-out wire to be above the second fan-out wire in a direction perpendicular to the substrate), the second connecting segment (Fig. 6, upper portion of middle 102 above the diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) is directly connected to the second data line (¶¶ [0029] & [0061] teaches that Ran’s fan-out lines are on a same layer and are coupled to corresponding data lines).
However, Oh modified by Ran does not explicitly teach that the display panel further comprises a first adapter portion and a second adapter portion located in a same layer, and the first adapter portion and the second adapter portion are located above the wiring groups; wherein one end of the first adapter portion is connected to the first data line, another end of the first adapter portion is connected to the first connection segment; one end of the second adapter portion is connected to the third data line, and another end of the second adapter portion is connected to the third connecting segment.
However, Song is a pertinent art that teaches that the display panel further comprises a first adapter portion (Fig. 6C, CNT1 in contact with FFOL_1, ¶¶ [0238]-[0240]) and a second adapter portion (Fig. 6C, CNT1 in contact with FFOL_2, ¶¶ [0238]-[0240]) located in a same layer (Figs. 6D & 6E, both CNT1 in contact with FFOL_1 and FFOL _2 are in the same layer PSV, ¶ [0234]), and the first adapter portion and the second adapter portion are located above the wiring groups (Figs. 6D & 6E, CNT1 is above Song’s fan-out lines FFOL, ¶ [0238]); wherein one end of the first adapter portion is connected to the first data line (Fig. 6D, DL corresponding to FFOL_1, ¶ [0238]), another end of the first adapter portion is connected to the first connection segment (Fig. 6D, portion of FFOL_1 connected to CNT1, corresponding to the upper portion of Oh modified by Ran’s fan-out line that is connected to their data line); one end of the second adapter portion is connected to the third data line (Fig. 6D, DL corresponding to FFOL_1, ¶ [0238]), and another end of the second adapter portion is connected to the third connecting segment (Fig. 6D, portion of FFOL_2 connected to CNT1, corresponding to the upper portion of Oh modified by Ran’s fan-out line that is connected to their data line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh modified by Ran’s device to further comprise contact electrodes in at least some of their fan-out lines according to the teaching of Song (Fig. 6C) because it is known in the art that connections that utilize multiple contact holes reduce resistance (see for example, ¶ [0194] of prior art Kim).
Regarding claim 10, Oh modified by Ran modified by Song in view of Kim teaches the display panel of claim 9, and Oh teaches a first insulating layer (Fig. 4, 140, ¶ [0077]), a second insulating layer (Fig. 4, 150, ¶ [0077]), a third insulating layer (Fig. 4, 160, ¶ [0085]), and a fourth insulating layer (Fig. 4, 170, ¶ [0085]); wherein the first insulating layer covers the first fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL1, ¶ [0098], 140 covers at least a portion of FL1) and the substrate (Fig. 4, 110, ¶ [0068]); the data line (Ran ¶ [0029] teaches that a data line can be on a same layer as a corresponding fan-out line. Therefore, it would be obvious to have Oh modified by Ran’s second data line be on a same layer as Oh’s FL2, which would fulfill this limitation) and the second fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL2, ¶ [0098]) are disposed on the first insulating layer (Fig. 6, at least a portion of FL2 is on a surface of 140); the second insulating layer covers the second fan-out wire (Fig. 6, 150 covers at least a portion of FL2b), the data line (Oh modified by Ran ¶ [0029] would fulfill this limitation), and the first insulating layer (Fig. 4); the third insulating layer covers the second insulating layer (Fig. 4); the third fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL3, ¶ [0098]) is disposed on the third insulating layer (Fig. 7, at least a portion of FL3 is on a surface of 160); the fourth insulating layer covers the third fan-out wire and the third insulating layer (Fig. 4); and the first adapter portion (Song Fig. 6C, CNT1 in contact with FFOL_1, ¶¶ [0238]-[0240]) and the second adapter portion (Song Fig. 6C, CNT1 in contact with FFOL_1, ¶¶ [0238]-[0240]) are disposed on the fourth insulating layer (Song’s contact electrodes are on a layer above their corresponding fan-out lines and data lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art to have Oh modified by Song’s contact electrodes be on the insulating layer 170 since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, such as a limited number of insulating layers above Oh’s FL1 and FL3, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727 (2007).).
Regarding claim 17, Oh modified by Ran teaches the display panel of claim 16, and Oh modified by Ran teaches that the plurality of data lines include a first data line, a second data line and a third data line (Oh Fig. 1, DL, ¶ [0062] teaches that Oh’s fan-out lines each have a corresponding data line), the second fan-out wire is provided in a same layer as the data lines (Ran ¶ [0029] teaches that data lines can be arranged on a same layer as the corresponding fan-out line. Therefore, Oh modified by Ran’s fan-out lines and corresponding data lines would be on a same layer) the first fan-out wire (Oh Fig. 3, FL1, ¶ [0098]) is located below the second fan-out wire (Oh Fig. 3, FL2, ¶ [0098]), and the third fan-out wire (Oh Fig. 3, FL1, ¶ [0098]) is located above the second fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL1 is below FL2 and FL3 is above FL2 from the direction right to left in the view of Fig. 3. The Examiner notes that this claim does not explicitly require that the first fan-out wire to be below the second fan-out wire and the third fan-out wire to be above the second fan-out wire in a direction perpendicular to the substrate), the second connecting segment (Fig. 6, upper portion of middle 102 above the diagonal portion of 102, ¶ [0062]) is directly connected to the second data line (¶¶ [0029] & [0061] teaches that Ran’s fan-out lines are on a same layer and are coupled to corresponding data lines).
However, Oh modified by Ran does not explicitly teach that the display panel further comprises a first adapter portion and a second adapter portion located in a same layer, and the first adapter portion and the second adapter portion are located above the wiring groups; wherein one end of the first adapter portion is connected to the first data line, another end of the first adapter portion is connected to the first connection segment; one end of the second adapter portion is connected to the third data line, and another end of the second adapter portion is connected to the third connecting segment.
However, Song is a pertinent art that teaches that the display panel further comprises a first adapter portion (Fig. 6C, CNT1 in contact with FFOL_1, ¶¶ [0238]-[0240]) and a second adapter portion (Fig. 6C, CNT1 in contact with FFOL_2, ¶¶ [0238]-[0240]) located in a same layer (Figs. 6D & 6E, both CNT1 in contact with FFOL_1 and FFOL _2 are in the same layer PSV, ¶ [0234]), and the first adapter portion and the second adapter portion are located above the wiring groups (Figs. 6D & 6E, CNT1 is above Song’s fan-out lines FFOL, ¶ [0238]); wherein one end of the first adapter portion is connected to the first data line (Fig. 6D, DL corresponding to FFOL_1, ¶ [0238]), another end of the first adapter portion is connected to the first connection segment (Fig. 6D, portion of FFOL_1 connected to CNT1, corresponding to the upper portion of Oh modified by Ran’s fan-out line that is connected to their data line); one end of the second adapter portion is connected to the third data line (Fig. 6D, DL corresponding to FFOL_1, ¶ [0238]), and another end of the second adapter portion is connected to the third connecting segment (Fig. 6D, portion of FFOL_2 connected to CNT1, corresponding to the upper portion of Oh modified by Ran’s fan-out line that is connected to their data line).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Oh modified by Ran’s device to further comprise contact electrodes in at least some of their fan-out lines according to the teaching of Song (Fig. 6C) because it is known in the art that connections that utilize multiple contact holes reduce resistance (see for example, ¶ [0194] of prior art Kim).
Regarding claim 18, Oh modified by Ran modified by Song in view of Kim teaches the display panel of claim 17, and Oh teaches a first insulating layer (Fig. 4, 140, ¶ [0077]), a second insulating layer (Fig. 4, 150, ¶ [0077]), a third insulating layer (Fig. 4, 160, ¶ [0085]), and a fourth insulating layer (Fig. 4, 170, ¶ [0085]); wherein the first insulating layer covers the first fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL1, ¶ [0098], 140 covers at least a portion of FL1) and the substrate (Fig. 4, 110, ¶ [0068]); the data line (Ran ¶ [0029] teaches that a data line can be on a same layer as a corresponding fan-out line. Therefore, it would be obvious to have Oh modified by Ran’s second data line be on a same layer as Oh’s FL2, which would fulfill this limitation) and the second fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL2, ¶ [0098]) are disposed on the first insulating layer (Fig. 6, at least a portion of FL2 is on a surface of 140); the second insulating layer covers the second fan-out wire (Fig. 6, 150 covers at least a portion of FL2b), the data line (Oh modified by Ran ¶ [0029] would fulfill this limitation), and the first insulating layer (Fig. 4); the third insulating layer covers the second insulating layer (Fig. 4); the third fan-out wire (Fig. 3, FL3, ¶ [0098]) is disposed on the third insulating layer (Fig. 7, at least a portion of FL3 is on a surface of 160); the fourth insulating layer covers the third fan-out wire and the third insulating layer (Fig. 4); and the first adapter portion (Song Fig. 6C, CNT1 in contact with FFOL_1, ¶¶ [0238]-[0240]) and the second adapter portion (Song Fig. 6C, CNT1 in contact with FFOL_1, ¶¶ [0238]-[0240]) are disposed on the fourth insulating layer (Song’s contact electrodes are on a layer above their corresponding fan-out lines and data lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art to have Oh modified by Song’s contact electrodes be on the insulating layer 170 since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, such as a limited number of insulating layers above Oh’s FL1 and FL3, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727 (2007).).
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub No. 2019/0103455 by Zhang et al discloses a display device.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub No. 2021/0399077 by Eom et al discloses a display device.
/R.P.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813